The 1,000 square-kilometers (62 square-miles) surrounding Bordeaux is one mighty big vineyard, divided into 60 appellations with 8,500 wine growing producers called chateaux. It's mind-blowing stuff, but a day spent on the ground visiting premier ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 969 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

dockcf

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

One day was not enough but great tour and our guide was great!

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

kharbosin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We ended up having 5 people for our group and this size was perfect. Our group leader, Nathan, was passionate and very knowledgeable. The food was excellent and the scenery was beautiful. You should be in relatively good shape for this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group St-Emilion Bike Tour from Bordeaux Including Wine Tastings and Lunch

Don C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

One of the best tours we have taken. Small group, friendly, knowledgeable guide who really knew her way around the town and through the backrooms and kitchens of many of the best restaurants in town. A must it really is if you are going to be in Bordeaux!

Doing what: Bordeaux Gourmet Food Walking Tour with Lunch

James B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We enjoyed the full day tour to Medoc. If you are trying to decide between Medoc or St. Emilion, I would choose St. Emilion, but for a complete wine tasting experience, I would opt for both tours. We had only 3 other passengers in our van and this included a wonderful lunch in Pauillac at Le Saint Martin.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Medoc Wine Tour from Bordeaux

James B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Although only a half day tour, we enjoyed this trip more than our full day trip to Medoc. The vineyards in this area are a lot more picturesque and we enjoyed the two vineyards in this area more than those in Medoc. This trip was money well spent.

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

Ken the Enchanter United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Only tour available at that date. Guide was rather dull highly unusual for Viator, but the experience of a small Sauternes winery and a big, honkin' one in Graves was worth the time.

Doing what: Bordeaux Vineyards Wine Tasting Half-Day Trip

Susan M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The tour was great, we visited two wineries, one very traditional and the other very modern with large capital investment. Both had beautiful old chateau. Tastings were also enjoyable.
The driver was very experienced, very comfortable coach and a great tour leader.
The only issue was when buying the tour we didn't know the area we were touring. This made it difficult to plan the other days whilst in the Bordeaux region.

Doing what: Bordeaux Vineyards Wine Tasting Half-Day Trip

Richard L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Well worth the day and the guide was very helpful and really knew the area.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Medoc Wine Tour from Bordeaux

CLAUDIA m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our Guide was this wonderful woman very well informed on the region and its wine making process.
Had a very nice time.
St Emilion its worth the visit.

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

Lucy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The host was fantastic, she was engaging and passionate on her subject and we all had a fantastic time because of it. The tasting is great and the opportunity to blend for yourself gives a real insight in to Bordeaux wines. Great as a first stop before heading out to the vineyards.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine Tasting and Workshop in Bordeaux

Christina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was fabulous. We were provided with a detailed history of San Emillion, and a most welcomed amazing tour of the historical church. Absolutely amazing!!! Following the tour of the gorgeous town, and some spare time to wonder around the cobbled stoned streets and visit some amazing art/craft, wine stores, we stopped off at one of the many wineries for a little bit of history and a welcomed wine tasting. This was an exceptional tour, definitely a must do. Thanks Viator.

Doing what: Bordeaux Vineyards Wine Tasting Half-Day Trip

Erika K

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

This is a nice trip that shouldn't be titled wine tasting. It's more a trip out to St. Emilion, walking around town, going into a really neat church not open to the public, and then tasting two wines at a vineyard at the end. The tour guide was interesting but you're on a massive coach with 20 other people. For the price, it's fine but I would recommend doing this with a smaller group and paying more to taste more wines on another tour.

Doing what: Bordeaux Vineyards Wine Tasting Half-Day Trip

Erika K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

The tour guide was tired and just going through the motions. You're on a big coach with 25 people and just carted up to one vineyard, you try two wines and don't even get to walk into the vineyard. Then, you're shuttled to the next vineyard and taste only two wines again. All reds at both vineyards. One vineyard is more about events and other business like a restaurant and weddings than the wine, and the other is owned by some business group or insurance company. Do not waste your time, really. Spend a little more on another tour to get a more meaningful experience.

Doing what: Bordeaux Vineyards Wine Tasting Half-Day Trip

Michael A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I really enjoyed this tour especially the wines and appetizer platter. Very informative and our guide answers all our questions. I picked Medoc for this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

Alexander A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A great experience, lovely guide and a small group. Recommend!

Doing what: Bordeaux Gourmet Food Walking Tour with Lunch

Luke H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic tour. The guide, Cristelle, was really great. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

Cheriel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an excellent experience, top-notch. Our guide was accommodating, possessed great knowledge of the region and selected the perfect Chateau's to visit. I would recommend this tour to family or colleagues of mine. I look forward to my next trip to France and do this tour again while visiting Bordeaux. Thank you so much Sara you are wonderful! Cheriel, Dana and Raya

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Medoc Wine Tour from Bordeaux

David H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Very good full day trip. Not cheap given lunch not included. The promised 40 min walk in Saint-Emilion did not materialise as too long spent tasting wine before ordering.
Excellent guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

Jeb B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a great tour of the Medoc region. Boris, our guide was very helpful during the tour. He was friendly, outgoing and very informative about Bordeaux and the Mediterranean region. Highly recommended. Next time maybe we can do a longer tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Médoc Wine Tour from Bordeaux

Megan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very informative tour, and our guide Julien was wonderful! We didn't expect to learn so much history about the region on a wine tour, which was a great bonus. Excellent value for the money and we would do it again. Two vineyards we visited were very different, but both special and interesting. I feel like I know how to choose a good bordeaux wine now! : 5 stars.

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

sheryn h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fabulous adventure in the vineyards, excellent friendly service

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Medoc Wine Tour from Bordeaux

Joanne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Yan was a great tour guide and we really enjoyed all aspects of the tour. More time in the village would have be nice but the tours of the chateaus were excellent as were the wines!
We were especially grateful for Yan providing shelter from the rain at his office when we returned to Bordeaux! Thank you so much.

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

Andrew C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

After 4 or 5 previous small group wine tours in BDX, I was very pleased with the wineries visited, including one 2d growth. The Viator guide and the winery guides were very good, providing a lot of information in fluent French and English. I recommend this tour highly.

Doing what: Medoc 1855 Classification Premium Wine Tasting Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message