Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Matthias Church (Matays-templom)

Matthias Church, with the bright color of its tiled roof and its fantastic Neo-Gothic ornamentation, is one of the stand-out attractions of Castle Hill. Most of it dates from the late 19th century, but parts of the church are much older than that. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 966 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Giles S United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Loved it. There were 6 of us in the group. Thomas was informative, had a cheery disposition and we enjoyed all he had to tell us. Loved the strudel stop, delicious hot chocolate! Well worth it to get your bearings and gain a background to the city. Really recommended.

Doing what: Budapest All in One Walking Tour

lynnt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a way to start our stay, approx. 3 hours after arrival in Hungary we were being immersed in culture and history. Greeted at out hotel by the wonderful Anita we embarked on an educational excellent walking tour. Anita was attentive and informative we used her recommendations over the course of our short stay. You want the best out off a city break and are interested in culture and history you have to do guided tours. Thank You.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Budapest Castle District

maurice v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Thought this was well worth the money. Had a great guide in Tammas. More than accommodated me as I tend to take a lot of photos. Found his knowledge of all the places of Interest to be second to none. Really enjoyed the Strudel House and tasting the many varieties of Strudel and the tour of the Buda Castle probably the most impressive Castle I have viewed is a must on foot with a guide and the visit to Heroes Square and Vajdahunyard Castle an enjoyable surprise because of their splendour

Doing what: Budapest All in One Walking Tour

Baiyang X

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a nice walking tour around the city, public transportation is pre-arranged and our guide Tammas is really amazing, informative and humorous. Walking and learning some history from our guide is definitely a great choice to visit the city.

Doing what: Budapest All in One Walking Tour

Gillian T

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Really good that we were picked up at Hotel by car but was disappointed at the legnth of time we had to look around the places we were taken to. The tour guide was brilliant but when I booked on reading about the tour I thought we would be walking around the sights and it mentioned stopping for a coffee and cake at one of the local cafes which we did not get anywhere near. Disapointing really

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Irene Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Our tour had a 45 minute delay waiting for our tour guide. He was then with another group visiting the Parliament. Although the tour guide was knowledgeable, the tour was short, not much was covered during the tour.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Louis B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great walking tour. Learned much history

Doing what: Budapest All in One Walking Tour

GAIL D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Really enjoyed the Parliament tour and tour of Budapest. Walled city was terrific and the motor coach very comfortable. Left from our hotel, which was very convenient. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Helen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Beautiful building enjoyed the tour

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Helen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

it was wonderful to have the views from above.The pilot was wonderful

Doing what: Budapest Scenic Flight by Private Plane

sue_hazelden

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Could not have wished for a smoother transition from our hotel to the tour coach. We were picked up on time and rode in a very comfortable coach with a very informative and witty zsa zsa like tour director. Had ample opportunity to see the sights as well as taking photos. Can highly recommend this tour !

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

rajarshi

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

4 hour tour took us all around the city. Guide was knowledgeable and good. I was only disappointed that we seemed to see several things only from the outside Mathias Church, St. Stephen's Church etc. Should have had a few more stops to get down and see.

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

Shideh S United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Great tour. the length was length was perfect.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Gill

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Multi language tour made it quite difficult ...thought we would be on English only as that is what we chose ..guide only gave one line explanation in English ...probably hop on off bus tour would be better option than this one

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Ajith B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

Not recommended. .Was just a quick overview of the sights. Guide kept telling about some non-descript buildings , embassies etc, which was of no interest to anyone. They should have engaged us with the history and culture of Budapest

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Robyn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fabulous tour with only 1 other couple. Baliant not sure of spelling was very knowledgeable and helpful. We certainly recommend the tour and the guide

Doing what: Budapest All in One Walking Tour

Jackie r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

An excellent tour with well informed guides. Pick up arrangements all according to plan

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Carlos T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great private tour guide love her knowledge, experience and sense of humor! I loved her step by step history of Hungary! We walked and talked all throughout Budapest! She made us feel comfortable asking questions and touring the grand palace! We will definitely rate her guid a big A

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Budapest Castle District

captcarol7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

transfer from hotel to tour office was by private transfer car...very formative guide but was in a hurry a lot..felt the tour was rushed

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Jim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very informative tour yesterday with my tour guide Laszlo. I highly recommend this tour to get a well rounded history of Budapest!

Doing what: Budapest All in One Walking Tour

Mamy P

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Our guide was too much of a historian!

Doing what: Budapest All in One Walking Tour

Christopher R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This tour was quite informative and well-paced. As the first guide needed to speak 3 languages due to the diversity of the group, and it became rather cumbersome at times. The second guide seemed to say more in Spanish than in English, but this may have been an artifact of the respective languages, rather than a difference of information shared. Nevertheless, i would recommend this tour as an excellent introduction to Budapest. Very professional.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Suzanne S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great overview of Budapest. Vicky, our guide, was very helpful. Great strudel. Would recommend. Sue

Doing what: Budapest All in One Walking Tour

Saralyn C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

There were about 7 of us in the group, a small enough group which was nice. We all wanted the English tour to understand the history better. However, it was difficult understanding the tourist guide. The bus got there late and we were dropped off before the 4 hours were up. At any rate, I finished the tour not really getting a better understanding about Budapest and her history. Big disappointment.

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

honey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

wonderful tour. parliament was a highlight of budapest

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message