Szentendre is just a short ride from Budapest, so it's become popular as a side-trip when visiting the capital. Its laid-back Mediterranean flavor and photogenic streets make it worth a visit - but be prepared to share! Szentendre has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 501 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Louis B USA

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Guide was Ok but the itinerary was wonderful. Lots of Hungary here.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Alan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was indeed a full day tour and was absolutely one of the most enjoyable, educational and beautiful tours my wife and I have ever been on. Our tour was on October 21st, and though it was a bit chilly, the weather did not dampen our enthusiasm. We were blessed with an exceptional tour guide, Helena and our excellent driver Luis, who worked exceptionally hard to provide us with a days worth of wonderful sights and Helenas commentary was informative, interesting and very educational. On the tour, I asked her to tell us a bit about her life under communist rule and the stories were thought provoking and showed what strength of character she has! All I can say is that it was a day full of memorable visits to beautiful historic sites and it included a wonderful Hungarian lunch at a lodge high up on a mountain side. We went through village after village which gave me a bit of an insight into life of the everyday people and again, the sites we stopped to see and surrounding area overlooking the Danube were very memorable. I LOVE crossing borders, and there was a little unexpected surprise on this tour. After visiting the fabulous historic spots, we were promised a better view from another vantage point. We traveled perhaps 10 or 15 minutes on the bus and crossed the Danube into Slovakia! It was a brief visit for a drink, bathroom stop and a fabulous view of what we had just seen from the Hungarian side of the Danube but I was thrilled at this unexpected border crossing. I believe that was country number 45 that my wife and I have visited though this visit was brief. I can say I have been in Slovakia!
All in all, this was a fabulous day and my wife and I loved EVERY MINUTE. If you plan this tour, ask for Helena as your guide. We loved her dearly and she made the day very special in many ways.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

rainbow.maker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I'm not generally a fan of group tours but this one was very good. Our guide Helen was a local with 15 years experience. She was outstanding sharing her knowledge of history at the Basilica and castle we visited along with a quick trip over a bridge to Slovakia, lunch at a hunting lodge and time in Szendtre, a small arts and crafts village not far from Budapest. The coach was comfortable, the lunch substantial and a great time with new friends. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Matthew613

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

I really liked this tour and took a few naps on the bus in-between traveling to the different parts, this is an early tour my taxi was ready at 8:25am and we got back to Budapest at 5:25pm.

Ingrid was our tour guide.

The first place we stopped at was Esztergom which has the famous church and we briefly went to Slovakia to take pictures of the church, after the church we went up into the hills were the views were great and the restaurant looked great, the food was ok and the service was ok but it was not great as it was very busy the staff were very nice but overworked so I don't blame them, I would go back to the restaurant.

After the restaurant we went to an artist town which was very nice but also designed for mainly tourists with tourist prices. I bought a nice bottle of wine from a really good wine restaurant that had it's own wine cellar that was a good experience, I would like to go back there and buy a few bottles of wine, there is also a handmade chocolate shop with their own museum of life size celebs.

After this we drove back to Budapest, I would recommend this tour but next time I would like to try a different part of Hungary our tour guide said they have a few different day trips.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

laura c

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Very nice trip. The guide was very informative. The lunch was in a very picturesque restaurant with beautiful views.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Thelma O

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Not as good as I thought. Visigrad Denube Bend was very nice but nothing spectacular. St Stephens Basilica was too elaborate, should be sold and feed the starving millions. Guide Laslow had only fair command of English language.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

GILLIAN N

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

It was very cold, and the boat trip back was freezing. The day trip was quite fun though.

Doing what: Szentendre Half Day Sightseeing Trip from Budapest

aliceavery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a very informative, relaxing trip. The country side was breath-taking and the history was very interesting. Lunch was absolutely delicious and the view from the restaurant was amazing. Loved everything about it.

A.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Roisin d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tour guide Elizabeth was brilliant ! Myself and my father took this trip yesterday. It started off on an extremely comfortable bus with a very nice, happy and informative guide Catherine. The guided tour she gave us in the bazilika in Esztergom was excellent. We enjoyed a lovely 3 course lunch

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Erika T

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

It was a nice trip, however I felt like the guide was a bit tired, but no wonder he spoke all the languages it was great.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Jacinta M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The tour was as stated and we viewed the mentioned highlights - was very little time on own to see the real towns.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Donha M

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Our tour guide was lovely and very knowledgeable. The views around the Budapest country site were beautiful, although we thought that we could have done so much more in a day as we spent around 3-4 hrs of the trip traveling,

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Sue

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Tour director lacked personality and ability to engage group. Disappointing day

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Joseph M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

We booked our Viator trip but could not confirm pickup time since we were given an incorrect phone number by Viator for Eurotrip company. Much wasted time with lots of help from our hotel staff finally got a time but were told to walk to city center rather than hotel pickup. Lots more wasted vacation time trying to fix this. We have used Viator on our 7 previous European trips. So disappointed with Viator.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Mas United Kingdom

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

Don't do the tour.

My guide was informative and looked like she knew a lot but her English was poor so there was A LOT of information that I could not understand. In the end I had to pull out my mobile and Wikipedia the sights information.

Also the tour description on the site is misleading with regards to visiting the Visegrad Citadel. It says Your full-day tour will begin with a stop in the town of Visegrad From the outside youll also have the chance to admire the ruins of the former royal residence. When they say from the outside they mean from a road that is miles away from the castle from the inside of the van with descriptions about the ruins from the tour guide.

Yes the sights were beautiful. But it's only for a short period of time I think the tour is more about photo stops. Felt like I wasted time and money doing the whole day doing the tour. The only place you get to stop for long is the town of Szentendre 2 hours! Hell of a long time in a small town.

The only good thing was the restaurant, beautiful views and the food was good.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Cynthia W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly and our bus driver was good. My complaint is with the trip itself, we spent three out of the four hours on the bus. Part of the trip was on a very narrow winding road and we drove within about a mile of a castle for a peek then to a look out to view the Danube before driving to Szentendre. We were dropped off a the end of the main street in Szentendre which contained a few stores that were run down and dowdy, I was confused because what I saw was not like the pictures I've seen of the town. When we finally got to the middle of town, the shops were very nice and the town was charming but unfortunately it was time to get back to the bus! Save yourself wasted time and money, go directly to Szentendre.

Doing what: Szentendre Half Day Sightseeing Trip from Budapest

rachelhammond82

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide, Helena was lovely and very knowledgable. She paid each party individual attention. The tour was great, the locations great and the cruise back to Budapest was very special.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Terence P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

we had fun and saw the best views

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Lorraine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

it was a really fab day, well worth the money we paid. we were glad we did the trip, the food was lovely and the boat trip back down the Danube to Budapest.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Simon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour great guide a lovely way to see the area around Budapest

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

namastetb

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Good trip, knowledgeable guide. Nice balance of sights as well as free time. The only reason for a 4 rather than 5 stars was due to language. In all of tours n Europe, we've never been on one where the guide had to keep switching back and forth between languages.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Sheryl K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The Danube Bend bus and river boat tour was very informative. Our guide did a very good job . Lunch was served at the top of a beautiful hill in a lovely restaurant and we had some time to browse and shop before our cruise down the Danube and return to Budapest. It was a very successful all day tour.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Louise S

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Trip would have been good except that it was a really hot day and the bus aircon did not work. Also there was at least one thing that did not seem to happen e.g. We did not have the chance to pay extra to visit the ruins. There also seemed to be a lot of standing around in the heat while we waited for things.... However, lunch was great and the boat trip back was a relief in the breeze.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Judith E L

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

This tour was a bit misleading as most of the time was spent roaming around the countryside then only about 45 minutes in Szentendre which is what we wanted to see. One couple on our tour got off before we went wandering and they had the right idea. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Szentendre Half Day Sightseeing Trip from Budapest

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message