Bogotá ATTRACTIONS See all

Museo del Oro (Gold Museum)

Among Bogota’s most popular and spectacular attractions, the Museo del Oro sparkles with more than 55,000 priceless archaeological and artistic treasures. Only a fraction can be displayed at any one time within the main edifice, itself a work of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 59 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kelly H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We absolutely loved this tour. We saw all the major sights and museums in the city, and we had a great time. Our guide, Fabián, was extremely knowledgeable and spoke perfect English. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone, especially with Fabián as a guide.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

AK Panama

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Jaime D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We were with Karen. She was a full time independent guide and we had a different driver with car. We first did Montserrate, using the cable car, a fantastic must-visit site. She had us sample for free the coca tea, which also gave us time to rest to remember, Montserrate was at nearly 9,500 feet above sea level. We then did La Candelaria, the historic neighborhood where the city began and site of several universities. Then it was the fantastic Museo de Botero. We then got back into the car, walked again in a different part of the neighborhood then had a late lunch, courtesy of the tour. It was local Colombian food and the choices were good and filling. We then walked to the Simon Bolivar Square then to the nearby blocks winding up in the presidential palace and San Agustin Church.

We then did Usaquen neighborhood before getting back to the hotel. We were supposed to do Museo de Oro but it was closed on Mondays what a shame since that was going to be the highlight of the tour. But based on the itinerary, we also missed going to Quinta de Bolivar, the International Center near Parque 93, plus supposed stops in additional city neighborhoods. I guess because of those omissions, we finished an hour early. As I often comment, I wish the guides would comply with all the things indicated in the promised itinerary.

We still appreciated Karens great English, accommodating manners, and eagerness to please.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Harvie Hopkins United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Monserrate was nice, fantastic views of the city, lots of beautiful flowers up top. La Candelaria was a bit underwhelming, this historic area has been allowed to fall into terrible condition, but fortunately it looks like it's being restored now. I did like when we stopped for a minute in a small local bar popular among students to try some chicha, which was tasty. The neighborhood itself lacks the requisite richness in history and detail to be interesting on its own. I'd recommend trying to find specific historical figures and stories to tell while walking through to make it more interesting similar to the tale of Bolivar being led out of his window by his mistress to avoid assassination--more of those. The Gold Museum was underwhelming, very repetitive with the same displays essentially being put up in a dozen or so rooms under the names of different ingenious tribes. Even most of the collection in the vault was kind of meh. The first section explaining how gold was mined and worked by these cultures was cool though. I did enjoy being taken to lunch at a popular local spot for some tasty ajiaco, that was nice.

Doing what: Bogota Historic Tour: La Candelaria, Monserrate and Gold Museum

eglumac

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour! Our tour guide was prompt and picked us up at the assigned time. She was very friendly and a great conversationalist. The tour was scheduled to be a 5 hour tour, however she ended up spending about 6 hours with us. We would not have been able to go to all the places we went to in six hours without the guide. It was well worth the money spent!

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Catherine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved this tour- with only a short time in Bogota this tour offered a great taste of the city. Julio was a very knowledgeable and entertaining tour guide.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Gerald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was one of the best tours and the guide when out of his was to inform us about this great city and the people. He was on time, spoke french and English, I rate Luise as on of the best guides. This was our first tour on this trip and it set the bar very high for other guides and tours.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Natalia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved the tour! I learned a lot with my super knowledgeable tour guide who was very friendly. She shared her umbrella until I bought one and then it stopped raining, of course. Since it was a private tour, she let me stop everywhere I wanted to shop, look around, and take photos. I was able to pick the place where I wanted to have lunch.

Doing what: Bogota Historic Tour: La Candelaria, Monserrate and Gold Museum

Elizabeth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour! You see a lot of Bogota in a short time and the view from Mount Monserrate is beautiful.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

David D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I booked the full-day tour of Bogota because I had a limited amount of time in the city but wanted a thorough exposure as much as you can get in one day without feeling rushed. Fabian arrived on schedule at my hotel. He asked if I had any specific interests and said that he could be flexible based on what I wanted to do. I told him that I wanted to see Monserrate, the Quinta de Bolivar, the gold museum and La Candelaria. I also told him that I was interested in the author Gabriel Garcia Marquez who had spent time and worked in Bogota for the local paper for a period. Fabian was very personable and knowledgeable about a variety of subjects, including my interests, and we had a great day together discussing various topics. We started at Monserrate which was not crowded at that time in the morning which saved us having to wait in line for the funicular. He shared his knowledge and pointed out some very interesting things throughout the day that made this tour well worth it to me. We stopped at a local restaurant for lunch before leaving La Candelaria to head north and that was a great choice as well.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Jorinne J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fernando was an excellent guide - he gave us a great overview of Bogota with enough insight to really understand the history and culture of this great city!

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Andreea V

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We had a nice tour of the city. Pick-up from hotel was on time and Fernando was a good guide. Knowledgeable and with a perfect English . Really recommend this tour, as Bogota is a big city and cannot be covered otherwise .

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Eric M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The guide, Emilio, and the driver, Juan David, were fantastic. The guide spoke excellent English and also spoke in Spanish, as we were trying to practice. He not only gave us a thorough explanation and interesting details on all of the sights, he engaged us in conversations about Colombian history, culture, food, etc. We had been to Bogota before, but the sights seemed new to us with all of the additional explanation and context. He offered us little experiences along the way, like finding us the best Ajiaco and Chicha along the way. Emilio was excellent at suggesting little breaks along the way to keep our legs fresh. It was a jam-packed day, but it was an excellent tour, and I would highly recommend it! The whole family loved it.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Adam T

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Tour guide was great however all the tours in Colombia are extremely expensive. It was good to see some areas of the City that you would have most likely walked straight past. Bogota is an awesome city but most can be seen on foot by yourself. In saying that though, you would not know much about the history of the city.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

kedwards01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very nice way to see Bogota with a very informative guide

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

nastas

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

Very unprepared tour guide.
Very bad in all aspects.
Visit had to be finish on the next day.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Andrew G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great guide,knowledgable passionate about bogota,insightful and really interesting.one of the best tours I have ever done

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Margaret L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Angela Suarez was an amazing guide. She is warm, engaging, very knowledgeable, professional and her command of the English language is superb. We had booked the 5 hour tour and Angela stayed with us for over 7 hours. I think we saw more of Bogota in one day than most people would see in 3 days. Angela also assisted us with purchasing bus tickets to Villa de Leyva and drove us to the airport on our final day. She is amazing and I would suggest asking for her to be your guide.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

William J A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent guide--great English and informative.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Jose Juan V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Not worth it at all, it was truly a disappointing experience. One day prior to our arrival they tried to change dates for the tour since they were having trouble accommodating us for the next day. However, since we were visiting Bogota just for the day, changing dates was not an option so they rescheduled us 2 hours after the original time, we had to wait two hours in the airport after a 6am flight to get picked up. The guide was nice but not very knowledgable so we learned very little about the city and its history, as well the tour was roughly 3 hours not 5 as announced and didn't include the cable car as announced. The only upside was having a car to take us around the city to places we wouldn't have been able to reach on our own. Book another tour, it was not a good experience.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Stephen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Exactly what we were looking for. A 5 hour whistle stop tour during a 24 hour airport stopover. Seamless pick up and return to the hotel. Julio was an extremely knowledgeable and friendly guide who had a great passion for the city. We got a quick tour of Bogota, it wasn't in depth, but as an introduction to the city, I can recommend this tour.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent one day tour of major Bogota highlights. Driver picked me up at hotel on time and transported to meeting area with guide. This was a personal tour and guide made it clear what the general itinerary would be, but made it clear that I could modify the time spent at each location visited on the tour, or even delete some areas that I was not interested in, and expand the time spent at areas that I had a greater interest in. For limited time that I had in Bogota this was an excellent way to see the highlights in a professional and safe manner.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message