While temperatures may be low, Budapest's holiday spirit is at an all-time high with traditional Christmas markets taking over the city's streets and parks, and several markets opening for business from mid-November until well after the New Year. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

loricar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Brilliant. Tamas was fantastic - charming, articulate, funny, knowledgeable and engaging.
He clearly loves his city and that feeling is passed to the group.
The wine and strudel tasting was a great treat.
We only had a day to see Budapest and he covered a huge variety of information - made our day and we will definitely return and hire him again for one of the private tours - worth every penny and then some!

Doing what: Budapest Christmas Market Tour with Wine Tasting

Syd M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

The guide was very good. The tour included a wine tasting and a trip to two markets in Budapest. We were also shown others points of interest which we were not expecting. Overall the tour exceeded our expectations. Well worth the asking price.

Doing what: Budapest Christmas Market Tour with Wine Tasting

Daniel W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

First a lesson on wines of Hungary and a wine tasting, excellent. Guide was a college student named "Barbie", a rough English translation. Then on to St Stephen's Church, also excellent on the history. Then on to the Christmas Market and hot punch. All around superb.

Doing what: Budapest Christmas Market Tour with Wine Tasting

Kevin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

We really enjoyed our tour, The wine testing was really good as it was held in a cellar which gave it atmosphere. Our guides English was very good and her knowledge of Budapest was excellent.

Doing what: Budapest Christmas Market Tour with Wine Tasting

janstan

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

Tour guide was excellent and very informative. She knew so much about the city and it's history. Quite impressed. However, there was also wine tasting included which I had attended on the day before so we skipped out on it. You can do the tour on your own but I would recommend using the tour guides as they will inform you of things you never would have expected.

Doing what: Budapest Christmas Market Tour with Wine Tasting

VALERIE F

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Preceded by a Hungarian wine tasting and tutorial in a charming off street local book and media shop, followed by a fascinating visit to St Stephen's cathedral where perchance we were privileged to hear a rehearsal of the choir performing a Christmas cantata. The Christmas market was our favorite of mArkets visited in four countries largely made so by the sharing of personal favorite stalls and their offerings by our guide.

Doing what: Budapest Christmas Market Tour with Wine Tasting

pzones

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

Tour was good but we only went to 2 of the 3 Christmas markets advertised. However that may well have been due one of the party feeling the cold and wanting to go back to her hotel.

Doing what: Budapest Christmas Market Tour with Wine Tasting

A and V Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

Great guide, good English would have liked to have found out more about tradition ,etc walked thru the Opera House, St Stephens on our way to the market. If you're there at Christmas do the market on your own, its fun and real easy. Good street food !! a local delicacy ,Rooster Testicles, Yummy!!!

Doing what: Budapest Christmas Market Tour with Wine Tasting

Nathaniel O

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

Horrible experience, I stood in line to board the boat longer than the cruise itself lasted. It was a disgusting free for all. I recommend booking this cruise with another local company. I ended up booking one with a different company a few days later and had a MUCH BETTER experience. And the other tour lasted twice as long.

Doing what: Budapest Christmas Eve Cruise with Dinner and Live Music

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message