Szentendre is just a short ride from Budapest, so it's become popular as a side-trip when visiting the capital. Its laid-back Mediterranean flavor and photogenic streets make it worth a visit - but be prepared to share! Szentendre has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 484 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

rachelhammond82

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide, Helena was lovely and very knowledgable. She paid each party individual attention. The tour was great, the locations great and the cruise back to Budapest was very special.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Terence P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

we had fun and saw the best views

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Lorraine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

it was a really fab day, well worth the money we paid. we were glad we did the trip, the food was lovely and the boat trip back down the Danube to Budapest.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Simon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour great guide a lovely way to see the area around Budapest

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

namastetb

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Good trip, knowledgeable guide. Nice balance of sights as well as free time. The only reason for a 4 rather than 5 stars was due to language. In all of tours n Europe, we've never been on one where the guide had to keep switching back and forth between languages.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Sheryl K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The Danube Bend bus and river boat tour was very informative. Our guide did a very good job . Lunch was served at the top of a beautiful hill in a lovely restaurant and we had some time to browse and shop before our cruise down the Danube and return to Budapest. It was a very successful all day tour.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Louise S

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Trip would have been good except that it was a really hot day and the bus aircon did not work. Also there was at least one thing that did not seem to happen e.g. We did not have the chance to pay extra to visit the ruins. There also seemed to be a lot of standing around in the heat while we waited for things.... However, lunch was great and the boat trip back was a relief in the breeze.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Judith E L

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

This tour was a bit misleading as most of the time was spent roaming around the countryside then only about 45 minutes in Szentendre which is what we wanted to see. One couple on our tour got off before we went wandering and they had the right idea. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Szentendre Half Day Sightseeing Trip from Budapest

Ian M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Not what we expected, old ship and the staff not into the guest ! Wish we had picked something else
Karen

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Lucie C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Did not see that many interesting sites and the lunch was very ordinary

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

LeonardoDaVidi

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Totally wasteful time. The guide was useless.

Doing what: Szentendre Half Day Sightseeing Trip from Budapest

Usual

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

I'm sorry, but this was nothing more than a shopping trip to stores that I suspect the guide got a kickback from. I would advise AGAINST wasting your money on this tour. Very poor value. Shame on Viator!

Doing what: Szentendre Half Day Sightseeing Trip from Budapest

Ian A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

We were really looking forward to this trip. However, it left us pretty disappointed. The van was late in picking us up. It was a very uncomfortable ride as the bus was speeding to make up for lost time. Also, there wasn't enough legroom and we felt pretty squeezed in. There were two tour guides and they were speaking in three different languages - English, French and Spanish. It was hard to follow in English as the guide's delivery was not loud enough and we weren't sure when she was speaking in English. In the description, there was no mention of visiting Visegrad. The description also said, Then make a stop at one of the museums and enjoy a beverage, included with your ticket. We didn't visit any museums. In fact, the stop in Szentendre was short and we didn't get to go around square at all. We felt we were rushed. All in all, very disappointed with this tour and sorry, I can't recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Szentendre Half Day Sightseeing Trip from Budapest

Christina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I had an awesome day! There is nothing better than seeing places by bike. Stopped for fresh lemonade on the banks of the danube, stopped to eat plums off a tree! And it was great to see everything again in reverse from a boat! It and #39;s only 20km and it and #39;s all flat. You won and #39;t regret it!

Doing what: Szentendre Bike Tour from Budapest Including Danube River Boat Ride

Aybike Turkey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A Budapest trip without seeing Esztergom would be a loss. Thanks to our guide Laaszlo Fay. Great tour. The only shortfall was the AC which was not working at all in the bus. All the rest was very good.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Jacqueline M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

the tour was very nice, we saw many interesting and beautiful things. What I liked the most was Szentendre, a very charming town unfortunately the time there was short, I would have loved to stay longer. The guide was nice and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Larry K

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

MLR D Sri Lanka

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Three lovely towns were visited including a quick drive over the bridge from Esztergom into Slovakia and back. This would probably be a half day rather than a full day trip.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Darrin

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Great day, visiting the beautiful Esztergom Cathedral, Hungarys biggest church. We quickly crossed the Danube into Slovakia to get a view from the other side of the river--how fun. Don't believe the tour, though, when it says you visit Visegrad Castle--you merely drive by it and see it from afar. I noticed this comment from others before booking the tour, so it must happen more often than it doesn't. Regardless, it is a nice site to see, even if from afar. The lunch is good, nothing remarkable or special. I would prefer more time to visit the Visegrad Castle ruins and have a quicker meal. The visit to Szentendre is nice--we picked up some truly hand-made Hungarian tablecloths and table runners that were very nice. There is also some nice artwork and pottery available. The boat ride back is only an hour, so don't book this if you think you are spending a lazy day on the river. But, the ride back is very nice. All in all, worth the cost and worth the time. We returned by 1800, and the boat stops on both the Buda side and the Pest side, so easy enough to walk back to most hotels.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

lutib Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Thought this tour would be better than what it was. Although you get to see 3 towns, the first stop was all about the Cathedral and nothing more. The second stop was doe lunch, a very good lunch I might add, and lastly Szentendre we were left to our own devices until the ferry was ready to take us back to Budapest.
Once in Budapest, you had to make your own way back to your hotel in peak hour. Not pleasant.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Eva K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

The English level of the tour guide is hard to hear and understand. She also didn't give the guided walking tour of Szentendre since she needs to take care of other guest in the group. The tour is disappointing from the tour guide selection.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Janet

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

The areas in the tour were very interesting. The tour guide was not ! She did not speak English very good nor did she speak loud enough to hear even though she had been asked to speak louder. The bus was also uncomfortable - some of the seats would not stay upright. The restaurant where we had lunch had bugs on the table - disgusting!

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Chris

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

I booked this tour with the hope that we would get to experience three different cities/towns along the Danube River. In reality, we sat in a tour bus for most of the day. In Esztergom, we only walked through one church and nothing of the town itself. In Visegrad, we went to a super touristy restaurant that didn't even serve Hungarian food instead, we had bland chicken soup, mushy chicken, and tasteless potatoes. The only part of this trip potentially worth doing was wandering around on our own in Szentendre and the boat ride back to Budapest, though it was a public boat that would could have just paid for and taken separately and probably had a more worthwhile experience. The only thing that impressed me about this tour were our tour guides, who each gave the tour in two different languages that weren't their first language.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Mellodee A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

AJ M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

great tour advisable for every tourist

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message