The Skyrail Rainforest Cableway is one of the most scenic ways to travel from Cairns, climbing up above the rainforest canopy to the charming mountain town of Kuranda. Swinging out across the tree tops, the cableway runs for 7.5 km (4.7 miles) ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 234 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

A C O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I did this trip - skyrail up and train back. Well worth it to go gold class on the train. Drinks and nibbles and nice seats and good service onboard. The gondolas up was good - all well run. Picked up and dropped back to my hotel - all up it was an enjoyable day out.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Liya H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A must do tour in Cairns. Learn aboriginal culture at the Tjapukai Culture Park. Enjoy a birdeye view of the tableland from skyrail all the way to Karunda . If you have toured to the waterfalls, it gives you a whole view of the those waterfalls. Have a rest on the scenic train and admire the beautiful view of mountain at the same time on your way back. You might luckily come across some lovely children cheering good-bye and nice old lady waving to you.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Tom C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic trip to Cairns! Fantastic Experiences! Fantastic Value!
We started our package with the reef trip. We travelled in style in an almost-new ship to the Great Barrier Reef with friendly staff and good food. Our two dives had us seeing an abundance of reef fish plus sharks and rays! Our ride back was entertaining and, again, we were well-fed.
Our second day was the scenic railway trip to Kuranda. We were whisked up into the mountains on a beautiful old train with beautiful scenery to the quaint town of Kuranda. We decided to spend the extra money to go into the Koala gardens and it was worth every penny to have the experience to hold and cuddle our little koala, Hazel! She was very cute! We returned from Kuranda on the Sky Rail and, even for this height averse person, the views were breathtaking. Take the time to get off on the two trnasfers and walk around. The views of the falls are worth the extra time!
The last day was packed with fun and excitement! There is a LOT to see on this day so do not expect to dawdle! Our guide, Russell was very good about keeping us on schedule without being intrusive and I never felt rushed. We knew from previous reviews to expect to be through the Port Douglas Wildlife Habitat by 9:15am. While it sounds early we had plenty of time to experience some amazing animals. We got to pet wallabies and kangaroos while giant storks and emus waddled past. We got to see the oddly entrancing cassowary and, I have to say, you will never see anything quite like it and I still have a hard time believing it actually exists. We then toured Mossman's Gorge before having lunch in the Daintree Rainforest. The food was surprisingly well prepared I had a perfectly grilled steak. After lunch we strolled on Capr Tribulation beach for a short time before heading back to a crocodile river cruise where we saw several crocodiles and all the beauty of Daintree!
It was a magical day that capped off an amazing experience for our family!

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Travis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent views on the skyrail! The rainforest was great. The history behind the Kuranda train was stirring, but don't expect to get a lot of pjhotos.

Doing what: Skyrail Rainforest Cableway Day Trip from Cairns

Matt A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great trip! Sky rail was AWESOME. I liked it better than the train. Apparently you can pay a little more for a glass bottom sky rail carriage. I didn't know that - I think that would be worth it! My mother and I loved looking at the Ulysses butterflies that were so beautiful blue against the rain forest below. Kuranda was a cool place - but certainly touristy. : Tjapukai was amazing as well. Highly recommended. All in all a fantastic day.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Lorraine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really good trip. Both forms of transport were incredible. Glad we did Skyrail, it was amazing.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Marilyn S W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved the scenic railway and train ride. Very interesting.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Gary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best day wonderful trip loved the train and sky rail.

Doing what: Skyrail Rainforest Cableway Day Trip from Cairns

Niranjan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A truly great trip with abundance of nature around. The scenic rail treats the tourists like a King and the delicacies offered are superb The Daintrain Tea . The journey itself is rejuvenating and the Kuranda village with its heritage market, village and Barron River walk are simply not to be missed ! The jouney back by Gondola is amazing too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

alan c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The train ride is very scenic and is an interesting experience. Kuranda is a small town filled with small gift shops and galleries and the time there is well spent looking around. While there it is well worthwhile visiting the koala park where you have chance to hold a koala wow. What an experience. The gondola sky rail is brilliant view and exhilarating experience.
All in all great time not to be missed.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Mr K H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Kuranda railway is something that shouldn't be missed. We were impressed to be given a 2 seater bench, rather than have to share. Lots of information was provided and the stations are full of interesting material, as well as lots of 'gifts'. Plenty of time to get a nice lunch at Kuranda before the Skyway down. It's a long way down and we were grateful for the stops one can make to walk around. The leaflet presumes you will go up on the Skyway and down on the train and gave helpful hints for things to look out for - I wished we had found this earlier. An excellent trip.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Linda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was a fantastic tour. The Tjapukai Cultural Center was my favorite. The Skyrail gave us great views. The train ride back down to Cairns was really quite slow. Otherwise, it was a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

VICKY A R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Train ride was beautiful. Too long in te village. Sky rail was nothing a short of amazing

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Curt N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I took the Skyrail up to Kuranda and the Scenic Railway back. The views from the Skyway were awesome. I enjoyed the Gold Class seating, beverages and snacks on the way back to Cairns.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

janine.s United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a great tour we took the train up and sky rail down. everything went well from being picked up outside our apartment to being dropped off. Booking Gold class was worth every penny the seats on the train were comfortable and uncrowded, we were served with food and drink throughout the train journey. the free time we had at the top was more than long enough to do what we wanted. It was a very hot day and we took the skyrail down earlier than our given time which did not seem to matter, when we got down we did not have to wait long before we were taken to our hotel.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Eileen M K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Having the gold class was a wonderful experience. The railway tour is beautiful and very scenic. The sky rail on the way back down has beautiful views

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

james c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The trip was a success the train was a historic trip up an incredible railway and the town of Kuranda is a cute little place but the highlight for us was the skyrail which gave you an incredible view into the rainforest.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

kim b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Go gold all the way. So enjoyable to sit back and enjoy the view. The wine and food were excellent. Private washrooms. Staff there to serve you. The skyrail was nice way to end the day. Well worth the money

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Kevin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was an excellent day out. The train was very nostalgic and great fun. The Gold Class was very good too. The village of Kuranda was full of shops and cafes and we enjoyed walking along the trails that surrounded the village. The cable car was enjoyable and gave us a different perspective than the train. The organization of the tour was professionally delivered although being collected over an hour before getting to the train station was a little frustrating as we were not that far away. Overall, a great day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Linda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was an amazing 3 days for a very reasonable price. The trip to the GBR alone was worth it. The crew could not have been nice. They made sure that we had a great experience. Don't worry about your swimming abilities. They can ensure that you see it even if you are older, a poor swimmer, or not very strong. The outing to Cape Tribulation was a very long but beautiful day. Loved the beaches and lunch at the resort in the forest. We also loved Kuranda. There was lots of shopping and the Skyrail was amazing. Be sure an get off at the stops and walk the boardwalk into the forest.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Scott H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Nice scenic railway train ride up to Small touristy village of Kuranda, beautiful sky ride back with 2 picturesque syops. Lovely day, especially for train fans. And Kuranda has a hidden Mimi golf spot for those who enjoy that! Rainforest Mimi golf. Fun day for entire family.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Franklin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Gold Class Railway trip up to the Kuranda was great! Comfortable seating, good food and drinks with first-class service.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Mike S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The best part was the helicopter ride to the reef and snorkelling on the reef. Good lunch on the boat. Kuranda Scenic railway and sky rail was a great view of the area. I would have liked to have visited Kuranda but that would have made the day too long since I chose such a tour with some much in it.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

Lorraine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was brilliant from start to finish. Fantastic views from the train going to Kuranda and we had enough time to look around Kuranda and have something to eat and not to rushed before heading to the skyrail for our return journey which was also a really good view despite the rain.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

JB Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very enjoyable trip travelling on the train to Kuranda, only downside is the windows have bars, so very hard to take photos while the train is moving understand this is for safety reasons, trip took about one and half hours, need to buy/take food as train has nothing on it, unless you travel Gold Class. Visited Barron Falls on way up, stopped for about 10mins to take photos, falls were flowing but not gushing as we visited in the dry season. Kuranda is a lovely little town with plenty of places for lunch. We took the circuit walk into the jungle and around the river, took us about one and half hours as we stopped and took photos. We then returned on one of the glass bottom sky rail cars, there are only a few of these and you need to pay extra, which can be done up at Kuranda. All in all a very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message