Half the fun of visiting the quaint mountain town of Kuranda is getting there! Jump aboard the historic scenic railway, ride the skyrail, or hire a car and take a splendid drive through the winding hills from Cairns. Kuranda offers a feast of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 216 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bernard C. D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

My wife and I were picked-up at our hotel Hilton DoubleTree Cairns at the scheduled time of 08:30 and we were then transported by the tour bus to the Kuranda Train Station. The train traveled approximately 26 Km up a mountain with two stops to view the beautiful scenery. When the journey was completed, we had arrived at the small town of Kuranda which has many shops, eateries and small zoos to cater to tourists. The return trip to the base of the mountain was managed by a gondola ride which afforded great views of the rainforest and valleys. We would highly recommend the experience.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Lesley H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A great experience with running commentary which was interesting. Disappointed we did not get our souvenirs as promised at the end of the train ride. Kuranda village was interesting and we would have liked more time there. 2 hours up on the train did not give us enough time to go to all the animal parks, eat AND look in the shops. The trip back in the cable car was awesome!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Rodie Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a fabulous tour package. Down Under Dive was outstanding in their professionalism, friendliness, organization and their diligence to our safety. The Great Barrier Reef was the highlight of our trip to Australia. The trip to Kuranda was excellent and loved the train but loved the Sky train even more. Excellent day. The rain forest and Cape Tribulation was equally pleasing. Great package. Love it.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Judy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

If you are not interested in shopping in Kuranda, there are lovely walking trails through the rainforest.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

martin.aizlewood

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The trip was brilliant, from the train journey up to Kuranda to the Rainforestation and the cable car ride back. Everything was so well organised and all that we have come to expect from a Viator excursion. Excellent day out

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

hamokmonky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent, and well organized. Had no problems with any part of the trip. Would have enjoyed more time in Kuranda but I know that scheduling is somewhat up to the train and skyrail and not so much the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

jeanievan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Who doesnt like a Super Saver? This was a good value for three days of snorkeling and diving, visiting a mountain village via train for some hiking, shopping, and Australia meat pies or any other cuisine that may interest you, and visiting a wildlife sanctuary and the Daintree National Park. Talk about diversity!
The snorkeling and diving adventure was on board the beautiful Evolution that had 60 to 70 clients on board. Be sure to take your sea sick pills as the trip out to the reef and back was very challenging for many on the boat. We anchored at two locations for diving and/or snorkeling for 2 to 2 ½ hours at each reef. Make sure you bring or rent an underwater camera, as the coral and fish were too fabulous not to be captured. A nice seafood lunch was served and there was plenty of room to move between decks. We took an optional helicopter ride along the Great Barrier Reef. If a helicopter ride is on your bucket list, this is definitely the place to do it. Just WOW!
We took the 2-hour Kuranda Scenic Railway to the rainforest village of Kuranda. It was a train journey that will take you back to Australias past. This was an unguided day, so aside from your departure times, you will be on your own to explore. Kuranda is extremely tourist oriented with shops, galleries, and restaurants. We opted to hike for 2 hours, and spent an hour in the village for lunch. We caught the Sky Tram back which facilitated a birds eye view of the rainforest canopy. Take the opportunity to take a walk at each of the transfer stations going down stunning views of the waterfall.
The last tour took us to Port Douglas Wildlife Habitat where we saw birds, koalas, kangaroos, and so much more! This alone was worth the price. We visited Mossman Gorge lots of beautiful photo opportunities and journeyed up to Cape Tribulation for lunch and time on one of the most beautiful beaches. Another highlight was the boat trip on the Daintree River for crocodile spotting.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

rachel.hoy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

it was a busy and long day but I thoroughly enjoyed myself. Hastings Reef was incredible and the Helicopter out was stunning. I will say that this is a great trip if you only have a day but if you have a little longer I would do Kuranda as a seperate day trip. You don't really have the time to explore with only around 30mins before you have to leave for the sky rail.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

Walter A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We skipped the first part as the weather was a bit touchy and we were tired after the flight from Sydney. Kuranda trip was all day and very enjoyable. It's worth the time. A stop at Rainforest Station was great and was reasonable. Sky Rail ride was very nice. Cape Tribulation makes for a very long day and our driver/guide was first rate. The stop near Port Douglas at the bird station was very good. Again, it's a long day but enjoyable.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Prabhat P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The reef gets 7 stars out of 5! lovely cruise, good lunch although veggie options could be more accessible, friendly crew, spectacular snorkelling...the kuranda day was slightly do-it-yourself kind but we enjoyed the aboriginal centre in Kuranda and the cable ride Kuranda is a commercial venture though and day 3 was again 7 stars out of 5 daintree, mossman gorge. The number of crocs we saw and the boat trip to see them will be lasting memories. Also loved the conservation attitude of the boat guide. Our guide for the day Daniel was super cool. Friendly and informative. Thank you all.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Tom C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic trip to Cairns! Fantastic Experiences! Fantastic Value!
We started our package with the reef trip. We travelled in style in an almost-new ship to the Great Barrier Reef with friendly staff and good food. Our two dives had us seeing an abundance of reef fish plus sharks and rays! Our ride back was entertaining and, again, we were well-fed.
Our second day was the scenic railway trip to Kuranda. We were whisked up into the mountains on a beautiful old train with beautiful scenery to the quaint town of Kuranda. We decided to spend the extra money to go into the Koala gardens and it was worth every penny to have the experience to hold and cuddle our little koala, Hazel! She was very cute! We returned from Kuranda on the Sky Rail and, even for this height averse person, the views were breathtaking. Take the time to get off on the two trnasfers and walk around. The views of the falls are worth the extra time!
The last day was packed with fun and excitement! There is a LOT to see on this day so do not expect to dawdle! Our guide, Russell was very good about keeping us on schedule without being intrusive and I never felt rushed. We knew from previous reviews to expect to be through the Port Douglas Wildlife Habitat by 9:15am. While it sounds early we had plenty of time to experience some amazing animals. We got to pet wallabies and kangaroos while giant storks and emus waddled past. We got to see the oddly entrancing cassowary and, I have to say, you will never see anything quite like it and I still have a hard time believing it actually exists. We then toured Mossman's Gorge before having lunch in the Daintree Rainforest. The food was surprisingly well prepared I had a perfectly grilled steak. After lunch we strolled on Capr Tribulation beach for a short time before heading back to a crocodile river cruise where we saw several crocodiles and all the beauty of Daintree!
It was a magical day that capped off an amazing experience for our family!

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

cpapasergio

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved the historic train, great staff, good commentary on trip to Kuranda.Skytrain was unique and a very interesting guided walk at the halfway point on way down. Kuranda town was busy with lots of Interesting craft shops to visit, good choice of places to eat. Visited the bird sanctuary and really enjoyed the set up.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Travis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent views on the skyrail! The rainforest was great. The history behind the Kuranda train was stirring, but don't expect to get a lot of pjhotos.

Doing what: Skyrail Rainforest Cableway Day Trip from Cairns

Matt A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great trip! Sky rail was AWESOME. I liked it better than the train. Apparently you can pay a little more for a glass bottom sky rail carriage. I didn't know that - I think that would be worth it! My mother and I loved looking at the Ulysses butterflies that were so beautiful blue against the rain forest below. Kuranda was a cool place - but certainly touristy. : Tjapukai was amazing as well. Highly recommended. All in all a fantastic day.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

kedwards01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I was grateful that the tour company contacted us in advance enough so that we could rearrange our tours to make sure that we were able to visit Kuranda. The city itself was kind of overrated but the experience of the train in Gold Class was an unique experience as well as the gondala ride back to Cairns.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Niranjan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A truly great trip with abundance of nature around. The scenic rail treats the tourists like a King and the delicacies offered are superb The Daintrain Tea . The journey itself is rejuvenating and the Kuranda village with its heritage market, village and Barron River walk are simply not to be missed ! The jouney back by Gondola is amazing too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

alan c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The train ride is very scenic and is an interesting experience. Kuranda is a small town filled with small gift shops and galleries and the time there is well spent looking around. While there it is well worthwhile visiting the koala park where you have chance to hold a koala wow. What an experience. The gondola sky rail is brilliant view and exhilarating experience.
All in all great time not to be missed.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Mr K H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Kuranda railway is something that shouldn't be missed. We were impressed to be given a 2 seater bench, rather than have to share. Lots of information was provided and the stations are full of interesting material, as well as lots of 'gifts'. Plenty of time to get a nice lunch at Kuranda before the Skyway down. It's a long way down and we were grateful for the stops one can make to walk around. The leaflet presumes you will go up on the Skyway and down on the train and gave helpful hints for things to look out for - I wished we had found this earlier. An excellent trip.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Jo G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Lovely day out from Cairns : Kuranda is a beautiful village, lots of nice shops and a chance to mix with the locals. Train and cable car were lovely - I personally would have liked to have been booked on a slightly earlier cable car, to let me explore the stops fully, rather than a quick pit-stop, but overall, a great day!

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Curt N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I took the Skyrail up to Kuranda and the Scenic Railway back. The views from the Skyway were awesome. I enjoyed the Gold Class seating, beverages and snacks on the way back to Cairns.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

james c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The trip was a success the train was a historic trip up an incredible railway and the town of Kuranda is a cute little place but the highlight for us was the skyrail which gave you an incredible view into the rainforest.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Larry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Enjoyable with a train ride up to Kuranda. The gold class service on the train was well worth it. Kuranda is a small touristy town to walk around. The ride down the mountain on the cableway was fantastic. 7km ride lasted 45 min and over the top of rainforests and gullys all the way down the hill.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

geotherm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was one of the high points of our trip to Australia. If I could have changed one thing, we would have had more time in Kuranda. Other than that, it was great.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Kevin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was an excellent day out. The train was very nostalgic and great fun. The Gold Class was very good too. The village of Kuranda was full of shops and cafes and we enjoyed walking along the trails that surrounded the village. The cable car was enjoyable and gave us a different perspective than the train. The organization of the tour was professionally delivered although being collected over an hour before getting to the train station was a little frustrating as we were not that far away. Overall, a great day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

yumeihou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The 1st day snorkeling and 3rd day Cape Tribulaion were great. Everything was much better than expected, but 2nd day Kuranda village was not as interesting. We got 3 days to spare in Cairns, so this was perfect for us.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message