Bordeaux ATTRACTIONS See all

Bay of Arcachon

Planning a wine tasting trip to Bordeaux? Sounds like fun! But after, say, a full week of visiting vineyards and sipping wines, it's going to start to blur together and you may even start to get bored. Ah, the problems one has when vacationing in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Beverley G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour with very good guide with excellent English. Most enjoyable and a good way to see the dune particularly if time poor as it was a half day tour. Would recommend.

Doing what: Arcachon Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux Including Pyla Dune and Oyster Tasting

Kenneth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was a very fun and interesting side trip in the middle of Bodeaux wine country. Manon was an excellent guide. Loved the hike to the top of the dune. Oysters were awesome as well. Ken from Virginia.

Doing what: Bordeaux Super Saver: Small-Group Trip to Arcachon with Oyster Tasting and Lunch plus Médoc Wine Tour

RENATA K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Nice guide, very helpfull. Interesting tour, excellent organized.

Doing what: Arcachon Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux Including Pyla Dune and Oyster Tasting

Orla R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was really worthwhile. Out tour guide was great v knowledgeable. The sand dune was better than expected and the glass of white wine at the top was a nice touch
Oysters were amazing. Defintely recommend!

Doing what: Arcachon Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux Including Pyla Dune and Oyster Tasting

simon m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved this day. The sandhills are immense, like going up Uluru in the Northern Territory of Australia. The view from the top over the Atlantic was mind-blowing; so beautiful. Next came the oyster tasting, washed down with a crisp white. The picnic lunch, wine tasting, lovely guide - superb

Doing what: Bordeaux Super Saver: Small-Group Trip to Arcachon with Oyster Tasting and Lunch plus Médoc Wine Tour

ollieee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing Place! Wonderful oyster and wine! Super nice guide, her name is Beatrice. Just love this tour, It's funnier than wine tour although it's kind of tired to climb up to Pyla Dune!

Doing what: Arcachon Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux Including Pyla Dune and Oyster Tasting

SinGwanNatalie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We love the combination of visiting Arcachon with Oyster Tasting and wine tasting at Medoc region! Very good mix of exercise and good food and wine!

Doing what: Bordeaux Super Saver: Small-Group Trip to Arcachon with Oyster Tasting and Lunch plus Médoc Wine Tour

Margaret A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a half-day tour well worth taking. The dune is impressive and the visit to the oyster bay and tasting we had shrimp, which was excellent, and those that had oysters said they were good also was a good complement. Our guide was excellent and provided great commentary both going and coming back to Bordeaux and answered lots of questions and provided great information and suggestions for our stay in Bordeaux.

Doing what: Arcachon Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux Including Pyla Dune and Oyster Tasting

Hiu Kwong L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The guide was very friendly and helpful. I like the wine at the top of the dune.

Doing what: Arcachon Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux Including Pyla Dune and Oyster Tasting

Sven A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a fantastic tour and an excellent guide. The Oyster tasting was really a good experience and it was a good idea to eat with the group, which ment that everybody was talking with each other. The Pyla Dune was amacing.

Thank you for a fantastic and exciting tour!!

Doing what: Arcachon Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux Including Pyla Dune and Oyster Tasting

Adrian G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

very enjoyable with a lovely guide. We had a lovely day.

Doing what: Bordeaux Super Saver: Small-Group Trip to Arcachon with Oyster Tasting and Lunch plus Médoc Wine Tour

Calfejj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We met our guide, Stephane, at the Bordovino office in Bordeaux and started our adventure. Our small group of eight travelers quickly bonded and had a delightful day. The dune climb was a bit challenging but we were rewarded with a spectacular view and a refreshment break of fresh oysters and a crisp, dry white wine. After lunch, Stephane, switched our focus to wine tastings at Chateau Chasse Spleen and Chateau Gruaud La Rose, the latter of which was a gorgeous property. Stephane was well versed in his extensive knowledge of wines and the rich history of the region. He also helped us assemble a selection of wines for shipment back to the States. In addition to the wines we purchased at the Chateaux, Bordovino has a large selection available at their office and, if you are shipping out of the area, you can avoid the value added tax. A great day overall!

Doing what: Bordeaux Super Saver: Small-Group Trip to Arcachon with Oyster Tasting and Lunch plus Médoc Wine Tour

Sally L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I really like our tour guides. They are very humble and tell us everything about our tour in Bordeaux.

Doing what: Bordeaux Super Saver: Small-Group Trip to Arcachon with Oyster Tasting and Lunch plus Médoc Wine Tour

HOWARD K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour guide. Fascinating tour of dunes. Wonderful oysters. Loved this tour.

Doing what: Arcachon Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux Including Pyla Dune and Oyster Tasting

Lillian L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was sooo much fun and the oysters was super yummy. A must do tour on a sunny day!

Doing what: Arcachon Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux Including Pyla Dune and Oyster Tasting

Janet C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Professional tour guide. Stunned by the Dune and the oyster tasting session at the oyster farm was a real good experience, we had some of the best oysters we have ever had!

Doing what: Arcachon Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux Including Pyla Dune and Oyster Tasting

Priscilla C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Amazing experience climbing the sand dune. View at the top was spectacular and we were even rewarded with a glass of wine. Both tour guides were knowledgeable and very approachable. Also enjoyed our time at the different wineries.. Very educational trip and the food platter offered along with the wine tasting during the last stop was delicious. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Bordeaux Super Saver: Small-Group Trip to Arcachon with Oyster Tasting and Lunch plus Médoc Wine Tour

Christine A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Tour gudes were great with good English. Dune du Pila was a humbling climb with the most gorgeous views over the Arcachon basin and the Atlantic. Enjoyed oysters at an ancient fishing harbor. You don't really see Arcachon itself but the other sites were great. Back into Bordeaux to pick up more people to go to the Medoc wine tours which were lovely. A lot of driving and picnic lunch in their office was mediocre and sounded more inviting than it actually was

Doing what: Bordeaux Super Saver: Small-Group Trip to Arcachon with Oyster Tasting and Lunch plus Médoc Wine Tour

Marina J

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

I love this tour! We were a small group of three people, which made the dune walk and the oyster tasting very easy and totally enjoyable. I loved the little suprise when we arrived on top of the dune. Only negative thing was that the guide seemed a little insecure in terms of driving but we made it :-

Doing what: Arcachon Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux Including Pyla Dune and Oyster Tasting

Terje N

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Comfortable transport, knowledgeable guides / drivers. Recommend this trip for anyone.

Doing what: Bordeaux Super Saver: Small-Group Trip to Arcachon with Oyster Tasting and Lunch plus Médoc Wine Tour

Bisola W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The trip was fantastic value for money and a great way of exploring the region. The trip to the Dune du Pilat was definitely a highlight and the view was amazing. The trip to Medoc in the afternoon provided a great introduction to wine making and the guides were very knowledgeable and very keen to answer questions.

Doing what: Bordeaux Super Saver: Small-Group Trip to Arcachon with Oyster Tasting and Lunch plus Médoc Wine Tour

Kristina H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Was very happy with this tour. My only disappointment was that we did not drive through the town of Arcachon or relax on a scenic beach as indicated in the Overview which states - "Explore the town of Arcachon before a visit to an oyster farm for a sample of fresh oysters. Relax on a scenic beach before heading back to Bordeaux". I asked the tour guide and she said there would not be enough time to visit the dune, visit Arcachon and the oyster farm in the half day tour. My problem is that my expectation was set by what your overview stated. But even so the trip to the dune was fantastic.

Doing what: Arcachon Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux Including Pyla Dune and Oyster Tasting

Michael D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Loved this - the only problem was the traffic...it took so,long to get to the sand dunes we only had 30 minutes there. The oysters were wonderful!

Doing what: Arcachon Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux Including Pyla Dune and Oyster Tasting

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message