Encompassing roughly 3,000 individual reefs and dotted with almost 900 islands and coral cays (small sandy isles), Australia's Great Barrier Reef is one of the world’s most unforgettable natural treasures. Snorkelers and certified divers often ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 404 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

stracy212

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Ocean Free, Ocean Freedom Barrier Reef day trip was amazing. We were on the Freedom boat. We were greeted on board with tea/coffee etc, pastries and fruit, then everyone had an overview of the day and a safety briefing. Safety is something they are very focused on. It was about a 90 min ride to the reef. They sell seasickness pills for 3, i recommend these as the sea can be quite choppy due to the stormy tropical climate. The day is split between two sites, with the opportunity to snorkel/dive at both. There is also a glass bottom boat tour included at the first stop. Time at both stops is plentiful and not at all rushed. A buffet lunch is included with plenty of choice for all tastes. On the ride back to Cairns the crew came round with fruit platters, cheese and biscuit platters and finally with cake platters just before we docked. All the crew lined the dock to shake everyone's hand as we disembarked which was a nice touch. This was a thoroughly enjoyable day and we would definitely recommend Ocean Freedom for others looking for a fun Barrier Reef day.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

nyaworski

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We had 3 consecutive days of touring out of Cairns with this 3 day Super Saver. The beautiful boat ride to the Great Barrier Reef to snorkel in 2 separate spots can now be struck of my bucket list. Fabulous snorkeling, clear 28 degree waters and an abundance of beautiful fish and turtles. Lunch was generous and delicious. Crew was attentive and made sure everyone was comfortable and safe - even first time snorkelers.
The next day we enjoyed the train to Kuranda, our time in Kuranda where you can add on all kinds of adventures and wildlife viewing and walks and the Gondola Ride back down. Highlight was visiting the Fruit Bat wildlife refuge. Absolutely fascinating and I went from hating and fearing bats to knowing all about their importance and intelligence.
Cape Tribulation and Mossman Gorge was a 12 hours tour. Our bus driver made the day knowledgeable, interesting funny and an excellent driver. Enjoyed the stop at the wildlife refuge where we saw crocodiles and koalas and were able to feed and pet the wallabies and koalas. Lunch at the beach was wonderful, the river cruise to find some crocs in the wild was lovely, interesting and successful. Really a day packed full of so many different elements as we saw a lot and learned a lot and had a fabulous time.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Latifah M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

nothing to change, the weather didn't permit for the best viewing of the reef. not their fault. The personnel on the tour were exceptional and provided much needed personal assistance that I needed. I want to give a special shout out to them all Izzy, Elise, the Captain and the handsome guy who met us for drinks, lol

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

Carrie-Ann B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The trip was expertly guided by friendly and professional tour/snorkel/diving instructors. They explained everything clearly, ran the entire day's activities on time, and emphasized safety. The day was gloriously sunny, the water warm, the setting beautiful, and the Great Barrier Reef was simply unforgettable. Two teas and a tasty buffet lunch included in the cost. We LOVED every minute of the three snorkel dives on this wonderful trip!! Highly recommended and great value for the cost.

Doing what: Outer Great Barrier Reef Dive and Snorkel Cruise from Cairns

alan t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We left Cairns in rain but once out to sea the weather improved and later in the day we even did some sunbathing!
A really well organised trip and we took the additional option to snorkel with Abi the on board marine biologist as my wife had never snorkled before and was very nervous, I also joined her even though I had snorkled before and leant so much about the reef life.
Fabulous food and entertainment on the journey back to Cairns, the crew were so helpful at all times.
This experience was on our bucket list and the memory of it will stay forever, just do it!
Mike 72 and Carole 66

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

joaniecarey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was the most amazing trip. The crew were so helpful especially the German girl, so sorry I forgot her name. We had a variety of excellent food all day so you will certainly not be hungry during this trip. The Snorkeling was incredible and we had plenty of time to enjoy it. It was a beautiful location and the trip on the smaller boat to Green Island was wonderful. It felt like we were on a paradise island and had it all to ourselves. There were just enough people on board to make it comfortable and it was very relaxed, All the crew were so helpful and attentive and I would highly recommend that anyone looking for a very special day out on the Reef for either diving or snorkeling take this trip. They even provided sun lotion if you forgot to bring some.

Doing what: Green Island Sailing Cruise from Cairns

Dmitri I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Just no words can describe the beauty of the Great Barrier Reef, highly recommend to anyone to take a trip to see it.

Doing what: Outer Great Barrier Reef Dive and Snorkel Cruise from Cairns

bellcatr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Lovely boat and views underwater are amazing, We opted for the private snorkelling tour with the onboard marine biologist as well - well worth it. She pointed out giant clams, clown fish and a shark on the edge of the reef - amazing!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Alexandria T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The crew was very friendly and good spirited. Boarding and deboarding were easy and quick. The catamaran featured indoor and outdoor seating. Indoor seating had tables, outdoor seating was benches. The boat had cold drinking water free of charge so we could fill up our bottles they also provided cups. Quite sizeable lockers were available on board for only AUS 5. We snorkeled and went on the glass bottom boat, and both were absolutely incredible choices. It was only AUS 16 per person to add on the glass bottom boat. We also rented the Lycra suits just AUS 8. We saw 3 jellyfish two were not box jellies, the other one I'm not sure aboutwithin the first 5 minutes in the water - but there weren't any a little further out where you would actually see the reef and snorkel. I would recommend getting the suit, as the peace of mind it provided made our trip much more enjoyable. It also protected our skin from UV rays, so we didn't put on any sunscreen except our faces :.

I would recommend you go left, when you get off the dock. I read some other reviews saying it's better to go right, but we didn't see much of anything when we went right. When we went left we saw ENORMOUS and beautiful fish. When we were walking back to the dock from the beach, we also saw a guitarfish in the water! It was incredible! Though I do wish I was in the water to see it :

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

j.williamson999

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very good value for money, the reef tour was very well organised a great boat, food and staff could not fault, Kuranda we enjoyed but would have preferred the driver organising a collection of tickets for us as we had to wait over half an hour to pick them up. Daniel our driver for the Cape tribulation tour was fantatastic very well organised and worked hard to give us a brilliant day, food at lunch was the best out of all 6 excursions, defiantly recommend package.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Saishav A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

One of the best tours I've taken. The staff were friendly and professional and the food onboard was good. We were lucky to see a whale and a calf on our way to the reef. We were taken to two excellent locations for diving, snorkelling and glass boat tour. The trip was worth the money, I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

jfgottsha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great adventure to the reef, nicely paced and saw it all. Friendly people and guides.

Doing what: Green Island Sailing Cruise from Cairns

Lynn Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I recommend this to everyone who wants a more personal experience of the Great Barrier Reef. The tour had only 28 passengers and we had two sessions of snorkelling on the reef. The crew are multilingual and friendly and take time to ensure you are having a wonderful trip.

Doing what: Green Island Sailing Cruise from Cairns

Bernard C. D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

As the Reef Fleet Terminal was within walking distance of our hotel, Hilton DoubleTree Cairns, we left the hotel shortly before 07:00 to arrive at the terminal by 07:15. Down Under Tours has a counter inside the Tour Building where I got our boarding passes and then proceeded to the boat which is new and very clean. As we wanted to snorkel over the reef, all equipment is provided on board. The trip out to the Great Barrier Reef included two separate stops where passengers were assisted with gear both for snorkeling and for diving. Safety is of the utmost concern by the crew as this was covered in a meeting as well as the introduction of all boat staff who were there to assist all passengers. The views over the two areas of reef were great with many fish to be seen. Lunch was included in the tour package as well as a little entertainment by Elvis. The boat returned to the terminal by about 16:00.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Rodie Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a fabulous tour package. Down Under Dive was outstanding in their professionalism, friendliness, organization and their diligence to our safety. The Great Barrier Reef was the highlight of our trip to Australia. The trip to Kuranda was excellent and loved the train but loved the Sky train even more. Excellent day. The rain forest and Cape Tribulation was equally pleasing. Great package. Love it.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Carol J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was great. We snorkeled and the coral was amazing. It was fun looking down on the reef from the boat. On the boat we took the opportunity to sign up for a 1/2 hour guide while snoreling and enjoyed that. The guide would point out things we might have missed otherwise. I would do this tour again.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Christine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Both reefs, the boat and crews were fantastic. I wish people would have listened when they recommended Travelcalm. Some idiot defied all instructions and went to the back of the boat to vomit-- which flew back and hit a bunch of us. Down Under Cruise and Dive couldn't be blamed for this.

Well worth the money and an amazing day out on the reef.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Tania C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Incredible! Fantastic fun-filled day! Staff were amazing, informative and friendly. We saw green sea turtles, reef sharks, clams and an amazing array of fish. Snorkel or cruise the reef in a glass-bottom boat, or just laze on the beach. Great day all round. Good for any fitness level and for kids. Do as much or as little as you like.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

blessmyhome7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The ship and crew are top notch. They entertain and watch over the guests to make sure everyone is having fun and when they are not motion/sea sickness they are ready with the vomit bags, I'm just saying it's not a pleasant thing to have seasickness, and the crew is very helpful when it does happen.
The instructions on how to snorkel was presented in such as way that it was easy to learn. The reef is bleaching so beware that you won't see the beautiful colors it once was.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Joseph N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an amazing experience. First time I have snorkeled and I had a great experience and lots of fun. We went to Flynn Reef and stopped at 3 different locations. The amount and type of fish and coral was enormous. The coral looked healthy. Jason and Eve gave a little run down at each stop of best places to snorkel, etc. Lunch was served midday and was more than I expected. They had something for everyone. I will be back in the future, but I now want to scuba. The entire crew was absolutely wonderful. All the people on the excursion were also nice. Everyone had fun. I highly recommend going on this trip. They do have a professional underwater photographer as well.

Doing what: Outer Great Barrier Reef Dive and Snorkel Cruise from Cairns

blindman.clark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Crew was great. Great lunch. Great view of outer reef

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Sam C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour and staff were great. The locations you are taken to in the reef were beautiful. However two things: this is a big boat, although it is very nice, you are on a tour with up to 170 other people, furthermore everything on this tour included an additional fee photos, drinks, seasickness pills, etc.. Although there were some negatives, I would defiantly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

R C K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Superb boat trip and view of the reef and fish at The Low Isles. Quicksilver catamaran was very comfortable and whole trip well organised. We were I initially aprehensile about snorkeling but did not use the glass bottom boat and snorkeled all the time. Good lunch provided too. Thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

jeanievan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Who doesnt like a Super Saver? This was a good value for three days of snorkeling and diving, visiting a mountain village via train for some hiking, shopping, and Australia meat pies or any other cuisine that may interest you, and visiting a wildlife sanctuary and the Daintree National Park. Talk about diversity!
The snorkeling and diving adventure was on board the beautiful Evolution that had 60 to 70 clients on board. Be sure to take your sea sick pills as the trip out to the reef and back was very challenging for many on the boat. We anchored at two locations for diving and/or snorkeling for 2 to 2 ½ hours at each reef. Make sure you bring or rent an underwater camera, as the coral and fish were too fabulous not to be captured. A nice seafood lunch was served and there was plenty of room to move between decks. We took an optional helicopter ride along the Great Barrier Reef. If a helicopter ride is on your bucket list, this is definitely the place to do it. Just WOW!
We took the 2-hour Kuranda Scenic Railway to the rainforest village of Kuranda. It was a train journey that will take you back to Australias past. This was an unguided day, so aside from your departure times, you will be on your own to explore. Kuranda is extremely tourist oriented with shops, galleries, and restaurants. We opted to hike for 2 hours, and spent an hour in the village for lunch. We caught the Sky Tram back which facilitated a birds eye view of the rainforest canopy. Take the opportunity to take a walk at each of the transfer stations going down stunning views of the waterfall.
The last tour took us to Port Douglas Wildlife Habitat where we saw birds, koalas, kangaroos, and so much more! This alone was worth the price. We visited Mossman Gorge lots of beautiful photo opportunities and journeyed up to Cape Tribulation for lunch and time on one of the most beautiful beaches. Another highlight was the boat trip on the Daintree River for crocodile spotting.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Maureen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Brilliant day out but be warned the journey out can be rough so take a sickness tablet before you head if you suffer from sea sickness. So worth the visit. The boat we where on was fantastic and the staff excellent. When my daughter got ill they couldn't have been more helpful. The food was wonderful and we could have tea or coffee when we wanted it. We also got cheese and wine in the afternoon. Elvis one of the staff played and sang for us on the way back. Great laugh. The journey back is fine so worries about being sick. I went on the Submarine and would recommend this especially if your not mad keen on snorkelling or diving. Be aware that wet suits are extra and you will need to pay a reef tax when you pick up your boarding pass so take this into account. All in all a brilliant day

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message