Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Dohany Street Synagogue

Dohány Street Synagogue is the largest functioning synagogue in Europe, and one of the largest in the world, so it deserves its other title, the Grand Synagogue. Why else is it grand? The scale is matched by its decoration - the synagogue has ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 191 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Agnes J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great guide, very interesting!

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Ronni R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was great. Lots of interesting things to learn about. Terrific guide. The synagogue was amazing!

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Anita B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really enjoyed our Jewish cultural walking tour on Sunday July 3. We did the extended tour. It was interesting, lots of information about the area, synagogues, architecture.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Mark T A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an excellent tour, guided by the very knowledgeable and personable Petra. The itinerary was well organised and nicely paced - not too fast and not too slow. We selected the extended grand tour, which proved very worthwhile giving a great overview of the story of Jewish Budapest. It was also very useful to have included a guided tour of the Jewish Museum, in which the museum guide explained the stories behind a selection of the museum's objects. The grand tour lasted four hours 10am-2pm, with still plenty of time to explore other great features of this lovely city.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Ellen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fatima was an excellent guide for the Grand Tour. She had a vast amount of information to give us, well organized and could answer any question that we had. She was also extremely personable. There were only 7 of us on the tour so we each had a chance to talk to her during our walk. Each synagogue was amazingly beautiful. We were very glad we took the tour rather than seeing it all on our own. We could get a better understanding of what we were seeing.
Our mini tour within the Jewish Museum was not quite as good. It was very difficult to hear the soft spoken museum guide. It might have been more worthwhile to walk through it on our own.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Jeremy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

informative and interesting. I highly reccomend!

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Jerrold L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Petra was very knowledgeable about all sites on this tour. Very well done.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Sandra K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

our tour was in the rain - our guide was friendly, nice and easy to understand. She took care of all our group with professionalism!

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

AJ M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

cannot use card at museums we would have liked to visit

Doing what: Budapest Card

AJ M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

cannot use card at museums we would have liked to visit

Doing what: Budapest Card

Philippa K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour given by Fatima. Thoroughly enjoyed it 5! Highly recommended .

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Giovanni P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great for a first time in Budapest, covers all the main areas

Doing what: Budapest Card

Joel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The guide was fabulous--she was knowledgeable, interesting, thorough and well spoken. The tour was extensive and very worthwhile. We visited all of the important sites as well as lesser known meaningful ones. The tour not only met our expectations, but even exceeded them.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Maria A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fatima was a terrific guide, she was very knowledgeable and took us on a lovely tour about the city. I totally recommend her and the tour.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Gregory S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide was so knowledge. He was young
, Enthusiastic and was willing to show us all the sights. This was such an important part of Hungry history and I would recommend it to all that come to Budapest not only Jews.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Jewish Budapest Including Great Synagogue and Jewish Museum

lesleyandtonykaye

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had an excellent tour with our super guide Petra. She was extremely knowledgable, despite not being Jewish. We would highly recommend her to anyone. It was fun, at the right pace, with much interesting information. We would have liked to have gone inside the two other local synagogues in addition, which we had to do independently, afterwards. That was the only disappointment.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Gary Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour and gives a lot of background to an essential part of Budapest history, society and culture. Do the extended tour to get a bit extra from it. Our guide Joel was intimately knowledgeable and involved in his subject, and his family is an example of the Jewish history of Budapest itself, as is the elderly gentleman who conducted the tour of the museum. Definitely worth doing, especially if you are traveling elsewhere in Eastern Europe, and most esoecially Poland.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

well worth the money

Doing what: Budapest Card

Ralph N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a great way to get around the city without having to have change/smalll bills with you. The buses and subways run very frequently so it was an easy way to get a good look at the different corners of the city. It also has discounts to many attractions. A very good deal!

Doing what: Budapest Card

Linda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I am glad we chose this tour. The tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. The Great Synagogue was very impressive and the museum guide very good.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Howard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent informative tour

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Ponciano T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The walking tour was great and gives you a very good overview of the scenic spots in Budapest. The optional Danube River cruise was also fantastic. I was booked with the Legenda Cruise and I opted for the 5:30pm cruise which was really good as the boat during this time was not crowded. You have enough room to walk around the boat during the cruise. The optional stop at the Margaret Island was also a welcomed surprise. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

Myles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent. Very thorough. I learn d a lot and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Charles V W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

God value.

Doing what: Budapest Card

Peter O

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very good overview of the history and culture.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message