The Danube River is the frame of all the best Budapest views, the dividing line that gives the city its dual character, and the second longest river in Europe. It richly deserves all the songs that celebrate it. If it weren't for the Danube ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1429 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

M V C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Faultless. Beautiful city, excellent food, clean and tidy boat. Thoroughly recommended!

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

Bernadette H M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really fun thing to do on our first night in Budapest. The lights on the magnificent buildings along the Danube were spectacular. The traditional live music on board was fab. Take the dinner cruise. It's worth it. Just a note: everyone virtually sprints from the meeting and sing-in point to the boat fearful of missing out but don't worry. You will have a reserved table just for you so no need to panic! Just stroll and enjoy every moment of the evening.

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

maurice v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We were lucky because the meeting point was only a block away from our hotel. Slightly concerned when a voice said follow me and about 200 people suddenly appeared and snaked their way to the River. Didn't realise there would be so many, and then wondered if we would be seated and how the buffet would pan out 200 people all getting up to feast- would there be enough food!Need not have worried. Was greeted by the Captain, offered a glass of Champagne and shown to our table by a waitress. Had fantastic views of The Bridges, Buda Castle, Parliament Building all lit up and the Captain stopped close to each so you could go on deck to take photos. There was more than enough food, they were still replenishing the roast potatoes, 15 mins away from docking. The Band was fantastic, we had our glass of wine/beer and mineral water and I had an extra beer which was more than reasonably priced. A great start to our holiday , well worth the money and a must to be able to see Budapest at night.

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

Antonello C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We enjoyed out time on the boat, the food was good and the music exceptional. However, due to the freezing temperatures outside, it was impossible to stay outside to see the view and take photos. It would have been great to have some places on the lower level which would have made it easy to take photos.

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

Patricia C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The tour was as discribed but it poured and was misty all day. Not Viator's fault but it did dampen our experience.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Denise T

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Don't get me wrong, it was very cool to go under chain bridge, and see parliament and the castle all lit up at night, but that was about all there was to see! I am glad we only did the drinks and therefore didn't spend much on this cruise. Though if we would have gotten dinner maybe we would have enjoyed it more? This cruise in particular felt more about the ambiance then sightseeing.

Doing what: Budapest Late Night Dinner Cruise on the Danube

Giles S United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Enjoyable but not fab. 200 people walking down to the boat after having queued to exchange the voucher with a boat ticket in a tiny theatre hallway, not a great start. Not told to do that beforehand. No commentary inside which was fine, but didn't know what we were looking at. Folk band was good. Food wasn't bad, lots of it. Pleasant evening and good value but I wouldn't do it again.

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

Pistol Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The view of the city on the boat was lovely, the food wasn't hot and one of the staff members was quite rude.

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

maximus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was great our guide was very good.

Doing what: Budapest Night Stroll & Boat Cruise

Joel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Budapest at night is one of the most beautiful cities in the world. The Parliament Building all lit up is gorgeous. Cruising the river and having the guide explain about the buildings and bridges is a great way to experience the city.

Doing what: Budapest Night Stroll & Boat Cruise

florentinadin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The cruise was amazing! Seeing all the buildings lighten by night, listening to good music played by the musicians, enjoying the silence of Danube River.
It was a beautiful experience for me and my mother.

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

Sheila M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

So beautiful seeing both sides of the Danube lit up The food was very good and plentiful, and taxis came when ordered to pick us up and return us to our hotel

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

Cal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A true joy!

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

Gill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A beautiful trip at night , leaving point quite difficult to find though ...we stayed out on the deck as you couldn't hear the commentary inside because of the band playing .

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

Helen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It was a wonderful evening we enjoyed it very much Delighted we went

Doing what: Danube Symphony Orchestra Cimbalom Concert with Optional Danube River Dinner Cruise

Mary R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great value for money, the taxi pick up service to/from hotel was fab!

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

Louis B USA

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Guide was Ok but the itinerary was wonderful. Lots of Hungary here.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

IRENE M Ireland

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Well worth going on this trip a unique experience. Budapest lovely at night.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour by Land and Water

col

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Great food really pretty buildings all lit up at night

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

aisoon

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

We had a great time even though it was raining that night. There are 2 things we wish they could have done differently.
1. Darken the room a bit instead of the bright white neon lights at least on the upper deck, so we could see better lights and scenes of the outside and got good photos. Since it was raining, open the windows wasn't the choice.
2. Add just a little commentary of what the buildings are along the river, what bridges we are going under and what is coming up.

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

Richelle R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Very nice tour, we only did the cruise and opted to forgo the dinner so I can't comment on the food but the drinks provided were nice. Great way to orient yourself to the city on your first day.

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

Kathy

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Budapest really knows how to light up the city and riverfront, and the cruise is worth it just for the eye feast. The food was fine but not gourmet or exceptional a buffet, but the staff were friendly. It is a nice diversion for an evening. There is live music and you can circulate - we took pictures from the back of the ship outdoors.

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

Francine D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

We booked it for the sunset. We were not disappointed with the views and entertainment! The meal was so so, but that was what we expected of this type of cruise. All in all very good !

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message