Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

St Stephen’s Basilica (Szent Istvan Bazilika)

This beautiful neo-classical cathedral is the biggest church in Budapest and sits on the imposing square of Szent István. Its serene façade is decorated with statues of the 12 Apostles and has twin clock towers, a vast cupola and an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Thomas our guide was fantastic, very enthusiastic and eager to involve us in the tour. There was a horse race on and festival but he worked around it beautifully. The walk across to the castle was a highlight. Heroes square, Stephens Bascillica and the pastries were all highlights. His knowledge and way of delivering it ensured i remembered much of the information - he was a breath of fresh air.
The majority of the walking is quite easy and flat, the stairs at the end are quite strenuous. You even get to go on the quaint underground system (a must for all travellers!!) I would definately recommend this tour.

Doing what: Budapest All in One Walking Tour

Daniel W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

First a lesson on wines of Hungary and a wine tasting, excellent. Guide was a college student named "Barbie", a rough English translation. Then on to St Stephen's Church, also excellent on the history. Then on to the Christmas Market and hot punch. All around superb.

Doing what: Budapest Christmas Market Tour with Wine Tasting

rajarshi

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

4 hour tour took us all around the city. Guide was knowledgeable and good. I was only disappointed that we seemed to see several things only from the outside Mathias Church, St. Stephen's Church etc. Should have had a few more stops to get down and see.

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

Kyle G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

St Stephens Church is beautiful and the acoustics are exceptional! The concert was wonderful. The dinner cruise did have traditional Hungarian dishes, but except for the stuffed cabbage and sauerkraut nothing was exceptional. The boat needed paint and new carpet, but once we got to the beautiful lit up bridges and government buildings we all went to the upper deck or front or back of the boat anyhow to take pictures. Budapest is so beautiful at night along the river and to see it from a boat is highly recommended

Doing what: Budapest St Stephen's Basilica Organ Concert with Optional Danube River Dinner Cruise

Kaz

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great way to explore the city. The tour guide was knowledgeable but we thought that the tour pace was rather fast. No free time was given during the tour so we couldn't go inside the St. Stephen's. Rather than lunch during the lunch hour, we only had a chance to have pastry and drink.

Doing what: Budapest All in One Walking Tour

L. Dawne T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The tour was good, but even in 3 hours it was too rushed to see much of the city. Mostly we just saw buildings from the outside without ever having the chance to see the inside. Although it was great to enjoy strudel en route, perhaps that 1/2 hour could be used to show other sites or to explore inside a building (eg. St. Stephen's) or pass in front of the Parliament Buildings. Budapest is spread out and doesn't lend itself easily to a walking tour - thank goodness for the metro. Barbara HB was a good guide and most helpful in arranging some other details for me.

Doing what: Budapest All in One Walking Tour

Nitya

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The city tour was OK, covering most of the main tourist sites. It didn't include stops at the Parliament or St Stephen's Church, which was disappointing. The guide tended to ramble on a bit. Danube cruise was enjoyable.

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

VALERIE F

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Preceded by a Hungarian wine tasting and tutorial in a charming off street local book and media shop, followed by a fascinating visit to St Stephen's cathedral where perchance we were privileged to hear a rehearsal of the choir performing a Christmas cantata. The Christmas market was our favorite of mArkets visited in four countries largely made so by the sharing of personal favorite stalls and their offerings by our guide.

Doing what: Budapest Christmas Market Tour with Wine Tasting

A and V Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

Great guide, good English would have liked to have found out more about tradition ,etc walked thru the Opera House, St Stephens on our way to the market. If you're there at Christmas do the market on your own, its fun and real easy. Good street food !! a local delicacy ,Rooster Testicles, Yummy!!!

Doing what: Budapest Christmas Market Tour with Wine Tasting

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message