Bogotá ATTRACTIONS See all

Mount Monserrate

Mists permitting, you’ll be able to see the gleaming white Basílica del Señor de Monserrate high above the city, beckoning from the thickly forested mountains that form Bogota’s spectacular backdrop. Originally built as a monastery in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 71 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Unni F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very interesting with a super guide

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Edita M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

The tour in question should be about sightseeing tour of Bogota with a cable car ride to Monserrat.That ride up to Monserrat was done,but was told up there that the Church was closed that day, the sightseeing tour of Bogota was limited to the museum visit, the visit to the goverment square, the Emerald factory , the gold museum was also closed for the day. Tour guide was inadequately silent in pointing out other areas we drove through for us to gain some knowledge about Bogota as we see it close.We are disappointed for this tour.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

bpinzon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We saw so many great things. Our guide, Andres was the best.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Elmer P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Enjoyed our tour and our tour guide was both fluent and entertaining with all the venues and shopping locations we wanted to see- Kudos to you and your organization! Viva la Patria!

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Iliana G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was a fantastic way to experience Bogota with one of the best guides. Luis Suarez from Via Colombia Travel Services is very professional, kind, knowledgeable, engaging, and friendly. He was excellent!! He was on time and showed us the major sights and museums in the city. We had a great time! Well done!!

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

voehlers Aruba

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very nice, friendly and helpful guide. I would definitely choose them again and highly recommend them.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Jason A

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This was a good tour and you get to see the highlights of Bogota. The only drawback to it was that it was in a car and not a bus and the tour had a guide and driver and also on this occasion a guide who was learning the job, so, there were the 2 guests crammed into the back of the car, which was not ideal.
I am sure that this is not the way the tour is always run, but, it was a bit inconvenient.
Aside from that, it is well worth doing and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to see the city highlights in a short time.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Michael K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic way to explore Bogota with one of the best guides I have had. Daniel is funny, smart, engaging and can sculpt the tour to your liking.
He was excellent!!!!

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

k_braggs

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

The car to take us to our hotel was too small for all of our luggage. We had to put luggage inside the car beside/in between us.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Kelly H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We absolutely loved this tour. We saw all the major sights and museums in the city, and we had a great time. Our guide, Fabián, was extremely knowledgeable and spoke perfect English. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone, especially with Fabián as a guide.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

AK Panama

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Jaime D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We were with Karen. She was a full time independent guide and we had a different driver with car. We first did Montserrate, using the cable car, a fantastic must-visit site. She had us sample for free the coca tea, which also gave us time to rest to remember, Montserrate was at nearly 9,500 feet above sea level. We then did La Candelaria, the historic neighborhood where the city began and site of several universities. Then it was the fantastic Museo de Botero. We then got back into the car, walked again in a different part of the neighborhood then had a late lunch, courtesy of the tour. It was local Colombian food and the choices were good and filling. We then walked to the Simon Bolivar Square then to the nearby blocks winding up in the presidential palace and San Agustin Church.

We then did Usaquen neighborhood before getting back to the hotel. We were supposed to do Museo de Oro but it was closed on Mondays what a shame since that was going to be the highlight of the tour. But based on the itinerary, we also missed going to Quinta de Bolivar, the International Center near Parque 93, plus supposed stops in additional city neighborhoods. I guess because of those omissions, we finished an hour early. As I often comment, I wish the guides would comply with all the things indicated in the promised itinerary.

We still appreciated Karens great English, accommodating manners, and eagerness to please.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Harvie Hopkins United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Monserrate was nice, fantastic views of the city, lots of beautiful flowers up top. La Candelaria was a bit underwhelming, this historic area has been allowed to fall into terrible condition, but fortunately it looks like it's being restored now. I did like when we stopped for a minute in a small local bar popular among students to try some chicha, which was tasty. The neighborhood itself lacks the requisite richness in history and detail to be interesting on its own. I'd recommend trying to find specific historical figures and stories to tell while walking through to make it more interesting similar to the tale of Bolivar being led out of his window by his mistress to avoid assassination--more of those. The Gold Museum was underwhelming, very repetitive with the same displays essentially being put up in a dozen or so rooms under the names of different ingenious tribes. Even most of the collection in the vault was kind of meh. The first section explaining how gold was mined and worked by these cultures was cool though. I did enjoy being taken to lunch at a popular local spot for some tasty ajiaco, that was nice.

Doing what: Bogota Historic Tour: La Candelaria, Monserrate and Gold Museum

eglumac

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour! Our tour guide was prompt and picked us up at the assigned time. She was very friendly and a great conversationalist. The tour was scheduled to be a 5 hour tour, however she ended up spending about 6 hours with us. We would not have been able to go to all the places we went to in six hours without the guide. It was well worth the money spent!

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Catherine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved this tour- with only a short time in Bogota this tour offered a great taste of the city. Julio was a very knowledgeable and entertaining tour guide.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Gerald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was one of the best tours and the guide when out of his was to inform us about this great city and the people. He was on time, spoke french and English, I rate Luise as on of the best guides. This was our first tour on this trip and it set the bar very high for other guides and tours.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Natalia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved the tour! I learned a lot with my super knowledgeable tour guide who was very friendly. She shared her umbrella until I bought one and then it stopped raining, of course. Since it was a private tour, she let me stop everywhere I wanted to shop, look around, and take photos. I was able to pick the place where I wanted to have lunch.

Doing what: Bogota Historic Tour: La Candelaria, Monserrate and Gold Museum

Elizabeth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour! You see a lot of Bogota in a short time and the view from Mount Monserrate is beautiful.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

David D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I booked the full-day tour of Bogota because I had a limited amount of time in the city but wanted a thorough exposure as much as you can get in one day without feeling rushed. Fabian arrived on schedule at my hotel. He asked if I had any specific interests and said that he could be flexible based on what I wanted to do. I told him that I wanted to see Monserrate, the Quinta de Bolivar, the gold museum and La Candelaria. I also told him that I was interested in the author Gabriel Garcia Marquez who had spent time and worked in Bogota for the local paper for a period. Fabian was very personable and knowledgeable about a variety of subjects, including my interests, and we had a great day together discussing various topics. We started at Monserrate which was not crowded at that time in the morning which saved us having to wait in line for the funicular. He shared his knowledge and pointed out some very interesting things throughout the day that made this tour well worth it to me. We stopped at a local restaurant for lunch before leaving La Candelaria to head north and that was a great choice as well.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Jorinne J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fernando was an excellent guide - he gave us a great overview of Bogota with enough insight to really understand the history and culture of this great city!

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Mrs A G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent guide, took to through the city on public transport that helped us the following day as we wanted to explore further.

Doing what: La Candelaria and Monserrate Walking Tour

Andreea V

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We had a nice tour of the city. Pick-up from hotel was on time and Fernando was a good guide. Knowledgeable and with a perfect English . Really recommend this tour, as Bogota is a big city and cannot be covered otherwise .

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

MarceloM Brasil

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Para mim não deu certo, pois achávamos que nos pegariam no hotel, porém tivemos que ir até o escritório central da empresa, no centro de Bogotá, num local de difícil acesso, porém a funcionária Deise muito atenciosa concordou em trocarmos nosso passeio de city-tour, pela viagem a Catedral de Sal em Zipaquirá, com pagamento de um acréscimo. Utilizamos também o traslado para o aeroporto com o Alex, tudo perfeito.

Doing what: Bogotá City Pass

Eric M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The guide, Emilio, and the driver, Juan David, were fantastic. The guide spoke excellent English and also spoke in Spanish, as we were trying to practice. He not only gave us a thorough explanation and interesting details on all of the sights, he engaged us in conversations about Colombian history, culture, food, etc. We had been to Bogota before, but the sights seemed new to us with all of the additional explanation and context. He offered us little experiences along the way, like finding us the best Ajiaco and Chicha along the way. Emilio was excellent at suggesting little breaks along the way to keep our legs fresh. It was a jam-packed day, but it was an excellent tour, and I would highly recommend it! The whole family loved it.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message