Bologna ATTRACTIONS See all

Bologna Piazza Maggiore

Bologna’s beating heart is Piazza Maggiore, in the city’s old center. A classic example of Renaissance town planning, it is one of the most graceful public squares in Italy. The pedestrianised square is surrounded by the Basilica di San ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 89 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Karla M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

OK tour--difficult to hear with the headsets.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Ana María M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The tour is not in english, at least not only. It is bilingual in english and italian. The problem is that from the 2 hours you are only given 1 hour information. It is, then, poor, you get few information for the price. The guide was nice and the city amazing :

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Nancy E

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

This tour is a must for any one new to Bologna. Who knew there was this much world history in a 4 block radius of the town center. Our guide was excellent. We would rate this tour a 5 except for the scheduling by the tour company. Our tour was suppose to be in English, but when we arrived we found out it would also be given in Italian. This meant that all the information had to be delivered twice. This was extremely distracting and caused the tour to run 3 hours in length.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Judy B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

Our guide was knowledgable, personable and truly is proud of the city! However, she had to translate everything into Italian which left a lot of idle time standing around waiting and not enough time to ask the questions we would have liked or get more details.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Tim

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

We signed up for a English speaking tour and we had a tour with both English and Italian. Both complained but were told that was the way it was going to be. We actually could have lived with repeating everything if the tour was worth it. But it was not. We signed up for a 2 hour Bologna walking tour - after 1 hour we were still in the Piazza Maggiore being given a unbelievable detailed history lesson about Bologna by our tour guide. We have toured 25 European countries and never encountered a tour or guide like this. After moving 2 blocks and another 20 minutes of history, we left the tour and complained to the Visitors center. And we were not the only ones. We had a great tour the day before in Venice with Viator but for our next 3 weeks in Italy and France we decided to try other tour companies.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

haclarke48

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

When I did this tour, there were only three of us in the group, so we had very personalised attention. Gerardine, the guide, was pleasant and knowledgable, taking time to point out major buildings, food establishments and other features of Bologna as we walked around for over 2 hours. We tasted delicious Majani chocolates in their shop, and then went on to the market where we learnt of many of the regional food specialties. The tour finished with a generous tasting in a shop/restaurant of antipasti with a glass of wine. I enjoyed the tour and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Bologna Food Walking Tour

Barbara K

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Great guide - knowedgeable and enthusiastic - clearly enjoyed what she was going. Our tour was in both English and Italian so it felt very authentic. Only downside was the rain which didn't dampen her spirits!

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Carina B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour guide. The tour was really good but I felt sorry for our excellent guide - 21 people were booked on the tour so it was a big group and then she discovered 3 people did not speak English so she had to translate everything for them. This must have been difficult - it took her time to do this but she was charming at all times. Saw the main sights and enjoyed learning from the guide.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Jeff D Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

We were a little disappointed with this tour. Booked the English tour and there were also some itailians booked. As a result the tour guide had to deliver in both languages which took too much time. The guide covered areas as per schedule but we found it slow.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Ray P

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

A vg introduction to food in Bologna. Started out at a chocolate shop and received generous tastings, though felt we stayed this establishment a little too long. A nice serve of freshest cheeses and meats and wine to wash it down at another outdoor trattoria provided a light lunch. As we wondered the streets the guide pointed out places of interest. Finished the tour with being provided a couple vouchers to use as we liked A coffee and gelato voucher. If you are thinking about doing this tour it is best to do this when you first arrive as we had already wondered around the food market halls so knew lots stuff already. I also think perhaps the tour should include a pasta tasting as Bologna is all about pasta.

Doing what: Bologna Food Walking Tour

Roy G United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This walking tour was led by a very informative English speaking guide. The pace was good and we were taken into places we might not have discovered by ourselves. The tour content took us into areas we could revisit later.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Edward W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was extremely knowledgable and shared many tidbits of information not found in a guidebook or history book. Well worth the the time

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Christopher V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Informative and enjoyable

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Jason D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was much better than I expected. We visited a chocolate store where we tried various chocolates, and then went to a salumeria where we were each given a tagliere breadboard of various meats and cheeses with wine. It was enough for a meal. Afterwards we went to a gelato place which was one of the best gelatos I've tasted. They gave us a coupon for a free coffee at another place in Bologna, but I was not able to use it because of their hours. It would have been nice if we could have stopped there during the tour instead. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. This was a really good way to get an overview of the city before going out to explore on your own.

Doing what: Bologna Food Walking Tour

gardengoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

EXCELLENT

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Kathryne E

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The walking tour was wonderful introduction to Bologna. Would recommend to get your bearings and see the ancient university and city. Wonderful tour wonderful town.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

colin B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

the tour was cut short due to lack of guides and ours being done in two languages english and italian by one guide

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Alyse H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I loved this tour. The tour guide was a local and was very knowledgeable. You could tell she was proud of Bologna and truly loved her city. It was one of my favorite things we did in all of Italy. I highly recommend the tour. The only tip I have is to bring cover ups for your arms and legs. I wasn't aware we were going into a church during the tour and missed out on that part because I didn't have anything to cover my shoulders and legs. My husband wore a tank top and also could not go in. You can buy a cover up for one Euro in the church, but we just arrived and didn't have any cash on us.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Andree S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Cynthia was a great guide. I know we explored hidden gems that we would never have found on our own.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

blackandwhitebybonha ...  New Zealand

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Just okay. Got better. Great food

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Elizabeth R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

very interesting tour and we seemed to explore everywhere! brilliant value and a great guide highly recommend

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Ramona F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Beautiful and lovely tour. Best way to learn about Bologna.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Ramona F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Good and delicious tour! Walking around with an expert local. Great way to enjoy and learn.

Doing what: Bologna Food Walking Tour

Randal USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful information and sightseeing!

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message