A heady blend of Spanish and African traditions, the tango developed in the brothels and communal backstreets of Buenos Aires’ poorer port districts in the 1880s. As an art form, the tango reached a climax in the first decades of the 20th century ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 162 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Victor H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The show and dinner were fantastic. When I arrived, they were giving beginner's tango lessons to the group. Although we were nowhere near correct in our interpretations, it was nice to have a feel for it before you saw true professionals. The club is well done it seems that every table had a good view of the stage. I was by myself so the host made me feel more welcome by seating me next to another group of Americans. The steak meal was delicious as was the wine.

Doing what: Piazzolla Tango Show and Dinner in Buenos Aires

Sarah M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tours guides Macarena Tigre Delta tour and Mercedes city tour were very knowledgeable and both did a great job - only complaint was that on the boat we couldn't really hear the commentary above the noise of the engine which was a shame as I feel we missed out on a lot of interesting information. The tango show was amazing and the food great, and although it was a long day I would definitely recommend these tours.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour, Tango Show with Dinner and Tigre Delta River Cruise

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A fun night out in Buenos Aires. I've been to a few tango shows before and this one was quite different. It's in a small venue, allowing for a more initimate experience. The dancers are in the middle of the tables, which means you can see each move! Food was good and the staff very friendly.

Doing what: 'We are Tango' Show in Buenos Aires with Front-Row Seating

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My very first tango show and what a good one! As soon as we walked in, the staff was very accommodating. The musicians were good and the dancers incredible! The best part is that all the action happens right in front of you, so you don't miss a thing!

Doing what: 'We are Tango' Show in Buenos Aires with Front-Row Seating

marit76

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Really fabulous tango show. We did not do the meal and show, so I can't comment on the food but the performances were fantastic! Highly recommend.

Doing what: Piazzolla Tango Show and Dinner in Buenos Aires

Rhonda D

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The tour bus broke down the afternoon of my tour so I was re-scheduled for the next morning. The tour was ok- not great. But I'm glad they could accommodate me. The Tango Show was good- but the food was bad. The best part was the fun people I sat next to.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Tango Dinner Show

john i

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Tigre delta tour operator 1 hour late and unable to be contacted by us or hotel staff otherwise an interesting tour.
City sightseeing tour not worth the money - guide was flippant and provided little useful information.
Tango show was brilliant

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour, Tango Show with Dinner and Tigre Delta River Cruise

Teresa A

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

This was quite hard to review as the Sabor at Tango show was fantastic. We opted for the lesson before the dinner which was great fun and made the show exciting as well. The dinner was AMAZING and the staff were really quick at refilling our drinks beer, wine, soft drinks and water. I would definitely see the show if you can-there is also music and other types of dance and singing.

The reason for the low review is that the reason we booked through viator was so that we could have pickup as we were unsure of how to get to the show and weren't sure if the metro would be running when it finished. Viator advised us that we would have to make our way to a pickup hotel to be picked up which was a 45 min walk from our hotel. When we looked into this we realised that the Tango show was actually a 35 minute walk from our hotel so feel that the tour operator should have told us to go straight there as it was much closer to our hotel. We took a taxi back to our hotel as we did not feel it would be worth getting the bus transfer to the pickup point and then getting a taxi back from there.

Our hotel did advise us that they could have booked the same show/dinner for cheaper however we were keen on the pickup. I do not feel that this was delivered so despite a fantastic show, felt that the tour was overpriced for what it was.

Doing what: Sabor a Tango Dinner and Show in Buenos Aires

Matthew G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The dinner was very good as were all meals with beef in Argentina. The show was great. The dancers were younger than some shows and very good my wife is a dancer and did some tango in her schooling and she said it was extremely good dancing. The two singers were unexpected and were very good as well. Highly recommend this show. Local people who found out we were going to this particular show said it is the best!

Doing what: Piazzolla Tango Show and Dinner in Buenos Aires

Monique Z

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

The tour was a little disappointing. We were only dropped on two spots, the fist one was a lookout and a museum, but the museum was closed in the mornings. The second stop was at a sort of former railway station, but it was not in use and it appeared to me that it was just a stop meant as a break for the driver and guide, as there was literally nothing to do there. We did enjoy the boat trip, however.
In the afternoon another guide would take over in another van. We only had 15-20 minutes to find us something to eat, it was already 14.00 o'clock then! The tour guide suggested that we could eat something in the hotel where they dropped us, but no. We found a small eatery, but by the time the food was ready - it took the staff a long time to make a few sandwiches - we already had to go to the minivan. In the minivan, the afternoon guide told us that it was not allowed to eat on board, but that they would soon stop. Soon appeared to be nearly two hours later. We were dropped on the Plaza de Mayo, a real point of interest, but they dropped us in front of a souvenir shop and told us we had 10 minutes to walk around. Ten minutes is not even enough to walk around the square. The journey went on to la Boca, where we also were dropped in front of a souvenir shop, and now we had twenty minutes to explore the surroundings. No explanation, nothing. Our biggest surprise was when it was time to get back to the hotel: we were told that we would not be dropped at our hotel, but close. It would take too long to bring everybody to his or hers hotel. In the morning that didn't seem to bother them! Imagine, you're strange in the city, you didn't count on finding your own way, you don't have a map and the directions are lousy... For the dinner show, we were picked up around 20.00 o'clock in the hotel. This went very smooth and we were in no time at Tango Porteño. The food was good, the show was great, although there was not much audience which was a little disappointing. At the end of the show, cabs were waiting and we were taken to our hotel, which was a relief because we were afraid to end up in the middle of the night finding out that we had lost our way.
It surprised me that the day tour was so badly organised as we have had a very good experience with Viator on our Rome- Vatican tour.
In this case, I would not recommend this combo tour Buenos Aires.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour, Tango Show with Dinner and Tigre Delta River Cruise

Nathalie M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

I truly enjoyed this experience. The Tango show was excellent, the food and wine were amazing, and the dance lesson prior to show was fun. I went with a group of friends so we didn't have any dance partners but there was staff there to walk us through the steps with a partner so we didn't feel left out.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Tango Show, Dinner and Dance Lessons

Susan S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

City Tour: I have taken a city tour the previous year and I feel that it was more complete. This tour was good if you little time in the city, this tour was only half day. You get to see all the main points of interest in the city with only 2 stops where you actually get off the bus for about 25-35 min. The guide was very knowledgeable and spoke different languages. For first time visitors I recommend either take a private city tour or a full day tour where you get to learn more about the points of interest.
TANGo SHOW it was held at Tango Porteno, Beautiful theater, right next to Teatro Colon and very close to the Obelisco landmark.
They have a great orchestra and wonderful group of dancers. We had the dinner package that includes, Entree, Main Dish and Dessert with unlimited wine,beer or soda.
This show was worth it!

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Tango Dinner Show

Melissa T

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Just a average venue and below average food.

At the beginning, you can get your picture taken with Tango dancers and then buy the picture. I ended up leaving early due to a headache, and the photographer would not let me see my picture since it was not the end of the show. So I left and did not buy or see my picture. Was disappointing.

My waitress was very rushed and rude and my pasta was cold and cheese was not melted. She never came back to check on me so I didn't eat the food.

Doing what: Piazzolla Tango Show and Dinner in Buenos Aires

Patricia W

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Pick up was too late, we had to miss the Tango lessons.

Doing what: Tango Porteño Dinner Show and Tango Lessons in Buenos Aires

dkcadman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our English guides Laura on river cruise and Melissa our city cruise guide were so lovely and explained to us in English so well.The Tango show was good as we and #39;ll.Quite a large day but really good !!!

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour, Tango Show with Dinner and Tigre Delta River Cruise

Arthur H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Small venue with band and two dances who took us through the history of tango. Greeted with drinks and canapes and wine during the show. Very enjoyable and a tango lesson included after the show for the 12 of us who were there that night. Great fun! Would highly recommend

Doing what: 'We are Tango' Show in Buenos Aires with Front-Row Seating

lesley

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The show was great. I didn't take the diner option as I was advised that there were better options in restaurants near my hotel. Pick up from the hotel was on time and efficient. Drop off was strange, as the bus drove straight past my hotel, dropped off some other customers, then stopped a block away from my hotel and I was asked to walk the rest of the way. As is was a bit of a sleazy area, I wasn't thrilled.
I am older woman travelling alone. But the show itself is well worth it. More singing than I had imagined but great tango and I was allocated a front row seat.

Doing what: Piazzolla Tango Show and Dinner in Buenos Aires

Sally T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

this is a three for one so it was good. we actually booked two city tours and only ended up doing one. the city sightseeing tour is what you could google on tripadvisor or online, there were 3-4 touristy areas to visit and we were part of a very small group so that was nice. the tango show with dinner was lovely, food not so much, but we were sitting right up front towards the middle even though we were picked up late. The river cruise was decent, something different, and something on the water. Passed by chinatown which was interesting for where it was. overall, rated better than the madero tango show.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour, Tango Show with Dinner and Tigre Delta River Cruise

Marisol P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The show was incredible, musicians and dancers are amazing. I really love to go to the Viejo Almacén and appreciate Tango. I loved it!!!

Doing what: Viejo Almacen Tango Show with Optional Dinner in Buenos Aires

Neala S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

1. The city tour was just okay. It picked us up late - over an hour later than the time we were told. It was quite hard to understand the tour guide as the microphone was very crackly, and the tour was in Spanish, Portuguese and English. We got to leave the bus at two points - 20 mins at Plaza Libertad, and 40 mins at Caminito in La Boca. I'd recommend not bothering with the city tour, and doing a walking tour elsewhere. At the end we were dropped off at one of three spots - not at the hotel! This was a bit annoying.

2. The Tango show picked us up on time. The food was okay, the service at Tango Porteno was very very good, and the show entertaining, although there was singing which was completely in Spanish. An enjoyable night. We were dropped off at the same place we had been picked up from.

3. Tigre Delta river cruise - this was the best of the three parts of this deal. We were again picked up from the hotel over an hour later than told, but our guide, Laura, was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, and her English was clear. The trip included a stop at the church at San Isidro, and then onwards to Tigre. Very cute houses and interesting background. I'd recommend this as a day trip. Again, they didn't return us to our pickup point, but Laura was helpful in finding a location to drop us off close to where we wanted to go.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour, Tango Show with Dinner and Tigre Delta River Cruise

SANCHEZ-CRESPO2014

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Second time we have done this show, this time we treated ourselves to the dinner as well. Show was better than remembered and completely new. Excellent dancers and soulful singers gave a dynamic view of Tango. Food was unexpectedly rather good and the free flowing wine and bottled water made it good value for money. Would highly recommend. The only downside is the transport - pick up coach arrived at the last minute and disappeared before we were ready to leave.

Doing what: Piazzolla Tango Show and Dinner in Buenos Aires

Marie I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

They picked us up at our hotel when they told us they would, right on time!! The boat tour was GREAT!! Then they brought us back to a meeting place where we had to wait about 45 minutes for the city tour. Again, that was GREAT!! Then they brought us back to our hotel so we could rest awhile and then picked us up right when they told us they would and a short ride later we were at the Tango Show. That was more than GREAT, it was OUTSTANDING!!! The steak was one of the best I have ever had, they had their own blend of three wines at was soooo good and unlimited, the service was amazing, and then it was show time. NOT a boring show. It went by so fast! Overall, it was a WONDERFUL day!!!!!!!!!!!!! Would do this one again. Oh yea, really pleasant host on the buses.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour, Tango Show with Dinner and Tigre Delta River Cruise

Lynn H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

A challenging day but well worth it. A good city tour and excellent tango show with great food. The Tigre delta trip revealed another side to BA but we could have done without the stop at the empty San Isidro centre- very past its best! Good value.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour, Tango Show with Dinner and Tigre Delta River Cruise

Norine S

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Transportation was easy, prompt and courteous. Dinner menu and service was 'ok' as well as wine choices. Tango show was above average. Overall, a good opportunity to experience a Tango show in BA.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Dinner and Tango Show

David N

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Good tango show if a bit touristy. The day tour covered many of the areas we wished to visit and Tigre was relaxing and fun.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour, Tango Show with Dinner and Tigre Delta River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message