True, Beacon Hill may be home to the Massachusetts State House, the crown jewel of the neighborhood and focal point of politics in the Commonwealth, but the real appeal of this prestigious neighborhood lies in it beauty. Gas lanterns illuminate ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 601 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

James R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very informative and fun tour.

Doing what: Boston Pizza and Taverns Tour

jeff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This covers all the sites in one day with lots of historical background and lunch on you own in Fanueil Hall. We would not have gone to Concord and Lexington and that turned out to be the highlight. Definately a not to miss experience.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Champ T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

My wife and I visited Boston over the Columbus Day weekend. With rain predicted for the Sunday of our stay, we thought the Boston in One Day Tour would be a nice way to see the region and stay relatively dry. In the end we viewed the tour as largely a waste of our money. The bus we were on smelled of cigarettes and bodily functions...like it had been a booze bus during the week. The driver seemed knowledgeable, but constantly diverted from descriptions of historical sites to making political and social comments. He would commonly start a rant by saying, I was told not to talk politics, but... and go on to talk politics. Since he made it clear that the tour folks had discussed the issue with him, and he chose to ignore them, we decided there was no point to address our issues with him. I emailed Viator with my complaints, but only received automated responses. Then my review request email arrived...so I am submitting my review. I'm sure some reading this review would say that we were angry that he disagreed with our views, but that would not be the case. We simply hoped for a historical guided tour of the Boston area without social commentary from any side. Instead we received comments about the terrible path of our country, the election, economic policy, gentrification, the house the driver wants to buy, how the vietnamese keep Foxwoods and Mohegan Sun in business, murders, hitching a ride with Big Papi,and literally a joke about beans and smelly seats. There were other examples, but I think you get the point. Instead of a guided tour of the Boston area, we received over 5 hours of the Frankie the driver Soap Box. Since zero stars was not an option, I gave it a one-star rating. I do not recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback. It is of great concern to us that your experience with our local partner was so unsatisfactory. Viator takes all customer feedback and concerns about their experiences seriously, and we work with our suppliers to ensure they are providing high quality products. We have already spoken to the supplier in question and they have assured us they will be looking into this issue on their side as well. We appreciate you taking the time to bring your experience to our attention so we can work alongside our partners to correct any issues and improve upon our tour offerings. We hope you were still able to enjoy your remaining time in Boston and wish you Happy Travels for the future.

mason336

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Frankie, the tour guide and bus driver, was incredible in his knowledge, delivery, and patience. We were surprised at how well done this tour was for us. Actually, the morning part which included more history was our favorite part.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Giovanna I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour that went ALL over the Boston area - our guide was incredibly knowledgeable on the history of Boston. I definitely recommend this tour to really get to know the Boston area and it's history!

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Emmalee W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

First time visiting Boston and wanted to see as much of the city as possible, which we did. Frankie was our tour guide and he was awesome! He and #39;s a born and raised Bostonian who loves to tell others about his hometown! I took this tour on my birthday and couldn and #39;t have asked for a better birthday present!

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Linda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We LOVED this tour!!!! Our guide Frankie was the BEST! He was very knowledgeable, entertaining, accommodating and an amazing driver. We highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Dorothy L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

If you have to see everything in a day, this is the way to do it. Driver was knowledgable and kept us entertained with his knowledge. Drive by shooting camera is not my favorite way to take pictures. Plenty of stops, but still a lot of driving.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Mary G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

This tour was quite good as far as topics and sights covered. However, our Guide continually inserted his personal opinions on various subjects during his dialogue. When I go on vacation, I do not wish to hear contentious or controversial subjects discussed. Thank you.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Salvador P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great tour to take for your first time in Boston , covered the most important places and the guide was fun and full of information

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Janice W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was wonderful! Frank, our driver and tour guide is passionate about his city and very knowledgeable. His commentary added so much to the sites that we visited. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Edwin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our Driver Frankie turn a good tour into a great tour. The historic site were interesting to see
And Frankie gave them life and created great memories for this a Texas couple. Highly recommend this tour and hope you get Frankie..

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Sherry D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Perfect day! Awesome trip.....do this first then go to the Boston Tea Museum!

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Barbara K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic. Mostly because of driver ,Frankie?, who I think enjoyed the trip as much as we did

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

James B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had an excellent tour guide who gave us an extra hour of touring. Boston and the surrounding area are beautiful and historically interesting. For the money one can't beat this tour.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

RANDOLPH S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The trip was excellent. The guide was wonderful. We will highly recommend this tour to all of our friends.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

vrmccann

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great overview and history of Boston. Good pace. Nice driver, who was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

carol

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was our first day in Boston. We took Uber to the park plaza transportation building. The people at the desk made everything easy. We had 4 more tours coming up and all went off without a hitch. Frankly was our bus driver for this first tour. He was very knowledgeable and entertaining about what we were seeing. Be prepared with your camera to take pictures from the bus. Frankly knew where all the famous people, past and present, lived. The stops at famous land marks were inspiring. We enjoyed new information and new stories about our history.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Rebecca L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great Guide, wish I remembered his name...retired history teacher I think. Learned much about the battles of Revolution, and cool to see those areas. Got us back at reasonable time. Overall a great tour. Was disappointed we didn't stop and get out at Harvard yard, which I thought the description said we would do. More time away from Boston than in Boston, you should know.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Jeff B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Frankie was phenomenal. Very knowledgeable and a great communicator. Loved his Boston accent. My only wish was a bit more time to step out and take pics versus having to take pics out the bus window. Even then, sometimes the scenery he referred to was on the wrong side of the bus where we were sitting so we had very limited views. He offered and we took him up on a recommended location for lunch that was very good.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Thomas E A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Frankie was the best. You need to pay him more money.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

bolley1942

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This one day tour was great. The driver/tour guide Mike Lowe was very knowledgeable. Even after the tour was completed and he was driving the group back to their drop-off locations he was still pointing out sites of interest. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The bus was very comfortable and the driver was very informative. The places they stopped at were great! I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Alissa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I've gone to Boston numerous times over the last 10 years. This was the first time I ever did a tour other than the Duck Tours. It was amazing! Frankie our driver was so incredibly knowledgeable and took us to so many awesome sights! I learned so much about the early history of our country and honestly recommend this tour to anyone visiting the Boston area!

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

DrPuff t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great guide, perfect for what we wanted. I would definitely recommend this tour and I will be trying others. Thank you.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message