The fertile grassy plains of La Pampa stretch south from Buenos Aires, trickling down to the toe of Argentina and Patagonia. Vineyards are a recent addition to La Pampa, but for centuries the region has been the legendary home of the gaucho, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 391 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ryan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We very much enjoyed this trip and our guide. The food was very good and the experience at the ranch was great. It wasn't that busy the day we went, so everything was easy and quick to do. Make sure you bring cash for tips, they'll ask for it.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Philip B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was an amazing tour and can highly recommend it. Our guide Pablo was very knowledgeable and told us all about gauchos, their dress, traditions etc. Told us about the cuts of beef and what we would be offered from the barbecue, this was on the way to San Antonio.
We had a beautiful sunny day which added to our enjoyment. Everyone was so welcoming at the Estancia. On arrival we were shown the parilla, then had wine/beer and the best empanadas we have ever had. Then it was a horse ride or horse and carriage ride, do try the horse ride my husband and I had never been on a horse before and thoroughly enjoyed it. The lunch was superb and afterwards treated to dancing from the gauchos, followed by a demonstration of 'horse whispering' by one of the gauchos, absolutely unbelievable.
This tour was one of the highlights of our three and a half weeks in Chile/Argentina

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Kenneth M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The tour went to an Estancia outside of Buenos Aires with a stop on San Antonio. At the Estancia, we had a horse ride, an excellent lunch and demonstration of horsemanship from one of the gauchos. It was good that as the Estancia limits the number of tourists every day to under 50 so the place was not overrun with tourists. Enjoyable day.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Tamara Ellen M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

It definitely is a long drive almost 2 hours each way, but we had a great time. Our 18 month old loved all the dogs and horses, and there was a lot of space to run around. The food was lavish and non-stop all afternoon and they actually did a pretty good job with giving me some vegetarian dishes.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Diane S

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Once we arrived at the Ranch, the trip was good - interesting and shows were fun. However there was too much down time - we sat for about 45 minutes waiting for lunch. The bigger issue was getting there and back. We were picked up at the HIlton which was great. However, we then drove around Buenos Aires for an hour in traffic picking up other people before we headed out to the ranch. On the way back, we drove around Buenos Aires for an hour in traffic dropping people at their hotels only to be told that they could not go to the Hilton because it was too late and so we had to walk 5 blocks back to our hotel. It was a disappointing end to an otherwise fun day.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Karen M

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Great to get out of the city for the day and good entertainment during the meal. Plenty of food but salad was old. Toilets in disrepair (not flushing, no soap and not clean).

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

paul.dent

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

The day is certainly enjoyable, but not as described or expected. For those expecting an energetic demanding horse riding experience as I was this is not the tour for you. This is strictly tourism show, with the emphasis being on food, alcohol and visual entertainment. Very nice if that is your expectation, and not unpleasant, but I feel the tour presentation should more accurately reflect the true nature of the activity.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Marnie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I absolutely loved my trip out to Santa Susana Ranch! It is well worth the time and money. You are greeted with wine and an empanada and a beautiful view. You can tour the museum/original house with all the beautiful furnishings. A wonderful show with a sit-down lunch is phenomenal! I loved the fact that I had the opportunity to ride a horse for the first time ever in my life! The gauchos put on a great show of skill on their horses after the lunch. Everyone is very friendly. I truly had enjoyable time!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Afonso Luiz R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Uma experiência única nos pampas úmidos argentinos, desde o tour no centro histórico da vila, a chegada na Estância de Unimog, o passeio a cavalo, a cantoria, todo o ambiente nos envolveu na verdadeira experiência da cultura do ambiente rural dessa localidade maravilhosa.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Timothy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We loved our Visit to Santa Susana Ranch. It is a great Family outing. We were picked up at 9am and back at the hotel by 5:30. My kids enjoyed the horse back riding, museum, dancing, music and culture. The food, wine and beer were plentiful and very good. The people at Santa Susana were wonderful. They really enjoyed their work. The music and dancing were great to watch. The Tango Senorita was very beautiful. The Gauchos were a crack up. It is a beautiful setting. A wonderful afternoon. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Cherylvaiani

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great day. Pablo was excellent guide and extremely informative. The design of the tour was great, with short visit to silver museum, and once at ranch appetizers, horseback riding or carriage rides, then lunch, dancing and Horse-whispering. Recommend highly. Well worth the 2 hour drive in the air conditioned bus to get there.

Doing what: Small-Group Gaucho Day at a Farm in San Antonio de Areco

Jill L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The trip to the Estancia Ombu - Small-Group gaucho Day at a farm in San Antonio de Areco was fabulous. Our guide met us at our hotel and drove us to the Estancia giving us a constant informative commentary of the terrain we were covering to get to San Antonio. His English was very good and as we were the only tourists with him, we had a very personal experience. The gauchos and others at the Estancia Ombu couldn't have been nicer and the food was excellent and very plentiful. The most impressive activity that day was watching one of the gauchos perform doma-india with his horse. I won't explain it but it was an amazing spectacle and one I will never forget. I highly recommend this tour over others offered to the estancias. .

Doing what: Small-Group Gaucho Day at a Farm in San Antonio de Areco

Francene

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a wonderful day away from the hustle and bustle of BA! It took us over 1.5 hrs to get there with a stop in the town San Antonio de Areco prior to going to the ranch. The ranch was beautiful and the surrounding scenery just so green and pretty. Besides being pleasant to see, the activities were enough to keep us enthused with horse riding, a traditional asado barbecue lunch, gaucho music and dancing gaucho style. Our guide and driver were terrific. Paul, our guide, was so funny and entertaining. He took really good care of us. Everyone in our tour group was friendly and we all clicked! A perfect day!

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Elizabeth T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an excellent all day tour which included a visit to the picturesque town of San Antonio de Areco. The ranch itself was in a lovely spot - very peaceful and we very much enjoyed the riding and carriage trip on offer. Lunch was excellent and very plentiful and was followed by some gaucho singing and dancing and a demonstration of the close relationship/bond between the gauchos and their horses.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

tlyarb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Loved this tour. The guide was great. She was very personable and knowledgeable. The people at the Santa Susana Ranch were very hospitable and helpful. Activities were enjoyable. Museum amazing. One of the best meals I had while in Buenos Aires. Wine was good and they just kept it coming. Entertainment during lunch was fantastic. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

j r P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Recommended as an easy day tour. Guide was great although at end driver and guide said demonstrations in town and difficult to get us close to hotel. We walked which was not a problem but saw no demonstrations, but food good gaucho horse riding phenomenal and show great fun participating.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

j r P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Recommended as an easy day tour. Guide was great although at end driver and guide said demonstrations in town and difficult to get us close to hotel. We walked which was not a problem but saw no demonstrations, but food good gaucho horse riding phenomenal and show great fun participating.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Thomas G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great experience. Highly recommended

Doing what: Small-Group Gaucho Day at a Farm in San Antonio de Areco

Jim D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic trip, well guided by Pablo, lovely Estancia, most welcoming people. Would recommend this trip to anyone.
We too a carriage ride, but you could have ridden a horse or a bike. Lunch was excellent, loads of meat, gauchos were a delight. The highlight was the horse whispering. Five star day out. Jim Dale and Josie Davies, from England.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Esther P

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

I enjoyed the trip to the rancho Susana, the gauchos were welcoming specially Sirilo, the red wine was a little to much for me so early, food very good specially the salad,the tango show was great, I love that they included there guest and had us participate.
I would have skip the horse riding because we didn't do much, just ride around in the sun.
The gaucho performance with the horses was very entertaining... nice place away from the city.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Michael B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Overall, terrific experience. The tour guide was very informative, and the ranch was quaint. The horse whisperer was also very impressive. My wife and I really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Small-Group Gaucho Day at a Farm in San Antonio de Areco

Sharon F United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We really enjoyed the day out, but thought the tour guide people could have been more organized. There were times when we didn't know where we were suppose to go. The food and entertainment were very good.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

Frederick M. B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

overall the trip was good, The guide was interesting and informative. The ranch environment was a little disappointing however. Not much to see and do prior to the show. The show was very interesting but the M/C spoke only in Spanish. The horse riding demonstration was pretty cool.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Noemi B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Tour suitable for kids, not for adults. Not informative and very superficial.
The estancia is maybe a working farm, however that doesn't give any value to the tour. Nobody explained anything about the working life in the farm, either about the architecture or the business strange, we didn't see any cows.
It's more like a visit to a B and B in the countryside.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Ana B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Lovely day outside of hectic Buenos Aires. Pablo was so lovely and informative and people at Estancia just the same. Horseback riding was such a pleasure and food was amazing better than in my 5 star hotel in Buenos Aires!. The demonstration of the gaucho with the horse and connection you could feel between them was really impressive. I really recommend to anyone who would like to get out of the city and enjoy relaxing day outdoors.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message