Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Matthias Church (Matays-templom)

Matthias Church, with the bright color of its tiled roof and its fantastic Neo-Gothic ornamentation, is one of the stand-out attractions of Castle Hill. Most of it dates from the late 19th century, but parts of the church are much older than that. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 911 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marilyn U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful tour. Our guide was great! She was helpful and very knowledgeable. Also had male tour guide for city tour. Excellent. Extremely well versed in history. Would highly recommend it. Beautiful city by the way. Was highly impressed by the architecture and history.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

MR R W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was our second Viator walking tour, the first was in Prague. Our guide, Tamas was simply the best, incredible knowledge, fabulous personality and so friendly, he really did entertain us and kept the whole group together. If I have any negative, it would have been nice to briefly enter the baths rather than just see the building from the outside.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Jacqueline M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

this was fantastic! First, the guide that picked us up at the hotel was very kind and nice. The flight itself was great, it gave us a very good idea of the city, we could see from above how beautiful it is. I highly recommend this experience!

Doing what: Budapest Scenic Flight by Private Plane

Steve Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour with friendly/local tour guide. The tour captures all the main tourist hotspots and is a great introduction to Buda and Pest. Citadel Citadella was definitely the highlight. This fortress made for some amazing photos looking down into Budapest. The Parliament Tour was also amazing, being able to see inside of such an amazing building.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

sarajaneashields

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Brilliant, highly recommended. Viki was full of information and answered all the questions of my 14 year son. So much better than just wandering around on your own. Will do it again when I visit another city

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Budapest Castle District

fhristea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a very informative tour which I consider a must when spending only a few days in Budapest. Adrienn is a natural born guide. Thank you for getting me oriented in this big city and for giving me an insight of Hungarian history and culture.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great tour, which exceeded our expectations ! We had Frank as our tour guide: he was born in Hungrary , and gave us the total historical perspective of the country, and was very knowledgable about the city of Budapest : he tailored his tour and conversation to match our interest : the tour is a total bargain, and a wonderful experience! Sure beats trying to drive around the city and miss the personal insights

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Sarah

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very informative tour. Our tour guide, Francis, was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Good photo opportunities along the tour and stops at a central location at the end. Definitely recommend it

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

kit456

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Enjoyed my tour very much, the highlight was the visit to the house of Parliament.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Larry K

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Went a little to fast and rained during the tour.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Florentina H Romania

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very informative tour, too bad it's only by bus. Two short stops on Castle Hill for taking pictures. A very good introduction to visiting Budapest and getting oriented. It's great if you combine this tour with the three-hour walking tour, also provided by Viator.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Janet

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The Parliament House is beautiful and very interesting. I would recommend this tour but with a different
guide. He was not organized at all - counted the people who were in his group and would have left if someone had not spoken up that there were missing people. The tour was great - the guide, we would never use again.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Janet

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The Parliament House is beautiful and interesting. I would recommend this tour but with a different guide. He was not organized at all - counted the people who were in his group and would have left if someone had not spoken up that there were missing people. The tour was great - the guide, we would never use again.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Darrin

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The Parliament tour itself is outstanding, but the only thing the company does is transport you there and buy a ticket for you. The lady leading the initial part of our tour was pleasant but appeared constantly bewildered. She met us at the Parliament gift shop to walk us back to the bus for the city tour but she promptly got us lost, and we walked right past the bus and did not connect for about 20 minutes. Needless to say, the people who were already on the bus for the city tour they had not done the Parliament portion were quite angry about the delay. Then, the next portion city tour takes you around the Pest side without stopping, so take your pictures from the bus window. On the Buda side, you get out for about an hour, which is not long enough to actually go through the castle complex or into the church--just enough time to do some souvenir shopping and take a couple pictures. You could easily accomplish this tour by getting to Parliament yourself and then rent a bike to ride over to the Buda side. If you are staying on the Buda side, don't bother. Go to the castle complex yourself, and rent a bike to ride around heroes square and city park on the Pest side. You can stop and take pictures at your leisure and buy your own ticket to Parliament. Parliament building is impressive and worth the trip.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Dale M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

This tour had its positives and negatives. The key item that I did not realize in advance was that this was a tour outsourced to EUrama Tours by Viator.

There were three guides. The first was very knowledgeable explaining sites as we proceeded from the start to the Parliament House. Within the Parliament House we were turned over to a guide that leads you through there. Again we had a good guide. The Parliament House is awesome and a must see for anyone visiting Budapest. This was so much better than doing it on our own.

The rest of the tour was a city tour by bus with stops both on the Buda and the Pest side. This is a good way to see the sites you would want to in a shorter time than on your own. We felt that our guide was rushing us from site to site and he needed to do a better job of communicating to everyone in the group. There were also some advertised stops that did not occur. Therefore I would not recommend this entire tour until Viator makes some changes. But I would highly recommend the Parliament part of the tour which you can do without the rest.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

jody g

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

The first part of the tour was nice, as we saw the Parliament. However, last part could have been much better. The tour guide was so dreadfully boring. He did not stop talking and it was all in a monotone. Honestly, did not get anything out of his guiding us. The sights that the bus took us to were nice though. If only the tour guide were better, it would have been a better tour. Also, the tour guide had little control over a group of guests who were consistently late getting back on the bus. It's not fair to keep a group of people waiting 15-20 minutes extra, each time the bus stopped. Due to these issues, looking back, we would have saved a lot of time doing this tour on our own.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

C Denise G L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour took us inside the Parliament which is the most beautiful structure in Budapest. The inside was equally as majestic as the outside and i highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Constance B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent and informative tour. Covered all of the main hi-lights in Budapest. Tour guide Balint was very knowledgeable and knew the history very well. I would recommend this tour to anyone going to Budapest.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

thegeorges40

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was friendly, knowledgable and easy to communicate with. She had a passion for Budapest that was easy to see in her demeaner. We saw things that you would never find on your own. Even got to travel on the UNESCO World Heritage listed Metro both ways. Well worth the money. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Wadie Ramez H Kuwait

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Best tour ever!!! We walked for 3.5hrs and loved every single bit of it!!! It covered all the highlights of Budapest and our family of 4 enjoyed it immensely. Our guide Victor was fantastic, very knowledgeable and informative. The strudel stop was great with many options to choose from and we loved the cabbage strudels. We highly recommend this tour for anyone visiting Budapest for the first time.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Cindy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was a highlight of our trip. Our guide, Tamas, was amazing. He knew so much about Budapest and loved it, which was clear in all he did. He also had a great sense of humor. He made it really fun by giving out points as part of a trivia contest throughout the walk. We had a small group of 5, which made it easy to ask questions and learn from him. Thanks to Tamas, I know that 1896 is good answer to almost any question about what year something happened in Budapest!
It was very hot the day of our tour - 98F - and Tamas was great about making sure we stayed in the shade wherever we could.
I would highly recommend this tour to people who want to get a lay of the land in Budapest, and learn a bit.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Jasmina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was pouring with rain all day, but we still went for a tour. Our guide Bogata was really good and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Laura A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was my first day there and I think this is a good tour to start your time in Budapest on. It gives you the basics of the whole city. I used Francis as my tour guide and he was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Laura A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Parliament House was very nice. I would definitely recommend it. When I booked this one I didn't realize that it was a city sightseeing tour AND the Parliament. The day before I did the city tour with Francis and then did it again this day. It was okay though because I had Francis again and I really liked him.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message