The Great Barrier Reef is Australia's greatest natural treasure, and the world’s largest coral reef. This underwater wonderland stretches for 2,300 km (1,426 miles) from Bundaberg to Australia's northernmost tip. At its closest, it's only 30 km ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 379 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bernard C. D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

As the Reef Fleet Terminal was within walking distance of our hotel, Hilton DoubleTree Cairns, we left the hotel shortly before 07:00 to arrive at the terminal by 07:15. Down Under Tours has a counter inside the Tour Building where I got our boarding passes and then proceeded to the boat which is new and very clean. As we wanted to snorkel over the reef, all equipment is provided on board. The trip out to the Great Barrier Reef included two separate stops where passengers were assisted with gear both for snorkeling and for diving. Safety is of the utmost concern by the crew as this was covered in a meeting as well as the introduction of all boat staff who were there to assist all passengers. The views over the two areas of reef were great with many fish to be seen. Lunch was included in the tour package as well as a little entertainment by Elvis. The boat returned to the terminal by about 16:00.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Rodie Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a fabulous tour package. Down Under Dive was outstanding in their professionalism, friendliness, organization and their diligence to our safety. The Great Barrier Reef was the highlight of our trip to Australia. The trip to Kuranda was excellent and loved the train but loved the Sky train even more. Excellent day. The rain forest and Cape Tribulation was equally pleasing. Great package. Love it.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Carol J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was great. We snorkeled and the coral was amazing. It was fun looking down on the reef from the boat. On the boat we took the opportunity to sign up for a 1/2 hour guide while snoreling and enjoyed that. The guide would point out things we might have missed otherwise. I would do this tour again.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Christine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Both reefs, the boat and crews were fantastic. I wish people would have listened when they recommended Travelcalm. Some idiot defied all instructions and went to the back of the boat to vomit-- which flew back and hit a bunch of us. Down Under Cruise and Dive couldn't be blamed for this.

Well worth the money and an amazing day out on the reef.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Tania C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Incredible! Fantastic fun-filled day! Staff were amazing, informative and friendly. We saw green sea turtles, reef sharks, clams and an amazing array of fish. Snorkel or cruise the reef in a glass-bottom boat, or just laze on the beach. Great day all round. Good for any fitness level and for kids. Do as much or as little as you like.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

blessmyhome7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The ship and crew are top notch. They entertain and watch over the guests to make sure everyone is having fun and when they are not motion/sea sickness they are ready with the vomit bags, I'm just saying it's not a pleasant thing to have seasickness, and the crew is very helpful when it does happen.
The instructions on how to snorkel was presented in such as way that it was easy to learn. The reef is bleaching so beware that you won't see the beautiful colors it once was.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Joseph N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an amazing experience. First time I have snorkeled and I had a great experience and lots of fun. We went to Flynn Reef and stopped at 3 different locations. The amount and type of fish and coral was enormous. The coral looked healthy. Jason and Eve gave a little run down at each stop of best places to snorkel, etc. Lunch was served midday and was more than I expected. They had something for everyone. I will be back in the future, but I now want to scuba. The entire crew was absolutely wonderful. All the people on the excursion were also nice. Everyone had fun. I highly recommend going on this trip. They do have a professional underwater photographer as well.

Doing what: Outer Great Barrier Reef Dive and Snorkel Cruise from Cairns

blindman.clark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Crew was great. Great lunch. Great view of outer reef

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Sam C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour and staff were great. The locations you are taken to in the reef were beautiful. However two things: this is a big boat, although it is very nice, you are on a tour with up to 170 other people, furthermore everything on this tour included an additional fee photos, drinks, seasickness pills, etc.. Although there were some negatives, I would defiantly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

R C K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Superb boat trip and view of the reef and fish at The Low Isles. Quicksilver catamaran was very comfortable and whole trip well organised. We were I initially aprehensile about snorkeling but did not use the glass bottom boat and snorkeled all the time. Good lunch provided too. Thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

jeanievan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Who doesnt like a Super Saver? This was a good value for three days of snorkeling and diving, visiting a mountain village via train for some hiking, shopping, and Australia meat pies or any other cuisine that may interest you, and visiting a wildlife sanctuary and the Daintree National Park. Talk about diversity!
The snorkeling and diving adventure was on board the beautiful Evolution that had 60 to 70 clients on board. Be sure to take your sea sick pills as the trip out to the reef and back was very challenging for many on the boat. We anchored at two locations for diving and/or snorkeling for 2 to 2 ½ hours at each reef. Make sure you bring or rent an underwater camera, as the coral and fish were too fabulous not to be captured. A nice seafood lunch was served and there was plenty of room to move between decks. We took an optional helicopter ride along the Great Barrier Reef. If a helicopter ride is on your bucket list, this is definitely the place to do it. Just WOW!
We took the 2-hour Kuranda Scenic Railway to the rainforest village of Kuranda. It was a train journey that will take you back to Australias past. This was an unguided day, so aside from your departure times, you will be on your own to explore. Kuranda is extremely tourist oriented with shops, galleries, and restaurants. We opted to hike for 2 hours, and spent an hour in the village for lunch. We caught the Sky Tram back which facilitated a birds eye view of the rainforest canopy. Take the opportunity to take a walk at each of the transfer stations going down stunning views of the waterfall.
The last tour took us to Port Douglas Wildlife Habitat where we saw birds, koalas, kangaroos, and so much more! This alone was worth the price. We visited Mossman Gorge lots of beautiful photo opportunities and journeyed up to Cape Tribulation for lunch and time on one of the most beautiful beaches. Another highlight was the boat trip on the Daintree River for crocodile spotting.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Maureen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Brilliant day out but be warned the journey out can be rough so take a sickness tablet before you head if you suffer from sea sickness. So worth the visit. The boat we where on was fantastic and the staff excellent. When my daughter got ill they couldn't have been more helpful. The food was wonderful and we could have tea or coffee when we wanted it. We also got cheese and wine in the afternoon. Elvis one of the staff played and sang for us on the way back. Great laugh. The journey back is fine so worries about being sick. I went on the Submarine and would recommend this especially if your not mad keen on snorkelling or diving. Be aware that wet suits are extra and you will need to pay a reef tax when you pick up your boarding pass so take this into account. All in all a brilliant day

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Amber C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We liked it so much we booked it twice during one trip! Loved the ship - plenty of seating and comfortable. Good equipment and lots of staff around to help with anything needed. The reef sites they took us to were wonderful and they made sure we saw a new place on our second trip out!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

ljholihan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was one of the best snorkeling tours I have taken. Crew was attentive and informative. All gear is provided, including wet suits. Crew accommodated all levels of swimming so that everyone had the chance to experience the Great Barrier Reef. Viator needs to indicate tour provider on voucher as it was difficult to determine who to check in with at the Reef Terminal.

Doing what: Green Island Sailing Cruise from Cairns

Tam H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The staff were very professional and toured us around the reef which was awesome! The trip was great and took us to two nice locations to snokel. We had plenty of time to snokel which was great. We enjoyed our time.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

WESTON W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really recommend this day trip. The staff were excellent as they took care of a few people suffering from sea sickness. They do offer sea sick pills to those who are unsure how they will be. My wife found it hard going on the way out but was fine going back. Even so it is a wonderful experience with plenty to see and do. The island is lovely and we enjoyed seeing all the sea life including reef sharks coming close to the boat.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

Clalrbc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My partner and I had a great day on Fitzroy ! It is a nice little island with one resort, crystal clear water and reef beaches. Ferry trip is not too long and very nice when sunny, we have been lucky enough to see a whale ! I strongly recommend booking the activity pass as we noticed that people who paid for the ferry trip only ended up hiring equipment on the island where it seems more expensive. We have been able to use all the snorkeling equipment we needed and took the paddleboards out to go around the island you can use kayaks if preferred. We had a glass bottom boat tour which enabled us to see a turtle, the reef and a lot of fishes. A lunch box was included in the pass, it was really good and fresh! Anyways if you don't want to pay for the pass I am 100 sure you can have a lovely day and you can still relax, do the lighthouse walk or go to different beaches, walks are from 45 minutes to 3 hours return. We also thought the team on the boat was really nice and fun so thanks guys for a good day !

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

Jordan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was our FAVORITE reef out of the 5-6 outer reefs my husband and I visited with other companies. The crew was great, we ended up at the most gorgeous reef. The guy running things even said out of all the reefs he's been to, this was the best one. He was right. It was stunning. Saw a couple reef sharks, huge schools of fish, bright, gorgeous coral, and there was little to no bleaching. The only drawback was the fact the fins they provide are incredibly uncomfortable if you have large feet. Within the first half hour I had a giant blister on the side of my foot that was incredibly painful. They told me to put Vaseline on it, but I had 2 other tours on the reef the following days- this blister caused havoc. All in all it was gorgeous and I'm glad we did this one!

Doing what: Outer Great Barrier Reef Dive and Snorkel Cruise from Cairns

Prabhat P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The reef gets 7 stars out of 5! lovely cruise, good lunch although veggie options could be more accessible, friendly crew, spectacular snorkelling...the kuranda day was slightly do-it-yourself kind but we enjoyed the aboriginal centre in Kuranda and the cable ride Kuranda is a commercial venture though and day 3 was again 7 stars out of 5 daintree, mossman gorge. The number of crocs we saw and the boat trip to see them will be lasting memories. Also loved the conservation attitude of the boat guide. Our guide for the day Daniel was super cool. Friendly and informative. Thank you all.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

gary h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly highly recommend this trip barrier reef diving class, train ride and cable car thought this cannot be beat third day rain forest saw loads of wildlife and a river sail to see crocs live brilliant thank you.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Rob A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Learning to Scuba dive at the great barrier reef was fantastic. Our instructor was good fun and very informative. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Learn to Scuba Dive on the Great Barrier Reef: 4-Day PADI Open Water Dive Course

Tom C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic trip to Cairns! Fantastic Experiences! Fantastic Value!
We started our package with the reef trip. We travelled in style in an almost-new ship to the Great Barrier Reef with friendly staff and good food. Our two dives had us seeing an abundance of reef fish plus sharks and rays! Our ride back was entertaining and, again, we were well-fed.
Our second day was the scenic railway trip to Kuranda. We were whisked up into the mountains on a beautiful old train with beautiful scenery to the quaint town of Kuranda. We decided to spend the extra money to go into the Koala gardens and it was worth every penny to have the experience to hold and cuddle our little koala, Hazel! She was very cute! We returned from Kuranda on the Sky Rail and, even for this height averse person, the views were breathtaking. Take the time to get off on the two trnasfers and walk around. The views of the falls are worth the extra time!
The last day was packed with fun and excitement! There is a LOT to see on this day so do not expect to dawdle! Our guide, Russell was very good about keeping us on schedule without being intrusive and I never felt rushed. We knew from previous reviews to expect to be through the Port Douglas Wildlife Habitat by 9:15am. While it sounds early we had plenty of time to experience some amazing animals. We got to pet wallabies and kangaroos while giant storks and emus waddled past. We got to see the oddly entrancing cassowary and, I have to say, you will never see anything quite like it and I still have a hard time believing it actually exists. We then toured Mossman's Gorge before having lunch in the Daintree Rainforest. The food was surprisingly well prepared I had a perfectly grilled steak. After lunch we strolled on Capr Tribulation beach for a short time before heading back to a crocodile river cruise where we saw several crocodiles and all the beauty of Daintree!
It was a magical day that capped off an amazing experience for our family!

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Angela M Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Although a certified diver I went with my son on an introductory dive. It was a lot of fun and the boat was roomy so even if a lot of tourists you could find a place to relax. In the afternoon I chose to stay with son and we did a helicopter ride to see the barrier reef from above or you could take a submarine offered as well at the location the boat stopped.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Sheri R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What an absolutely incredible day! Adding on the helicopter ride over the reef was worth every penny.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Thomas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed our day at the reef. The boat was very nice. The staff couldnt be nicer. The cook/entertainer made the trip even more enjoyable

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message