Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Budapest Parliament House (Orszaghaz)

Not many cities can boast a Parliament Building this photogenic. Sitting on the banks of the Danube, built in a grand Neo-Gothic style, this is Parliament done palatially. The idea for the construction of the Budapest Parliament House - or ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 201 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

GAIL D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Really enjoyed the Parliament tour and tour of Budapest. Walled city was terrific and the motor coach very comfortable. Left from our hotel, which was very convenient. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

honey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

wonderful tour. parliament was a highlight of budapest

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Jodi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour of the parliament was well worth it and I liked seeing the castle district.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

darshu2000

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Take this tour if you just have one or two days in Budapest
It covers most of Budapest in a quick tour.
Parliament house is a Wonderful and a Must See!!
Our Guide Silvia Hope her name is correct was EXCELLENT!!
She showed us very place with great interest and enthusiasm
Shared relevant deals related to our interest. BEST Tour Guide ever seen

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Wendy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We signed up for our tour on line a few days before we arrived in Budapest and we were glad we did. A taxi, prearranged by Viator, picked us up at our hotel and dropped us off at a Viator office where we boarded a bus for a brief drive to the Parliament. Our tour began promptly at 10:00 and an excellent guide gave us a very informative tour.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

Wendy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We signed up for our tour on line a few days before we arrived in Budapest and we were glad we did. A taxi, prearranged by Viator, picked us up at our hotel and dropped us off at a Viator office where we boarded a bus for a brief drive to the Parliament. Our tour began promptly at 10:00 and an excellent guide gave us a very informative tour.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

Georgann J

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

This took a long time to get going. We waited for a long time at the hotel for the bus to take us to Parliament and waited when we got there for the tour to begin. The tour itself was fine, but the time lost waiting and waiting was a huge waste of time.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

William B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

My fiancé and I recently spent three weeks in Europe, touring several cities including Prague, Venice, Munich and of course, Budapest. We chose to do the Parliament/Budapest Day Tour and I can honestly say its the first tour Ive ever been on that I couldnt wait to end.

Our tour started a bit chaotically with a 30-minute delay. In the tour, there were roughly 20 Americans and two Italians, who had a separate guide. Im all for being multi-cultural, but the separate tour guide definitely impacted the enjoyment of the tour for 95 of attendees since it meant we were listening to the tour in two languages.

All three of our guides, whose names I cant recall, were pretty bad. For starters, the first Eurama tour guide didnt know the majority of questions I had asked him about Budapest history. The guide at Parliament was 100 going through the motions- her speech was rehearsed down to the line to where it almost felt like she was reading from a book. Our last guide was probably the worst of all. There was some sort of miscommunication with him and our bus driver, which led to another 30 minute delay where we were literally standing on the side of the road waiting for our bus. The tour ended up running late and because of the delays, everything we did see was rushed through.

Budapest has a lot to offer. We ended up having a great time in the tour exploring on our own. If youre going, opt for solo adventure or find another tour. This one missed the mark.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Howard B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Very disjointed - guide in the Parliament run by Parliament themselves was very rude and insisted we were German as we had been bought tickets for a German language tour!
When we told our guide absolute lack of interest .
Rest of tour of bus was Ok but been on far better elsewhere-not up to standard.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Sandip M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

The Parliament was good but the sight seeing was absolutely horrible. I never had such a bad experience with Viber before. It didn't cover half the things that the overview says it will show.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Katherine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great seeing the Parliament and nice tour of city.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Nicole C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

I would not recommend this tour. You do not need to be a part of a tour group to receive a guided tour of the Parliament in English. I'd suggest showing up at the Parliament and purchasing tickets directly from them.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

Mary Ann C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The tour of Parliament was great. The rest of the tour was just ok. Elsa the city tour guide was hard to understand and was more interested in taking us to her friends shops and marzipan store than touring. She got a kickback at the candy store. As the bus moved it was hard to see and understand. Not the best.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

KARIN J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The initial tour guide was confused out of the gate! She didn't know who was booked for which tour and she kept asking who was booked for which tour and she kept doing a head count. You could tell she was unorganized. However, Parliament the building was beautiful and worth the visit but I wasn't impressed with the Parliament tour--the guide was nice enough though. The city tour was terrible!!! The guide had no enthusiasm and it was conducted in English and Spanish, which the site did not mention. All we did was drive around the tourist spots in a bus with very few photo stops and the stops we got, they were very short. Don't waste your time or on money on this tour. It was overpriced for what you got. Budapest is a small enough country to tour on your own. You don't need a tour company--at least not this one!

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Elena M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

We were told we would be picked up at 1245pm. However someone showed up at our hotel after 1:00pm and asked that we walk to the bus. it is not a long walk. Well it was longer than expected! When we arrived at the bus everybody was waiting and we felt they thought we delayed the tour. There were three different languages spoken on bus. The tour guide basically told us she had another tour and was very busy and would go with us to the Parliament Building, purchase our tickets and would have to leave for her other tour. When my husband got his ticket it was for German and she did not seem very concerned. Ultimately it was OK. Basically we paid a great deal of money for this tour for what turned out to be a ride to the Parliament Building and not even from our hotel. There was no one from the company there after the tour to assist us with the best way to get back to our hotel. I would not recommend. Viator should look for another local provider. Any dealings I had with Viator representatives on the phone prior to my trip were excellent so I am guessing the problem came from the local provider.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

Steve Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour with friendly/local tour guide. The tour captures all the main tourist hotspots and is a great introduction to Buda and Pest. Citadel Citadella was definitely the highlight. This fortress made for some amazing photos looking down into Budapest. The Parliament Tour was also amazing, being able to see inside of such an amazing building.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

david p United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide Laszlo was very knowledgeable about the subject and easy to understand. There were only 3 in the group. The tour started in the basement reviewing some artifacts, news articles, and photos from the time period very interesting. We then walked around Pest where he explained the historical significance of various buildings, statues, and monuments. Our tour ended at the Parliament building at the memorial for the 1956 Revolution. The memorial is extremely well done and emotionally moving a must-see. Very good tour over all.

Doing what: Budapest Hammer & Sickle Tour - Communist Times, 56 Revolution, WW I & II

kit456

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Enjoyed my tour very much, the highlight was the visit to the house of Parliament.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Janet

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The Parliament House is beautiful and very interesting. I would recommend this tour but with a different
guide. He was not organized at all - counted the people who were in his group and would have left if someone had not spoken up that there were missing people. The tour was great - the guide, we would never use again.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Janet

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The Parliament House is beautiful and interesting. I would recommend this tour but with a different guide. He was not organized at all - counted the people who were in his group and would have left if someone had not spoken up that there were missing people. The tour was great - the guide, we would never use again.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

lutib Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very good tour although be prepared to be greeted by one guide and then handed over to another at the Parliament House. Sorry it did not include the library, but what we did see was unbelievable. The tour guide at the Parliament House was very knowledgeable and spoke English well.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

Emily T

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Professionally done. We were picked up on time from our hotel and had a pleasant guide. Time inside Parliament was only 30 minutes - we felt this was a bit short.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

Darrin

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The Parliament tour itself is outstanding, but the only thing the company does is transport you there and buy a ticket for you. The lady leading the initial part of our tour was pleasant but appeared constantly bewildered. She met us at the Parliament gift shop to walk us back to the bus for the city tour but she promptly got us lost, and we walked right past the bus and did not connect for about 20 minutes. Needless to say, the people who were already on the bus for the city tour they had not done the Parliament portion were quite angry about the delay. Then, the next portion city tour takes you around the Pest side without stopping, so take your pictures from the bus window. On the Buda side, you get out for about an hour, which is not long enough to actually go through the castle complex or into the church--just enough time to do some souvenir shopping and take a couple pictures. You could easily accomplish this tour by getting to Parliament yourself and then rent a bike to ride over to the Buda side. If you are staying on the Buda side, don't bother. Go to the castle complex yourself, and rent a bike to ride around heroes square and city park on the Pest side. You can stop and take pictures at your leisure and buy your own ticket to Parliament. Parliament building is impressive and worth the trip.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Dale M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

This tour had its positives and negatives. The key item that I did not realize in advance was that this was a tour outsourced to EUrama Tours by Viator.

There were three guides. The first was very knowledgeable explaining sites as we proceeded from the start to the Parliament House. Within the Parliament House we were turned over to a guide that leads you through there. Again we had a good guide. The Parliament House is awesome and a must see for anyone visiting Budapest. This was so much better than doing it on our own.

The rest of the tour was a city tour by bus with stops both on the Buda and the Pest side. This is a good way to see the sites you would want to in a shorter time than on your own. We felt that our guide was rushing us from site to site and he needed to do a better job of communicating to everyone in the group. There were also some advertised stops that did not occur. Therefore I would not recommend this entire tour until Viator makes some changes. But I would highly recommend the Parliament part of the tour which you can do without the rest.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

jody g

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

The first part of the tour was nice, as we saw the Parliament. However, last part could have been much better. The tour guide was so dreadfully boring. He did not stop talking and it was all in a monotone. Honestly, did not get anything out of his guiding us. The sights that the bus took us to were nice though. If only the tour guide were better, it would have been a better tour. Also, the tour guide had little control over a group of guests who were consistently late getting back on the bus. It's not fair to keep a group of people waiting 15-20 minutes extra, each time the bus stopped. Due to these issues, looking back, we would have saved a lot of time doing this tour on our own.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message