Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Matthias Church (Matays-templom)

Matthias Church, with the bright color of its tiled roof and its fantastic Neo-Gothic ornamentation, is one of the stand-out attractions of Castle Hill. Most of it dates from the late 19th century, but parts of the church are much older than that. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 921 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Aldo F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great. Good guide very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Aldo F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful tour not too big a group.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Kelly K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing day! George is an excellent guide. He is funny and informative and was able to strike the perfect balance between information and fun! I would definitely recommend this tour at the beginning of your visit to Budapest. George was able to educate all of us on how to navigate the city by transit and the best places to visit and dine. Thank you George!!

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Jean H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This trip was excellent. Andi our tour guide was knowledgeable and informative -she made the experience for us

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

P. C. B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our Young guide Tomas was knowledgeable, entertaining and led us along a lovely walk of the Buda Castle district !

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Budapest Castle District

Rajiv J

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

She did not explain well. It was very Hard to hear her, was in a rush to start the next tour. Did not even cover all the areas. We were really disappointed. Anita was our tour guide.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Mary Ann C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The tour of Parliament was great. The rest of the tour was just ok. Elsa the city tour guide was hard to understand and was more interested in taking us to her friends shops and marzipan store than touring. She got a kickback at the candy store. As the bus moved it was hard to see and understand. Not the best.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

KARIN J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The initial tour guide was confused out of the gate! She didn't know who was booked for which tour and she kept asking who was booked for which tour and she kept doing a head count. You could tell she was unorganized. However, Parliament the building was beautiful and worth the visit but I wasn't impressed with the Parliament tour--the guide was nice enough though. The city tour was terrible!!! The guide had no enthusiasm and it was conducted in English and Spanish, which the site did not mention. All we did was drive around the tourist spots in a bus with very few photo stops and the stops we got, they were very short. Don't waste your time or on money on this tour. It was overpriced for what you got. Budapest is a small enough country to tour on your own. You don't need a tour company--at least not this one!

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Marilyn U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful tour. Our guide was great! She was helpful and very knowledgeable. Also had male tour guide for city tour. Excellent. Extremely well versed in history. Would highly recommend it. Beautiful city by the way. Was highly impressed by the architecture and history.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

MR R W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was our second Viator walking tour, the first was in Prague. Our guide, Tamas was simply the best, incredible knowledge, fabulous personality and so friendly, he really did entertain us and kept the whole group together. If I have any negative, it would have been nice to briefly enter the baths rather than just see the building from the outside.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Jacqueline M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

this was fantastic! First, the guide that picked us up at the hotel was very kind and nice. The flight itself was great, it gave us a very good idea of the city, we could see from above how beautiful it is. I highly recommend this experience!

Doing what: Budapest Scenic Flight by Private Plane

Steve Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour with friendly/local tour guide. The tour captures all the main tourist hotspots and is a great introduction to Buda and Pest. Citadel Citadella was definitely the highlight. This fortress made for some amazing photos looking down into Budapest. The Parliament Tour was also amazing, being able to see inside of such an amazing building.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

sarajaneashields

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Brilliant, highly recommended. Viki was full of information and answered all the questions of my 14 year son. So much better than just wandering around on your own. Will do it again when I visit another city

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Budapest Castle District

fhristea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a very informative tour which I consider a must when spending only a few days in Budapest. Adrienn is a natural born guide. Thank you for getting me oriented in this big city and for giving me an insight of Hungarian history and culture.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great tour, which exceeded our expectations ! We had Frank as our tour guide: he was born in Hungrary , and gave us the total historical perspective of the country, and was very knowledgable about the city of Budapest : he tailored his tour and conversation to match our interest : the tour is a total bargain, and a wonderful experience! Sure beats trying to drive around the city and miss the personal insights

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Aybike Turkey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour! Thanks to our guide Levaijozsef. I reccomend it to everyone willing to see the basic attractions in Budapest in one tour.

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

Sarah

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very informative tour. Our tour guide, Francis, was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Good photo opportunities along the tour and stops at a central location at the end. Definitely recommend it

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

kit456

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Enjoyed my tour very much, the highlight was the visit to the house of Parliament.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Larry K

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Went a little to fast and rained during the tour.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Florentina H Romania

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very informative tour, too bad it's only by bus. Two short stops on Castle Hill for taking pictures. A very good introduction to visiting Budapest and getting oriented. It's great if you combine this tour with the three-hour walking tour, also provided by Viator.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Janet

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The Parliament House is beautiful and very interesting. I would recommend this tour but with a different
guide. He was not organized at all - counted the people who were in his group and would have left if someone had not spoken up that there were missing people. The tour was great - the guide, we would never use again.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Janet

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The Parliament House is beautiful and interesting. I would recommend this tour but with a different guide. He was not organized at all - counted the people who were in his group and would have left if someone had not spoken up that there were missing people. The tour was great - the guide, we would never use again.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Darrin

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The Parliament tour itself is outstanding, but the only thing the company does is transport you there and buy a ticket for you. The lady leading the initial part of our tour was pleasant but appeared constantly bewildered. She met us at the Parliament gift shop to walk us back to the bus for the city tour but she promptly got us lost, and we walked right past the bus and did not connect for about 20 minutes. Needless to say, the people who were already on the bus for the city tour they had not done the Parliament portion were quite angry about the delay. Then, the next portion city tour takes you around the Pest side without stopping, so take your pictures from the bus window. On the Buda side, you get out for about an hour, which is not long enough to actually go through the castle complex or into the church--just enough time to do some souvenir shopping and take a couple pictures. You could easily accomplish this tour by getting to Parliament yourself and then rent a bike to ride over to the Buda side. If you are staying on the Buda side, don't bother. Go to the castle complex yourself, and rent a bike to ride around heroes square and city park on the Pest side. You can stop and take pictures at your leisure and buy your own ticket to Parliament. Parliament building is impressive and worth the trip.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message