Bologna ATTRACTIONS See all

Bologna Piazza Maggiore

Bologna’s beating heart is Piazza Maggiore, in the city’s old center. A classic example of Renaissance town planning, it is one of the most graceful public squares in Italy. The pedestrianised square is surrounded by the Basilica di San ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 78 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Roy G United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This walking tour was led by a very informative English speaking guide. The pace was good and we were taken into places we might not have discovered by ourselves. The tour content took us into areas we could revisit later.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Edward W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was extremely knowledgable and shared many tidbits of information not found in a guidebook or history book. Well worth the the time

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Christopher V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Informative and enjoyable

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Jason D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was much better than I expected. We visited a chocolate store where we tried various chocolates, and then went to a salumeria where we were each given a tagliere breadboard of various meats and cheeses with wine. It was enough for a meal. Afterwards we went to a gelato place which was one of the best gelatos I've tasted. They gave us a coupon for a free coffee at another place in Bologna, but I was not able to use it because of their hours. It would have been nice if we could have stopped there during the tour instead. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. This was a really good way to get an overview of the city before going out to explore on your own.

Doing what: Bologna Food Walking Tour

Kathryne E

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The walking tour was wonderful introduction to Bologna. Would recommend to get your bearings and see the ancient university and city. Wonderful tour wonderful town.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

colin B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

the tour was cut short due to lack of guides and ours being done in two languages english and italian by one guide

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Alyse H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I loved this tour. The tour guide was a local and was very knowledgeable. You could tell she was proud of Bologna and truly loved her city. It was one of my favorite things we did in all of Italy. I highly recommend the tour. The only tip I have is to bring cover ups for your arms and legs. I wasn't aware we were going into a church during the tour and missed out on that part because I didn't have anything to cover my shoulders and legs. My husband wore a tank top and also could not go in. You can buy a cover up for one Euro in the church, but we just arrived and didn't have any cash on us.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Andree S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Cynthia was a great guide. I know we explored hidden gems that we would never have found on our own.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

blackandwhitebybonha ...  New Zealand

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Just okay. Got better. Great food

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Elizabeth R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

very interesting tour and we seemed to explore everywhere! brilliant value and a great guide highly recommend

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Ramona F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Beautiful and lovely tour. Best way to learn about Bologna.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Ramona F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Good and delicious tour! Walking around with an expert local. Great way to enjoy and learn.

Doing what: Bologna Food Walking Tour

Randal USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful information and sightseeing!

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

JO ANN H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Guide was great. Good tour. Disappointed in the lack of ongoing communication from local guide coordinator. I was unsure of meeting place until I accidently found the guide waiting in the hotel lobby. Received confirming information on my iphone AFTER returning from the tour Time on the messages were both after scheduled departure time. Not very helpful.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

Antonina G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very good overview. The use of Audio for all participants was excellent. Did not have to be next to guide to hear everything. Would highly recommend as the first exposure to visiting Bologna.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Jonathan H

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The tour was good but too drawn out. This was partly because our guide had to cover everything in Italian and English. However, I would suggest either making the tour shorter or include more sites/history.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Camille R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Gloria was an excellent guide! I was working on a school project and she was very patient when I asked for spellings, names of places, and questions! Would definitely recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: Bologna Food Walking Tour

Luisella M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very interesting

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Jacqueline D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Just ok to know bologna center

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Justin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My guide Camilla was wonderful, a truly delightful!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

Peter D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour
Very beautiful and interesting city
Guide was very good

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

lamlam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very nice tour. Knowledge and friendly guide.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

alluisalvarez

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Everyone very pleasant and subject matter experts. This tout went very fast because the guide made it very pleasant.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Gavin A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was quite interesting and very informative. The guide was quite knowledgeable about all the sites visited. Gave some handy hints of things to see and do in the local area. The only down side was there was a non-English speaking family on the tour so everything had to be explained twice, which made the tour a bit 'clunky'. However it was great that the tour guide was multi lingual and able to include all of us in the tour.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message