Szentendre is just a short ride from Budapest, so it's become popular as a side-trip when visiting the capital. Its laid-back Mediterranean flavor and photogenic streets make it worth a visit - but be prepared to share! Szentendre has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 468 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I had an awesome day! There is nothing better than seeing places by bike. Stopped for fresh lemonade on the banks of the danube, stopped to eat plums off a tree! And it was great to see everything again in reverse from a boat! It and #39;s only 20km and it and #39;s all flat. You won and #39;t regret it!

Doing what: Szentendre Bike Tour from Budapest Including Danube River Boat Ride

Jacqueline M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

the tour was very nice, we saw many interesting and beautiful things. What I liked the most was Szentendre, a very charming town unfortunately the time there was short, I would have loved to stay longer. The guide was nice and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Larry K

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

MLR D Sri Lanka

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Three lovely towns were visited including a quick drive over the bridge from Esztergom into Slovakia and back. This would probably be a half day rather than a full day trip.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Darrin

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Great day, visiting the beautiful Esztergom Cathedral, Hungarys biggest church. We quickly crossed the Danube into Slovakia to get a view from the other side of the river--how fun. Don't believe the tour, though, when it says you visit Visegrad Castle--you merely drive by it and see it from afar. I noticed this comment from others before booking the tour, so it must happen more often than it doesn't. Regardless, it is a nice site to see, even if from afar. The lunch is good, nothing remarkable or special. I would prefer more time to visit the Visegrad Castle ruins and have a quicker meal. The visit to Szentendre is nice--we picked up some truly hand-made Hungarian tablecloths and table runners that were very nice. There is also some nice artwork and pottery available. The boat ride back is only an hour, so don't book this if you think you are spending a lazy day on the river. But, the ride back is very nice. All in all, worth the cost and worth the time. We returned by 1800, and the boat stops on both the Buda side and the Pest side, so easy enough to walk back to most hotels.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Eva K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

The English level of the tour guide is hard to hear and understand. She also didn't give the guided walking tour of Szentendre since she needs to take care of other guest in the group. The tour is disappointing from the tour guide selection.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Janet

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

The areas in the tour were very interesting. The tour guide was not ! She did not speak English very good nor did she speak loud enough to hear even though she had been asked to speak louder. The bus was also uncomfortable - some of the seats would not stay upright. The restaurant where we had lunch had bugs on the table - disgusting!

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Mellodee A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

AJ M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

great tour advisable for every tourist

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A great day out, very enjoyable. I would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Jyoti S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent Trip!!

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Jerrold L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good guide. Interesting tour, off beaten path a bit.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Romina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was really great and we really enjoyed it. Our tour guide was Elisabeth and she was really nice and informative. I would highly recommend this tour. The only thing that bothered us was the air conditioner in the bus as it was a bit hot. Thanks for the experience.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Robert K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

suem

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was a nice day out the tour went quickly and the meal was good.
I enjoyed the free time at Szentendre and the cruise back on the Danube was great for taking photos and seeing everything from the water.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Janet W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

A good day out from Budapest. You will have the opportunity to see a bit of the countryside and stop in some very interesting places. The coach ride was good and the guides spoke in French and English. We had 2 hours on our own in St Andrews village to shop and look at the churches. This is a fabulous town and to be able to spend some time there was a treat. From here we took the boat back to Budapest which was a wonderful way to see life along the river.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

pavan B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Good tour..but tour guide seemed a little lost.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Granville W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I thought this was very good and would definitely recommend. My only reservation was about the visit to Visegrad - I would have liked to visit the ruin rather than spend an hour having lunch, where I thought the food was OK but only OK and something I would have happily missed and had a sandwich instead.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Ponciano T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a very interesting tour as we traveled by bus through scenic Hungarian countryside. We saw the biggest Catholic Church in Hungary in Esztergom and also crossed the Danube river to the Slovakian side and have a better view of the church across the river. We also saw the medieval fortress in Visegrad, and enjoyed a fantastic lunch on a restaurant on top of a mountain, giving us a magnificent view of the medieval castle. Our last stop was the town of Szentendre where one can buy all sorts of handicrafts and cheaper priced souvenirs. From Szentendre, we took a boat back to Budapest via the Danube River. Fantastic day tour I highly recommend!

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Lena Bean

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Worth every dime! Prompt pickup and check in. Gorgeous views on the bus ride through towns along the Danube bend. Excellent tour guide, Helena, steeped in Hungarian culture and history. Great lunch with panoramic views. The cruise back was the perfect end to the day!

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Shirley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent day trip. Guide Helena was very interesting and gave us loads of information. Great lunch and St Andre was lovely to explore with a nice boat trip back.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Susheela B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good trip out of Budapest to see a bit of the country.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Palermo S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Nice out of town tour of Budapest.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Corinne T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

A great day trip, amazing sights, well worth the time.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Lykke S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It was lovely to experience these historic parts of Hungary. The Cathedral was stunning, although very touristy, and the cruise down Danube was beautiful. The guide was nice and made sure we saw the most important things. However, the discription of the trip is misguiding. We didn't go to the 'medieval fortress of Visegrad'! We had a too long lunchbreak in the town, and then we drove past the ruins. Not at all what we expected.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message