The Danube River is the frame of all the best Budapest views, the dividing line that gives the city its dual character, and the second longest river in Europe. It richly deserves all the songs that celebrate it. If it weren't for the Danube ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1407 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

maximus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was great our guide was very good.

Doing what: Budapest Night Stroll & Boat Cruise

Joel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Budapest at night is one of the most beautiful cities in the world. The Parliament Building all lit up is gorgeous. Cruising the river and having the guide explain about the buildings and bridges is a great way to experience the city.

Doing what: Budapest Night Stroll & Boat Cruise

florentinadin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The cruise was amazing! Seeing all the buildings lighten by night, listening to good music played by the musicians, enjoying the silence of Danube River.
It was a beautiful experience for me and my mother.

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

Sheila M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

So beautiful seeing both sides of the Danube lit up The food was very good and plentiful, and taxis came when ordered to pick us up and return us to our hotel

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

Louis B USA

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Guide was Ok but the itinerary was wonderful. Lots of Hungary here.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

IRENE M Ireland

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Well worth going on this trip a unique experience. Budapest lovely at night.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour by Land and Water

IRENE M Ireland

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Wrap up well if you go here as the Basilica is freezing cold. Music choice nor great.

Doing what: Budapest St Stephen's Basilica Organ Concert with Optional Danube River Dinner Cruise

Alan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was indeed a full day tour and was absolutely one of the most enjoyable, educational and beautiful tours my wife and I have ever been on. Our tour was on October 21st, and though it was a bit chilly, the weather did not dampen our enthusiasm. We were blessed with an exceptional tour guide, Helena and our excellent driver Luis, who worked exceptionally hard to provide us with a days worth of wonderful sights and Helenas commentary was informative, interesting and very educational. On the tour, I asked her to tell us a bit about her life under communist rule and the stories were thought provoking and showed what strength of character she has! All I can say is that it was a day full of memorable visits to beautiful historic sites and it included a wonderful Hungarian lunch at a lodge high up on a mountain side. We went through village after village which gave me a bit of an insight into life of the everyday people and again, the sites we stopped to see and surrounding area overlooking the Danube were very memorable. I LOVE crossing borders, and there was a little unexpected surprise on this tour. After visiting the fabulous historic spots, we were promised a better view from another vantage point. We traveled perhaps 10 or 15 minutes on the bus and crossed the Danube into Slovakia! It was a brief visit for a drink, bathroom stop and a fabulous view of what we had just seen from the Hungarian side of the Danube but I was thrilled at this unexpected border crossing. I believe that was country number 45 that my wife and I have visited though this visit was brief. I can say I have been in Slovakia!
All in all, this was a fabulous day and my wife and I loved EVERY MINUTE. If you plan this tour, ask for Helena as your guide. We loved her dearly and she made the day very special in many ways.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Robin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We did this the night we arrived in Budapest. Our ride was right on time, the boat was beautiful, service good, food great, and entertainment well done. I would do this again if in Budapest.

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

rainbow.maker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I'm not generally a fan of group tours but this one was very good. Our guide Helen was a local with 15 years experience. She was outstanding sharing her knowledge of history at the Basilica and castle we visited along with a quick trip over a bridge to Slovakia, lunch at a hunting lodge and time in Szendtre, a small arts and crafts village not far from Budapest. The coach was comfortable, the lunch substantial and a great time with new friends. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

L_m_mccarthy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I would definitely recommend this trip and Viator. The booking staff and all the hosts, including those responsible for transfers were all very helpful and pleasant as were the staff on the cruise. It's excellent value considering everything which is included. My party were all very happy with the trip and the price. It's lovely cruising the Danube looking at the views, listening to excellent musicians whilst being wined and dined. Thank you so much.

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

Catherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

First night in Budapest - it could not have been better.
Food - FAB U LOUS
Music - Oh yes and we bought the CD
Staff - so polite and accomodating

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

Jodi A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This really was five star! Great food, views and music from a friendly string quartet.

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

Matthew613

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

I really liked this tour and took a few naps on the bus in-between traveling to the different parts, this is an early tour my taxi was ready at 8:25am and we got back to Budapest at 5:25pm.

Ingrid was our tour guide.

The first place we stopped at was Esztergom which has the famous church and we briefly went to Slovakia to take pictures of the church, after the church we went up into the hills were the views were great and the restaurant looked great, the food was ok and the service was ok but it was not great as it was very busy the staff were very nice but overworked so I don't blame them, I would go back to the restaurant.

After the restaurant we went to an artist town which was very nice but also designed for mainly tourists with tourist prices. I bought a nice bottle of wine from a really good wine restaurant that had it's own wine cellar that was a good experience, I would like to go back there and buy a few bottles of wine, there is also a handmade chocolate shop with their own museum of life size celebs.

After this we drove back to Budapest, I would recommend this tour but next time I would like to try a different part of Hungary our tour guide said they have a few different day trips.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

laura c

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Very nice trip. The guide was very informative. The lunch was in a very picturesque restaurant with beautiful views.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Karan J

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this trip, the staff were lovely and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was plentiful but could have been a lot hotter! It was only when we went out on deck after our meal that we realised there was a commentary. However it didn't spoil our evening and Budapest is a beautify city both by day and night.

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

Irene K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

En trevlig eftermiddag. God mat och en överblick över staden från vattnet.

Doing what: Danube River Lunch Cruise

Thelma O

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Not as good as I thought. Visigrad Denube Bend was very nice but nothing spectacular. St Stephens Basilica was too elaborate, should be sold and feed the starving millions. Guide Laslow had only fair command of English language.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Robert N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

The concert was very nice. We were overdressed in a coat and tie and my friend wearing a dress. I asked the girl to call me a cab to get to the boat for the dinner cruise. I told her that I was an amputee. She assured me that it was a short walk. It wasn't. That kind of ruined my mood for the rest of the evening.

Doing what: Budapest St Stephen's Basilica Organ Concert with Optional Danube River Dinner Cruise

dominique b

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

Because of lighting in boat unable to see views outside. Food not good. HaviNG TO WAIT AT boat ramp for 15min waiting for boat

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

aliceavery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a very informative, relaxing trip. The country side was breath-taking and the history was very interesting. Lunch was absolutely delicious and the view from the restaurant was amazing. Loved everything about it.

A.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Robin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great way to see the city. It was a lot of fun and I felt we saw a lot. There were 4 of us traveling together so we had 2 Tuk tuks and 2 drivers. They both were knowledgeable and fun.

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

honey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

special evening. orchestra was outstanding.

Doing what: Danube Symphony Orchestra Cimbalom Concert with Optional Danube River Dinner Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message