Half the fun of visiting the quaint mountain town of Kuranda is getting there! Jump aboard the historic scenic railway, ride the skyrail, or hire a car and take a splendid drive through the winding hills from Cairns. Kuranda offers a feast of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 202 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tom C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic trip to Cairns! Fantastic Experiences! Fantastic Value!
We started our package with the reef trip. We travelled in style in an almost-new ship to the Great Barrier Reef with friendly staff and good food. Our two dives had us seeing an abundance of reef fish plus sharks and rays! Our ride back was entertaining and, again, we were well-fed.
Our second day was the scenic railway trip to Kuranda. We were whisked up into the mountains on a beautiful old train with beautiful scenery to the quaint town of Kuranda. We decided to spend the extra money to go into the Koala gardens and it was worth every penny to have the experience to hold and cuddle our little koala, Hazel! She was very cute! We returned from Kuranda on the Sky Rail and, even for this height averse person, the views were breathtaking. Take the time to get off on the two trnasfers and walk around. The views of the falls are worth the extra time!
The last day was packed with fun and excitement! There is a LOT to see on this day so do not expect to dawdle! Our guide, Russell was very good about keeping us on schedule without being intrusive and I never felt rushed. We knew from previous reviews to expect to be through the Port Douglas Wildlife Habitat by 9:15am. While it sounds early we had plenty of time to experience some amazing animals. We got to pet wallabies and kangaroos while giant storks and emus waddled past. We got to see the oddly entrancing cassowary and, I have to say, you will never see anything quite like it and I still have a hard time believing it actually exists. We then toured Mossman's Gorge before having lunch in the Daintree Rainforest. The food was surprisingly well prepared I had a perfectly grilled steak. After lunch we strolled on Capr Tribulation beach for a short time before heading back to a crocodile river cruise where we saw several crocodiles and all the beauty of Daintree!
It was a magical day that capped off an amazing experience for our family!

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

cpapasergio

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved the historic train, great staff, good commentary on trip to Kuranda.Skytrain was unique and a very interesting guided walk at the halfway point on way down. Kuranda town was busy with lots of Interesting craft shops to visit, good choice of places to eat. Visited the bird sanctuary and really enjoyed the set up.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Travis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent views on the skyrail! The rainforest was great. The history behind the Kuranda train was stirring, but don't expect to get a lot of pjhotos.

Doing what: Skyrail Rainforest Cableway Day Trip from Cairns

Matt A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great trip! Sky rail was AWESOME. I liked it better than the train. Apparently you can pay a little more for a glass bottom sky rail carriage. I didn't know that - I think that would be worth it! My mother and I loved looking at the Ulysses butterflies that were so beautiful blue against the rain forest below. Kuranda was a cool place - but certainly touristy. : Tjapukai was amazing as well. Highly recommended. All in all a fantastic day.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

kedwards01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I was grateful that the tour company contacted us in advance enough so that we could rearrange our tours to make sure that we were able to visit Kuranda. The city itself was kind of overrated but the experience of the train in Gold Class was an unique experience as well as the gondala ride back to Cairns.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Niranjan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A truly great trip with abundance of nature around. The scenic rail treats the tourists like a King and the delicacies offered are superb The Daintrain Tea . The journey itself is rejuvenating and the Kuranda village with its heritage market, village and Barron River walk are simply not to be missed ! The jouney back by Gondola is amazing too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

alan c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The train ride is very scenic and is an interesting experience. Kuranda is a small town filled with small gift shops and galleries and the time there is well spent looking around. While there it is well worthwhile visiting the koala park where you have chance to hold a koala wow. What an experience. The gondola sky rail is brilliant view and exhilarating experience.
All in all great time not to be missed.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Mr K H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Kuranda railway is something that shouldn't be missed. We were impressed to be given a 2 seater bench, rather than have to share. Lots of information was provided and the stations are full of interesting material, as well as lots of 'gifts'. Plenty of time to get a nice lunch at Kuranda before the Skyway down. It's a long way down and we were grateful for the stops one can make to walk around. The leaflet presumes you will go up on the Skyway and down on the train and gave helpful hints for things to look out for - I wished we had found this earlier. An excellent trip.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Jo G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Lovely day out from Cairns : Kuranda is a beautiful village, lots of nice shops and a chance to mix with the locals. Train and cable car were lovely - I personally would have liked to have been booked on a slightly earlier cable car, to let me explore the stops fully, rather than a quick pit-stop, but overall, a great day!

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Curt N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I took the Skyrail up to Kuranda and the Scenic Railway back. The views from the Skyway were awesome. I enjoyed the Gold Class seating, beverages and snacks on the way back to Cairns.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

james c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The trip was a success the train was a historic trip up an incredible railway and the town of Kuranda is a cute little place but the highlight for us was the skyrail which gave you an incredible view into the rainforest.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Larry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Enjoyable with a train ride up to Kuranda. The gold class service on the train was well worth it. Kuranda is a small touristy town to walk around. The ride down the mountain on the cableway was fantastic. 7km ride lasted 45 min and over the top of rainforests and gullys all the way down the hill.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

geotherm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was one of the high points of our trip to Australia. If I could have changed one thing, we would have had more time in Kuranda. Other than that, it was great.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Kevin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was an excellent day out. The train was very nostalgic and great fun. The Gold Class was very good too. The village of Kuranda was full of shops and cafes and we enjoyed walking along the trails that surrounded the village. The cable car was enjoyable and gave us a different perspective than the train. The organization of the tour was professionally delivered although being collected over an hour before getting to the train station was a little frustrating as we were not that far away. Overall, a great day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

yumeihou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The 1st day snorkeling and 3rd day Cape Tribulaion were great. Everything was much better than expected, but 2nd day Kuranda village was not as interesting. We got 3 days to spare in Cairns, so this was perfect for us.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Linda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was an amazing 3 days for a very reasonable price. The trip to the GBR alone was worth it. The crew could not have been nice. They made sure that we had a great experience. Don't worry about your swimming abilities. They can ensure that you see it even if you are older, a poor swimmer, or not very strong. The outing to Cape Tribulation was a very long but beautiful day. Loved the beaches and lunch at the resort in the forest. We also loved Kuranda. There was lots of shopping and the Skyrail was amazing. Be sure an get off at the stops and walk the boardwalk into the forest.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We purchased the 4-park pass and others who do so should be aware that the parks are not co-located. Rainforest Station and the Butterfly Sanctuary are close together in Kuranda while the Wildlife Habitat is about an hour north of Cairns and the wildlife dome is on top of the Reef Casino in downtown Cairns. That said, all the parks were clean and the critters appeared to be well cared for.
The aborigine exhibitions and duck boat ride at Rainforest Station were well worth the price.
At the butterfly sanctuary, the butterflies were quite beautiful, swirling around visitors in swarms and readily landing on bright clothing. There's a little café next door that serves an excellent aussie burger.
The wildlife habitat was fairly large - My wife and I spent 4 or 5 hours there.

Doing what: Australian Butterfly Sanctuary

Angus T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A good tour well organised. An excellent mixture of culture and scenic views. the village of Kuranda was tatty so don't allocate much time to visit the village

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Margarida A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The high point was the marvelous day at the reef with lots of opportunities to see it from various aspects from boat, snorkeling, helicopter, etc. The train and cable car at Kuranda were also excellent to get a sense of the rain forest. The Cape Tribulation beach was paradise, but the day trip was more tiring due to the long distance covered by bus and many sites visited, but certainly worth it to see many things in a relatively short time!

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Scott H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Nice scenic railway train ride up to Small touristy village of Kuranda, beautiful sky ride back with 2 picturesque syops. Lovely day, especially for train fans. And Kuranda has a hidden Mimi golf spot for those who enjoy that! Rainforest Mimi golf. Fun day for entire family.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Franklin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Gold Class Railway trip up to the Kuranda was great! Comfortable seating, good food and drinks with first-class service.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Pamela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Absolutely fabulous from start to finish. Very exciting and informative, do take the stops on the way up in the cable car as they are very interesting. Loved Kuranda, a couple of amazing galleries and a great lunch.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Mike S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The best part was the helicopter ride to the reef and snorkelling on the reef. Good lunch on the boat. Kuranda Scenic railway and sky rail was a great view of the area. I would have liked to have visited Kuranda but that would have made the day too long since I chose such a tour with some much in it.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

Anne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

These three tours were outstanding and should be done by all. The snorkeling on the reef was the best. Our bus did breakdown at Cape Tribulation but we really enjoyed the extra time at the Beach House and we did receive a refund for the part of the tour we did not get to complete. The shopping in Kuranda was good.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Lorraine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was brilliant from start to finish. Fantastic views from the train going to Kuranda and we had enough time to look around Kuranda and have something to eat and not to rushed before heading to the skyrail for our return journey which was also a really good view despite the rain.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message