Brisbane ATTRACTIONS See all

Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary

Opening its doors in 1927, the Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary is Australia’s first koala sanctuary and the largest in the country, with over a hundred koalas in residence. Dedicated to the conservation of all native Australian animals, visitors to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 127 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Four of us visited the Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary by river from Brisbane - all went very smoothly getting there by river with an excellent commentary was great - things to do at the sanctuary were very good - on the way back the crew organised a taxi to pick us up and take us back to our ship - so full marks to the team

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Karen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The sanctuary gave me the opportunity to not only hold a koala but also pet a kangaroo! I was able to view native wildlife of Australia.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Day Pass

Durette C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

SO glad we decided to stand in line to hold a koala! We found out later that this sanctuary is the only one that lets you physically hold one. It's a great experience!

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Day Pass

Amanda J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great day out - definately recommend as this is one state where you CAN hold a koala. Didn't realise you couldn't do this in all states so learnt a lot while there.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Sean P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A fantastic way to see the city if you are only there for a short period of time, the Koala Sanctuary is awesome!

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

barbara United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Would recommend this trip. Cuddling a Koala was a highlight of our whole trip.
The boat trip was interesting and the drinks and food reasonably priced.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Mel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing, don't miss out and GO!!! Spend the extra money to hold a Koala, totally worth it!

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Day Pass

Kurt S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The entire day was amazing! The cruise was extremely informative about Brisbane's history and the sights along the way. The Koala Sanctuary was outstanding! Loved holding a koala, getting up close with kangaroos, dingos, and all of the other animals. Loved everything about our day!!!

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

DAVID L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent boat trip and very informative. Plenty to see and enjoy at the koala sanctuary.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Kerry G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had so much fun at the Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary. We paid extra to cuddle a koala and get a picture, but they also allow you to take a picture with your own camera after they take the official picture. We bought kangaroo food at the general store and had so much fun feeding the kangaroos. We took lots of pictures with them eating out of hands and took our obligatory kangaroo selfies! There are a lot of shows and keeper talks to attend. We loved the sheep dog show! Free wifi everywhere, and uber was an easy way to get to and from the city. It was about 30 each way, but beat riding a bus for an hour. We forgot to bring our printed vouchers but they let us email them to the sanctuary, and they printed them off for us to sign. I would highly recommend the Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary for the kangaroo feeding and koala cuddles!

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Day Pass

Jeremy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic opportunity to hold a koala. Lots of other Australian wildlife to see and some really great displays.
Doing good work in conserving Australian species

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Elyssa F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Holding a koala was neat, but feeding the kangaroos -- just hopping around as they please in an open space -- was even better. This is the only thing we did in our 1 day in Brisbane, and I would do it all again.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Day Pass

Gerri D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The river cruise is very informative and the koala sanctuary a must ! Definitely a

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Susan O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Beautiful day on the river and the koala sanctuary is great. Thoroughly enjoyed the tour!

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Joel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was our first experience in Australia. Brisbane is a lovely city and it was nice to get a well designed tour and overview of the city. Lone Pine Sanctuary Was our initial experience to see Australia's unusual animals. We fed the kangaroos and held a Koala. The Sanctuary was nicely laid out and we had plenty of time to wander around on our own.

Doing what: Brisbane Afternoon City Tour including Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary and Mt Coot-tha

Julie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great river cruise followed by fantastic experience holding a koala and feeding numerous kangaroos.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Anna A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a wonderful time at the Sanctuary. It's a great place to see koalas up close and get a photo taken with a koala or python, if you like snakes. You do have to pay an additional fee for the photo, but it's fairly small. You can also feed kangaroos and wallabys. In addition, the sanctuary houses a few different types of birds, a platypus, wombat, a few times of lizards.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Day Pass

Girlie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We enjoyed the ride specially Lone Pine Koala sanctuary its a must destination if you want to visit Brisbane.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Mitche227

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is one of the few places where you can actually hold a koala. The fee to hold a koala includes the photos. The sanctuary is well kept. You can also feed kangaroos, see shows and many other animals. The ferry ride on the Brisbane River is great and very informative

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Suzanne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

How fun to see so many koalas in one place, and so close. Kangaroos, kukaburas and all the others on the premises. A truly unique and enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Carol.palmer109

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a wonderful day at the Lone Pine Sanctuary and the river cruise was very good with the running commentary. The facilities onboard were great. Tasty food and reasonably priced. Good to book in advance as it worked out cheaper. The sanctuary was excellent and the koalas were a delight. We were so thrilled to see the platypus, it made our day.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Karen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

LOVED IT! Cruise commentary was very helpful in getting an idea of history of the river area. Seeing koalas and getting to hold one was a lifelong dream for me - though it's a very short time to hold them, it was still fantastic!!! Couldn't believe you could just walk in and wander around to feed kangaroos! Definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Frances G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was very relaxing on the boat and hearing about the history of the Brisbane river was informatif.The Koala park was was good. Overall it was n very good experiance.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Cynthia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The parking for the boat is hard to find. We had a van that was to big for the underground parking. Recommend putting parking on the information sheet. The Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary was outstanding.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

wirephobia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We loved the river cruise - Rob was fantastic. Koala sanctuary was brilliant too.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message