The fertile grassy plains of La Pampa stretch south from Buenos Aires, trickling down to the toe of Argentina and Patagonia. Vineyards are a recent addition to La Pampa, but for centuries the region has been the legendary home of the gaucho, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 346 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lesleyanne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This day at the ranch may cost more than the others but there's a good reason for that. Unlike others, this is a working ranch and it caters to small groups. There were only eight of us the day I went. Other ranch experiences can cater to dozens, even hundreds at a time and are not working ranches. They are set up for the tourist industry. We all opted for the horseback ride and it lasted almost an hour. The meal of sausage, chicken, beef filet, ribs, potatoes and ice cream was excellent. When we were done with the meal, we got a demonstration by the gauchos. In one case, the gaucho gave us a demonstration of the trust between him and his horse. It was beautiful!

One note about any day tour taken in Buenos Aires - if you're in the central area near Florida Ave, do not wait on the street for you pick-up. Wait inside the lobby. I had a taxi driver pick me up saying he was sent by the agency because the single lanes roads were too small for the bus. This is a scam! In the end, he drove me around the block and asked for two pesos like 20 cents. I ended up taking out my wallet to give him a US dollar as he wouldn't take a five peso note and he managed to palm 80 USD out of my wallet. I got out knowing something wasn't right and discovered the money missing later. This isn't a reflection on this tour or Viator - just any excursion you take from central Buenos Aires. The next day, my driver had her purse stolen right out of the car. We never saw who did it. The crimes are petty theft. Overall, I've never had any other problem in central Buenos Aires.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

C D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An enjoyable and relaxing day on the Don Silvano Ranch, from pick up, warmly greeted and welcomed onboard our bus to being greeted by the gauchos on the ranch and offered empinada's and wine. Enjoyed the horse ride around the ranch, you can opt for the horse and carriage ride instead. The mate tea making significance to Argentina was really interesting and delivered with fun and humour. You get to see the gaucho's showing off their skills and the bbq lunch was delicious, loved the musician Diego Arolfo, such talent. The entertainment and dancing was amazing, the atmosphere and whole experience was fun and the singer made the effort to sing songs from the visitors country, impressive! It was nice to wander around the ranch and take in its rustic beauty. Highly recommend a visit to the ranch and a nice way to experience the Argentinian culture, the gaucho's and staff were friendly, welcoming and treated us like one of the family.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

Tehara B

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

I was expecting a day full of activities at the ranch. This was not the case. Upon arrival you are greeted with delicious empanadas. Then there is a couple of hours of down time where you can horseback ride on a slow painful trail. Finally, around noon there was a delicious meal served with some mediocre tango/singing entertainment. Followed by watching the gauchos doing some tricks for like 30 minutes.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Mel C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Don't go, it's a waste of money and time. The entertainment was very average, the meal was average and the gaucho show very average. The behest disapoint was the kitchen hand demanding a tips for cutting up salads. Over all waste of time and money.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A worthwhile day trip to one of the rancheros near Buenos Aires. Lots of good food almost all meat, a tango demonstration that was worth the trip all by itself, and a very interesting demonstration by modern-day gauchos of horse riding techniques. All in all, a day well spent. And the guide Antonella was not only fluent in English but beautiful as well!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Peter E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So much fun being out on the ranch! Great food, great guide. The horses are limited so get in and get on, also bring cash to buy memories and stuff from the shop they have there! The show was amazing too!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Emilio N

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. You learn some interesting facts about the gaucho lifestyle by a great staff at the Estancia.
The food, wine and entertain are top notch. Our tour guide was great on the way to the ranch and even looked after her group during the day. Would have given 5 stars, except for how the tour ended. With us being dropped off a distance from our hotel, it wasn't very far about a 30 minute walk or 10 min taxi. But after enjoying a full day and coming back tired, this just seemed somthing more convenient for the driver/tour guide then for the tour group. For the cost of the tour, it should included pick-up AND drop-off at everyone's hotel.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Sara L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was excellent! Marcelo was a very informative tour guide and took us to lots of local spots in pretty San Antonio de Areco. This is not a touristy day, it is a visit to a real Estancia. The BBQ was some of the nicest food we had in Argentina and there was no shortage of red wine. The horse ride was fun and Gaucho Oskar was fantastic!

Doing what: Small-Group Gaucho Day at a Farm in San Antonio de Areco

Steedman S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had a fantastic day.
Everyone was very welcoming, enjoyed the brief horse ride, the shows and the food was wonderful

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

bncrayton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My friend and I took this tour in March 2016 and we recommend it very highly. Our driver and tour guide, Marcelo was absolutely fantastic. He picked us up at our apartment and took us on a tour of the small town and then to the estancia. He was kind, funny, and SO knowledgeable about Argentine history and facts. The estancia was beautiful and the staff and gauchos were so welcoming and warm. The food was amazing and it was a day we will always remember. We HIGHLY recommend Marcelo and this tour.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Han

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We chose Estancia El Ombu following reviews' recommendation from Tripadvisor. It was an excellent way to spend a day on a real Gaucho ranch. The highlight was the horse ride. It was a bright and sunny day and I had left my hat in the hotel. The guide helped me to borrow one from the ranch. lunch was generous with food and wine. A senior gaucho sang and entertained while we ate. The show of horsemanship by the Gauchos was good. At the end of the show, a horse was coaxed to lie down and we could take our pics with the horse and the gaucho.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Peter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was fantastic! Beautiful place, peaceful, great food, horseback riding thru the pampas with real gauchos.....priceless! We liked it so much that we stayed a night!

Doing what: Small-Group Gaucho Day at a Farm in San Antonio de Areco

Carolyn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Beautiful scenery, wonderful food, an amazing experience. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Roderick C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Had a fantastic time. Plenty to do and very welcoming.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

catherine s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Marcel was very pleasant to be around and offered a perfect mix of congeniality and information. The town nearby was an authentic throw-back to simpler times. The estanca is peacefully gorgious. This was a very relaxing day. The lunch, carriage ride and horse whisperer's demonstration all contributed to a memorable experience.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Sina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Pablo was an amazing guide, and an unforgettable time at the Estancia. Well-planned day and hope to do again one day.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

June G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a fantastic day. The weather was unkind but everything else was excellent. The tour guide was first class and all the staff at the ranch were very friendly and generous with their time and efforts.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Ross G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Good to see outside of the town. Liked the horses. Good barbecue and the small floor show was excellent

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

annette v

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Terrible food, overcooked beef. Fun day, but could have been a half day, lots of down time.
Same tour MUCH cheaper through the hotel!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Elisabeth K. S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

It was so made up for tuorists. We met some really nice people and would have liked to talk with them during the meal, but there was singing and dancing all the time, and when the show was over really loud music was put on,

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

Megan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a great day trip from Buenos Aires, with a tour guide that switched between English and Spanish the entire time so that everyone could participate. The day was well-planned and lunch was delicious. We especially enjoyed our opportunity to ride the ranch's horses.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Victoria G

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Lovely estancia providing a reasonable horse ride and a very pleasant lunch on the veranda of this beautiful house. Well worth a day in the country outside the busy city of Buenos Aries.

Doing what: Small-Group Gaucho Day at a Farm in San Antonio de Areco

Margaret W

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

I enjoyed the day. It was well organized and informative. Only negative was the HUGE number of people there. Made it difficult to watch the show. But I loved the gauchos!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Graeme M

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Even with the wet weather it was very interesting. The first steak was very tough we did not like the blood sausage but the second steak was very nice. Would have been good to have an English language guide through the history museum.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message