Boston ATTRACTIONS See all

Freedom Trail

The Freedom Trail is a great way to explore Boston’s most popular sites. The 2 ½-mile/4-km trail itself links a number of historic sites, many associated with colonial United States history. The route is marked with a line of red paint or red ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 894 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

aimee-lee16

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This trip was really good and worth taking a day out of NYC trip to do. Tour guide was very informative. Only down side was the distance, it took 5 hours to get there but overall trip was enjoyable.

Doing what: Boston Freedom Trail Day Trip from New York

Joseph W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Not inexpensive, but worth every penny! Our guide, Frankie, conveyed a wealth of knowledge of not only the Revolutionary era, but also modern Boston. If you have never been to Boston before this is the tour to take.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

jezgiles70

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Frankie is The Man! Is there anything he doesn't know about the history of Boston? We had a fun day and would highly recommend this day out especially if you are new to the area as we are.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Yigal L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Do you like pizza? Do you want to have great fun with a local guide? Then this is a great choice! We had 4 different pizzas, each one with a different style, all very good. Also had some historically acurate chocolaty drink which was wonderful. Between pizza stops we heard a bit about the history.

Doing what: North End Pizza Tour

jeff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really great food and historical tour. There is no way to see the North End except to walk no tour buses allowed and this covers all the important sites. Plus you get awesome pizza from places you would never otherwise know about. Really enjoyed it.

Doing what: North End Pizza Tour

jeff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This covers all the sites in one day with lots of historical background and lunch on you own in Fanueil Hall. We would not have gone to Concord and Lexington and that turned out to be the highlight. Definately a not to miss experience.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

kbertrand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a great day, saw heaps and had enough time to enjoy the sights!

Doing what: Boston Freedom Trail Day Trip from New York

Gary A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour!!

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

lori b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great all encompassing trip around Boston. Loved it.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Champ T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

My wife and I visited Boston over the Columbus Day weekend. With rain predicted for the Sunday of our stay, we thought the Boston in One Day Tour would be a nice way to see the region and stay relatively dry. In the end we viewed the tour as largely a waste of our money. The bus we were on smelled of cigarettes and bodily functions...like it had been a booze bus during the week. The driver seemed knowledgeable, but constantly diverted from descriptions of historical sites to making political and social comments. He would commonly start a rant by saying, I was told not to talk politics, but... and go on to talk politics. Since he made it clear that the tour folks had discussed the issue with him, and he chose to ignore them, we decided there was no point to address our issues with him. I emailed Viator with my complaints, but only received automated responses. Then my review request email arrived...so I am submitting my review. I'm sure some reading this review would say that we were angry that he disagreed with our views, but that would not be the case. We simply hoped for a historical guided tour of the Boston area without social commentary from any side. Instead we received comments about the terrible path of our country, the election, economic policy, gentrification, the house the driver wants to buy, how the vietnamese keep Foxwoods and Mohegan Sun in business, murders, hitching a ride with Big Papi,and literally a joke about beans and smelly seats. There were other examples, but I think you get the point. Instead of a guided tour of the Boston area, we received over 5 hours of the Frankie the driver Soap Box. Since zero stars was not an option, I gave it a one-star rating. I do not recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback. It is of great concern to us that your experience with our local partner was so unsatisfactory. Viator takes all customer feedback and concerns about their experiences seriously, and we work with our suppliers to ensure they are providing high quality products. We have already spoken to the supplier in question and they have assured us they will be looking into this issue on their side as well. We appreciate you taking the time to bring your experience to our attention so we can work alongside our partners to correct any issues and improve upon our tour offerings. We hope you were still able to enjoy your remaining time in Boston and wish you Happy Travels for the future.

mason336

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Frankie, the tour guide and bus driver, was incredible in his knowledge, delivery, and patience. We were surprised at how well done this tour was for us. Actually, the morning part which included more history was our favorite part.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Giovanna I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour! We actually ended up being the only ones on the tour so it was like our personal pizza tour which made it even better! Great way to also walk around the city and get a bit of history info as well as delicious pizza! Highly recommend!

Doing what: North End Pizza Tour

Giovanna I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour that went ALL over the Boston area - our guide was incredibly knowledgeable on the history of Boston. I definitely recommend this tour to really get to know the Boston area and it's history!

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Emmalee W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

First time visiting Boston and wanted to see as much of the city as possible, which we did. Frankie was our tour guide and he was awesome! He and #39;s a born and raised Bostonian who loves to tell others about his hometown! I took this tour on my birthday and couldn and #39;t have asked for a better birthday present!

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Jenna R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a lifesaver! It offered so many great things to do! Even after 2 days, it paid for itself. We had so much fun and would do it again in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Go Boston Card

Sabyasachi D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It's a very organized tour. I like it.

Doing what: Go Boston Card

Linda N

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Once we found out how to get the tour bus, it was great. We had 2 different drivers and they were both knowledgeable and engaging.
The problem was, I misread the map which indicated where all the attractions were. I thought it was the route map. You know how things are so obvious in hindsight? well, that was my problem.
So you have to go to the ticket booth to get the ticket for the trolley.
The other confusing thing is that there are 2 trolley companies in the city and I got them confused.
So, yes the tour was good once we figured it out.

Doing what: Go Boston Card

Joyce O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The guide took good care of us and took us to some of the best pizza places in Boston...and we love pizza

Doing what: North End Pizza Tour

Kayla P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

such a fun tour! got some great history and food thanks to our guide Jimbo! Louie sauce is all i gotta say!!!

Doing what: North End Pizza Tour

Inga M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was amazing day. A little bit rainy, and our guide Jonathan has warned us about it and has advised to take umbrellas or ponchos before the jorney. Tour was very informarive, interesting. Our guide told about places, historical and fun facts. He told not only about Boston, Harvard University, we listened histories about US states, NY,famous people, about places, traditions where we had lunch. We had in our group hispanic tourists and Jonathan also spoke in Spanish for them! The bus had free wi-fi. I hightly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Boston Freedom Trail Day Trip from New York

Linda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We LOVED this tour!!!! Our guide Frankie was the BEST! He was very knowledgeable, entertaining, accommodating and an amazing driver. We highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

lawmaloles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We have a great time. Nice weather and Boston is awesome!

Doing what: Boston Freedom Trail Day Trip from New York

Dorothy L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

If you have to see everything in a day, this is the way to do it. Driver was knowledgable and kept us entertained with his knowledge. Drive by shooting camera is not my favorite way to take pictures. Plenty of stops, but still a lot of driving.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Kerry M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

There was a multilingual group of tourists and several guides to accommodate them. Our guide spoke English and German. We spent more than an expected amount of time at Harvard which I liked but not as much time on the Freedom Trail, which I didn't like. Overall, though considering that we got to see many things and it is a far drive I have to say that I had a great experience.

Doing what: Boston Freedom Trail Day Trip from New York

Sally M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The tour was good but Boston really needs more than a day. Our guide was good, but there was a lot packed into the day so he was only able to give a little bit of information about each aspect.

Would recommend Boston and guess that were we to do a 2-3 day visit, it and #39;d be 5 stars

Doing what: Boston Freedom Trail Day Trip from New York

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message