Opened in 1891, Kuranda’s Scenic Railway lies some 21 miles of picturesque landscape away from Cairns. This popular attraction passes by the breathtaking Barron Falls and equally impressive Stoney Creek Falls. While some travelers lament the dark ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 204 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

cpapasergio

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved the historic train, great staff, good commentary on trip to Kuranda.Skytrain was unique and a very interesting guided walk at the halfway point on way down. Kuranda town was busy with lots of Interesting craft shops to visit, good choice of places to eat. Visited the bird sanctuary and really enjoyed the set up.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Matt A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great trip! Sky rail was AWESOME. I liked it better than the train. Apparently you can pay a little more for a glass bottom sky rail carriage. I didn't know that - I think that would be worth it! My mother and I loved looking at the Ulysses butterflies that were so beautiful blue against the rain forest below. Kuranda was a cool place - but certainly touristy. : Tjapukai was amazing as well. Highly recommended. All in all a fantastic day.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Marilyn S W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved the scenic railway and train ride. Very interesting.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

kedwards01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I was grateful that the tour company contacted us in advance enough so that we could rearrange our tours to make sure that we were able to visit Kuranda. The city itself was kind of overrated but the experience of the train in Gold Class was an unique experience as well as the gondala ride back to Cairns.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Niranjan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A truly great trip with abundance of nature around. The scenic rail treats the tourists like a King and the delicacies offered are superb The Daintrain Tea . The journey itself is rejuvenating and the Kuranda village with its heritage market, village and Barron River walk are simply not to be missed ! The jouney back by Gondola is amazing too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

alan c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The train ride is very scenic and is an interesting experience. Kuranda is a small town filled with small gift shops and galleries and the time there is well spent looking around. While there it is well worthwhile visiting the koala park where you have chance to hold a koala wow. What an experience. The gondola sky rail is brilliant view and exhilarating experience.
All in all great time not to be missed.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Mr K H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Kuranda railway is something that shouldn't be missed. We were impressed to be given a 2 seater bench, rather than have to share. Lots of information was provided and the stations are full of interesting material, as well as lots of 'gifts'. Plenty of time to get a nice lunch at Kuranda before the Skyway down. It's a long way down and we were grateful for the stops one can make to walk around. The leaflet presumes you will go up on the Skyway and down on the train and gave helpful hints for things to look out for - I wished we had found this earlier. An excellent trip.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Jo G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Lovely day out from Cairns : Kuranda is a beautiful village, lots of nice shops and a chance to mix with the locals. Train and cable car were lovely - I personally would have liked to have been booked on a slightly earlier cable car, to let me explore the stops fully, rather than a quick pit-stop, but overall, a great day!

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Curt N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I took the Skyrail up to Kuranda and the Scenic Railway back. The views from the Skyway were awesome. I enjoyed the Gold Class seating, beverages and snacks on the way back to Cairns.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Eileen M K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Having the gold class was a wonderful experience. The railway tour is beautiful and very scenic. The sky rail on the way back down has beautiful views

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

james c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The trip was a success the train was a historic trip up an incredible railway and the town of Kuranda is a cute little place but the highlight for us was the skyrail which gave you an incredible view into the rainforest.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Larry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Enjoyable with a train ride up to Kuranda. The gold class service on the train was well worth it. Kuranda is a small touristy town to walk around. The ride down the mountain on the cableway was fantastic. 7km ride lasted 45 min and over the top of rainforests and gullys all the way down the hill.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

geotherm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was one of the high points of our trip to Australia. If I could have changed one thing, we would have had more time in Kuranda. Other than that, it was great.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Kevin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was an excellent day out. The train was very nostalgic and great fun. The Gold Class was very good too. The village of Kuranda was full of shops and cafes and we enjoyed walking along the trails that surrounded the village. The cable car was enjoyable and gave us a different perspective than the train. The organization of the tour was professionally delivered although being collected over an hour before getting to the train station was a little frustrating as we were not that far away. Overall, a great day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

yumeihou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The 1st day snorkeling and 3rd day Cape Tribulaion were great. Everything was much better than expected, but 2nd day Kuranda village was not as interesting. We got 3 days to spare in Cairns, so this was perfect for us.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Linda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was an amazing 3 days for a very reasonable price. The trip to the GBR alone was worth it. The crew could not have been nice. They made sure that we had a great experience. Don't worry about your swimming abilities. They can ensure that you see it even if you are older, a poor swimmer, or not very strong. The outing to Cape Tribulation was a very long but beautiful day. Loved the beaches and lunch at the resort in the forest. We also loved Kuranda. There was lots of shopping and the Skyrail was amazing. Be sure an get off at the stops and walk the boardwalk into the forest.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Angus T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A good tour well organised. An excellent mixture of culture and scenic views. the village of Kuranda was tatty so don't allocate much time to visit the village

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Margarida A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The high point was the marvelous day at the reef with lots of opportunities to see it from various aspects from boat, snorkeling, helicopter, etc. The train and cable car at Kuranda were also excellent to get a sense of the rain forest. The Cape Tribulation beach was paradise, but the day trip was more tiring due to the long distance covered by bus and many sites visited, but certainly worth it to see many things in a relatively short time!

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Scott H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Nice scenic railway train ride up to Small touristy village of Kuranda, beautiful sky ride back with 2 picturesque syops. Lovely day, especially for train fans. And Kuranda has a hidden Mimi golf spot for those who enjoy that! Rainforest Mimi golf. Fun day for entire family.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Franklin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Gold Class Railway trip up to the Kuranda was great! Comfortable seating, good food and drinks with first-class service.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Pamela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Absolutely fabulous from start to finish. Very exciting and informative, do take the stops on the way up in the cable car as they are very interesting. Loved Kuranda, a couple of amazing galleries and a great lunch.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Mike S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The best part was the helicopter ride to the reef and snorkelling on the reef. Good lunch on the boat. Kuranda Scenic railway and sky rail was a great view of the area. I would have liked to have visited Kuranda but that would have made the day too long since I chose such a tour with some much in it.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

Anne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

These three tours were outstanding and should be done by all. The snorkeling on the reef was the best. Our bus did breakdown at Cape Tribulation but we really enjoyed the extra time at the Beach House and we did receive a refund for the part of the tour we did not get to complete. The shopping in Kuranda was good.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Lorraine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was brilliant from start to finish. Fantastic views from the train going to Kuranda and we had enough time to look around Kuranda and have something to eat and not to rushed before heading to the skyrail for our return journey which was also a really good view despite the rain.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

JB Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very enjoyable trip travelling on the train to Kuranda, only downside is the windows have bars, so very hard to take photos while the train is moving understand this is for safety reasons, trip took about one and half hours, need to buy/take food as train has nothing on it, unless you travel Gold Class. Visited Barron Falls on way up, stopped for about 10mins to take photos, falls were flowing but not gushing as we visited in the dry season. Kuranda is a lovely little town with plenty of places for lunch. We took the circuit walk into the jungle and around the river, took us about one and half hours as we stopped and took photos. We then returned on one of the glass bottom sky rail cars, there are only a few of these and you need to pay extra, which can be done up at Kuranda. All in all a very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message