Whether it’s hiking, boating or tracking wildlife, the lush hills and scenic passes of Barron Gorge National Park make up the perfect place for outdoor enthusiasts to explore this natural Australian wonder, which lies just beyond Cairns city ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 43 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

J L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I've done a lot of trip planning but I must admit that booking this tour/trip was a little confusing. It all turned out great and we all had a wonderful time. We selected the Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway Tour through Viator and the tour company was Down Under Tours. This program is not a fully guided tour where you are with a driver/leader the whole time. Instead, they are basically your bus drivers from/to your hotel or other meeting point. This particular tour requests that you arrange and confirm your pick up location in advance with the tour company Down Under Tours. They were very responsive and easily arranged for the hotel pickup. The most important item you'll receive is the pre-printed itinerary for you and your group.

We selected the Kuranda Scenic Railway to get to Kuranda. You'll be dropped off at the train station for the scheduled train departure. I highly recommend the Gold Class seating this will cost extra but I think it's well worth it. There's no air conditioning so it can get a little hot and stuffy. Fortunately, for the Gold Class, you are assigned seats for your group and you get to wait for the train in a separate Gold Class seating area where you'll be offered a refreshing beverage. On the train, the service was excellent where we had a special attendant for our car and were served drinks, snacks and other cold treats. The seats were very comfortable on the train and there were one or two stops on the way up to Kuranda I believe we got off at one stop for pictures. The ride was narrated throughout and everyone was provided the opportunity to take the perfect picture from inside the train. Overall, the views were magnificent and the experience was memorable. After an hour or so ride, you arrive at Kuranda Village. I recommend that you take the train up to Kuranda and the Skyway back down because if you take the train back, you'll have to make the scheduled return train with limited other options. The Cableway provides the return trip but they run all the time so you have more options to get back more on this later.

Once at the Village, you have a map that provides all the shopping, sites, restaurants, etc. We had a couple of hours to spend in Kuranda so we decided on walking around the village to go shopping vs. lunch. We did stop at the Kuranda Home Made Tropical Fruit Ice Cream van parked next to the Kuranda Markets Arcade. I highly recommend trying the ice cream sold by owner Cliff Timmins, who has operated the van for 22 years and his wife makes the best home made ice cream you'll taste. We had a great conversation and you can tell how proud he is of the ice cream and how he loves meeting people from around the world! I highly recommend a stop to try the ice cream! Finally, being in the rain forest, we experienced a couple of down pours but there was plenty of shelter and it's the rain forest, so you'll have to expect rain.

You can get through the Village in a couple of hours but the tour company suggests a time to get on the Cableway even though they run all the time because there are a couple of scenic stops you'll want to make on the way down as well. These are great photo opportunities! You should definitely make the stops and follow the paths to some great lookout points. Once you reach the bottom, there will be buses waiting to take you back to the original pickup locations. Overall, it was a fun and relaxing day with most of it on your own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Rebecca V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Had a really cool tour. The tour guide Stevan was friendly and could tell me a lot about the rainforest. Everytime i liked to take picture
i could tell him and he stopped the car. He showed me really nice places in the national park and i enjoyed my tour. The Tour was worth it, because it was not that crowded like other tours and the car was new with a good air conditioner also not like in other tours. It was so impressive to see this old trees and got to know the history about the rainforest. My Tour started at 1 pm with a pick up from the hotel, we had a ride with the car and some nice walk stops in the forest, while eating some cookies. Soooo actually that's it, i liked this tour :

Doing what: Barron Gorge and Kuranda National Park Half Day Rainforest and Waterfall 4WD Tour from Cairns

Lesley H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A great experience with running commentary which was interesting. Disappointed we did not get our souvenirs as promised at the end of the train ride. Kuranda village was interesting and we would have liked more time there. 2 hours up on the train did not give us enough time to go to all the animal parks, eat AND look in the shops. The trip back in the cable car was awesome!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

R C K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour. Good rail trip and good Skyway trips. Particularly enjoyed National Rainforest Centre. All well organised and good value.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Liya H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A must do tour in Cairns. Learn aboriginal culture at the Tjapukai Culture Park. Enjoy a birdeye view of the tableland from skyrail all the way to Karunda . If you have toured to the waterfalls, it gives you a whole view of the those waterfalls. Have a rest on the scenic train and admire the beautiful view of mountain at the same time on your way back. You might luckily come across some lovely children cheering good-bye and nice old lady waving to you.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Simply stunning scenery along the ascending journey. Train slowed down at photographic locations including a stop at Barron Falls. Only query was why there was not other languages about the construction history used (perhaps headphones?) as there were a significant number of overseas tourists?

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Niranjan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A truly great trip with abundance of nature around. The scenic rail treats the tourists like a King and the delicacies offered are superb The Daintrain Tea . The journey itself is rejuvenating and the Kuranda village with its heritage market, village and Barron River walk are simply not to be missed ! The jouney back by Gondola is amazing too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

alan c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The train ride is very scenic and is an interesting experience. Kuranda is a small town filled with small gift shops and galleries and the time there is well spent looking around. While there it is well worthwhile visiting the koala park where you have chance to hold a koala wow. What an experience. The gondola sky rail is brilliant view and exhilarating experience.
All in all great time not to be missed.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

JB Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very enjoyable trip travelling on the train to Kuranda, only downside is the windows have bars, so very hard to take photos while the train is moving understand this is for safety reasons, trip took about one and half hours, need to buy/take food as train has nothing on it, unless you travel Gold Class. Visited Barron Falls on way up, stopped for about 10mins to take photos, falls were flowing but not gushing as we visited in the dry season. Kuranda is a lovely little town with plenty of places for lunch. We took the circuit walk into the jungle and around the river, took us about one and half hours as we stopped and took photos. We then returned on one of the glass bottom sky rail cars, there are only a few of these and you need to pay extra, which can be done up at Kuranda. All in all a very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Lynn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful views, with a photo stop at Barron Falls. However, start with the museum at the railway station, so you know what went into building this railway. It was all done by hand - an amazing achievement. Pay attention to the dinner party on the tracks back during its construction. The general population rides on crowded wooden benches facing each other in pairs - not the most comfortable, but it's not a long ride. The handicapped car has real armchairs and its own toilet. If anyone in your party has any claim to being handicapped, opt for this! There is an elevator in Kuranda to take you up to the exit level, but it's kept very secret for some reason. It looks like an ordinary white door. We learned about it, and shared it with some mothers with baby strollers, who were delighted - no one had told them.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Lucy United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The Scenic railway was fantastic. A great way to see the beautiful gorge and rainforest.
Kuranda is a very touristy place with not much to do other then shopping, art galleries and animal sanctuary. There was enough time for us to do everything we wanted. everything shuts at 3.30/4pm when the tourists leave
The best part of the tour was the sky rail. Beautiful views.
We would recommend when you switch cable cars mid way that you take a short walk to view Barron Falls and hop back on the next car.
Hotel pick up and drop offs were on time and swift. Our bus was delayed on the way back so they put us on a different bus. Very well organised.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Bryony C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Brilliant. Everything ran very smoothly: courteous and punctual drivers, tickets and itinerary printed for us so no queues. Just the right amount of time in Kuranda and to take the little boat trip on the Barron River to look at freshwater crocs and feed turtles and fish, railway gold class well worth the extra cost, and the drive back to Port Douglas around the coast at sunset a bonus.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Karen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Nice day trip to Kuranda. Aboriginal show was informative and entertaining. Skyrail trip wa s thrilling and Barron Falls were spectacular with all the rain the week before. Take bug spray

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Viv USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great trip. It was slow on the train going up that provided time to enjoy the scenery. The cable car ride back was fantastic. It was a little confusing where to met to go to the park and lunch but we got there. It was very educational

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Michael Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Lived the train trip and sky rail return. Had plenty of time at the nature park. Included lunch was good as well -- one of the better lunches that were part of a package.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Alan Edward P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

My daughter and I travelled up on the train and returned on the Skyway - we had 4 hours in Kuranda which is plenty of time to see the sights and have lunch. We visited the Butterfly Park - well worth a visit. The train journey is great and the Skyway is spectacular, though if afraid of heights can be scary. A very pleasant day out.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Eileen USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

What a wonderful day! The rail trip to Kuranda was so picturesque in the old rail cars and the Skyrail return was a beautiful experience. We are so glad we visited the RainForestation and Wildlife Park and its indigenous animals, holding a koala and feeding the kangaroos and wallabies. Took a ride on an amphibious World War II Army Duck through the rainforest, and experienced Aboriginal culture.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

TonH Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Great traintrip, amazing views in train and cableway, nice wildlife park where you hold a Koala yourself and pet sun-bathing Kangaroos.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Zin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Fantastic trip! Lots of great views of the falls. I can recommend the Golden Drop Mango wine stall at the Village. We did the Rainforestation trip and there was not much time for the markets but did not find much to look at there anyway. The Rainforestation would be good for any oversea's visitors trying to see all the Ozzie animals they can in a short time. You can also get your photo taken with some (koala/croc/etc). First time I have every thrown a boomerang. Army Duk (car that is also a boat) was good fun and informative. VERY much liked the bush tucker ice-cream (dragon fruit one good too). Buffet lunch had plenty of choices for everyone (I am a vego and had lots of options).
The skycar had some great views of the city and I can recommend getting out at Barron Falls to see the CSIRO exhibit there.
The bus driver that picked us up from the motel and dropped us back again was great also. He told us lots of jokes on the way and was a good way to start the day.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Mary E H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

We took our Granddaughters from U.K. on the train up to Kuranda and down on the Skyrail. We all thought it a wonderful day out. The girls visited the Butterfly Park, and we met a friend for Lunch at the Pub. The commentary on the train was appreciated, and gave us a good understanding of the building of the Railway line. Being picked up and delivered to our accommodation was very welcome.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Gabrielle H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Very good tour would definitely recommend this tour if you are going to cairns. Lots to do at Kuranda even if you don't go to the rain forestation park.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Kathryn F Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

A very scenic train trip, well worth doing - bus pickup was on time and very helpful and informative. Plenty to do in Kuranda - the birds and venom zoo a must see too. Very beautiful train back to Cairns, and Barron Falls in full fall was a treat. Highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Robert Z USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

The scenery is spectacular and the staff is extremely polite, friendly, and helpful. The hotel pickup was a plus and the lunch at the Rainforest Park was very tasty.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Beautiful train ride, but the skytram is even more amazing. I got the chance to take both as well as visit the culture park. Kuranda was a cute little town with quite a few pricey shops, but it'w worth it just to be in the tropical setting.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This was lots of fun, and the guides were really funny. I really enjoyed the experience, and the Barron River has some good rapids on it. Perfect for beginners.

Doing what: Barron River Half-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message