A heady blend of Spanish and African traditions, the tango developed in the brothels and communal backstreets of Buenos Aires’ poorer port districts in the 1880s. As an art form, the tango reached a climax in the first decades of the 20th century ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 195 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Susan Rae J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tango lesson actually was quite good and fun. The dinner and show were wonderful in a beautiful restored theater. Our only complaint was that it became uncomfortably hot during the show. Also, just as an awareness for other travelers there are a significant number of marble steps to negotiate

Doing what: Buenos Aires Tango Show, Dinner and Dance Lessons

Harry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent dinner, great service and a spectacular tango show that lasted more than on hour with a wide variety of performances.

Doing what: La Ventana Tango Show with Optional Dinner in Buenos Aires

Edward L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Travel arrangemnts to show venue went exactly as promised. Show was fantastic with a 4 piece band, 2 male vocalists and 4 couples dancing as they went through the history of tango. All tables in restaurant had excellent view of stage and the food and service was very good to excellent. Great variety of food available. We had a great evening and we returned to our hotel at the start of overtime to watch our Patriots win the Super Bowl.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Dinner and Tango Show

Penny S L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The Tango show and dinner were the best we have seen anywhere. Can't say enough good things about the show--great dancing, great music and great voices!

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour, Tango Show with Dinner and Tigre Delta River Cruise

Little Sue

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

I was so excited to see this show! The ONLY down side I would say is that we paid for a tango show but there is quite a lot of singing..... rather more than was enough to be honest. We wanted to see dancing, not singing. That said, the dancing and show overall was fantastic, and the horses at the beginning of the tango story were brilliant!!!

Doing what: Señor Tango Show with Optional Dinner in Buenos Aires

Anne

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Tango Show was high energy and delivered what it promised. Liked the venue. There was confusion around the pick up time. We were given three different times, finally got it sorted out. We didn't opt for the dinner so can't comment on that. Wine was included in the ticket. Bit confusing when you exit the show, make sure you keep asking to find your bus for the included drop off.

Doing what: La Ventana Tango Show with Optional Dinner in Buenos Aires

Heather A

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

It was very expensive and we had to wait an hour before any dancing began.We had complementary drinks but not even s bowl of nuts offered.The tango dancers were very good but overall I was disappointed.

Doing what: Esquina Carlos Gardel Tango Show with Optional Dinner in Buenos Aires

ndash515

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Beautiful theatre. Food was excellent! We did the VIP dinner. The dance was very interesting and enjoyable. This was all paled by a 1 hour movie while serving the food that was the history of tango. Unfortunately, the movie was inaudible!! When I asked to turn up the volume, I was told that and #39;s the way it is. What a waste of time. I was really interested in the history and only by reading the subtitles could I understand what was going on, but couldn and #39;t hear anything. Very disappointing part of the show. Not worth $560 for a couple.

Doing what: Esquina Carlos Gardel Tango Show with Optional Dinner in Buenos Aires

Michelle D

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

This trip started off with a whole lot of promise--within the first 15 minutes, we had a quick stop to take pictures at Floralis Genérica is a sculpture made of steel and aluminum located in Plaza de las Naciones Unidas, one of the world's first moving sculptures. We had hoped this would be the first of many quick stops like that. Unfortunately, the next stop was a tourist trap that redefines tourist trap AR200 to see the newest museum that included 15-20 wax figures--mostly of well known soccer players--a movie that was a photo montage of the 1955 massacres, and that was it. Do yourselves a favor and skip the museum to wander around the park outside. While the tour operator was well educated on the various regions in Buenos Aires, she never asked if we had questions, and trying to get her to answer questions was next to impossible. In the tony districts, she noted apartments are about AR10000/ m2, so I asked what were typical prices and she simply said Much less than that. But what really bummed us out was that there were no other quick on-and-off stops like at Recoleta but we were given 45 minutes in the San Telmo district. Again, very touristy, but wandering down side streets to get some interesting pictures of the residences or wall art was fun. BEWARE--photos with the street tango dancers vary so ask what they charge first.
So the bus tour part was a disappointment. Not being able to stop at the various neighborhoods made this part of the trip fall rather short. We were pretty much dumped out of the van at one of two spots--luckily for us, one was right by our hotel so we chose that one. I would not recommend this portion of the tour unless you really want to sit on a bus and stretch your legs only in the tourist trap areas.
Next, we were picked up at 8pm for our Tango dinner show--we chose Tango Porteño. You will not be disappointed. The food was incredible, and the show gave you a visual history of the tango from about the 1920s through today. It was incredibly impressive, the dancers moved like well-oiled machines, and the singers were spectacular. If we had the chance, we'd see this one again.
The Tango Porteno portion of the trip is a 5-star adventure!

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Tango Dinner Show

Michael M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

This Tour lies about the lesson part of their tour. We booked this because of that and were very disappointed when we went to the show and nobody knew what we were talking about when we tried to ask about the lessons. Despite the fact that our voucher said tango lessons they did not offer them. This company chose to lie to sell tickets and we were very disappointed, especially because it was our last night and we completely missed the opportunity to take a tango lesson.We saw a few tango shows and I really recommend going but just not to this one.

Doing what: Tango Porteño Dinner Show and Tango Lessons in Buenos Aires

bsbest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The setting in the Faena Hotel was incredible. Smaller nightclub setting was perfect and the performers top notch. Food was well done.

This tango show was inexpensive, but I think definitely worth the money. Highlight of my time spent in Buenos Aires!

Doing what: Rojo Tango Show and Dinner

tlyarb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I highly recommend this tour only because of the great tango show. It was magnificient. The dinner was very good and the wine just kept coming. Well organized. The City tour was not quite what I expected. We only made two stops and the one in La Boca was not nearly long enough. We drove by some great sites that I would have preferred to spend a minute or two at instead of just driving by. The guide did a good job considering she had to go back and forth between Spanish and English.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Tango Dinner Show

Jim D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Memorable evening, food was good and the tango show must be one of the best on offer. Recommend you go! Jim and Josie. England

Doing what: Piazzolla Tango Show and Dinner in Buenos Aires

Cristall G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

this was a lot of fun. the instructor was good. i enjoyed the food a lot. the tango show was really good. they pulled me up on stage.
my only suggestion is that they should have a specific class size and make sure the ration of male to female is 1 to 1. there were more women than men and the room was too full.

Doing what: Complejo Tango Show with Optional Dinner and Tango Lesson in Buenos Aires

ekblad

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This long guided tour. There are three parts. First it is a very nice city tour. You get to see many parts of the city, both the finer and the parts that are a bit more poor. There are a few stops along the way, including in the neighborhoods where the origins of tango. There are a lot of people and you must have patience and a lot of water if it is hot. Then begins the tour to the Tiger delta. Remember that there are no lunch, you have time to eat something quickly before the next tour begins. The bus trip to the Tiger delta is interesting, you go through more suburbs to the city. The boat trip on the Tiger delta is fantastic, nice boat ride where you get to experience what it is like to live in the marsh. The houses are built on stilts and all have to have a boats. When we arrived back to town, we were dropped off and the opportunity to come to our home for a while. We were then picked up to have dinner and see the tango show. The food was good, there was not much to choose from with the meat was fantastic. The show is really good, the dancers are professionally, musicians completely sovereign ovh singers are really good. a wonderful conclusion of this tour.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour, Tango Show with Dinner and Tigre Delta River Cruise

Stephen R O

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Enjoyed the sightseeing tour and Tango Dinner was fun and food was very good. My only complaint is that we were told hotel pickup and drop off was included for city sightseeing tour from our hotel--Viator representative even called vendor to comfirm this before we purchased the package but when we got there we were told no pickup from our hotel and that we had to take a cab to a designated location and cab back to our hotel.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Tango Dinner Show

DIANE F

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Good variety show i.e various tango choreographies, singing and band music. Level of dancing and singing could be better. Overall good experience considering the price.

Doing what: Señor Tango Show with Optional Dinner in Buenos Aires

Stuart H

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

City Sightseeing Tour was weak, but the Tango Dinner Show was well worth it.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Tango Dinner Show

tlyarb

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Tango show was good. Organization not so much. Dinner only so so but the wine was very good and they kept it coming. Everyone was not served dinner at the same time and that included people at the same table. Half way through dinner they had us go into another room for our tango lesson. It was completely fill. The instructor did a good job considering how many people were in the room. We then went back to our seats to finish our dinner.

Doing what: Complejo Tango Show with Optional Dinner and Tango Lesson in Buenos Aires

Diane L

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Food was mediocre but the show was fun. It was great to learn the history of tango.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Dinner and Tango Show

Michael L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Skip the food and go for the tango. The reason I gave this venue 2 stars is because the food and the service were terrible.

Doing what: Complejo Tango Show with Optional Dinner and Tango Lesson in Buenos Aires

karishma_992

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

DON'T DO THIS PACKAGE TOUR. It is through Gray Line and it is HORRIBLE. Whilst the package might sound tempting because it includes three things for a decent price, it is definitely NOT worth doing it. The day is long, tiring and and you spend 80 of your time on a bus driving slowly through the traffic, with a guide that caters more to the spanish people on the bus than the english. You're better off breaking up the parts and doing 2 on one day and one the next day. We started at 9.00am in the morning and our guide Paula was sweet and helpful. We started of going to Tigre Delta which was interesting and worth going to. But before that we spent a long time driving around picking up people from other hotels and the cruise port. The traffic in Buenos Aires is SO BAD that this took almost 2 hours with nothing but us sitting on the bus. After Tigre Delta, we were dropped in the middle of the city with barely 30 mins to grab lunch before we had to meet at our next meeting spot for the city tour. We rushed and barely got to eat just so we could get to our meeting spot on time. And instead the next tour bus arrived over 30 mins late. The guide, Sara, did not even apologise or acknowledge us. We got onto the bus and then again spent an hour and half picking up other people. The whole time the guide did not say anything nor explain anything and we didn't even know if the 'city tour' had officially 'started'. Finally when the guide spoke, it was hard to understand her and she wasn't very good. I would not recommend the city tour. It was useless and boring and not worth doing. The only place worth of interest that I was excited about was La Boca. But we barely got 30mins there because of all the time we spent driving aimlessly on the bus. Don't do the city tour, just go to La Boca on your own. It would be cheaper and better. When we finally got to our hotel, we only had a couple hours of rest and to shower and change for the Tango Porteno show. The pick-up time just said between 8.00-8.30pm. The show was amazing and I would recommend it and the food was great too. Just don't do it with Gray Line.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour, Tango Show with Dinner and Tigre Delta River Cruise

Decew

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

The meal and service was fine but the Tango portion was repitious boring and unless you speak Spanish meaningless. The truth is that It is nothing but a second rate floor show with a meal and a poor quality wine

Doing what: Buenos Aires Dinner and Tango Show

Joel F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

There are several Tango Show options in Buenos Aires listed on Viator, and based on the reviews we choose this one. I'm glad we did -- this was a fun evening, very well done. After meeting at a central location, the bus driver took us to the theater I don't know if we could have found it on our own!. The theater itself was large and lovely. We opted for the dinner before the show, and while I expected tour food meaning average, we were pleasantly surprised. It was the best meal we had in the city, but it definitely was better than we expected for a tourist show. But the show itself is what we came for, and it was terrific. It was about an hour long, and had fantastic dancing, music, and singing. Even our teen-age boy was enthusiastic about the show! When it was over, the bus driver was waiting to return us to where he picked us up. Overall extremely well-done, and recommended if you want to have a good tango experience.

Doing what: Piazzolla Tango Show and Dinner in Buenos Aires

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message