Cairns & the Tropical North ATTRACTIONS See all

Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

One of the most scenic ways to travel, the Skyrail Rainforest Cableway takes travelers over and through the ancient Queensland rain forest in enclosed six-seater gondolas before arriving at the mountain town of Kuranda, home to a number of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 248 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Yi Xuan, Maybelle A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Free and Easy tour. I was handed a paper itinerary with train and skyrail tickets attached to it. Instructions on it were easy to understand. The bus driver also reiterated the important points making it hard to get confused unless you are not listening. Good for people who want minimal walking, lots of sightseeing. Your day ends on time by 4.30pm because trains and skyrail rides run on schedule.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Judy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

If you are not interested in shopping in Kuranda, there are lovely walking trails through the rainforest.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

stephanie.tom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Really fun trip. We enjoyed the train ride which was able to provide history and commentary for the trip. Gold class provided a lot of value for the refreshments and snacks provided. The village is definitely touristy, but I got to hug a koala so I consider it a success. The cablecar/skyrail down was really fun but if you're afraid of heights, you'd definitely want to try and find an alternative. It's not a direct trip down, there are 2 stops along the way where you need to transfer to another car down, so any delay at those changes might mean you're stuck in your cable car suspended over significant heights for a bit. But definitely worth it for a change of pace!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

trevor l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

train first class was great good service sky rail was good but if you don,t heights go back by train

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

hamokmonky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent, and well organized. Had no problems with any part of the trip. Would have enjoyed more time in Kuranda but I know that scheduling is somewhat up to the train and skyrail and not so much the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Leabird United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A bus picked me up on time. The driver gave us information and was courteous. The train ride was spectacular, as was the sky rail. I enjoyed Birdworld and Koala World.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

R C K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour. Good rail trip and good Skyway trips. Particularly enjoyed National Rainforest Centre. All well organised and good value.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

jeanievan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Who doesnt like a Super Saver? This was a good value for three days of snorkeling and diving, visiting a mountain village via train for some hiking, shopping, and Australia meat pies or any other cuisine that may interest you, and visiting a wildlife sanctuary and the Daintree National Park. Talk about diversity!
The snorkeling and diving adventure was on board the beautiful Evolution that had 60 to 70 clients on board. Be sure to take your sea sick pills as the trip out to the reef and back was very challenging for many on the boat. We anchored at two locations for diving and/or snorkeling for 2 to 2 ½ hours at each reef. Make sure you bring or rent an underwater camera, as the coral and fish were too fabulous not to be captured. A nice seafood lunch was served and there was plenty of room to move between decks. We took an optional helicopter ride along the Great Barrier Reef. If a helicopter ride is on your bucket list, this is definitely the place to do it. Just WOW!
We took the 2-hour Kuranda Scenic Railway to the rainforest village of Kuranda. It was a train journey that will take you back to Australias past. This was an unguided day, so aside from your departure times, you will be on your own to explore. Kuranda is extremely tourist oriented with shops, galleries, and restaurants. We opted to hike for 2 hours, and spent an hour in the village for lunch. We caught the Sky Tram back which facilitated a birds eye view of the rainforest canopy. Take the opportunity to take a walk at each of the transfer stations going down stunning views of the waterfall.
The last tour took us to Port Douglas Wildlife Habitat where we saw birds, koalas, kangaroos, and so much more! This alone was worth the price. We visited Mossman Gorge lots of beautiful photo opportunities and journeyed up to Cape Tribulation for lunch and time on one of the most beautiful beaches. Another highlight was the boat trip on the Daintree River for crocodile spotting.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Brenda T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well organised sky rail amazing. Train was like stepping back in time. Thoroughly enjoyed it

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

rachel.hoy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

it was a busy and long day but I thoroughly enjoyed myself. Hastings Reef was incredible and the Helicopter out was stunning. I will say that this is a great trip if you only have a day but if you have a little longer I would do Kuranda as a seperate day trip. You don't really have the time to explore with only around 30mins before you have to leave for the sky rail.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

Walter A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We skipped the first part as the weather was a bit touchy and we were tired after the flight from Sydney. Kuranda trip was all day and very enjoyable. It's worth the time. A stop at Rainforest Station was great and was reasonable. Sky Rail ride was very nice. Cape Tribulation makes for a very long day and our driver/guide was first rate. The stop near Port Douglas at the bird station was very good. Again, it's a long day but enjoyable.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

A C O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I did this trip - skyrail up and train back. Well worth it to go gold class on the train. Drinks and nibbles and nice seats and good service onboard. The gondolas up was good - all well run. Picked up and dropped back to my hotel - all up it was an enjoyable day out.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Liya H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A must do tour in Cairns. Learn aboriginal culture at the Tjapukai Culture Park. Enjoy a birdeye view of the tableland from skyrail all the way to Karunda . If you have toured to the waterfalls, it gives you a whole view of the those waterfalls. Have a rest on the scenic train and admire the beautiful view of mountain at the same time on your way back. You might luckily come across some lovely children cheering good-bye and nice old lady waving to you.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Tom C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic trip to Cairns! Fantastic Experiences! Fantastic Value!
We started our package with the reef trip. We travelled in style in an almost-new ship to the Great Barrier Reef with friendly staff and good food. Our two dives had us seeing an abundance of reef fish plus sharks and rays! Our ride back was entertaining and, again, we were well-fed.
Our second day was the scenic railway trip to Kuranda. We were whisked up into the mountains on a beautiful old train with beautiful scenery to the quaint town of Kuranda. We decided to spend the extra money to go into the Koala gardens and it was worth every penny to have the experience to hold and cuddle our little koala, Hazel! She was very cute! We returned from Kuranda on the Sky Rail and, even for this height averse person, the views were breathtaking. Take the time to get off on the two trnasfers and walk around. The views of the falls are worth the extra time!
The last day was packed with fun and excitement! There is a LOT to see on this day so do not expect to dawdle! Our guide, Russell was very good about keeping us on schedule without being intrusive and I never felt rushed. We knew from previous reviews to expect to be through the Port Douglas Wildlife Habitat by 9:15am. While it sounds early we had plenty of time to experience some amazing animals. We got to pet wallabies and kangaroos while giant storks and emus waddled past. We got to see the oddly entrancing cassowary and, I have to say, you will never see anything quite like it and I still have a hard time believing it actually exists. We then toured Mossman's Gorge before having lunch in the Daintree Rainforest. The food was surprisingly well prepared I had a perfectly grilled steak. After lunch we strolled on Capr Tribulation beach for a short time before heading back to a crocodile river cruise where we saw several crocodiles and all the beauty of Daintree!
It was a magical day that capped off an amazing experience for our family!

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Travis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent views on the skyrail! The rainforest was great. The history behind the Kuranda train was stirring, but don't expect to get a lot of pjhotos.

Doing what: Skyrail Rainforest Cableway Day Trip from Cairns

Matt A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great trip! Sky rail was AWESOME. I liked it better than the train. Apparently you can pay a little more for a glass bottom sky rail carriage. I didn't know that - I think that would be worth it! My mother and I loved looking at the Ulysses butterflies that were so beautiful blue against the rain forest below. Kuranda was a cool place - but certainly touristy. : Tjapukai was amazing as well. Highly recommended. All in all a fantastic day.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Lorraine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really good trip. Both forms of transport were incredible. Glad we did Skyrail, it was amazing.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Marilyn S W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved the scenic railway and train ride. Very interesting.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Gary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best day wonderful trip loved the train and sky rail.

Doing what: Skyrail Rainforest Cableway Day Trip from Cairns

Niranjan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A truly great trip with abundance of nature around. The scenic rail treats the tourists like a King and the delicacies offered are superb The Daintrain Tea . The journey itself is rejuvenating and the Kuranda village with its heritage market, village and Barron River walk are simply not to be missed ! The jouney back by Gondola is amazing too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

alan c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The train ride is very scenic and is an interesting experience. Kuranda is a small town filled with small gift shops and galleries and the time there is well spent looking around. While there it is well worthwhile visiting the koala park where you have chance to hold a koala wow. What an experience. The gondola sky rail is brilliant view and exhilarating experience.
All in all great time not to be missed.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Mr K H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Kuranda railway is something that shouldn't be missed. We were impressed to be given a 2 seater bench, rather than have to share. Lots of information was provided and the stations are full of interesting material, as well as lots of 'gifts'. Plenty of time to get a nice lunch at Kuranda before the Skyway down. It's a long way down and we were grateful for the stops one can make to walk around. The leaflet presumes you will go up on the Skyway and down on the train and gave helpful hints for things to look out for - I wished we had found this earlier. An excellent trip.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Linda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was a fantastic tour. The Tjapukai Cultural Center was my favorite. The Skyrail gave us great views. The train ride back down to Cairns was really quite slow. Otherwise, it was a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

VICKY A R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Train ride was beautiful. Too long in te village. Sky rail was nothing a short of amazing

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Curt N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I took the Skyrail up to Kuranda and the Scenic Railway back. The views from the Skyway were awesome. I enjoyed the Gold Class seating, beverages and snacks on the way back to Cairns.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message