Long gone are the days when the Puritans and Pilgrims walked the cobbled streets of the small peninsula of what is now bustling Boston. Today, however, the knowledgeable amateur historian need not look far for the footprints of these original ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1037 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joseph W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Not inexpensive, but worth every penny! Our guide, Frankie, conveyed a wealth of knowledge of not only the Revolutionary era, but also modern Boston. If you have never been to Boston before this is the tour to take.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

jezgiles70

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Frankie is The Man! Is there anything he doesn't know about the history of Boston? We had a fun day and would highly recommend this day out especially if you are new to the area as we are.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Paul R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We learned a lot on this tour. Our tour guide Frankie, is very knowledgeable and entertaining. He explained key facts, locations and dates and events well. I took many notes and quizzed our kids in the evening. I was pleased to see how much information they retained from this tour. Thanks Frankie!

-- The Russo's

Doing what: American History Tour: Cambridge, Lexington and Concord Day Trip from Boston

James R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very informative and fun tour.

Doing what: Boston Pizza and Taverns Tour

Yigal L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Do you like pizza? Do you want to have great fun with a local guide? Then this is a great choice! We had 4 different pizzas, each one with a different style, all very good. Also had some historically acurate chocolaty drink which was wonderful. Between pizza stops we heard a bit about the history.

Doing what: North End Pizza Tour

jeff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really great food and historical tour. There is no way to see the North End except to walk no tour buses allowed and this covers all the important sites. Plus you get awesome pizza from places you would never otherwise know about. Really enjoyed it.

Doing what: North End Pizza Tour

jeff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This covers all the sites in one day with lots of historical background and lunch on you own in Fanueil Hall. We would not have gone to Concord and Lexington and that turned out to be the highlight. Definately a not to miss experience.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Gary A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour!!

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

lori b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great all encompassing trip around Boston. Loved it.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Albert W

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Took this half day trip over New Year's Eve so the weather was cool but the countryside was beautiful. The driver/guide Jerry was a real Bostonian and gave us a great amount of history for this trip. Too bad he was so preachy about today's morals and values compared to back in history.

Doing what: American History Tour: Cambridge, Lexington and Concord Day Trip from Boston

Champ T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

My wife and I visited Boston over the Columbus Day weekend. With rain predicted for the Sunday of our stay, we thought the Boston in One Day Tour would be a nice way to see the region and stay relatively dry. In the end we viewed the tour as largely a waste of our money. The bus we were on smelled of cigarettes and bodily functions...like it had been a booze bus during the week. The driver seemed knowledgeable, but constantly diverted from descriptions of historical sites to making political and social comments. He would commonly start a rant by saying, I was told not to talk politics, but... and go on to talk politics. Since he made it clear that the tour folks had discussed the issue with him, and he chose to ignore them, we decided there was no point to address our issues with him. I emailed Viator with my complaints, but only received automated responses. Then my review request email arrived...so I am submitting my review. I'm sure some reading this review would say that we were angry that he disagreed with our views, but that would not be the case. We simply hoped for a historical guided tour of the Boston area without social commentary from any side. Instead we received comments about the terrible path of our country, the election, economic policy, gentrification, the house the driver wants to buy, how the vietnamese keep Foxwoods and Mohegan Sun in business, murders, hitching a ride with Big Papi,and literally a joke about beans and smelly seats. There were other examples, but I think you get the point. Instead of a guided tour of the Boston area, we received over 5 hours of the Frankie the driver Soap Box. Since zero stars was not an option, I gave it a one-star rating. I do not recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback. It is of great concern to us that your experience with our local partner was so unsatisfactory. Viator takes all customer feedback and concerns about their experiences seriously, and we work with our suppliers to ensure they are providing high quality products. We have already spoken to the supplier in question and they have assured us they will be looking into this issue on their side as well. We appreciate you taking the time to bring your experience to our attention so we can work alongside our partners to correct any issues and improve upon our tour offerings. We hope you were still able to enjoy your remaining time in Boston and wish you Happy Travels for the future.

Michael V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide was prompt in picking us up and very knowledgeable about the history of the area. He was quite engaging with our questions and when he didn't know the answer he told us so. It was a perfect day.

Doing what: American History Tour: Cambridge, Lexington and Concord Day Trip from Boston

mason336

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Frankie, the tour guide and bus driver, was incredible in his knowledge, delivery, and patience. We were surprised at how well done this tour was for us. Actually, the morning part which included more history was our favorite part.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Giovanna I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour! We actually ended up being the only ones on the tour so it was like our personal pizza tour which made it even better! Great way to also walk around the city and get a bit of history info as well as delicious pizza! Highly recommend!

Doing what: North End Pizza Tour

Giovanna I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour that went ALL over the Boston area - our guide was incredibly knowledgeable on the history of Boston. I definitely recommend this tour to really get to know the Boston area and it's history!

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Stella R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great fun! All the staff were great,worked really hard to make this a fun,entertaining,interesting experience.Great way to learn all about this important time in history.Being British,we loved it!

Doing what: Admission to Boston Tea Party Ships and Museum

Emmalee W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

First time visiting Boston and wanted to see as much of the city as possible, which we did. Frankie was our tour guide and he was awesome! He and #39;s a born and raised Bostonian who loves to tell others about his hometown! I took this tour on my birthday and couldn and #39;t have asked for a better birthday present!

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Richard J M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was fantastic. Everything we saw was outstanding, however the absolute highlight of the trip was the Tour Guide Frankie. He was totally knowledgable about the history of Boston, the surrounding areas and the Revolutionary War.

Please pass this message on to his company Brush Hill tours and Gray Line of Boston so that he can get proper recognition.

From a couple in their 80's. Angie Bright and Dick Marek.

Doing what: American History Tour: Cambridge, Lexington and Concord Day Trip from Boston

Joyce O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The guide took good care of us and took us to some of the best pizza places in Boston...and we love pizza

Doing what: North End Pizza Tour

Kayla P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

such a fun tour! got some great history and food thanks to our guide Jimbo! Louie sauce is all i gotta say!!!

Doing what: North End Pizza Tour

Dorothy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a must see. Very interesting, presented in a positive way. Loved the people portraying people from the past!

Doing what: Plimoth Plantation Living Museum Day Trip from Boston

Linda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We LOVED this tour!!!! Our guide Frankie was the BEST! He was very knowledgeable, entertaining, accommodating and an amazing driver. We highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Davetommo

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

A wet day dampened this trip a little, the time at the plantation was too short for me, too much time spent in Plymouth itself, where apart from the rock 3 minutes and a few shops and eateries and the harbour, there's not enough to do. I would have liked at least another hour or so even in the rain, i could have chatted to the actors for hours, so interesting, we have added this to our list of things to do again, but under our own time,

Doing what: Plimoth Plantation Living Museum Day Trip from Boston

Susan P

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Very enjoyable. I especially enjoyed the stops at Lexington and at Concord Bridge. It was a very patriotic experience.

Doing what: American History Tour: Cambridge, Lexington and Concord Day Trip from Boston

Dorothy L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

If you have to see everything in a day, this is the way to do it. Driver was knowledgable and kept us entertained with his knowledge. Drive by shooting camera is not my favorite way to take pictures. Plenty of stops, but still a lot of driving.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message