Hungary produces quality wines from 22 wine-growing regions and is now challenging France in the wine-producing stakes, with quality vintages that rival the reds of Bordeaux, aided by the perfect growing conditions of volcanic soil and hot, dry ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 72 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dawn N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent tasting of 8 high quality wines. Tamas was a superb host with a willingness to share wonderful details about Hungary and its wine history. The portions were very generous.

Doing what: Hungarian Wine Tasting in Budapest

Paul S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This trip was well-organized and a great experience. A van picked up at various hotels, and took us to two wineries. The winery owners hosted the wine tastings, and were personable and knowledgeable. Food was prepared and served at the second winery, and was a good meal of traditional Hungarian cuisine. This was a fun way to see the Hungarian wine industry that I would not have done without this tour.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Jane F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a wonderful evening we experienced ! If you love wine and are open to enjoying a true cultural experience of the warmth of Hungary don't pass this one up. From the very beginning this tour was exceptional. Our tour guide, Susann was tremendous and provided us with insight to life in Hungary and was knowledgeable of wine. She served as such a wonderful host to all of the cellars we enjoyed. My husband and I felt that not only did we enjoy the wines but it was the experience of sharing with the locals. While perhaps it was only an evening for us spent with those committed to the craft of wine, we felt so welcomed at each site and it formed a wonderful impression while visiting a lovely country. Thank you Susann for such an enjoyable evening. We began the evening not knowing each other and ended with a new friendship. We loved the pictures you captured of our time and thank you for taking them for our memories! If you are thinking on this one, don't hesitate! We have enjoyed the Napa/Sonoma regions of wine tasting but this is an experience into itself!

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Janeen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a private wine tasting in for 4 people which lasted for 2 hours. We tasted 7 wines and has in depth explanations of all the wine growing regions of Hungary, The wines were good to excellent especially the sparkling wine and Cabernet franc
And the teacher was extremely well informed and answered all our questions. It takes place in a wine cellar with lots of character.
If you are at all interested in Hungarian wines, this is the place to go.

Doing what: Hungarian Wine Tasting in Budapest

Sandra O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great tour! We had a chance to see a little bit of the Hungarian wine region and country while enjoying their delicious wine and food! Michal is so nice and explains so much about the wine culture and history. The meal that the chef prepared was excellent! roasted duck, roasted pumpkin, potato suffle, cheese bread and apple pancakes crepes....all, of course, paired with wines. The wine press we visited was also very interesting and offered so many delicious tastings of their wines. I highly recommend taking this tour and opportunity to see even a little glimpse outside of the Budapest city center.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

GILLIAN N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was really good fun. Lots to see around the markets and also tasting. The wine tasting was also good and the meal in the Jewish Quarter was really excellent. Good value for money.

Doing what: The Classic Budapest Gastro Experience with Wine Tasting!

chicharo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a great experience to escape the city rush and relax. My family and I had the chocolate tasting before the wineries: AMAZING!! we had so many delicious and different chocolates, from all over the world and the tasting was paired with wine of course. The we visited two wineries, both were super nice and the wines really good. They gave a lot of wines to taste and dinner was superb! At this point we were with another family and really had a blast with everyone. Julianna, the driver and tour guide, was super friendly and knowledgeable! Can't recommend this tour enough.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Tour and Meal with Chocolate or Cheese Tastings

funlover.patty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip was literally the highlight of our journey. We took the tour from Budapest to Venna instead of the train....good choice! Our guide Tamas was THE BEST!!!!! He knew wine, he knew Hungarian history. The first little winery we went to, was small yet fabulous.Sorry, but I lost the paper that had all the names!!!!..I am from California wine country, and this litle winery was the real deal! They even had Pinot, and us Napa-Sonoma folks are kind of Pinot snobs....but theirs was special!!! We learned all about Hungarian wines, had a luscious snack in their little tasting toom. PERFECT. Then we went to a fabulous lunch across from a castle, then another winery....good wine, modern facility, and had a tour. Continued our travels to some other quaint spots, and finished off with where the iron curtain fell. Tamas told us the whole story. Almost unfathomable....and this happened in 1989!! I would recommend this tour highly....if you are just wanting a tour of the countryside with some history or if you are a wine lover...this is your tour!!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine and Sightseeing Tour with One-Way Budapest to Vienna or Vienna to Budapest Transfer

Barry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent wine tasting on the Danube.Wines were mostly very good.Met some lovely people on board.A pleasant couple of hours.

Doing what: Budapest Wine Tasting Cruise

DIANNE F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a very informative tour, our guide Sabi was very knowledgeable on everything we inquired about.The food was excellent and the wine tasting was great! Can highly recommend

Doing what: The Classic Budapest Gastro Experience with Wine Tasting!

Julia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the perfect way to get out of the city and see the country side a bit! Loved tasting so many local wines, and had an amazing lunch where everything was homemade. Our tour guide and driver Michael I believe his name was - was very nice, and easy to get along with while also being very informative. I would highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Jordan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour was fantastic - highly recommend taking the cheese tasting. We were able to visit a wonderful cheesemaker, and learn about how local cheeses are made in Etyek. The wine tastings were tons of fun -- and our guide made these excursions very enjoyable. The final dinner and wine tasting were a real treat. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Etyek Wine Tour and Meal with Chocolate or Cheese Tastings

Laura C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was excellent. We saw a lot of Hungary and Austria. The host was great. She was friendly and informative. The wine tasting was great. We we to two very different wineries. The host was very accomadating of the participants. It was a very long day but well worth the money.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine and Sightseeing Tour with One-Way Budapest to Vienna or Vienna to Budapest Transfer

tania.biz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was awsome, you get on board for a 1.5 hours trip, the wine tasting is great and by then everyone is tipsy and laughing out loud. The views are amazing ant its also a very romantic atmosphere with groups on the 3 floors of the ship playing violin,etc. First you are placed at a table of 10 ppl strangers but you can take your glass of wine and go wherever you like on the upper deck to admire the view or smoke and come back to get your next glass of wine, or just stay at the tabl and conversate, i recomend for the price it was amazing.

Doing what: Budapest Wine Tasting Cruise

Michael Benj Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well what a fabulous place Hungary is. Our guide was friendly and informative and starting off with a liquor digestive? got us on our way around a most interesting market place offering delights such as fried bread, salami of course and other traditional dishes. a great way to get into and around the city and mix with the locals we ended up at a wine tasting place learning all about the wines of Hungary and completed with cheese and an informative host.

Doing what: The Classic Budapest Gastro Experience with Wine Tasting!

Isabelle G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved this tour the guide was good and I enjoyed tasting all the different wines. The group we were with had a good time thanks .

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

William H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was interesting and fun. My wife, daughter and son-in-law loved the experience. Our guide Dinesh was knowledgeable and fun. His family has been in the wine business in the region for a long time. He did a great job of explaining the history of the region and each winery we visited. At the three wineries we visited, each winemaker was interesting and enjoyable. They were also generous with the wine sample. The meal was very good and after an afternoon of wine tasting our group had a great time getting to know each other and visiting.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Barbara G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fabulous afternoon and evening. Tibor was a wonderful guide. He was friendly, informative, and enthusiastic, with a great sense of humor. The ride out to the country and the discussion along the way was enjoyable. We enjoyed the tastings at the wineries. Dinner at our last stop was delicious. We really appreciated that the group was only six people. We were able to comfortably interact with the other guests. We thoroughly enjoyed tasting the wines of Etyek and spending some time outside of Budapest.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

gpjames Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great 5-hour wine-tasting tour. We joined 9 other people and visited 3 small wineries just outside of Budapest. Each winery provided 4 samples to taste, with very generous servings of 2 - 3 ounces of each wine. The last winery also provided an excellent 3-course dinner along with a small taste of a clear brandy-like beverage. Everyone on the tour was very friendly and the winery owners provided excellent commentary on the wines, the grapes, and the production processes.

Fortunately, we had a designated driver the bus driver who picked us up and returned us to our hotel -- 12 samples of wine plus a brandy made our navigation skills pretty poor! We highly recommend this tour as a fun, good-value tour to get acquainted with Hungarian wines.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Karen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We visited 3 wineries, all small producers, tasting some superb wines. Julianna was very friendly and knowledgeable. The meal was excellent, locally produced products and home cooked. Thank you for such an enjoyable evening.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Dave JN Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We did a food and wine tour of Budapest a few weeks ago with our guide Szofia. The great thing was there was only four of us so it was quite a personal tour where we were lead by Szofia to indulge in the magnificent food and the wine of Budapest and the surrounding regions. The market has a fantastic atmosphere and when we left there on foot and explored other locations eating and drinking our way around the streets of Budapest we had a thoroughly relaxed and enjoyable experience. The lunch Belvarosi Disznotoros was fantastic as we tasted a wonderfully wide range of food with every bite a delicious treat in an enjoyable atmosphere. The wine tasting at Tasting Time was also exceptional with delightful wines and delicious array of cheeses provided. Szofia provided a wonderful tour experience throughout with her breadth of information and her fantastic personality, style and relaxed conversation.

Doing what: The Classic Budapest Gastro Experience with Wine Tasting!

Cookie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a lovely day from the wine tasting to having a superb meal at EtyekM winery restaurant. The hosts made you feel very welcome .

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Kate M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I went on this wine tour on my second day in Budapest, and it was probably one of my favourite things about the whole trip! Tibor was full of knowledge about Hungarian wines and their history, and he went to great lengths to make sure we all had a fantastic time. The wineries were great, and everyone took the time to teach us a little about wine making and Hungarian wines. The tastings were very generous, and the food was absolutely fantastic! Would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Hungary who loves wine.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

LeAnn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was absolutely wonderful! Be sure not to eat before because there is so much to taste on this tour. Budapest is a lovely city and our guide was very informative as we walked. We tasted a good variety of regional favorites, food and beverages! The finally was wine tasting in a lovely wine cellar. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: The Classic Budapest Gastro Experience with Wine Tasting!

Hugh D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were picked up from our hotel by Botond at the agreed time 10:15am in a very nice people carrier. There were only four in total in our group, I guess as it was November and a Monday, however, this made the tour even more special. it took circa 45 mins to reach the first stop in the Etyek region. The first cellar we visited was the venue for tasting of four wines and plenty interesting information and cellar visit. Then onto the next stop which was only 10 mins away where we had a superb rustic home cooked Hungarian lunch shared platter of home made cheese and sausage to start, then delicious meat with roast potatoes as the main and four more wines to sample. Botond the tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable with good English, and the people we met on the visits were also very friendly and welcoming. We purchased a bottle of wine from each cellar, however there was no pushy sales pitch, in fact, I had to ask at the second venue if I could buy a bottle.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message