The fertile grassy plains of La Pampa stretch south from Buenos Aires, trickling down to the toe of Argentina and Patagonia. Vineyards are a recent addition to La Pampa, but for centuries the region has been the legendary home of the gaucho, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 379 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marnie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I absolutely loved my trip out to Santa Susana Ranch! It is well worth the time and money. You are greeted with wine and an empanada and a beautiful view. You can tour the museum/original house with all the beautiful furnishings. A wonderful show with a sit-down lunch is phenomenal! I loved the fact that I had the opportunity to ride a horse for the first time ever in my life! The gauchos put on a great show of skill on their horses after the lunch. Everyone is very friendly. I truly had enjoyable time!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Afonso Luiz R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Uma experiência única nos pampas úmidos argentinos, desde o tour no centro histórico da vila, a chegada na Estância de Unimog, o passeio a cavalo, a cantoria, todo o ambiente nos envolveu na verdadeira experiência da cultura do ambiente rural dessa localidade maravilhosa.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Timothy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We loved our Visit to Santa Susana Ranch. It is a great Family outing. We were picked up at 9am and back at the hotel by 5:30. My kids enjoyed the horse back riding, museum, dancing, music and culture. The food, wine and beer were plentiful and very good. The people at Santa Susana were wonderful. They really enjoyed their work. The music and dancing were great to watch. The Tango Senorita was very beautiful. The Gauchos were a crack up. It is a beautiful setting. A wonderful afternoon. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Cherylvaiani

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great day. Pablo was excellent guide and extremely informative. The design of the tour was great, with short visit to silver museum, and once at ranch appetizers, horseback riding or carriage rides, then lunch, dancing and Horse-whispering. Recommend highly. Well worth the 2 hour drive in the air conditioned bus to get there.

Doing what: Small-Group Gaucho Day at a Farm in San Antonio de Areco

Jill L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The trip to the Estancia Ombu - Small-Group gaucho Day at a farm in San Antonio de Areco was fabulous. Our guide met us at our hotel and drove us to the Estancia giving us a constant informative commentary of the terrain we were covering to get to San Antonio. His English was very good and as we were the only tourists with him, we had a very personal experience. The gauchos and others at the Estancia Ombu couldn't have been nicer and the food was excellent and very plentiful. The most impressive activity that day was watching one of the gauchos perform doma-india with his horse. I won't explain it but it was an amazing spectacle and one I will never forget. I highly recommend this tour over others offered to the estancias. .

Doing what: Small-Group Gaucho Day at a Farm in San Antonio de Areco

Francene

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a wonderful day away from the hustle and bustle of BA! It took us over 1.5 hrs to get there with a stop in the town San Antonio de Areco prior to going to the ranch. The ranch was beautiful and the surrounding scenery just so green and pretty. Besides being pleasant to see, the activities were enough to keep us enthused with horse riding, a traditional asado barbecue lunch, gaucho music and dancing gaucho style. Our guide and driver were terrific. Paul, our guide, was so funny and entertaining. He took really good care of us. Everyone in our tour group was friendly and we all clicked! A perfect day!

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Elizabeth T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an excellent all day tour which included a visit to the picturesque town of San Antonio de Areco. The ranch itself was in a lovely spot - very peaceful and we very much enjoyed the riding and carriage trip on offer. Lunch was excellent and very plentiful and was followed by some gaucho singing and dancing and a demonstration of the close relationship/bond between the gauchos and their horses.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

tlyarb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Loved this tour. The guide was great. She was very personable and knowledgeable. The people at the Santa Susana Ranch were very hospitable and helpful. Activities were enjoyable. Museum amazing. One of the best meals I had while in Buenos Aires. Wine was good and they just kept it coming. Entertainment during lunch was fantastic. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

j r P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Recommended as an easy day tour. Guide was great although at end driver and guide said demonstrations in town and difficult to get us close to hotel. We walked which was not a problem but saw no demonstrations, but food good gaucho horse riding phenomenal and show great fun participating.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

j r P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Recommended as an easy day tour. Guide was great although at end driver and guide said demonstrations in town and difficult to get us close to hotel. We walked which was not a problem but saw no demonstrations, but food good gaucho horse riding phenomenal and show great fun participating.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Esther P

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

I enjoyed the trip to the rancho Susana, the gauchos were welcoming specially Sirilo, the red wine was a little to much for me so early, food very good specially the salad,the tango show was great, I love that they included there guest and had us participate.
I would have skip the horse riding because we didn't do much, just ride around in the sun.
The gaucho performance with the horses was very entertaining... nice place away from the city.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Frederick M. B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

overall the trip was good, The guide was interesting and informative. The ranch environment was a little disappointing however. Not much to see and do prior to the show. The show was very interesting but the M/C spoke only in Spanish. The horse riding demonstration was pretty cool.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Ana B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Lovely day outside of hectic Buenos Aires. Pablo was so lovely and informative and people at Estancia just the same. Horseback riding was such a pleasure and food was amazing better than in my 5 star hotel in Buenos Aires!. The demonstration of the gaucho with the horse and connection you could feel between them was really impressive. I really recommend to anyone who would like to get out of the city and enjoy relaxing day outdoors.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Joel F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

There were several Gaucho day trips listed on Viator to choose from, and based on the reviews, we choose this one. Good choice! We had a fantastic day. The experience begins with a bus-ride to the ranch -- it was about an hour from the last passenger pick-up. There were 19 passengers on a small bus that fit 19 people, so it was a tight-fit for all of us -- but the bus was air-conditioned, and the ride was a nice way to view more of the city and surrounding area. Our guide, Macarena, was delightful, and her English was terrific. She gave us a lot of background and information.

Once at the ranch, we were met by a Gaucho, as well as plates of empanadas and glasses of wine red or white or juice. We got a tour of the grounds, and then we were set free to explore. We began by going to the two small museums -- one was a very small chapel and the other a small home. Both were simple and didn't take long to walk through, but gave a good indication of what life was life on the pampas back in the day. We also took a quick stroll through the small gift shop.

Next, we decided to ride horses. The gauchos helped us all onto the horses, and we walked around the ranch. The ranch is located an hour out of BA, but still in a populated area, so part of the perimeter is bordered by roads and cars -- but it is far enough in the country that it is relaxing and beautiful. On the horse, you can see how well-groomed the ranch is, and we loved riding around. After the horses, we sat and enjoyed being in the country -- by then, the ranch was full of tourists, though it is large enough to accommodate many tourists at the same time.

Lunch was next, and the food was served by the Gauchos, one meat at a time. We had two steaks, chicken, and two sausages -- all excellent. The food is cooked on an open grill see my photos, and it was some of the best meat we had in our visit to Argentina. Also included were salads, desert, and drinks each table had bottles of Malbec, and you could order beer, water, soft drinks, etc..

After dinner came the show. Great musicians, very good singing, and some tango dancing were all good -- and then an amazing male dancer finished the show with a high-energy performance.

Next came a second show -- this time with the Gauchos and the horses. They did some horse maneuvers and tricks, and everyone in the crowd seemed to have a great time including us.

Entertained, tired, and our bellies full, we went back on the bus for the relaxing ride back to the city. We originally booked this trip thinking it would be fun for our kid, and he did love it -- but I think we loved it almost as much as he did. They know what they are doing, and this is a great tour to experience.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

H w hessing H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Great day out not too far from the city.
Food good, horse experience was nice but the dancing at lunch topped it.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Emma M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

The tour guide did not have control of the bus unfortunately which involved several drunk passengers following lunch. She gave the mic to these passengers en route back to Buenos Aires which meant that the remainder of the passengers about 60 had to endure drunken ramblings. The ranch itself was well organised but the bus trip ruined the experience.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

bezandal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

fun day and the guachos were a bit cheeky

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Victor H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic experience. The estate is pretty and the quick horse ride around it gives you a sense of the place. The lunch provided is fantastic. They don't go light on the meat so you leave full. The dance and music performance after lunch was entertaining and they did a good job getting the entire crowd involved.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Ann M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent! Food was great , ranch was very cool. We would do this trip again

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Maike Lisa W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

very great trip, beautiful landscape, wonderful food, great meeting with some gauchos, the estanica is beautiful too! Only 30 mins to visit the village though which was very little time! Mostly elderly people though (for me as a young woman). All in all very worth it!!

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Susan C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

This was so disappointing. Our guide Mellie was wonderful, and the empanadas were an awesome way to be greeted to the ranch! I had high hopes, but the ranch is tiny and not a working ranch. It's basically a barn with 100 horses. The museum is a 1800 sq foot home with nothing to see. The Church is a tiny chapel with some wedding photos. The horseback tour is maybe 600 meters, the lunch was just blah, and so was the dancing, the demonstrations by the gouchos were so boring we went to wait in the bus.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

jackie

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The ranch is very nice. You can ride a calm horse or take a ride in a carriage type thing. The food was decent, but like most food in Argentina, it is lacking seasoning. Ask for salt. The empanadas were very good, and there is a vegetarian pasta option.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Rachael P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Great day out of the city. We were collected from out hotel and the journey was about 1hr20mins to the ranch. Once there, there were many activities we could do, we did the horse riding, however if your a horsey person and your doing this trip for the horse ride you will be disappointed as it is a large group doing a loop at a walk. The lunch BBQ was great, the best food we'd had in BA, and the entertainment was good. I'd recommend this tour, you get horses, tango, food and wine so pretty good.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

Luis Alejandro S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Friendly staff, delicious food and wine included!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message