Freedom’s the word in Boston. From the Boston Tea Party and the Boston Massacre to the beginning of the American Revolution, this city’s steeped in history and lucky for you, it’s one of the few cities in the ‘Land of the Free’ where you can feel ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1768 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tim C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Despite foul weather we had a marvellous day. Informed and interesting guides on the coach, the boat trip and the visit to the Sandwich glass works, plenty of time to enjoy each leg of the trip. A great day.

Doing what: Fall on Cape Cod: Day Trip from Boston with Sightseeing Cruise

Suzanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Lots of fun! Lots of good info!

Doing what: Boston Ghosts and Gravestones Tour

Paul R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We learned a lot on this tour. Our tour guide Frankie, is very knowledgeable and entertaining. He explained key facts, locations and dates and events well. I took many notes and quizzed our kids in the evening. I was pleased to see how much information they retained from this tour. Thanks Frankie!

-- The Russo's

Doing what: American History Tour: Cambridge, Lexington and Concord Day Trip from Boston

James R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very informative and fun tour.

Doing what: Boston Pizza and Taverns Tour

Yigal L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Do you like pizza? Do you want to have great fun with a local guide? Then this is a great choice! We had 4 different pizzas, each one with a different style, all very good. Also had some historically acurate chocolaty drink which was wonderful. Between pizza stops we heard a bit about the history.

Doing what: North End Pizza Tour

jeff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really great food and historical tour. There is no way to see the North End except to walk no tour buses allowed and this covers all the important sites. Plus you get awesome pizza from places you would never otherwise know about. Really enjoyed it.

Doing what: North End Pizza Tour

Alice T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great tour! The guide was very informative and very entertaining! Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Boston Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Daveen USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Enjoyed it

Doing what: Boston Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Cheryl W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

It would have been nice to get closer to the Kennedy compound. We really couldn't much of that.

Doing what: Fall on Cape Cod: Day Trip from Boston with Sightseeing Cruise

Kathleen B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This tour was a nice diversion on a Friday evening.

Doing what: Boston Ghosts and Gravestones Tour

Albert W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Hop-on Hop-off are usually good value for the money in getting around a city. Here is Boston over the holidays it was expanded to a second day which was needed to stop at the many locations. The Boston Tea Party ship/museum was very good. Those young people are very enthusiastic and really get you pumped up to be a patriot!

Doing what: Boston Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Eunice H

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Very basic tour, good effort put by the students

Doing what: Harvard Campus Walking Tour and Admission to Natural History Museum

Albert W

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Took this half day trip over New Year's Eve so the weather was cool but the countryside was beautiful. The driver/guide Jerry was a real Bostonian and gave us a great amount of history for this trip. Too bad he was so preachy about today's morals and values compared to back in history.

Doing what: American History Tour: Cambridge, Lexington and Concord Day Trip from Boston

Stephen C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

When we arrived the museum didn't open till 11 and then we were told that the Witch Village was closed. No offer of apology with an 'I don't care attitude by the young girl behind the counter and then we were told we could only receive store credit for the Witch Village forcing us to purchase souvenirs we didn't want.
An offer of a similar tour using the value purchased would have been more acceptable given as tourists from Oz we are unlikely to return to Salem/Boston. Communication of unforeseeable problems to guests that have booked online would be very helpful to allow for changes to planned visits.

Doing what: Salem Combo: Wax Museum and Witch Village

Michael V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide was prompt in picking us up and very knowledgeable about the history of the area. He was quite engaging with our questions and when he didn't know the answer he told us so. It was a perfect day.

Doing what: American History Tour: Cambridge, Lexington and Concord Day Trip from Boston

Ronald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our Tour guide on the first go-around was Sonny. He was just OK. Not very informative.Light on the information as he rolled through town. Would talk about what we were to be seeing but didn't or slow enough to snap a photo or even catch a good glimpse of what he was describing. We took a second complete trip around town with Greg and he was AWESOME. Gathered much more information about the sights and he added some comedy, music and many more tidbit of what We thought was very good information.

Doing what: Boston Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Giovanna I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour! We actually ended up being the only ones on the tour so it was like our personal pizza tour which made it even better! Great way to also walk around the city and get a bit of history info as well as delicious pizza! Highly recommend!

Doing what: North End Pizza Tour

Giovanna I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A must in Boston! The cast was funny and engaging and did a great job in presenting Bostons history. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Boston Ghosts and Gravestones Tour

Margaret H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Were a party of 4. Cruising on the Spirit of Boston is always enjoyable, and we are looking forward to our next trip.

Doing what: Boston Sunset Dinner Cruise with Buffet

jralbosky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is the third time I am writing a review for all the excursions we took in Boston. This review pertains to all 4 excursions. All the excursions were very interesting. My wife and I had never been to Boston before and I must commend the advisors at Viator for their invaluable assistance when I called in to book these excursions. The first gentleman at Viator that I spoke to was from Boston and booked our hotel pickups at a hotel very near the hotel where we were staying.
All the tour drivers were very knowledgeable about the area and provided invaluable insight to what we were seeing. They were very courteous and answered all the questions posed to them.

Doing what: Newport Mansions Small-Group Day Trip from Boston

Jenna R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a lifesaver! It offered so many great things to do! Even after 2 days, it paid for itself. We had so much fun and would do it again in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Go Boston Card

Richard J M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was fantastic. Everything we saw was outstanding, however the absolute highlight of the trip was the Tour Guide Frankie. He was totally knowledgable about the history of Boston, the surrounding areas and the Revolutionary War.

Please pass this message on to his company Brush Hill tours and Gray Line of Boston so that he can get proper recognition.

From a couple in their 80's. Angie Bright and Dick Marek.

Doing what: American History Tour: Cambridge, Lexington and Concord Day Trip from Boston

Sabyasachi D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It's a very organized tour. I like it.

Doing what: Go Boston Card

Linda N

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Once we found out how to get the tour bus, it was great. We had 2 different drivers and they were both knowledgeable and engaging.
The problem was, I misread the map which indicated where all the attractions were. I thought it was the route map. You know how things are so obvious in hindsight? well, that was my problem.
So you have to go to the ticket booth to get the ticket for the trolley.
The other confusing thing is that there are 2 trolley companies in the city and I got them confused.
So, yes the tour was good once we figured it out.

Doing what: Go Boston Card

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message