The fertile grassy plains of La Pampa stretch south from Buenos Aires, trickling down to the toe of Argentina and Patagonia. Vineyards are a recent addition to La Pampa, but for centuries the region has been the legendary home of the gaucho, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 362 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

bezandal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

fun day and the guachos were a bit cheeky

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Victor H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic experience. The estate is pretty and the quick horse ride around it gives you a sense of the place. The lunch provided is fantastic. They don't go light on the meat so you leave full. The dance and music performance after lunch was entertaining and they did a good job getting the entire crowd involved.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Ann M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent! Food was great , ranch was very cool. We would do this trip again

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Maike Lisa W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

very great trip, beautiful landscape, wonderful food, great meeting with some gauchos, the estanica is beautiful too! Only 30 mins to visit the village though which was very little time! Mostly elderly people though (for me as a young woman). All in all very worth it!!

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Susan C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

This was so disappointing. Our guide Mellie was wonderful, and the empanadas were an awesome way to be greeted to the ranch! I had high hopes, but the ranch is tiny and not a working ranch. It's basically a barn with 100 horses. The museum is a 1800 sq foot home with nothing to see. The Church is a tiny chapel with some wedding photos. The horseback tour is maybe 600 meters, the lunch was just blah, and so was the dancing, the demonstrations by the gouchos were so boring we went to wait in the bus.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

jackie

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The ranch is very nice. You can ride a calm horse or take a ride in a carriage type thing. The food was decent, but like most food in Argentina, it is lacking seasoning. Ask for salt. The empanadas were very good, and there is a vegetarian pasta option.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Rachael P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Great day out of the city. We were collected from out hotel and the journey was about 1hr20mins to the ranch. Once there, there were many activities we could do, we did the horse riding, however if your a horsey person and your doing this trip for the horse ride you will be disappointed as it is a large group doing a loop at a walk. The lunch BBQ was great, the best food we'd had in BA, and the entertainment was good. I'd recommend this tour, you get horses, tango, food and wine so pretty good.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

Luis Alejandro S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Friendly staff, delicious food and wine included!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was wonderful! It was a perfect escape from the city. Our guide, Macarena, was wonderful and very insightful. The staff at the ranch was very friendly and made every effort to make us feel like family. The wine and food was abundant and very delicious.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Susan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We loved it!! We're glad we took this tour, it begins with an hour and 1/2 bus ride driving towards the country side of Buenos Aires. Once we arrived we had a warm welcomed by Santiago who explained the days itinerary, to accompany this warm welcome we got to taste a warm and fresh made meat empanada and cup of wine or soda.. you can have more than one :-. Once our tummies were full we went for the horse back ride around the property, and you get to see the sheep, horses and bulls. We then proceeded to hope on the canopy, is very easy to climb and for any age.This was good exercise before we were called to the main dining area where we had assigned tables set across the main stage. The show began with popular songs from some of the different Argentina regions. There had a couple of dancers whom also danced to the compass of the music. The singer was very good, he asked the audience which countries they were visiting from and after he compiled the list he sang a song from all those countries. After this, the parade of plates began to flow and food was amazing!! To finish the visit we were treated to a traditional gaucho horse play along with a taste of a nice cup of mate with traditional pastries. This is a tour you cannot missed! You'll have a great time!!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

Ashley C United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wow, what a magical day spent at Estancia Ombu! Our guide, Pablo, was wonderful - extremely knowledgable, funny, and helped us feel like old friends immediately. He definitely went above and beyond to make sure we were all comfortable and enjoying the day. To be honest, after reading reviews from other Guacho tours, we were really hesitant to book this type of a tour at all, but I'm so glad we did! This estancia specifically felt so private and authentic since it is actually a working ranch there were only 5 people in our group and maybe 10 other visitors on the entire ranch. The food was the best we've had in Argentina and the service was exceptional. The horses were beautiful, calm, and well cared for this was really important to me. Honestly, I can't say enough.... if you have the time, book this tour!

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Pari G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a great time, it was a great day and Don Silvano team did a great job entertaining us.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

NATALIE F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Being an exchange student I really wanted to experience a more cultural outlook on Buenos Aires and this trip gave me exactly that. With the weather being absolutely perfect it was just an amazing experience and learning about the mate was so interesting. If you in B.A do this very worth the money.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

Dave S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really good tour for our family of 5. Pablo was knowledgable and adaptable. Nice change from the city, good balance of activities, horse ride was about an hour good for us novices and food was great!

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Norman K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I really enjoyed the day with guide Pablo who was able to provide not only the usual tourist information but also insights into the culture of Argentina. He had several training aids in his sack to help explain the geography of the country and the equipment/dress of the gauchos. The estancia was not overly touristy as it was working ranch unlike some of the others offering tours. The lunch was great with large portions of everything sausages, chicken, beef including wine and beer. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Милош С

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

It s nice and worth doing , organization is great guide is awesome and they put up a goood show at the hacienda. You get some awesome horsebackriding too. Personally I think it s a bit expensive for what you get especially in comparison to the average prices of dining and everything else in BA

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Lesleyanne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This day at the ranch may cost more than the others but there's a good reason for that. Unlike others, this is a working ranch and it caters to small groups. There were only eight of us the day I went. Other ranch experiences can cater to dozens, even hundreds at a time and are not working ranches. They are set up for the tourist industry. We all opted for the horseback ride and it lasted almost an hour. The meal of sausage, chicken, beef filet, ribs, potatoes and ice cream was excellent. When we were done with the meal, we got a demonstration by the gauchos. In one case, the gaucho gave us a demonstration of the trust between him and his horse. It was beautiful!

One note about any day tour taken in Buenos Aires - if you're in the central area near Florida Ave, do not wait on the street for you pick-up. Wait inside the lobby. I had a taxi driver pick me up saying he was sent by the agency because the single lanes roads were too small for the bus. This is a scam! In the end, he drove me around the block and asked for two pesos like 20 cents. I ended up taking out my wallet to give him a US dollar as he wouldn't take a five peso note and he managed to palm 80 USD out of my wallet. I got out knowing something wasn't right and discovered the money missing later. This isn't a reflection on this tour or Viator - just any excursion you take from central Buenos Aires. The next day, my driver had her purse stolen right out of the car. We never saw who did it. The crimes are petty theft. Overall, I've never had any other problem in central Buenos Aires.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

C D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An enjoyable and relaxing day on the Don Silvano Ranch, from pick up, warmly greeted and welcomed onboard our bus to being greeted by the gauchos on the ranch and offered empinada's and wine. Enjoyed the horse ride around the ranch, you can opt for the horse and carriage ride instead. The mate tea making significance to Argentina was really interesting and delivered with fun and humour. You get to see the gaucho's showing off their skills and the bbq lunch was delicious, loved the musician Diego Arolfo, such talent. The entertainment and dancing was amazing, the atmosphere and whole experience was fun and the singer made the effort to sing songs from the visitors country, impressive! It was nice to wander around the ranch and take in its rustic beauty. Highly recommend a visit to the ranch and a nice way to experience the Argentinian culture, the gaucho's and staff were friendly, welcoming and treated us like one of the family.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

Tehara B

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

I was expecting a day full of activities at the ranch. This was not the case. Upon arrival you are greeted with delicious empanadas. Then there is a couple of hours of down time where you can horseback ride on a slow painful trail. Finally, around noon there was a delicious meal served with some mediocre tango/singing entertainment. Followed by watching the gauchos doing some tricks for like 30 minutes.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Mel C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Don't go, it's a waste of money and time. The entertainment was very average, the meal was average and the gaucho show very average. The behest disapoint was the kitchen hand demanding a tips for cutting up salads. Over all waste of time and money.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A worthwhile day trip to one of the rancheros near Buenos Aires. Lots of good food almost all meat, a tango demonstration that was worth the trip all by itself, and a very interesting demonstration by modern-day gauchos of horse riding techniques. All in all, a day well spent. And the guide Antonella was not only fluent in English but beautiful as well!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Peter E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So much fun being out on the ranch! Great food, great guide. The horses are limited so get in and get on, also bring cash to buy memories and stuff from the shop they have there! The show was amazing too!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Emilio N

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. You learn some interesting facts about the gaucho lifestyle by a great staff at the Estancia.
The food, wine and entertain are top notch. Our tour guide was great on the way to the ranch and even looked after her group during the day. Would have given 5 stars, except for how the tour ended. With us being dropped off a distance from our hotel, it wasn't very far about a 30 minute walk or 10 min taxi. But after enjoying a full day and coming back tired, this just seemed somthing more convenient for the driver/tour guide then for the tour group. For the cost of the tour, it should included pick-up AND drop-off at everyone's hotel.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Sara L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was excellent! Marcelo was a very informative tour guide and took us to lots of local spots in pretty San Antonio de Areco. This is not a touristy day, it is a visit to a real Estancia. The BBQ was some of the nicest food we had in Argentina and there was no shortage of red wine. The horse ride was fun and Gaucho Oskar was fantastic!

Doing what: Small-Group Gaucho Day at a Farm in San Antonio de Areco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message