Cairns & the Tropical North ATTRACTIONS See all

Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

One of the most scenic ways to travel, the Skyrail Rainforest Cableway takes travelers over and through the ancient Queensland rain forest in enclosed six-seater gondolas before arriving at the mountain town of Kuranda, home to a number of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 257 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bmorishi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The Kuranda rail up from Cairns was very nice, but the sky rail down over the tropical rain forest is unforgettable. Allow yourself time for getting off the sky rail to explore areas around the intermediate stops.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Vickie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

It was a beautiful trip by railway. We got to see the beautiful waterfalls with a stop to get pictures. The village was fun and interesting. They taught you how to throw a boomerang and I even got mine to come back. It was a great day.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

stuart.rae

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great day out. We had limited time in Cairns and were trying to do as much as we could and this seemed like a great idea. We booked the train up and the Skyrail back down and, for me, this worked really well. we paid additional to go Gold Class and this was definitely a good idea - each carriage seating about 20 people in comfort with snacks to keep you going. There were a couple of stops on the way up with photo opportunities which were just great and also a running commentary about the railway and it's construction. Getting dropped off in Kuranda station you are given a return time for your Skyrail and this gives some time to wander the pretty town of Kuranda and in our case make a quick trip to the Koala sanctuary to get the obligatory picture holiding a koala! The return journey in the skyrail is awesome - travelling above the treetops - and just gives you some idea of the nature of the rainforest. Once again there are a couple of stops for photo opportunities on the way down - and if you time it right you can wander round with the ranger who will highlight more about the area. All in all a great day out - travel was great, staff were great and the views were just superb!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Joseph C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wow! This was a major highlight of our trip to Cairns. The rail ride was long, and it was HOT, but the scenery was breathtaking. The rainforest station was a truly amazing experience, I would totally do this again.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

J L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I've done a lot of trip planning but I must admit that booking this tour/trip was a little confusing. It all turned out great and we all had a wonderful time. We selected the Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway Tour through Viator and the tour company was Down Under Tours. This program is not a fully guided tour where you are with a driver/leader the whole time. Instead, they are basically your bus drivers from/to your hotel or other meeting point. This particular tour requests that you arrange and confirm your pick up location in advance with the tour company Down Under Tours. They were very responsive and easily arranged for the hotel pickup. The most important item you'll receive is the pre-printed itinerary for you and your group.

We selected the Kuranda Scenic Railway to get to Kuranda. You'll be dropped off at the train station for the scheduled train departure. I highly recommend the Gold Class seating this will cost extra but I think it's well worth it. There's no air conditioning so it can get a little hot and stuffy. Fortunately, for the Gold Class, you are assigned seats for your group and you get to wait for the train in a separate Gold Class seating area where you'll be offered a refreshing beverage. On the train, the service was excellent where we had a special attendant for our car and were served drinks, snacks and other cold treats. The seats were very comfortable on the train and there were one or two stops on the way up to Kuranda I believe we got off at one stop for pictures. The ride was narrated throughout and everyone was provided the opportunity to take the perfect picture from inside the train. Overall, the views were magnificent and the experience was memorable. After an hour or so ride, you arrive at Kuranda Village. I recommend that you take the train up to Kuranda and the Skyway back down because if you take the train back, you'll have to make the scheduled return train with limited other options. The Cableway provides the return trip but they run all the time so you have more options to get back more on this later.

Once at the Village, you have a map that provides all the shopping, sites, restaurants, etc. We had a couple of hours to spend in Kuranda so we decided on walking around the village to go shopping vs. lunch. We did stop at the Kuranda Home Made Tropical Fruit Ice Cream van parked next to the Kuranda Markets Arcade. I highly recommend trying the ice cream sold by owner Cliff Timmins, who has operated the van for 22 years and his wife makes the best home made ice cream you'll taste. We had a great conversation and you can tell how proud he is of the ice cream and how he loves meeting people from around the world! I highly recommend a stop to try the ice cream! Finally, being in the rain forest, we experienced a couple of down pours but there was plenty of shelter and it's the rain forest, so you'll have to expect rain.

You can get through the Village in a couple of hours but the tour company suggests a time to get on the Cableway even though they run all the time because there are a couple of scenic stops you'll want to make on the way down as well. These are great photo opportunities! You should definitely make the stops and follow the paths to some great lookout points. Once you reach the bottom, there will be buses waiting to take you back to the original pickup locations. Overall, it was a fun and relaxing day with most of it on your own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Kathy Kris Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very nice tour. We enjoyed the train ride which was able to provide history and commentary for the trip. Gold class provided a lot of value for the refreshments and snacks provided. The village is definitely touristy, with many nice stores. The cablecar/skyrail down was really fun!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Yi Xuan, Maybelle A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Free and Easy tour. I was handed a paper itinerary with train and skyrail tickets attached to it. Instructions on it were easy to understand. The bus driver also reiterated the important points making it hard to get confused unless you are not listening. Good for people who want minimal walking, lots of sightseeing. Your day ends on time by 4.30pm because trains and skyrail rides run on schedule.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Judy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

If you are not interested in shopping in Kuranda, there are lovely walking trails through the rainforest.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

stephanie.tom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Really fun trip. We enjoyed the train ride which was able to provide history and commentary for the trip. Gold class provided a lot of value for the refreshments and snacks provided. The village is definitely touristy, but I got to hug a koala so I consider it a success. The cablecar/skyrail down was really fun but if you're afraid of heights, you'd definitely want to try and find an alternative. It's not a direct trip down, there are 2 stops along the way where you need to transfer to another car down, so any delay at those changes might mean you're stuck in your cable car suspended over significant heights for a bit. But definitely worth it for a change of pace!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

trevor l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

train first class was great good service sky rail was good but if you don,t heights go back by train

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

hamokmonky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent, and well organized. Had no problems with any part of the trip. Would have enjoyed more time in Kuranda but I know that scheduling is somewhat up to the train and skyrail and not so much the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Leabird United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A bus picked me up on time. The driver gave us information and was courteous. The train ride was spectacular, as was the sky rail. I enjoyed Birdworld and Koala World.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

R C K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour. Good rail trip and good Skyway trips. Particularly enjoyed National Rainforest Centre. All well organised and good value.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

jeanievan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Who doesnt like a Super Saver? This was a good value for three days of snorkeling and diving, visiting a mountain village via train for some hiking, shopping, and Australia meat pies or any other cuisine that may interest you, and visiting a wildlife sanctuary and the Daintree National Park. Talk about diversity!
The snorkeling and diving adventure was on board the beautiful Evolution that had 60 to 70 clients on board. Be sure to take your sea sick pills as the trip out to the reef and back was very challenging for many on the boat. We anchored at two locations for diving and/or snorkeling for 2 to 2 ½ hours at each reef. Make sure you bring or rent an underwater camera, as the coral and fish were too fabulous not to be captured. A nice seafood lunch was served and there was plenty of room to move between decks. We took an optional helicopter ride along the Great Barrier Reef. If a helicopter ride is on your bucket list, this is definitely the place to do it. Just WOW!
We took the 2-hour Kuranda Scenic Railway to the rainforest village of Kuranda. It was a train journey that will take you back to Australias past. This was an unguided day, so aside from your departure times, you will be on your own to explore. Kuranda is extremely tourist oriented with shops, galleries, and restaurants. We opted to hike for 2 hours, and spent an hour in the village for lunch. We caught the Sky Tram back which facilitated a birds eye view of the rainforest canopy. Take the opportunity to take a walk at each of the transfer stations going down stunning views of the waterfall.
The last tour took us to Port Douglas Wildlife Habitat where we saw birds, koalas, kangaroos, and so much more! This alone was worth the price. We visited Mossman Gorge lots of beautiful photo opportunities and journeyed up to Cape Tribulation for lunch and time on one of the most beautiful beaches. Another highlight was the boat trip on the Daintree River for crocodile spotting.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Brenda T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well organised sky rail amazing. Train was like stepping back in time. Thoroughly enjoyed it

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

rachel.hoy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

it was a busy and long day but I thoroughly enjoyed myself. Hastings Reef was incredible and the Helicopter out was stunning. I will say that this is a great trip if you only have a day but if you have a little longer I would do Kuranda as a seperate day trip. You don't really have the time to explore with only around 30mins before you have to leave for the sky rail.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

Walter A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We skipped the first part as the weather was a bit touchy and we were tired after the flight from Sydney. Kuranda trip was all day and very enjoyable. It's worth the time. A stop at Rainforest Station was great and was reasonable. Sky Rail ride was very nice. Cape Tribulation makes for a very long day and our driver/guide was first rate. The stop near Port Douglas at the bird station was very good. Again, it's a long day but enjoyable.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

A C O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I did this trip - skyrail up and train back. Well worth it to go gold class on the train. Drinks and nibbles and nice seats and good service onboard. The gondolas up was good - all well run. Picked up and dropped back to my hotel - all up it was an enjoyable day out.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Liya H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A must do tour in Cairns. Learn aboriginal culture at the Tjapukai Culture Park. Enjoy a birdeye view of the tableland from skyrail all the way to Karunda . If you have toured to the waterfalls, it gives you a whole view of the those waterfalls. Have a rest on the scenic train and admire the beautiful view of mountain at the same time on your way back. You might luckily come across some lovely children cheering good-bye and nice old lady waving to you.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Tom C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic trip to Cairns! Fantastic Experiences! Fantastic Value!
We started our package with the reef trip. We travelled in style in an almost-new ship to the Great Barrier Reef with friendly staff and good food. Our two dives had us seeing an abundance of reef fish plus sharks and rays! Our ride back was entertaining and, again, we were well-fed.
Our second day was the scenic railway trip to Kuranda. We were whisked up into the mountains on a beautiful old train with beautiful scenery to the quaint town of Kuranda. We decided to spend the extra money to go into the Koala gardens and it was worth every penny to have the experience to hold and cuddle our little koala, Hazel! She was very cute! We returned from Kuranda on the Sky Rail and, even for this height averse person, the views were breathtaking. Take the time to get off on the two trnasfers and walk around. The views of the falls are worth the extra time!
The last day was packed with fun and excitement! There is a LOT to see on this day so do not expect to dawdle! Our guide, Russell was very good about keeping us on schedule without being intrusive and I never felt rushed. We knew from previous reviews to expect to be through the Port Douglas Wildlife Habitat by 9:15am. While it sounds early we had plenty of time to experience some amazing animals. We got to pet wallabies and kangaroos while giant storks and emus waddled past. We got to see the oddly entrancing cassowary and, I have to say, you will never see anything quite like it and I still have a hard time believing it actually exists. We then toured Mossman's Gorge before having lunch in the Daintree Rainforest. The food was surprisingly well prepared I had a perfectly grilled steak. After lunch we strolled on Capr Tribulation beach for a short time before heading back to a crocodile river cruise where we saw several crocodiles and all the beauty of Daintree!
It was a magical day that capped off an amazing experience for our family!

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Travis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent views on the skyrail! The rainforest was great. The history behind the Kuranda train was stirring, but don't expect to get a lot of pjhotos.

Doing what: Skyrail Rainforest Cableway Day Trip from Cairns

Matt A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great trip! Sky rail was AWESOME. I liked it better than the train. Apparently you can pay a little more for a glass bottom sky rail carriage. I didn't know that - I think that would be worth it! My mother and I loved looking at the Ulysses butterflies that were so beautiful blue against the rain forest below. Kuranda was a cool place - but certainly touristy. : Tjapukai was amazing as well. Highly recommended. All in all a fantastic day.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Lorraine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really good trip. Both forms of transport were incredible. Glad we did Skyrail, it was amazing.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Marilyn S W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved the scenic railway and train ride. Very interesting.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Gary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best day wonderful trip loved the train and sky rail.

Doing what: Skyrail Rainforest Cableway Day Trip from Cairns

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message