Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Gellert Hill (Gellert-hegy)

Gellért Hill is one of Budapest's most romantic nights out. Just grab a bottle of the city's famous red wine, a couple of glasses, and your beloved. It might be a bit of a trek up there, but the view of twinkling lights will amply reward you. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 764 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Giles S United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Loved it. There were 6 of us in the group. Thomas was informative, had a cheery disposition and we enjoyed all he had to tell us. Loved the strudel stop, delicious hot chocolate! Well worth it to get your bearings and gain a background to the city. Really recommended.

Doing what: Budapest All in One Walking Tour

maurice v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Thought this was well worth the money. Had a great guide in Tammas. More than accommodated me as I tend to take a lot of photos. Found his knowledge of all the places of Interest to be second to none. Really enjoyed the Strudel House and tasting the many varieties of Strudel and the tour of the Buda Castle probably the most impressive Castle I have viewed is a must on foot with a guide and the visit to Heroes Square and Vajdahunyard Castle an enjoyable surprise because of their splendour

Doing what: Budapest All in One Walking Tour

Gillian T

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Really good that we were picked up at Hotel by car but was disappointed at the legnth of time we had to look around the places we were taken to. The tour guide was brilliant but when I booked on reading about the tour I thought we would be walking around the sights and it mentioned stopping for a coffee and cake at one of the local cafes which we did not get anywhere near. Disapointing really

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Rana M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The cruise and the company with whom we shared the table was lovely. The wines were so-so. However, when we were getting the tickets it was crowded and disorderly mind that the Viator coupon is not the ticket. One line closed, and we had to re-queue at the 2nd line so much for arriving early. Then we rushed outside as the huge group was already leaving for the boat as all groups whether for dinner or wine tasting or just simply cruising leave together - this was quite disorganized as there was only one lady in front, with no way to check that everyone was following. Overall, an enjoyable evening.

Doing what: Budapest Wine Tasting Cruise

Irene Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Our tour had a 45 minute delay waiting for our tour guide. He was then with another group visiting the Parliament. Although the tour guide was knowledgeable, the tour was short, not much was covered during the tour.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Louis B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great walking tour. Learned much history

Doing what: Budapest All in One Walking Tour

Chris W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Absolutely fantastic trip.Loved every moment.Well worth it,,The city looked amazing from the boat at night.The wine was,,well,,brilliant.Great trip in every way.Very friendly as well. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Budapest Wine Tasting Cruise

rajarshi

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

4 hour tour took us all around the city. Guide was knowledgeable and good. I was only disappointed that we seemed to see several things only from the outside Mathias Church, St. Stephen's Church etc. Should have had a few more stops to get down and see.

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

Melissa N

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Our trip was really fun once we were on the boat. The meeting point beforehand was a little hectic but they were trying to get three boats full of people on at the same time. The wine was actually better than expected. The one thing is we were supposed to get scones with the wine but instead they had long crackers to split with everyone. The music was great onboard with three people playing classical music and they were accepting requests as well. Overall it was a good experience.

Doing what: Budapest Wine Tasting Cruise

David J

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Really enjoyed the evening cruise down the Danube and the wines on offer were of good quality. I prefer reds so obviously those were better for me but the whites were fine and the ROSE, well I just don't get Rose. But that's just choice.
Downside is that the meet up place is difficult to find. The tour blurb and the tickets said a hotel pick up could be arranged at no extra cost. However, when I phoned to arrange pickup I was told they didn't pick up. I ended up getting lost a rarity for me and almost missed the tour. I did enjoy the tour though.

Doing what: Budapest Wine Tasting Cruise

Gill

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Multi language tour made it quite difficult ...thought we would be on English only as that is what we chose ..guide only gave one line explanation in English ...probably hop on off bus tour would be better option than this one

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Ajith B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

Not recommended. .Was just a quick overview of the sights. Guide kept telling about some non-descript buildings , embassies etc, which was of no interest to anyone. They should have engaged us with the history and culture of Budapest

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Robyn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fabulous tour with only 1 other couple. Baliant not sure of spelling was very knowledgeable and helpful. We certainly recommend the tour and the guide

Doing what: Budapest All in One Walking Tour

captcarol7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

transfer from hotel to tour office was by private transfer car...very formative guide but was in a hurry a lot..felt the tour was rushed

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Jim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very informative tour yesterday with my tour guide Laszlo. I highly recommend this tour to get a well rounded history of Budapest!

Doing what: Budapest All in One Walking Tour

Fran P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A great evening ..... plenty of room on the boat .... Great views .... lots on English people on board so good conversation ... the Hungarian music trio weren't bad ... if a tad cheesy. Wine not the best but worth price.
When you meet outside the theatre you need to actually go inside to exchange your voucher for a proper ticket

Doing what: Budapest Wine Tasting Cruise

Mamy P

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Our guide was too much of a historian!

Doing what: Budapest All in One Walking Tour

Suzanne S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great overview of Budapest. Vicky, our guide, was very helpful. Great strudel. Would recommend. Sue

Doing what: Budapest All in One Walking Tour

Saralyn C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

There were about 7 of us in the group, a small enough group which was nice. We all wanted the English tour to understand the history better. However, it was difficult understanding the tourist guide. The bus got there late and we were dropped off before the 4 hours were up. At any rate, I finished the tour not really getting a better understanding about Budapest and her history. Big disappointment.

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

cindy c

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

The wines were fine and the scenery was beautiful. However, I chose this cruise because I was travelling alone and wanted a social evening. Not so. I was put on a table with 5 young couples in their 20's - none of whom spoke to any other couples around the table let alone a lone older woman. The photographer took photos of everyone in their couples and then asked me if I was on my own and asked me to raise a glass - an empty one at that - and smile as if I was enjoying myself - humiliating. If you are in a couple or a group I think this would have been a fabulous evening but for a single person who was at least 30 years old than anyone else sitting round the table - I spent a very sad unsociable evening

Doing what: Budapest Wine Tasting Cruise

Donha M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This cruise was worthwhile and we loved every minute of it. The scenery was beautiful and Budapest at night is breathtaking and so romantic! The staff were very friendly, the music was excellent and the wines were delicious.

Doing what: Budapest Wine Tasting Cruise

Sue

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The guide was extremely knowledgeable on friendly. The pace of the walk was just right.

Doing what: Budapest All in One Walking Tour

Winnie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Highly recommend ! It and #39;s a super tour! Our guide, Thomas is very professional !

Doing what: Budapest All in One Walking Tour

Ellen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Anne was knowledgeable and extremely pleasant. We leaned so much about Budapest and would recommend her over and over again!

Doing what: Budapest All in One Walking Tour

Dominic S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful tour Guide Francis was great and full of information

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message