Brisbane ATTRACTIONS See all

Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary

Australia's first and largest koala sanctuary, Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary is home to over a hundred cute and cuddly koalas, along with other weird and wonderful native Australian animals like wombats, emus, dingos and kangaroos. Opened in 1927, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 99 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Cynthia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The parking for the boat is hard to find. We had a van that was to big for the underground parking. Recommend putting parking on the information sheet. The Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary was outstanding.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

wirephobia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We loved the river cruise - Rob was fantastic. Koala sanctuary was brilliant too.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Cindy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Good trip plan if you only stay in Brisbane for a short time. You can see a lot from the trip. Of course to cuddle Koala is the best part.

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Lisa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A wonderful time. Enjoyed getting up close and personal with the Koalas and Kangaroos.

Doing what: Brisbane Afternoon City Tour including Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary and Mt Coot-tha

Donald G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Had a great time. The crew were very nice and helped my wife with her mobility scooter we needed to bring to get around the Koala Sanctuary.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Sam S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent river trip to the Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary, with the Sanctuary well run and fully accessible.
Well worth the time and money, and easily booked on line.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Duane R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was the highlight of our three day visit to Melbourne. Lone Pine is a very special place and a great introduction to Australia's indigenous animals. My wife did get to cuddle a Koala and we got to pet Kangaroos, Wallabies, and a Dingo. This is a must do for first timers Down Under.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Fiona M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was great. The trip down the river was smooth and the commentary on the way was informative. The sanctuary was great. Lots to see and the staff were excellent. I'd recommend this trip to anyone who wants a close encounter with a Koala or a Kangaroo.. Brilliant!

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Nancy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was SO much fun, even though I screwed up the departure time my own fault and missed the boat by ten minutes! No matter we caught a cab and arrived at the Koala Sanctuary before the boat, anyway. We connected with them there, and thoroughly enjoyed both the sanctuary and the return boat trip back to the dock downtown. I had a friend visiting from Bombay, and she said this was one of the highlights of her trip to Australia, as well!

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Diego P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Despite the changing weather of Brisbane, the tour was a nice way to depict a general view of the city and then tripping around with more confidence.
The guide was kind and drove the trour at good pace in general.
Best part for me and my wife: Lone Pine Koala.
One low point was the short time to lunch: we end a nice river cruise then arrive at southbank to get into the wheel of Brisbane beautiful experience, then we got just 20 minutes to lunch. It seems that this was because our departure delay at the start of the tour, another low point, we don't get any reason for it.
Maybe it is a minimal point, but the guy who receives us at counter O in the Roma Transit Centre was not very friendly.

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

elvie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Best tour in Brisbane, Bernard is such a great driver and tour director. Great itinerary, full day of interesting activities, city tour, Wheel of Brisbane, river cruise and a Koala Sanctuary visit.Highly recommended.

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour. The boat trip was relaxing and informative. We loved Lone Pine and have already recommended to our relatives who were also traveling in Australia. They loved it too. Great opportunity to hold a Koala and hand feed lots of Roos! Photos are an addtional cost but worth it. After they take a picture, they will also use your camera and snap a couple more Highly recomnended.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Gordon F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Enjoyed the river trip and the koala sanctuary very much

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Blair M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The Tour was amazing!!! The River Cruise is a great way to see Brisbane and lear about the city and see where you want to go explore. Perfect tour if you don't know what to do in Brisbane you will leave the tour knowing where you can explore. The boat was very comfortable and had food and drinks available for purchase on board. The Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary was one of the coolest zoo's I have been too. You can see all the wild animals native to Australia up close and personal. You can hold a Koala and you can hand feed Kangaroos!! Make sure you bring your camera because there will be a lot of photo oops with the Kangaroos and other Animals at the Sanctuary.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a wonderful day trip to the Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary. Our children ages 9 and 11 had so much fun feeding the kangaroos, seeing and holding the Koalas, watching the bird show and the dog show.
The boat ride back and forth was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Claus K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Nice boat ride. I will highly recommend Lone Pine Koala Santuary.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The river ride was relaxing and provided excellent views of the city and many of its riverfront neighborhoods. The Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary was rather small but was very nice. The animals appeared to be well tended and happy.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Karlheinz P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great Boat Tour with very friendly and accommodating captain and restaurant staff. Very interesting and entertaining information during the trip.
Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary is worth a trip. Most fascinating is the sheep show with a fantastic presenter. All the animals are well kept and presented.
Overall, a trip that can be truly recommended.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Lila R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We rode a ferry boat to Lone Pine Koala sanctuary. It was a great tour! The raptor show was amazing.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

aaritu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Mt cook and river cruise was good.. brisbane is beautiful but highlight of this trip is kangaroo feeding and cuddly koalas.. tour guide was good, jolly and friendly but less updated, I asked him few questions about city he asked me to google it as he didn't knew the answers.

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Bruce M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I don't see how anything could be improved.We got to see the latter part of the snake show, koala show, and platypus feeding. Photo opportunities with koalas and kangaroos close up. Good facilities, souvenir shop and cafes.

Doing what: Brisbane Afternoon City Tour including Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary and Mt Coot-tha

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great introduction to a beautiful city. Our guide, David, was highly informative about the history and the description of all that we saw. Of course, the highlight was the visit to the Koala Sanctuary. We highly recommend the tour to all.

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

keith w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Nice leisurely sail excellent friendly crew, loved the Koala sanctuary and the staff are so friendly. Well worth doing.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Richard G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The city tour is like any other city tour, general information about monuments and local events. The windmill was facinating, the highlight was the trip to the Koala Sanctuary, where I saw kangaroos, kookaburras, Platypus and Koalas.

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Ron S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great way to spend the day! I was only in Brisbane for a couple of days, and there was only one thing I knew I wanted to see the Koala sanctuary. This tour allowed me to see what I wanted, and several things I wasn't aware of. Our guide and driver was very knowledgable and friendly. This tour definitely made me want to go back to Brisbane.

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message