Brisbane ATTRACTIONS See all

Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary

Australia's first and largest koala sanctuary, Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary is home to over a hundred cute and cuddly koalas, along with other weird and wonderful native Australian animals like wombats, emus, dingos and kangaroos. Opened in 1927, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 108 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Julie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great river cruise followed by fantastic experience holding a koala and feeding numerous kangaroos.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Anna A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a wonderful time at the Sanctuary. It's a great place to see koalas up close and get a photo taken with a koala or python, if you like snakes. You do have to pay an additional fee for the photo, but it's fairly small. You can also feed kangaroos and wallabys. In addition, the sanctuary houses a few different types of birds, a platypus, wombat, a few times of lizards.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Day Pass

Girlie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We enjoyed the ride specially Lone Pine Koala sanctuary its a must destination if you want to visit Brisbane.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Mitche227

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is one of the few places where you can actually hold a koala. The fee to hold a koala includes the photos. The sanctuary is well kept. You can also feed kangaroos, see shows and many other animals. The ferry ride on the Brisbane River is great and very informative

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Suzanne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

How fun to see so many koalas in one place, and so close. Kangaroos, kukaburas and all the others on the premises. A truly unique and enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Carol.palmer109

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a wonderful day at the Lone Pine Sanctuary and the river cruise was very good with the running commentary. The facilities onboard were great. Tasty food and reasonably priced. Good to book in advance as it worked out cheaper. The sanctuary was excellent and the koalas were a delight. We were so thrilled to see the platypus, it made our day.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Karen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

LOVED IT! Cruise commentary was very helpful in getting an idea of history of the river area. Seeing koalas and getting to hold one was a lifelong dream for me - though it's a very short time to hold them, it was still fantastic!!! Couldn't believe you could just walk in and wander around to feed kangaroos! Definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Frances G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was very relaxing on the boat and hearing about the history of the Brisbane river was informatif.The Koala park was was good. Overall it was n very good experiance.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Cynthia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The parking for the boat is hard to find. We had a van that was to big for the underground parking. Recommend putting parking on the information sheet. The Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary was outstanding.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

wirephobia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We loved the river cruise - Rob was fantastic. Koala sanctuary was brilliant too.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Cindy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Good trip plan if you only stay in Brisbane for a short time. You can see a lot from the trip. Of course to cuddle Koala is the best part.

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Lisa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A wonderful time. Enjoyed getting up close and personal with the Koalas and Kangaroos.

Doing what: Brisbane Afternoon City Tour including Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary and Mt Coot-tha

Donald G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Had a great time. The crew were very nice and helped my wife with her mobility scooter we needed to bring to get around the Koala Sanctuary.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Sam S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent river trip to the Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary, with the Sanctuary well run and fully accessible.
Well worth the time and money, and easily booked on line.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Duane R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was the highlight of our three day visit to Melbourne. Lone Pine is a very special place and a great introduction to Australia's indigenous animals. My wife did get to cuddle a Koala and we got to pet Kangaroos, Wallabies, and a Dingo. This is a must do for first timers Down Under.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Fiona M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was great. The trip down the river was smooth and the commentary on the way was informative. The sanctuary was great. Lots to see and the staff were excellent. I'd recommend this trip to anyone who wants a close encounter with a Koala or a Kangaroo.. Brilliant!

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Nancy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was SO much fun, even though I screwed up the departure time my own fault and missed the boat by ten minutes! No matter we caught a cab and arrived at the Koala Sanctuary before the boat, anyway. We connected with them there, and thoroughly enjoyed both the sanctuary and the return boat trip back to the dock downtown. I had a friend visiting from Bombay, and she said this was one of the highlights of her trip to Australia, as well!

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Diego P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Despite the changing weather of Brisbane, the tour was a nice way to depict a general view of the city and then tripping around with more confidence.
The guide was kind and drove the trour at good pace in general.
Best part for me and my wife: Lone Pine Koala.
One low point was the short time to lunch: we end a nice river cruise then arrive at southbank to get into the wheel of Brisbane beautiful experience, then we got just 20 minutes to lunch. It seems that this was because our departure delay at the start of the tour, another low point, we don't get any reason for it.
Maybe it is a minimal point, but the guy who receives us at counter O in the Roma Transit Centre was not very friendly.

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

elvie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Best tour in Brisbane, Bernard is such a great driver and tour director. Great itinerary, full day of interesting activities, city tour, Wheel of Brisbane, river cruise and a Koala Sanctuary visit.Highly recommended.

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour. The boat trip was relaxing and informative. We loved Lone Pine and have already recommended to our relatives who were also traveling in Australia. They loved it too. Great opportunity to hold a Koala and hand feed lots of Roos! Photos are an addtional cost but worth it. After they take a picture, they will also use your camera and snap a couple more Highly recomnended.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Gordon F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Enjoyed the river trip and the koala sanctuary very much

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Blair M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The Tour was amazing!!! The River Cruise is a great way to see Brisbane and lear about the city and see where you want to go explore. Perfect tour if you don't know what to do in Brisbane you will leave the tour knowing where you can explore. The boat was very comfortable and had food and drinks available for purchase on board. The Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary was one of the coolest zoo's I have been too. You can see all the wild animals native to Australia up close and personal. You can hold a Koala and you can hand feed Kangaroos!! Make sure you bring your camera because there will be a lot of photo oops with the Kangaroos and other Animals at the Sanctuary.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a wonderful day trip to the Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary. Our children ages 9 and 11 had so much fun feeding the kangaroos, seeing and holding the Koalas, watching the bird show and the dog show.
The boat ride back and forth was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Claus K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Nice boat ride. I will highly recommend Lone Pine Koala Santuary.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The river ride was relaxing and provided excellent views of the city and many of its riverfront neighborhoods. The Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary was rather small but was very nice. The animals appeared to be well tended and happy.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message