Explore the fascinating past and dynamic present of Hungary’s capital. Day 1: Historic Buda First, get your bearings. The Danube follows a roughly north-south route through the middle of the city, separating Buda from Pest. On the Buda (west) ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1115 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ann L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The guide was very knowledgeable about this area of Budapest and the experiences and history of the Jewish people. I am not Jewish but found the whole tour very interesting. Visiting the synagogue and seeing all of the different parts of the Jewish quarter was fascinating.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Joel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

No waiting , got right in. A large place with multiple rooms and pools, you can spend as many hours as you want. Definitely relaxing.

Doing what: Private Entrance to Gellert Spa in Budapest with Optional Massage

rajarshi

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

4 hour tour took us all around the city. Guide was knowledgeable and good. I was only disappointed that we seemed to see several things only from the outside Mathias Church, St. Stephen's Church etc. Should have had a few more stops to get down and see.

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

Neil M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Had a lovely time with Anna cooking and chatting. The market was interesting in particular all the different pickles, one question I had Is there anythin the Hungarians do not pickle?

On to the cooking school where we made a three course meal.all of which was great. I think it was time well spent on our holiday.

Doing what: Hungarian Cooking Course with Food Market Walk Through

Carlos T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great private tour guide love her knowledge, experience and sense of humor! I loved her step by step history of Hungary! We walked and talked all throughout Budapest! She made us feel comfortable asking questions and touring the grand palace! We will definitely rate her guid a big A

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Budapest Castle District

Herbert D R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour and tour guide were both outstanding.

Doing what: Small-Group Budapest Jewish Cuisine and Culture Walking Tour

captcarol7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

transfer from hotel to tour office was by private transfer car...very formative guide but was in a hurry a lot..felt the tour was rushed

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Keith L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Some reviews of dirty Gellert Spa worried me. I went at 10am and in the off-season, and it was really clean, those other people must have went much much later. I couldn't figure out the Cabin that come with this pass but the attendant was really good at helping me figure it out. Get a Cabin. As everyone says, bring a towel, sandals, and a swim cap. I thought it was really cool to use the hot and cold tubs...the sauna's are HOT. Only spent a few hours there..no clue how people spend all day there. The pass includes shower gel too, which was nice because I went touring right after.

Doing what: Private Entrance to Gellert Spa in Budapest with Optional Massage

Betty Jean S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Awesome tour. We were so lucky to be the only ones on the tour with Darius. We saw things that would have been difficult to do on our own. So informative and fun. Thanks Darius for sharing your knowledge of culture and art in Budapest and for the amazing conversations. Best tour I've ever taken anywhere. Very highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Budapest Art and Culture Walking Tour

Barbara A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a great tour guide who was very knowledgeable and interesting. The only dull part of the tour was inside an ancient Jewish temple that was being restored. It was warm in there and the talk was long - heads were bobbing. The rest of it was amazing, and of course emotional.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Susan B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This was a great trip and our guide was very informative. I'm so glad I went. I loved learning about Queen Elizabeth's time spent at Godollo Palace. The Horse Farm was beautiful, they greeted us with Palinka and scones, gave us a carriage ride around the farm and then a horse show demonstrating skills Hungarians are known for. It was a nice retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city. I just wish it had been a bit longer. We arrived back in Budapest around 2:00pm and had to figure out what to do from there. Also, the tour company leaves you off in central Budapest vs. taking you back to your hotel where they picked you up, so you have to figure out how to get back on your own.

Doing what: Godollo Palace and Traditional Farm Trip with Horse Show and Carriage Ride

Terry I

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The tour was okay. Our guide did a good job but he had to speak to us in English and the other Four in Italian. So it made it pretty difficult for him m.

Doing what: Godollo Castle Day Trip from Budapest

Terry I

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Not really what I expected. I thought there were more pools.

Doing what: Private Entrance to Gellert Spa in Budapest with Optional Massage

rainbow.maker

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The price was good to experience one of the iconic spas in Budapest. Our package included a 50 minute massage which was relaxing. There were only 3 thermal pools open during our trip. Compared to other spas I've experienced around the world the temperature of the water was luke warm and the facility frankly looked a little run down. The front reception staff are a bit curt and not particularly helpful. In addition we were ripped off by taxi drivers that are outside the facility when you leave. Be sure to walk to the side where the hotel entrance is to find a legitimate taxi that doesn't rip off tourists. I would not recommend this experience to be honest.

Doing what: Private Entrance to Gellert Spa in Budapest with Optional Massage

Robert N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

The concert was very nice. We were overdressed in a coat and tie and my friend wearing a dress. I asked the girl to call me a cab to get to the boat for the dinner cruise. I told her that I was an amputee. She assured me that it was a short walk. It wasn't. That kind of ruined my mood for the rest of the evening.

Doing what: Budapest St Stephen's Basilica Organ Concert with Optional Danube River Dinner Cruise

Saralyn C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

There were about 7 of us in the group, a small enough group which was nice. We all wanted the English tour to understand the history better. However, it was difficult understanding the tourist guide. The bus got there late and we were dropped off before the 4 hours were up. At any rate, I finished the tour not really getting a better understanding about Budapest and her history. Big disappointment.

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

Vivienne5

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

There was no cheese tasting!!!! and when we said it to them and handed them the voucher which clearing had it written on it they just shrugged and said 'O that should not be there'... we were given a couple of small scones in a basket....wine was good though....but the guy explaining them seemed bored going to each table telling the same story....not worth the money i'm afraid

Doing what: Small-Group Budapest Private Wine and Cheese Tasting Experience

Judith H. R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

Found the Gellert to be shabby. Unfortunately, we were there on a weekend when lots of young people were there. We didn't receive much help in where to change, etc. and signs were not clear. Would not recommend this to middle-agers and beyond.

Doing what: Private Entrance to Gellert Spa in Budapest with Optional Massage

honey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

special evening. orchestra was outstanding.

Doing what: Danube Symphony Orchestra Cimbalom Concert with Optional Danube River Dinner Cruise

honey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

fabulous tour guide, very knowledgeable made the tour special with his stories and sense of humor.

Doing what: Private Budapest Walking Tour with Cafe Stop

honey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Thomas was a very excellent guide, with knowledge of the area, and the history of all that we saw.

Doing what: Private Jewish Budapest Walking Tour

Gretchen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Laszlo was our guide and he was awesome. Learned so much about the city and even ate strudel at a cafe. Laszlo knew so much about all the historical sites. He spoke english very well and took us off the beaten path. It was beyond my expectations!

Doing what: Private Budapest Bike Tour with Cafe Stop

P. C. B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide Tomas was informative, pleasant and led us on a nice walk through Jewish Budapest and the garden of the Synagogue. Inadvertently, we visited on 9 / 11. We were inside the synagogue and the designated guide in English had barely started to brief us when there was a security alert an unclaimed bag and we were obliged to vacate though allowed in the garden, where incidentally, a modern memorial sculpture stands, the work of Tomas's Grandfather !

Doing what: Private Jewish Budapest Walking Tour

Amanda T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a really enjoyable tour which I would recommend to learn more about the history of Hungary. It was short and concise and the tour guide was really knowledgeable.

Doing what: Godollo Palace and Traditional Farm Trip with Horse Show and Carriage Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message