Opened in 1891, Kuranda’s Scenic Railway lies some 21 miles of picturesque landscape away from Cairns. This popular attraction passes by the breathtaking Barron Falls and equally impressive Stoney Creek Falls. While some travelers lament the dark ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 227 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rachel F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I GOT TO HOLD A KOALA!!!!!!! I am a huge animal lover so feeding the kangaroos was great, especially one of them had a joey and looked so happy, it was the cutest. The train ride was very nice and informative, I recommend doing the train TO Kuranda and the Cable car Down the mountain, better views going down. The town of kurana was very cute and I wish we had scheduled more time to look around there at the shops and especially the market. I got a beautiful kangaroo leather wallet for my dad for Christmas and he loved it! Learning about the culture was great, the dancing, the music and the boomerangs was fun! I would definitely recommend this excursion especially to people with families. Lots of things to learn and fun activities.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

j.williamson999

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very good value for money, the reef tour was very well organised a great boat, food and staff could not fault, Kuranda we enjoyed but would have preferred the driver organising a collection of tickets for us as we had to wait over half an hour to pick them up. Daniel our driver for the Cape tribulation tour was fantatastic very well organised and worked hard to give us a brilliant day, food at lunch was the best out of all 6 excursions, defiantly recommend package.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

J L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I've done a lot of trip planning but I must admit that booking this tour/trip was a little confusing. It all turned out great and we all had a wonderful time. We selected the Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway Tour through Viator and the tour company was Down Under Tours. This program is not a fully guided tour where you are with a driver/leader the whole time. Instead, they are basically your bus drivers from/to your hotel or other meeting point. This particular tour requests that you arrange and confirm your pick up location in advance with the tour company Down Under Tours. They were very responsive and easily arranged for the hotel pickup. The most important item you'll receive is the pre-printed itinerary for you and your group.

We selected the Kuranda Scenic Railway to get to Kuranda. You'll be dropped off at the train station for the scheduled train departure. I highly recommend the Gold Class seating this will cost extra but I think it's well worth it. There's no air conditioning so it can get a little hot and stuffy. Fortunately, for the Gold Class, you are assigned seats for your group and you get to wait for the train in a separate Gold Class seating area where you'll be offered a refreshing beverage. On the train, the service was excellent where we had a special attendant for our car and were served drinks, snacks and other cold treats. The seats were very comfortable on the train and there were one or two stops on the way up to Kuranda I believe we got off at one stop for pictures. The ride was narrated throughout and everyone was provided the opportunity to take the perfect picture from inside the train. Overall, the views were magnificent and the experience was memorable. After an hour or so ride, you arrive at Kuranda Village. I recommend that you take the train up to Kuranda and the Skyway back down because if you take the train back, you'll have to make the scheduled return train with limited other options. The Cableway provides the return trip but they run all the time so you have more options to get back more on this later.

Once at the Village, you have a map that provides all the shopping, sites, restaurants, etc. We had a couple of hours to spend in Kuranda so we decided on walking around the village to go shopping vs. lunch. We did stop at the Kuranda Home Made Tropical Fruit Ice Cream van parked next to the Kuranda Markets Arcade. I highly recommend trying the ice cream sold by owner Cliff Timmins, who has operated the van for 22 years and his wife makes the best home made ice cream you'll taste. We had a great conversation and you can tell how proud he is of the ice cream and how he loves meeting people from around the world! I highly recommend a stop to try the ice cream! Finally, being in the rain forest, we experienced a couple of down pours but there was plenty of shelter and it's the rain forest, so you'll have to expect rain.

You can get through the Village in a couple of hours but the tour company suggests a time to get on the Cableway even though they run all the time because there are a couple of scenic stops you'll want to make on the way down as well. These are great photo opportunities! You should definitely make the stops and follow the paths to some great lookout points. Once you reach the bottom, there will be buses waiting to take you back to the original pickup locations. Overall, it was a fun and relaxing day with most of it on your own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Bernard C. D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

My wife and I were picked-up at our hotel Hilton DoubleTree Cairns at the scheduled time of 08:30 and we were then transported by the tour bus to the Kuranda Train Station. The train traveled approximately 26 Km up a mountain with two stops to view the beautiful scenery. When the journey was completed, we had arrived at the small town of Kuranda which has many shops, eateries and small zoos to cater to tourists. The return trip to the base of the mountain was managed by a gondola ride which afforded great views of the rainforest and valleys. We would highly recommend the experience.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Lesley H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A great experience with running commentary which was interesting. Disappointed we did not get our souvenirs as promised at the end of the train ride. Kuranda village was interesting and we would have liked more time there. 2 hours up on the train did not give us enough time to go to all the animal parks, eat AND look in the shops. The trip back in the cable car was awesome!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Rodie Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a fabulous tour package. Down Under Dive was outstanding in their professionalism, friendliness, organization and their diligence to our safety. The Great Barrier Reef was the highlight of our trip to Australia. The trip to Kuranda was excellent and loved the train but loved the Sky train even more. Excellent day. The rain forest and Cape Tribulation was equally pleasing. Great package. Love it.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Judy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

If you are not interested in shopping in Kuranda, there are lovely walking trails through the rainforest.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

martin.aizlewood

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The trip was brilliant, from the train journey up to Kuranda to the Rainforestation and the cable car ride back. Everything was so well organised and all that we have come to expect from a Viator excursion. Excellent day out

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

hamokmonky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent, and well organized. Had no problems with any part of the trip. Would have enjoyed more time in Kuranda but I know that scheduling is somewhat up to the train and skyrail and not so much the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

jeanievan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Who doesnt like a Super Saver? This was a good value for three days of snorkeling and diving, visiting a mountain village via train for some hiking, shopping, and Australia meat pies or any other cuisine that may interest you, and visiting a wildlife sanctuary and the Daintree National Park. Talk about diversity!
The snorkeling and diving adventure was on board the beautiful Evolution that had 60 to 70 clients on board. Be sure to take your sea sick pills as the trip out to the reef and back was very challenging for many on the boat. We anchored at two locations for diving and/or snorkeling for 2 to 2 ½ hours at each reef. Make sure you bring or rent an underwater camera, as the coral and fish were too fabulous not to be captured. A nice seafood lunch was served and there was plenty of room to move between decks. We took an optional helicopter ride along the Great Barrier Reef. If a helicopter ride is on your bucket list, this is definitely the place to do it. Just WOW!
We took the 2-hour Kuranda Scenic Railway to the rainforest village of Kuranda. It was a train journey that will take you back to Australias past. This was an unguided day, so aside from your departure times, you will be on your own to explore. Kuranda is extremely tourist oriented with shops, galleries, and restaurants. We opted to hike for 2 hours, and spent an hour in the village for lunch. We caught the Sky Tram back which facilitated a birds eye view of the rainforest canopy. Take the opportunity to take a walk at each of the transfer stations going down stunning views of the waterfall.
The last tour took us to Port Douglas Wildlife Habitat where we saw birds, koalas, kangaroos, and so much more! This alone was worth the price. We visited Mossman Gorge lots of beautiful photo opportunities and journeyed up to Cape Tribulation for lunch and time on one of the most beautiful beaches. Another highlight was the boat trip on the Daintree River for crocodile spotting.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

rachel.hoy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

it was a busy and long day but I thoroughly enjoyed myself. Hastings Reef was incredible and the Helicopter out was stunning. I will say that this is a great trip if you only have a day but if you have a little longer I would do Kuranda as a seperate day trip. You don't really have the time to explore with only around 30mins before you have to leave for the sky rail.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

Walter A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We skipped the first part as the weather was a bit touchy and we were tired after the flight from Sydney. Kuranda trip was all day and very enjoyable. It's worth the time. A stop at Rainforest Station was great and was reasonable. Sky Rail ride was very nice. Cape Tribulation makes for a very long day and our driver/guide was first rate. The stop near Port Douglas at the bird station was very good. Again, it's a long day but enjoyable.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Prabhat P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The reef gets 7 stars out of 5! lovely cruise, good lunch although veggie options could be more accessible, friendly crew, spectacular snorkelling...the kuranda day was slightly do-it-yourself kind but we enjoyed the aboriginal centre in Kuranda and the cable ride Kuranda is a commercial venture though and day 3 was again 7 stars out of 5 daintree, mossman gorge. The number of crocs we saw and the boat trip to see them will be lasting memories. Also loved the conservation attitude of the boat guide. Our guide for the day Daniel was super cool. Friendly and informative. Thank you all.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Tom C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic trip to Cairns! Fantastic Experiences! Fantastic Value!
We started our package with the reef trip. We travelled in style in an almost-new ship to the Great Barrier Reef with friendly staff and good food. Our two dives had us seeing an abundance of reef fish plus sharks and rays! Our ride back was entertaining and, again, we were well-fed.
Our second day was the scenic railway trip to Kuranda. We were whisked up into the mountains on a beautiful old train with beautiful scenery to the quaint town of Kuranda. We decided to spend the extra money to go into the Koala gardens and it was worth every penny to have the experience to hold and cuddle our little koala, Hazel! She was very cute! We returned from Kuranda on the Sky Rail and, even for this height averse person, the views were breathtaking. Take the time to get off on the two trnasfers and walk around. The views of the falls are worth the extra time!
The last day was packed with fun and excitement! There is a LOT to see on this day so do not expect to dawdle! Our guide, Russell was very good about keeping us on schedule without being intrusive and I never felt rushed. We knew from previous reviews to expect to be through the Port Douglas Wildlife Habitat by 9:15am. While it sounds early we had plenty of time to experience some amazing animals. We got to pet wallabies and kangaroos while giant storks and emus waddled past. We got to see the oddly entrancing cassowary and, I have to say, you will never see anything quite like it and I still have a hard time believing it actually exists. We then toured Mossman's Gorge before having lunch in the Daintree Rainforest. The food was surprisingly well prepared I had a perfectly grilled steak. After lunch we strolled on Capr Tribulation beach for a short time before heading back to a crocodile river cruise where we saw several crocodiles and all the beauty of Daintree!
It was a magical day that capped off an amazing experience for our family!

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

cpapasergio

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved the historic train, great staff, good commentary on trip to Kuranda.Skytrain was unique and a very interesting guided walk at the halfway point on way down. Kuranda town was busy with lots of Interesting craft shops to visit, good choice of places to eat. Visited the bird sanctuary and really enjoyed the set up.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Matt A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great trip! Sky rail was AWESOME. I liked it better than the train. Apparently you can pay a little more for a glass bottom sky rail carriage. I didn't know that - I think that would be worth it! My mother and I loved looking at the Ulysses butterflies that were so beautiful blue against the rain forest below. Kuranda was a cool place - but certainly touristy. : Tjapukai was amazing as well. Highly recommended. All in all a fantastic day.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Marilyn S W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved the scenic railway and train ride. Very interesting.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

kedwards01 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I was grateful that the tour company contacted us in advance enough so that we could rearrange our tours to make sure that we were able to visit Kuranda. The city itself was kind of overrated but the experience of the train in Gold Class was an unique experience as well as the gondala ride back to Cairns.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Niranjan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A truly great trip with abundance of nature around. The scenic rail treats the tourists like a King and the delicacies offered are superb The Daintrain Tea . The journey itself is rejuvenating and the Kuranda village with its heritage market, village and Barron River walk are simply not to be missed ! The jouney back by Gondola is amazing too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

alan c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The train ride is very scenic and is an interesting experience. Kuranda is a small town filled with small gift shops and galleries and the time there is well spent looking around. While there it is well worthwhile visiting the koala park where you have chance to hold a koala wow. What an experience. The gondola sky rail is brilliant view and exhilarating experience.
All in all great time not to be missed.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Mr K H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Kuranda railway is something that shouldn't be missed. We were impressed to be given a 2 seater bench, rather than have to share. Lots of information was provided and the stations are full of interesting material, as well as lots of 'gifts'. Plenty of time to get a nice lunch at Kuranda before the Skyway down. It's a long way down and we were grateful for the stops one can make to walk around. The leaflet presumes you will go up on the Skyway and down on the train and gave helpful hints for things to look out for - I wished we had found this earlier. An excellent trip.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Jo G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Lovely day out from Cairns : Kuranda is a beautiful village, lots of nice shops and a chance to mix with the locals. Train and cable car were lovely - I personally would have liked to have been booked on a slightly earlier cable car, to let me explore the stops fully, rather than a quick pit-stop, but overall, a great day!

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Curt N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I took the Skyrail up to Kuranda and the Scenic Railway back. The views from the Skyway were awesome. I enjoyed the Gold Class seating, beverages and snacks on the way back to Cairns.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Eileen M K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Having the gold class was a wonderful experience. The railway tour is beautiful and very scenic. The sky rail on the way back down has beautiful views

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

james c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The trip was a success the train was a historic trip up an incredible railway and the town of Kuranda is a cute little place but the highlight for us was the skyrail which gave you an incredible view into the rainforest.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message