Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Dohany Street Synagogue

Dohány Street Synagogue is the largest functioning synagogue in Europe, and one of the largest in the world, so it deserves its other title, the Grand Synagogue. Why else is it grand? The scale is matched by its decoration - the synagogue has ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 227 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ann L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The guide was very knowledgeable about this area of Budapest and the experiences and history of the Jewish people. I am not Jewish but found the whole tour very interesting. Visiting the synagogue and seeing all of the different parts of the Jewish quarter was fascinating.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

rajarshi

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

4 hour tour took us all around the city. Guide was knowledgeable and good. I was only disappointed that we seemed to see several things only from the outside Mathias Church, St. Stephen's Church etc. Should have had a few more stops to get down and see.

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

Barbara A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a great tour guide who was very knowledgeable and interesting. The only dull part of the tour was inside an ancient Jewish temple that was being restored. It was warm in there and the talk was long - heads were bobbing. The rest of it was amazing, and of course emotional.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Saralyn C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

There were about 7 of us in the group, a small enough group which was nice. We all wanted the English tour to understand the history better. However, it was difficult understanding the tourist guide. The bus got there late and we were dropped off before the 4 hours were up. At any rate, I finished the tour not really getting a better understanding about Budapest and her history. Big disappointment.

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

honey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Thomas was a very excellent guide, with knowledge of the area, and the history of all that we saw.

Doing what: Private Jewish Budapest Walking Tour

P. C. B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide Tomas was informative, pleasant and led us on a nice walk through Jewish Budapest and the garden of the Synagogue. Inadvertently, we visited on 9 / 11. We were inside the synagogue and the designated guide in English had barely started to brief us when there was a security alert an unclaimed bag and we were obliged to vacate though allowed in the garden, where incidentally, a modern memorial sculpture stands, the work of Tomas's Grandfather !

Doing what: Private Jewish Budapest Walking Tour

Joel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Took the extended tour yesterday with our guide Joel. Very much enjoyed the tour. Joel was an excellent and informative guide and went out of his way to make sure we saw everything.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Sue

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Transportation made easy by delivery of the card to your hotel for immediate use.

Doing what: Budapest Card

Elizabeth y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Petra was a wonderful guide, My husband and I took the extended tour and it covered everything. We really enjoyed this tour and she made sure not to loose anyone. The next day I took a tour with a different company and the guide was so bad, He lost us and the group left without us! Viator is a good company, They use young and enthusiastic tour guides. Take this tour you will not regret it.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

bettesue

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was terrific made even better by our guide Orsolya Ursula. It worked out that the tour only had 4 guests. I am not sure if the rain and cold had caused the group to become smaller. We saw many sights in the Jewish Quarter and had a special docent guide us in The Jewish Museum. Couldn't have asked for a better guide. Try to get Orsolya!!

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Kathryn P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour. Guide had impressive knowledge of the history right up to the present of the Jewish community in Hungary. Rombach Street Synagogue was amazing and so sad that it is still in such disrepair.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Roshni V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a must and our guide Fatima for so good and knowledgeable we loved her:

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Donna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable!

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Scott K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The walking tour was absolutely amazing. Our guide was very knowledgeable and engaging and made the experience very enjoyable. We opted for the extended tour and visited an orthodox synagogue followed by dessert and coffee at a local kosher bakery. Would highly recommend this walking tour!

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Gary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful tour, very knowledgeable guide, express entry to the synagogue with our group and pre paid tickets

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Ragnhild H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The guide was very good and unlike most guides of Jewish areas in Central Europe which I have come across, she was actually Jewish herself. This gave her information greater weight as far as I was concerned. However apart from the Dohaney Synagogue where the tour ended, there is not actually a lot left to see of the past.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Robin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our August 16 Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour. Our guide, Petra, was outstanding. Her obvious passion and compassion for, and knowledge of the subject matter made the tour very enjoyable, and we learned a lot. We visited the Dohány Street Synagogue also known as the Grand Synagogue, the Kazinczy Street Orthodox Synagogue, and the Rumbach Street Synagogue.

A shout out too, to our docent at the Jewish Museum at the Dohány Street Synagogue.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

HOWARD S E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely outstanding tour!! The best part of the tour was the enthusiasm and knowledge of our tour guide. She made the tour memorable beyond the obvious sites.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Aberman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Brilliant mornings touring with Fatima

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

jtkimelman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Was very convenient and helpful

Doing what: Budapest Card

Lynda M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Interesting, but long, and it was hot that day. After 2 hours then we were told we had to get in line to get tickets for the synagogue area -- too much.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Alan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fabulous tour of the Jewish Quarter of Budapest. Wonderful tour guide. Met all our expectations and even more.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Cindy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Petra was very informative and gave a fantastic tour.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

dleff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Joel was vey knowledgeable and personable! We learned history and saw beautiful sites! A perfect tour!

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message