Hungary produces quality wines from 22 wine-growing regions and is now challenging France in the wine-producing stakes, with quality vintages that rival the reds of Bordeaux, aided by the perfect growing conditions of volcanic soil and hot, dry ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 71 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

GILLIAN N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was really good fun. Lots to see around the markets and also tasting. The wine tasting was also good and the meal in the Jewish Quarter was really excellent. Good value for money.

Doing what: The Classic Budapest Gastro Experience with Wine Tasting!

chicharo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a great experience to escape the city rush and relax. My family and I had the chocolate tasting before the wineries: AMAZING!! we had so many delicious and different chocolates, from all over the world and the tasting was paired with wine of course. The we visited two wineries, both were super nice and the wines really good. They gave a lot of wines to taste and dinner was superb! At this point we were with another family and really had a blast with everyone. Julianna, the driver and tour guide, was super friendly and knowledgeable! Can't recommend this tour enough.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Tour and Meal with Chocolate or Cheese Tastings

funlover.patty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip was literally the highlight of our journey. We took the tour from Budapest to Venna instead of the train....good choice! Our guide Tamas was THE BEST!!!!! He knew wine, he knew Hungarian history. The first little winery we went to, was small yet fabulous.Sorry, but I lost the paper that had all the names!!!!..I am from California wine country, and this litle winery was the real deal! They even had Pinot, and us Napa-Sonoma folks are kind of Pinot snobs....but theirs was special!!! We learned all about Hungarian wines, had a luscious snack in their little tasting toom. PERFECT. Then we went to a fabulous lunch across from a castle, then another winery....good wine, modern facility, and had a tour. Continued our travels to some other quaint spots, and finished off with where the iron curtain fell. Tamas told us the whole story. Almost unfathomable....and this happened in 1989!! I would recommend this tour highly....if you are just wanting a tour of the countryside with some history or if you are a wine lover...this is your tour!!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine and Sightseeing Tour with One-Way Budapest to Vienna or Vienna to Budapest Transfer

Barry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent wine tasting on the Danube.Wines were mostly very good.Met some lovely people on board.A pleasant couple of hours.

Doing what: Budapest Wine Tasting Cruise

DIANNE F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a very informative tour, our guide Sabi was very knowledgeable on everything we inquired about.The food was excellent and the wine tasting was great! Can highly recommend

Doing what: The Classic Budapest Gastro Experience with Wine Tasting!

Julia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the perfect way to get out of the city and see the country side a bit! Loved tasting so many local wines, and had an amazing lunch where everything was homemade. Our tour guide and driver Michael I believe his name was - was very nice, and easy to get along with while also being very informative. I would highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Jordan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour was fantastic - highly recommend taking the cheese tasting. We were able to visit a wonderful cheesemaker, and learn about how local cheeses are made in Etyek. The wine tastings were tons of fun -- and our guide made these excursions very enjoyable. The final dinner and wine tasting were a real treat. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Etyek Wine Tour and Meal with Chocolate or Cheese Tastings

Laura C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was excellent. We saw a lot of Hungary and Austria. The host was great. She was friendly and informative. The wine tasting was great. We we to two very different wineries. The host was very accomadating of the participants. It was a very long day but well worth the money.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine and Sightseeing Tour with One-Way Budapest to Vienna or Vienna to Budapest Transfer

tania.biz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was awsome, you get on board for a 1.5 hours trip, the wine tasting is great and by then everyone is tipsy and laughing out loud. The views are amazing ant its also a very romantic atmosphere with groups on the 3 floors of the ship playing violin,etc. First you are placed at a table of 10 ppl strangers but you can take your glass of wine and go wherever you like on the upper deck to admire the view or smoke and come back to get your next glass of wine, or just stay at the tabl and conversate, i recomend for the price it was amazing.

Doing what: Budapest Wine Tasting Cruise

Michael Benj Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well what a fabulous place Hungary is. Our guide was friendly and informative and starting off with a liquor digestive? got us on our way around a most interesting market place offering delights such as fried bread, salami of course and other traditional dishes. a great way to get into and around the city and mix with the locals we ended up at a wine tasting place learning all about the wines of Hungary and completed with cheese and an informative host.

Doing what: The Classic Budapest Gastro Experience with Wine Tasting!

Isabelle G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved this tour the guide was good and I enjoyed tasting all the different wines. The group we were with had a good time thanks .

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

William H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was interesting and fun. My wife, daughter and son-in-law loved the experience. Our guide Dinesh was knowledgeable and fun. His family has been in the wine business in the region for a long time. He did a great job of explaining the history of the region and each winery we visited. At the three wineries we visited, each winemaker was interesting and enjoyable. They were also generous with the wine sample. The meal was very good and after an afternoon of wine tasting our group had a great time getting to know each other and visiting.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Barbara G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fabulous afternoon and evening. Tibor was a wonderful guide. He was friendly, informative, and enthusiastic, with a great sense of humor. The ride out to the country and the discussion along the way was enjoyable. We enjoyed the tastings at the wineries. Dinner at our last stop was delicious. We really appreciated that the group was only six people. We were able to comfortably interact with the other guests. We thoroughly enjoyed tasting the wines of Etyek and spending some time outside of Budapest.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

gpjames Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great 5-hour wine-tasting tour. We joined 9 other people and visited 3 small wineries just outside of Budapest. Each winery provided 4 samples to taste, with very generous servings of 2 - 3 ounces of each wine. The last winery also provided an excellent 3-course dinner along with a small taste of a clear brandy-like beverage. Everyone on the tour was very friendly and the winery owners provided excellent commentary on the wines, the grapes, and the production processes.

Fortunately, we had a designated driver the bus driver who picked us up and returned us to our hotel -- 12 samples of wine plus a brandy made our navigation skills pretty poor! We highly recommend this tour as a fun, good-value tour to get acquainted with Hungarian wines.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Karen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We visited 3 wineries, all small producers, tasting some superb wines. Julianna was very friendly and knowledgeable. The meal was excellent, locally produced products and home cooked. Thank you for such an enjoyable evening.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Dave JN Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We did a food and wine tour of Budapest a few weeks ago with our guide Szofia. The great thing was there was only four of us so it was quite a personal tour where we were lead by Szofia to indulge in the magnificent food and the wine of Budapest and the surrounding regions. The market has a fantastic atmosphere and when we left there on foot and explored other locations eating and drinking our way around the streets of Budapest we had a thoroughly relaxed and enjoyable experience. The lunch Belvarosi Disznotoros was fantastic as we tasted a wonderfully wide range of food with every bite a delicious treat in an enjoyable atmosphere. The wine tasting at Tasting Time was also exceptional with delightful wines and delicious array of cheeses provided. Szofia provided a wonderful tour experience throughout with her breadth of information and her fantastic personality, style and relaxed conversation.

Doing what: The Classic Budapest Gastro Experience with Wine Tasting!

Cookie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a lovely day from the wine tasting to having a superb meal at EtyekM winery restaurant. The hosts made you feel very welcome .

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Kate M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I went on this wine tour on my second day in Budapest, and it was probably one of my favourite things about the whole trip! Tibor was full of knowledge about Hungarian wines and their history, and he went to great lengths to make sure we all had a fantastic time. The wineries were great, and everyone took the time to teach us a little about wine making and Hungarian wines. The tastings were very generous, and the food was absolutely fantastic! Would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Hungary who loves wine.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

LeAnn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was absolutely wonderful! Be sure not to eat before because there is so much to taste on this tour. Budapest is a lovely city and our guide was very informative as we walked. We tasted a good variety of regional favorites, food and beverages! The finally was wine tasting in a lovely wine cellar. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: The Classic Budapest Gastro Experience with Wine Tasting!

Hugh D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were picked up from our hotel by Botond at the agreed time 10:15am in a very nice people carrier. There were only four in total in our group, I guess as it was November and a Monday, however, this made the tour even more special. it took circa 45 mins to reach the first stop in the Etyek region. The first cellar we visited was the venue for tasting of four wines and plenty interesting information and cellar visit. Then onto the next stop which was only 10 mins away where we had a superb rustic home cooked Hungarian lunch shared platter of home made cheese and sausage to start, then delicious meat with roast potatoes as the main and four more wines to sample. Botond the tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable with good English, and the people we met on the visits were also very friendly and welcoming. We purchased a bottle of wine from each cellar, however there was no pushy sales pitch, in fact, I had to ask at the second venue if I could buy a bottle.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Georgette L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a great time. It was fun to see a bunch of strangers become good friends after some wine tasting.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Elaine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great value for money and a wonderful cruise along the Danube as it became dark and the buildings lit up along the way. We tasted 7 different lovely hungarian wines although it did feel as if we were forgotten a little as all the attention was given to the dinner guests around the sides. It would have been nice to be given a glass of fizz as you boarded like the other guests, even if this meant one less glass at the tasting! You were given a sheet of paper with info on the wines but you didn't learn too much about each one. You are given the opportunity to buy food or bottles of wines if you wanted.

Doing what: Budapest Wine Tasting Cruise

T. Meneses

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is simply the best way to end a day. I can highly recommend to do this. The evening had a perfect balance between tasting wines, enjoying some delicious traditional Hungarian cuisine and listening to our hosts telling us about the wines. Must do!

Doing what: Hungarian Wine Tasting in Budapest

mic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was a little larger than expected 14 guests, but we still thoroughly enjoyed it. Our personable and informative guide was wonderful. The three vineyards visited each provided a charming flavor of the region with generous tastings. The owner of the final vineyard is also a chef and prepared a delicious traditional Hungarian meal that we loved. Good wine - Good food - Good company - Wonderful experience and memory!

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Holly H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had the best time in this tour. Suzie was our guide and she was very knowledgable! It was a lot of fun learning and tasting Hungarian food and wine! I highly recommend it and would do it again!

Doing what: The Classic Budapest Gastro Experience with Wine Tasting!

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message