Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Dohany Street Synagogue

Dohány Street Synagogue is the largest functioning synagogue in Europe, and one of the largest in the world, so it deserves its other title, the Grand Synagogue. Why else is it grand? The scale is matched by its decoration - the synagogue has ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 204 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fabulous tour of the Jewish Quarter of Budapest. Wonderful tour guide. Met all our expectations and even more.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Cindy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Petra was very informative and gave a fantastic tour.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

dleff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Joel was vey knowledgeable and personable! We learned history and saw beautiful sites! A perfect tour!

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Rona C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We found the tour to be very interesting and worthwhile. Petra was our tour guide and was very knowledgeable about Jewish life in Budapest. Although she was young she clearly had studied the history of Jewish Budapest.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

jody g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour guide. Very clear and informative. Excellent tour.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

sarahjvoros

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was a very informative tour. There were only 10 people in our group which made it very easy to hear our tour guide and ask questions.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

lutib Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is a must do if you want to learn about the Jewish part of Budapest.
The guide was very knowledgeable and spoke English well.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Jewish Budapest Including Great Synagogue and Jewish Museum

bunnu

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The Budapest card is worth it if you're spending at least 2 nights in the city known as the 'Paris of the East'. It gives free transport on all modes: bus, tram, metro. You don't get any discounts on the Hungarian Parliament visit or the St. Stephen's Basilica. You do however get a free walking tour in the morning and afternoon. At the Buda Castle, make sure you go at sunset time to capture the glorious views of this beautiful city! then walk over to the Panoramic restaurant at Fisherman's Bastion where you get 20 off.

Doing what: Budapest Card

h_hendriks

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Good but didn't use it to its full potential

Doing what: Budapest Card

Andrew R

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

It is hard to get your money's worth from these cards, but it did make taking the subway MUCH easier. Not a good deal if you have children or can get the student rate.

Doing what: Budapest Card

Agnes J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great guide, very interesting!

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Ronni R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was great. Lots of interesting things to learn about. Terrific guide. The synagogue was amazing!

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Anita B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really enjoyed our Jewish cultural walking tour on Sunday July 3. We did the extended tour. It was interesting, lots of information about the area, synagogues, architecture.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Mark T A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an excellent tour, guided by the very knowledgeable and personable Petra. The itinerary was well organised and nicely paced - not too fast and not too slow. We selected the extended grand tour, which proved very worthwhile giving a great overview of the story of Jewish Budapest. It was also very useful to have included a guided tour of the Jewish Museum, in which the museum guide explained the stories behind a selection of the museum's objects. The grand tour lasted four hours 10am-2pm, with still plenty of time to explore other great features of this lovely city.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Ellen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fatima was an excellent guide for the Grand Tour. She had a vast amount of information to give us, well organized and could answer any question that we had. She was also extremely personable. There were only 7 of us on the tour so we each had a chance to talk to her during our walk. Each synagogue was amazingly beautiful. We were very glad we took the tour rather than seeing it all on our own. We could get a better understanding of what we were seeing.
Our mini tour within the Jewish Museum was not quite as good. It was very difficult to hear the soft spoken museum guide. It might have been more worthwhile to walk through it on our own.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Jeremy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

informative and interesting. I highly reccomend!

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Jerrold L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Petra was very knowledgeable about all sites on this tour. Very well done.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Sandra K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

our tour was in the rain - our guide was friendly, nice and easy to understand. She took care of all our group with professionalism!

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Avi A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour. Our guide Fatima, was very knowledgable and delivered the tour in an extremely interesting way. We learned a lot and didn't feel how the time passed.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Allison K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our Tour Guide Viki was the best. Truly knowledgable and worked to make sure the tour was made to fit our needs.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Jewish Budapest Including Great Synagogue and Jewish Museum

barbaran53217

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our primary guide, Petra, was extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic. We walked in pouring rain but it did not detract from the experience. The guide within the Jewish Museum added significantly to our understanding of Hungarian Jewish history as he explained the artifacts on display.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

AJ M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

cannot use card at museums we would have liked to visit

Doing what: Budapest Card

AJ M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

cannot use card at museums we would have liked to visit

Doing what: Budapest Card

Philippa K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour given by Fatima. Thoroughly enjoyed it 5! Highly recommended .

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Giovanni P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great for a first time in Budapest, covers all the main areas

Doing what: Budapest Card

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message