A heady blend of Spanish and African traditions, the tango developed in the brothels and communal backstreets of Buenos Aires’ poorer port districts in the 1880s. As an art form, the tango reached a climax in the first decades of the 20th century ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 181 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

bsbest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The setting in the Faena Hotel was incredible. Smaller nightclub setting was perfect and the performers top notch. Food was well done.

This tango show was inexpensive, but I think definitely worth the money. Highlight of my time spent in Buenos Aires!

Doing what: Rojo Tango Show and Dinner

tlyarb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I highly recommend this tour only because of the great tango show. It was magnificient. The dinner was very good and the wine just kept coming. Well organized. The City tour was not quite what I expected. We only made two stops and the one in La Boca was not nearly long enough. We drove by some great sites that I would have preferred to spend a minute or two at instead of just driving by. The guide did a good job considering she had to go back and forth between Spanish and English.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Tango Dinner Show

Cristall G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

this was a lot of fun. the instructor was good. i enjoyed the food a lot. the tango show was really good. they pulled me up on stage.
my only suggestion is that they should have a specific class size and make sure the ration of male to female is 1 to 1. there were more women than men and the room was too full.

Doing what: Complejo Tango Show with Optional Dinner and Tango Lesson in Buenos Aires

ekblad

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This long guided tour. There are three parts. First it is a very nice city tour. You get to see many parts of the city, both the finer and the parts that are a bit more poor. There are a few stops along the way, including in the neighborhoods where the origins of tango. There are a lot of people and you must have patience and a lot of water if it is hot. Then begins the tour to the Tiger delta. Remember that there are no lunch, you have time to eat something quickly before the next tour begins. The bus trip to the Tiger delta is interesting, you go through more suburbs to the city. The boat trip on the Tiger delta is fantastic, nice boat ride where you get to experience what it is like to live in the marsh. The houses are built on stilts and all have to have a boats. When we arrived back to town, we were dropped off and the opportunity to come to our home for a while. We were then picked up to have dinner and see the tango show. The food was good, there was not much to choose from with the meat was fantastic. The show is really good, the dancers are professionally, musicians completely sovereign ovh singers are really good. a wonderful conclusion of this tour.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour, Tango Show with Dinner and Tigre Delta River Cruise

Stephen R O

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Enjoyed the sightseeing tour and Tango Dinner was fun and food was very good. My only complaint is that we were told hotel pickup and drop off was included for city sightseeing tour from our hotel--Viator representative even called vendor to comfirm this before we purchased the package but when we got there we were told no pickup from our hotel and that we had to take a cab to a designated location and cab back to our hotel.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Tango Dinner Show

DIANE F

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Good variety show i.e various tango choreographies, singing and band music. Level of dancing and singing could be better. Overall good experience considering the price.

Doing what: Señor Tango Show with Optional Dinner in Buenos Aires

Stuart H

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

City Sightseeing Tour was weak, but the Tango Dinner Show was well worth it.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Tango Dinner Show

tlyarb

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Tango show was good. Organization not so much. Dinner only so so but the wine was very good and they kept it coming. Everyone was not served dinner at the same time and that included people at the same table. Half way through dinner they had us go into another room for our tango lesson. It was completely fill. The instructor did a good job considering how many people were in the room. We then went back to our seats to finish our dinner.

Doing what: Complejo Tango Show with Optional Dinner and Tango Lesson in Buenos Aires

karishma_992

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

DON'T DO THIS PACKAGE TOUR. It is through Gray Line and it is HORRIBLE. Whilst the package might sound tempting because it includes three things for a decent price, it is definitely NOT worth doing it. The day is long, tiring and and you spend 80 of your time on a bus driving slowly through the traffic, with a guide that caters more to the spanish people on the bus than the english. You're better off breaking up the parts and doing 2 on one day and one the next day. We started at 9.00am in the morning and our guide Paula was sweet and helpful. We started of going to Tigre Delta which was interesting and worth going to. But before that we spent a long time driving around picking up people from other hotels and the cruise port. The traffic in Buenos Aires is SO BAD that this took almost 2 hours with nothing but us sitting on the bus. After Tigre Delta, we were dropped in the middle of the city with barely 30 mins to grab lunch before we had to meet at our next meeting spot for the city tour. We rushed and barely got to eat just so we could get to our meeting spot on time. And instead the next tour bus arrived over 30 mins late. The guide, Sara, did not even apologise or acknowledge us. We got onto the bus and then again spent an hour and half picking up other people. The whole time the guide did not say anything nor explain anything and we didn't even know if the 'city tour' had officially 'started'. Finally when the guide spoke, it was hard to understand her and she wasn't very good. I would not recommend the city tour. It was useless and boring and not worth doing. The only place worth of interest that I was excited about was La Boca. But we barely got 30mins there because of all the time we spent driving aimlessly on the bus. Don't do the city tour, just go to La Boca on your own. It would be cheaper and better. When we finally got to our hotel, we only had a couple hours of rest and to shower and change for the Tango Porteno show. The pick-up time just said between 8.00-8.30pm. The show was amazing and I would recommend it and the food was great too. Just don't do it with Gray Line.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour, Tango Show with Dinner and Tigre Delta River Cruise

Decew

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

The meal and service was fine but the Tango portion was repitious boring and unless you speak Spanish meaningless. The truth is that It is nothing but a second rate floor show with a meal and a poor quality wine

Doing what: Buenos Aires Dinner and Tango Show

Joel F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

There are several Tango Show options in Buenos Aires listed on Viator, and based on the reviews we choose this one. I'm glad we did -- this was a fun evening, very well done. After meeting at a central location, the bus driver took us to the theater I don't know if we could have found it on our own!. The theater itself was large and lovely. We opted for the dinner before the show, and while I expected tour food meaning average, we were pleasantly surprised. It was the best meal we had in the city, but it definitely was better than we expected for a tourist show. But the show itself is what we came for, and it was terrific. It was about an hour long, and had fantastic dancing, music, and singing. Even our teen-age boy was enthusiastic about the show! When it was over, the bus driver was waiting to return us to where he picked us up. Overall extremely well-done, and recommended if you want to have a good tango experience.

Doing what: Piazzolla Tango Show and Dinner in Buenos Aires

Michelle P

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

I loved the tango dancing performances! They were amazing and the one performance where the dancers were lifted off of the dance floor by wires flying around the room was great. The part of the show that I thought was tedious and unnecessary was the singing. I understand that the dancers needed time to change and catch their breath but there was a part of the show where the male singer sang 5-7 songs in a row. He had a good voice but the songs were okay and everything was in Spanish so I didn't understand a word he said. He had long dialogues of conversation. I would much rather have a shorter show with less singing.

Doing what: Señor Tango Show with Optional Dinner in Buenos Aires

Gisela R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

The Tango Porteño show was nice and the food good for the price. About the sightseeing tour we wouldn't know. Viator told us the wrong pick-up time 9am instead of 8am, so we missed it. Greyline refused to let us participate on another date, they considered it no-show. And Viator never reacted to any of our attempts to contac them via different email-adresses and the contact form.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Tango Dinner Show

Anna a

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

Badly organized: avoid at all costs!!!!!!

One disaster after another. Tour is sub-contracted to two different agencies. City tour agent can't contact the tango operator to give you details of time and place for pick up. two Numbers for local operator given on voucher: one doesn't exist and the other cuts you off. After tango show we were told not to go back with our original driver and loaded onto another bus which then refused to take us home!

Avoid, avoid, avoid!!!!!!

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Tango Dinner Show

Victor H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The show and dinner were fantastic. When I arrived, they were giving beginner's tango lessons to the group. Although we were nowhere near correct in our interpretations, it was nice to have a feel for it before you saw true professionals. The club is well done it seems that every table had a good view of the stage. I was by myself so the host made me feel more welcome by seating me next to another group of Americans. The steak meal was delicious as was the wine.

Doing what: Piazzolla Tango Show and Dinner in Buenos Aires

Sarah M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tours guides Macarena Tigre Delta tour and Mercedes city tour were very knowledgeable and both did a great job - only complaint was that on the boat we couldn't really hear the commentary above the noise of the engine which was a shame as I feel we missed out on a lot of interesting information. The tango show was amazing and the food great, and although it was a long day I would definitely recommend these tours.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour, Tango Show with Dinner and Tigre Delta River Cruise

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A fun night out in Buenos Aires. I've been to a few tango shows before and this one was quite different. It's in a small venue, allowing for a more initimate experience. The dancers are in the middle of the tables, which means you can see each move! Food was good and the staff very friendly.

Doing what: 'We are Tango' Show in Buenos Aires with Front-Row Seating

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My very first tango show and what a good one! As soon as we walked in, the staff was very accommodating. The musicians were good and the dancers incredible! The best part is that all the action happens right in front of you, so you don't miss a thing!

Doing what: 'We are Tango' Show in Buenos Aires with Front-Row Seating

marit76

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Really fabulous tango show. We did not do the meal and show, so I can't comment on the food but the performances were fantastic! Highly recommend.

Doing what: Piazzolla Tango Show and Dinner in Buenos Aires

Rhonda D

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The tour bus broke down the afternoon of my tour so I was re-scheduled for the next morning. The tour was ok- not great. But I'm glad they could accommodate me. The Tango Show was good- but the food was bad. The best part was the fun people I sat next to.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Tango Dinner Show

john i

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Tigre delta tour operator 1 hour late and unable to be contacted by us or hotel staff otherwise an interesting tour.
City sightseeing tour not worth the money - guide was flippant and provided little useful information.
Tango show was brilliant

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour, Tango Show with Dinner and Tigre Delta River Cruise

Teresa A

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

This was quite hard to review as the Sabor at Tango show was fantastic. We opted for the lesson before the dinner which was great fun and made the show exciting as well. The dinner was AMAZING and the staff were really quick at refilling our drinks beer, wine, soft drinks and water. I would definitely see the show if you can-there is also music and other types of dance and singing.

The reason for the low review is that the reason we booked through viator was so that we could have pickup as we were unsure of how to get to the show and weren't sure if the metro would be running when it finished. Viator advised us that we would have to make our way to a pickup hotel to be picked up which was a 45 min walk from our hotel. When we looked into this we realised that the Tango show was actually a 35 minute walk from our hotel so feel that the tour operator should have told us to go straight there as it was much closer to our hotel. We took a taxi back to our hotel as we did not feel it would be worth getting the bus transfer to the pickup point and then getting a taxi back from there.

Our hotel did advise us that they could have booked the same show/dinner for cheaper however we were keen on the pickup. I do not feel that this was delivered so despite a fantastic show, felt that the tour was overpriced for what it was.

Doing what: Sabor a Tango Dinner and Show in Buenos Aires

Matthew G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The dinner was very good as were all meals with beef in Argentina. The show was great. The dancers were younger than some shows and very good my wife is a dancer and did some tango in her schooling and she said it was extremely good dancing. The two singers were unexpected and were very good as well. Highly recommend this show. Local people who found out we were going to this particular show said it is the best!

Doing what: Piazzolla Tango Show and Dinner in Buenos Aires

Monique Z

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

The tour was a little disappointing. We were only dropped on two spots, the fist one was a lookout and a museum, but the museum was closed in the mornings. The second stop was at a sort of former railway station, but it was not in use and it appeared to me that it was just a stop meant as a break for the driver and guide, as there was literally nothing to do there. We did enjoy the boat trip, however.
In the afternoon another guide would take over in another van. We only had 15-20 minutes to find us something to eat, it was already 14.00 o'clock then! The tour guide suggested that we could eat something in the hotel where they dropped us, but no. We found a small eatery, but by the time the food was ready - it took the staff a long time to make a few sandwiches - we already had to go to the minivan. In the minivan, the afternoon guide told us that it was not allowed to eat on board, but that they would soon stop. Soon appeared to be nearly two hours later. We were dropped on the Plaza de Mayo, a real point of interest, but they dropped us in front of a souvenir shop and told us we had 10 minutes to walk around. Ten minutes is not even enough to walk around the square. The journey went on to la Boca, where we also were dropped in front of a souvenir shop, and now we had twenty minutes to explore the surroundings. No explanation, nothing. Our biggest surprise was when it was time to get back to the hotel: we were told that we would not be dropped at our hotel, but close. It would take too long to bring everybody to his or hers hotel. In the morning that didn't seem to bother them! Imagine, you're strange in the city, you didn't count on finding your own way, you don't have a map and the directions are lousy... For the dinner show, we were picked up around 20.00 o'clock in the hotel. This went very smooth and we were in no time at Tango Porteño. The food was good, the show was great, although there was not much audience which was a little disappointing. At the end of the show, cabs were waiting and we were taken to our hotel, which was a relief because we were afraid to end up in the middle of the night finding out that we had lost our way.
It surprised me that the day tour was so badly organised as we have had a very good experience with Viator on our Rome- Vatican tour.
In this case, I would not recommend this combo tour Buenos Aires.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour, Tango Show with Dinner and Tigre Delta River Cruise

Nathalie M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

I truly enjoyed this experience. The Tango show was excellent, the food and wine were amazing, and the dance lesson prior to show was fun. I went with a group of friends so we didn't have any dance partners but there was staff there to walk us through the steps with a partner so we didn't feel left out.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Tango Show, Dinner and Dance Lessons

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message