Brisbane ATTRACTIONS See all

Tangalooma Resort

The hub for accommodation, restaurants and facilities on Moreton Island, Tangalooma Resort is also the place to come to watch dolphin feeding on the island. Guests staying at the Tangalooma Resort can choose from a huge list of activities, from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 103 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

bilybala

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Its was fun at moreton island!! Beautiful beach, sunset and activities!! Awesome !!. But if tour agent could provide more information such as beach towel can be rent in the resort and feeding dolphin might get wet, in order to let us know what's we need to prepare before depart.

Doing what: Tangalooma Resort Moreton Island Day Cruise with Optional Dolphin Feeding

Mrs S C

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

There was quite a lot of hanging about to get to the resort. Catamaran very busy and noisy. Beautiful island with stunning beach. The resort not really 'my thing' so a very poor choice on my part. It was a very very hot day and I would have liked more shaded peaceful outdoor space to avoid having to cool off inside! The best bit for me was the journey back to the mainland on a much smaller boat with outdoor seating.

Doing what: Tangalooma Resort Moreton Island Day Cruise with Optional Dolphin Feeding

Albert O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing experience. Very well organised tour. Guide very knowledgeable and very friendly. Would recommend Viator to anyone going to Brisbane . Infact all my booking to France, London, Hong Kong, Japan just to name this few with Viator was always up to my expectation. Thank you Viator!

Doing what: Tangalooma Resort Moreton Island Day Cruise with Optional Dolphin Feeding

Josh H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Terrible agency. 6 of the 10 of us signed up for the snorkeling tour, only to find out that we were no longer going on the snorkeling tour because 4 of the group members didn't want to. Bullsht company. Go with another company

Doing what: Moreton Island Snorkel and Sand Boarding 4WD Day Trip from Brisbane

Rebecca V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It was a really cool Tour, was funny...especially the sand boarding : the tour guide was friendly and told us a little bit about the island and prepared delicious lunch. We was a small group so we could talk to each other and the tour guide had enough time for us all. The tour ewas worth it D

Doing what: Moreton Island Snorkel and Sand Boarding 4WD Day Trip from Brisbane

Kari M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

The driver was over 30 minutes late in picking me up from my hotel. The one thing not mentioned in the tour description is that you only get 4 hours on the island and you spend 6 hours in transit! I was shocked! The bus ride from Brisbane was over a half hour. Then we waiting nearly 15 minutes to board the boat. Then, the boat ride was 75 minutes!! Just to turn around and do it all again a few hours later. I thought I'd have a long day to enjoy the island and instead it felt rushed.

Also, you need a cash deposit for ALL of the activities. Want to kayak? Deposit. Want to use a locker? Deposit. Want to ride bikes? Deposit. I wish I was told I'd need piles of cash to participate.

Finally, I called the day before to confirm and ask if I need to bring a towel or anything else, and I was told no. They said there were towels at the resort. But they didn't mention that the only way to get a towel from the resort was with a 20 cash deposit! If you decide to buy one there, it's 30!

I paid over 100 US to spend 6 hours in transit, then paid 30 for a towel, and didn't get to do any of the activities because I only had a VISA and not enough cash for all the deposits. What a waste of time and money. Beyond frustrated.

Doing what: Tangalooma Resort Moreton Island Day Cruise with Optional Dolphin Feeding

DA R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was great really enjoyed the dolphin feeding, great experience and the Island is lovely.

Doing what: Tangalooma Resort Moreton Island Day Cruise with Optional Dolphin Feeding

Hanna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a fantastic day I had. It was perfect in every single way and our guide was so much fun and very knowledgeable. The sand surfing was great and the snorkeling once in a lifetime experience. This is a must do tour!

Doing what: Moreton Island Snorkel and Sand Boarding 4WD Day Trip from Brisbane

Jiawei W

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The 4WD and the equipment is a bit old and the shower facility is quite poor. The whole trip was not as smooth as we thought because the tour information wasn't that clear at the beginning. However, the highlight is the sand boarding which is worth to try once in a life time.

Doing what: Moreton Island Snorkel and Sand Boarding 4WD Day Trip from Brisbane

Elizabeth W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

What a beautiful Island where you can relax to the sound of the ocean, or pack in an activity filled day of snorkeling, sand boarding and all the water sports you can get. The dolphins are magical and I had the pleasure of a wild dolphin coming a meter from me whilst I was swimming in the afternoon!
My only reservation was that the dolphin feeding was too busy. The resort itself needs to limit numbers of people feeding in one evening so you get a true experience.

Doing what: Tangalooma Resort Moreton Island Day Cruise with Optional Dolphin Feeding

ORLANDO P

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The island is amazing, the staff really friendly, good food, we visit many place and we do funny activities there, but I think is for young people, too much control over the people, I feel I was at school like I were a teenager, We couldnt have even a walk by ourself or at least free time to do it.

Doing what: 2-Day Moreton Island Tour from Brisbane or Gold Coast with Optional Nighttime Kayaking

joycemqsee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

If you have a day to spare, the additional activities is well worth the trip. Sand Tobogganing, quad biking and dolphin feeding was suburb.

Doing what: Tangalooma Resort Moreton Island Day Cruise with Optional Dolphin Feeding

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a fun and great tour led by our guide Adrian. The snorkeling was a surprise hit and well led. I do wish time permitted a greater exploration of the island but the ferry schedule limits this. Two ideas for making this better: 1 the equipment and facilities of the company need improvement. The male wetsuits were tattered and old. The campsight where we had lunch was very poorly maintained with trash strewn throughout the eating area. 2 the lunch was of poor quality as has been mentioned in other reviews. It's not that difficult to put together a decent lunch. Instead, soggy sandwhiches and generic store brand cookies, granola bars, and soft drinks - and again, consumed in a poorly maintained camp area was a bad experience.

Doing what: Moreton Island Snorkel and Sand Boarding 4WD Day Trip from Brisbane

Daniel N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was great and accommodating. The provided lunch was not very substantial (it probably cost $2.00) nor healthy (small deli meat sandwich and a side of donuts and cookies).

Doing what: Moreton Island Snorkel and Sand Boarding 4WD Day Trip from Brisbane

Mrs J H H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Even on a very wet day when there were no beach activities happening this was a great tour.. They did all they could to show us different things on the island when what was planned could not happen because of the weather. It was a joy to go into the sea with the dolphins.

Doing what: Tangalooma Resort Moreton Island Day Cruise with Optional Dolphin Feeding

YIWEN Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A pleasant journey at the Island. Sand safari, dolphin feeding, playing with sand, all amazing.

Doing what: Tangalooma Resort Moreton Island Day Cruise with Optional Dolphin Feeding

Nia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great trip, a real visit to paradise! Everything ran as smooth as one could wish, travelling on my own as a female, I felt safe, relaxed, taken care of a provided for from pick up to drop off! Thank you! X

Doing what: Tangalooma Resort Moreton Island Day Cruise with Optional Dolphin Feeding

Michael J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

What an adventure! From the ride into the island to the sandboarding. It was great. I opted for kayaking instead of snorkeling and had a blast. Others that snorkeled near the ship wreck saw some really cool stuff. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Moreton Island Snorkel and Sand Boarding 4WD Day Trip from Brisbane

vivbobby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Lovely weather, a realey enjoyable day trip.

Doing what: Tangalooma Resort Moreton Island Day Cruise with Optional Dolphin Feeding

russ Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

An action-packed day with snorkelling being the main event. It was hard work swimming out to the wrecks, round them and back against the current. Andrew, the guide/driver, knew his stuff and helped less able swimmers. This is for serious action-people only - there is no chance of a rest half way round as it is deep water. A chance to get away from boring coach tours. You will be wet, covered in sand and bounced around in a 4x4 car as your drive along the beach for miles. You stay in your swimmers all day. No toilets (hole in the ground, or wait for the ferry). No roads - hence need for 4x4. Bring sunscreen (waterproof), insect repellent, towel, swimmers and flip-flops as these make it easy as there are no changing facilities.
I thoroughly recommend this tour. Small group of eight on the day worked well, any more and the 4x4 would be too cramped.
The picture associated with this tour is misleading - I wouldn't recommend it if younger than 17.
We didn't get to sandboard as it had been raining so we did a tour of the island instead. I think the day varies based on tides, weather and participants.

Doing what: Moreton Island Snorkel and Sand Boarding 4WD Day Trip from Brisbane

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message