Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Budapest Parliament House (Orszaghaz)

Not many cities can boast a Parliament Building this photogenic. Sitting on the banks of the Danube, built in a grand Neo-Gothic style, this is Parliament done palatially. The idea for the construction of the Budapest Parliament House - or ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 182 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Steve Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour with friendly/local tour guide. The tour captures all the main tourist hotspots and is a great introduction to Buda and Pest. Citadel Citadella was definitely the highlight. This fortress made for some amazing photos looking down into Budapest. The Parliament Tour was also amazing, being able to see inside of such an amazing building.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

david p United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide Laszlo was very knowledgeable about the subject and easy to understand. There were only 3 in the group. The tour started in the basement reviewing some artifacts, news articles, and photos from the time period very interesting. We then walked around Pest where he explained the historical significance of various buildings, statues, and monuments. Our tour ended at the Parliament building at the memorial for the 1956 Revolution. The memorial is extremely well done and emotionally moving a must-see. Very good tour over all.

Doing what: Small-Group Budapest History Walking Tour: Communism, Revolution, WWI and WWII

kit456

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Enjoyed my tour very much, the highlight was the visit to the house of Parliament.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Darrin

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The Parliament tour itself is outstanding, but the only thing the company does is transport you there and buy a ticket for you. The lady leading the initial part of our tour was pleasant but appeared constantly bewildered. She met us at the Parliament gift shop to walk us back to the bus for the city tour but she promptly got us lost, and we walked right past the bus and did not connect for about 20 minutes. Needless to say, the people who were already on the bus for the city tour they had not done the Parliament portion were quite angry about the delay. Then, the next portion city tour takes you around the Pest side without stopping, so take your pictures from the bus window. On the Buda side, you get out for about an hour, which is not long enough to actually go through the castle complex or into the church--just enough time to do some souvenir shopping and take a couple pictures. You could easily accomplish this tour by getting to Parliament yourself and then rent a bike to ride over to the Buda side. If you are staying on the Buda side, don't bother. Go to the castle complex yourself, and rent a bike to ride around heroes square and city park on the Pest side. You can stop and take pictures at your leisure and buy your own ticket to Parliament. Parliament building is impressive and worth the trip.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Dale M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

This tour had its positives and negatives. The key item that I did not realize in advance was that this was a tour outsourced to EUrama Tours by Viator.

There were three guides. The first was very knowledgeable explaining sites as we proceeded from the start to the Parliament House. Within the Parliament House we were turned over to a guide that leads you through there. Again we had a good guide. The Parliament House is awesome and a must see for anyone visiting Budapest. This was so much better than doing it on our own.

The rest of the tour was a city tour by bus with stops both on the Buda and the Pest side. This is a good way to see the sites you would want to in a shorter time than on your own. We felt that our guide was rushing us from site to site and he needed to do a better job of communicating to everyone in the group. There were also some advertised stops that did not occur. Therefore I would not recommend this entire tour until Viator makes some changes. But I would highly recommend the Parliament part of the tour which you can do without the rest.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

C Denise G L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour took us inside the Parliament which is the most beautiful structure in Budapest. The inside was equally as majestic as the outside and i highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Laura A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Parliament House was very nice. I would definitely recommend it. When I booked this one I didn't realize that it was a city sightseeing tour AND the Parliament. The day before I did the city tour with Francis and then did it again this day. It was okay though because I had Francis again and I really liked him.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

marianne m

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour was everything we hoped for... good tour guide and great explanations inside and outside the Parliament building.
Thanks for the experience.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

Antonio P M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

I would like to have seen the soviet statue on top of the hill. The rest was fine including the Parliament House

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Maria G United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

First, compliments to the local tour company for rearranging a pick-up so we could experience Parliament. Do read the fine print on your voucher and confirm your booking of this tour at least 24-hours in advance to the local number provided.
It was my understanding you can only do the Parliament tour with a member of Parliament and I thought this was what I was purchasing. It's more of a skip the line tour however, as the guide secures your tickets for you, hands you off to a Parliament guide, then meets you afterwards.
The tour itself was interesting to understand their governmental process and see the magnificent building.
We only booked the Parliament tour and had to be persistent in obtaining a ride back to our hotel as most of the other people were continuing on with a city tour by bus. We had other plans and while taken on the coach, we weren't taken to our hotel. We were dropped off on a major street and pointed in the right direction. Fortunately, we had walked around earlier and had a sense of landmarks to make our way back.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

Susheela B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was good. The guide was informative and the interiors of the parliament is amazing. Not to miss this when in Budapest

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

James K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Although central-area hotel pick-up was advertised, we still had to walk about 15 minutes to the departure site. It was a short bus trip to the Parliament Building, and the guide shared historical information. We then were turned over to a docent who gave us an informative and well guided tour. We felt the price was a bit high for what we received.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

mmacrow1

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great guides.
That Parliament building is world class.
Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

tom t

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Out really not that great of tour and limited inside views of parliament building

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

Paul United Kingdom

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

The tour was amazing but all Viatour do is pick you up at your hotel and drive you to Parliament where a standard guide shows you round. It and #39;s also a bit of a con buying via Viator as you and #39;re barge the non-EU rate but the agency only pays the EU rate if you give them your passport. biy online instead

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

Michael

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was fast paced tour of both walking and by bus so you see a lot of sights in a short time. The Parliament house tour is incrediable and not to be missed. Our guide was very good and had grown up during the communist era and had many interesting stories on the history of Budapest. Unfortunately the weather that day was cold and rainy so we had to move in and out to avoid the rain and wind.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Horst R

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour was very nice and the guide in the Parliament was great. The only real hiccup we met was when the others on the tour and bus continued on to Heroes Park, leaving us to walk back to the hotel. No notice of this was given in advance.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

Norma L

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

First half of tour - Parliament Buildings - had a lot of waiting around. In general ok.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Michele A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

This tour was not worth the money. If you are staying anywhere on the Pest side you can easily walk to the Parliament building. My suggestion would be to go early get your own admission ticket. You will save yourself 50 and not have a bus pick you up to drive you a mile! The tour itself was weak. A couple major highlights of the grand staircase, Crown Jewels and chambers and that was it. Took all of 45 minutes. Would not recommend this at all.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

Thahira J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had a short holiday due to work but able to see most things memorable around budapest during this tour.Guide Estelle who accompanied us in parliament was very friendly and knowledgeable.After the parliament tour,city visit started with Francis.Despite his arthritis,he took us up and down hill and give good information about BUDA and Pest.Thank you for making this short trip memorable.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Ajsa India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A very well operated tour.. Our guide Agnes and Ferenc were terrific.. Especially Ferenc is such a wonderful gentleman.. He took us on a lovely walking tour of the Buda side and is so well informed.. The Parliament Building is stunning.. But it definitely looks better in pictures or in videos.. A tour not to be missed..

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Linda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

So thankful we booked this tour in advance of our trip. Heard from some that they could not see Parliament as they had not booked early enough. This tour is very much worth the money. Highly informative, grand architecture and furnishings, and a history of Hungarian politics. Highly recommend this - it's a must see on your trip to Budapest!

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

KATHLEEN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was conducted by three different people. Someone took us over to the Parliament. Then someone from the Parliament did the interior tour of the Parliament. During this we wore earphones, which did have static at short times. As I understand it only people from the Parliament can conduct this tour. Finally someone else gave us a tour of the rest of the city. All personnel were professional and informative. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Jayjay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great, pleasant service. The tour guide took me around the vicinity of the Parliament explaining the history and then helped me join the tours at the Parliament itself. Excellent service.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

gpjames Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

This tour provides a decent overview of the city of Budapest along with a tour of the Parliament House. We did a short, easy walking tour at the beginning and then were taken to the Parliament House. Our tour group was small 7 people, so we were able to be close enough to our guide to hear all of her comments.

For the Parliament House tour, we joined a larger group of tourists regular public tours and were taken through the building by a Parliament House guide. Guests were provided with portable headphones so that everyone could easily hear the comments of the guide. Be aware that there are a lot of stairs to climb. The tour was informative, but having previously toured the Parliament in Bucharest, Romania, we found it a bit repetitious.

Following the Parliament House tour, we rejoined our private group for a 2-hour driving tour of Budapest in a comfortable mini-bus. This was a good way to see the basics of the city to help decide what to focus on in our remaining days there.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message