Cairns & the Tropical North ATTRACTIONS See all

Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park

Experience the vibrant music, dance, legends and food of Australia's indigenous people at the Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park. There’s a choice of full-day and half-day tours, or you can visit at night to enjoy a full buffet dinner and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 46 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Martin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Aboriginal shows tremendous .Food was good.train ride OK.But the cable car was out of this world.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Liya H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A must do tour in Cairns. Learn aboriginal culture at the Tjapukai Culture Park. Enjoy a birdeye view of the tableland from skyrail all the way to Karunda . If you have toured to the waterfalls, it gives you a whole view of the those waterfalls. Have a rest on the scenic train and admire the beautiful view of mountain at the same time on your way back. You might luckily come across some lovely children cheering good-bye and nice old lady waving to you.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Matt A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great trip! Sky rail was AWESOME. I liked it better than the train. Apparently you can pay a little more for a glass bottom sky rail carriage. I didn't know that - I think that would be worth it! My mother and I loved looking at the Ulysses butterflies that were so beautiful blue against the rain forest below. Kuranda was a cool place - but certainly touristy. : Tjapukai was amazing as well. Highly recommended. All in all a fantastic day.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Karen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was really touristy, but really fun! You get picked up from your hotel and really have fun learning about the Aboriginal culture. They actually paint your face and try to get you involved through in their dancing and during the fire-making ceremony. All of the staff were incredibly friendly and happy to be in pictures with you. Gift shop was also very interesting and lovely!

Doing what: Aboriginal Cultural Tjapukai by Night Tour including Buffet Dinner

Linda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was a fantastic tour. The Tjapukai Cultural Center was my favorite. The Skyrail gave us great views. The train ride back down to Cairns was really quite slow. Otherwise, it was a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Linda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was an excellent tour. We were guided through all areas of the aboriginal culture. People were very friendly, funny and informative. Beautiful facility with advanced technology.

Doing what: Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park Entry Ticket

Sandra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This day long excursion was excellent. The Tjapukai Museum offered a variety of programs, then the Skyrail and Kuranda were self-guided, and the final rail trip home was comfortable with excellent narration. It was a great way to see the area and learn about its history, both ancient and more recent.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Judith B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was great - bus driver was very funny on the ride home. Enjoyed the free time to walk around and tour at my pace. The only thing I did not think was great was the lunch provided at the Aboriginal center. Not enough people to have the buffet that was listed and only had 15 minutes to eat. Activities were wonderful.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Yvonne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great experience! The staff were attentive and helpful, the meal was great, The Aboriginal dancing and storytelling were fantastic and inclusive. I learned lots, only to realise how little I know. I highly recommend this evening.

Doing what: Aboriginal Cultural Tjapukai by Night Tour including Buffet Dinner

Karen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Nice day trip to Kuranda. Aboriginal show was informative and entertaining. Skyrail trip wa s thrilling and Barron Falls were spectacular with all the rain the week before. Take bug spray

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Neil T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The views both on the journey up via the Scenic railway and back down via the skyrail were spectacular and were both enjoyable journeys. Rainforeststation was also well worth the visit with a nice little wildlife section, an educational trip into the surrounding area on the army ducks and very interesting displays of aboriginal culture and dance.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The trip was well worthwhile as the final attraction when combined with the Tjapukai Cultural Centre and Skyrail trip over the rainforest.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

investments

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We learned a lot about the Tjapukai tribe. When we confirmed the tour and were told that we had only 3 hrs I didn't think it would be enough. But it was. They are very organized in a very relaxed way. It was good to find out the stories of the people of Australia and was very interactive. We learned about the didgeridoo and how to play it. We were taught how to throw the spears and the boomerang. Through dance we were told the story of their people. Great way to start our trip.

Doing what: Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park Entry Ticket

Ingrid W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Absolutely fabulous. This trip is great fun. Really enjoyed all the Aboriginal stories, music, dance etc. Great meal and a very enjoyable evening. :-)

Doing what: Aboriginal Cultural Tjapukai by Night Tour including Buffet Dinner

Eileen USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

What a wonderful day! The rail trip to Kuranda was so picturesque in the old rail cars and the Skyrail return was a beautiful experience. We are so glad we visited the RainForestation and Wildlife Park and its indigenous animals, holding a koala and feeding the kangaroos and wallabies. Took a ride on an amphibious World War II Army Duck through the rainforest, and experienced Aboriginal culture.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Melissa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This was a fun experience! Learning about the aboriginal culture, watching them perform and make a fire. I was chosen to go up on stage and help make a fire. It was a lot of fun!

Doing what: Aboriginal Cultural Tjapukai by Night Tour including Buffet Dinner

Mona R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Two very interesting places - the aboriginal "village" and Kuranda where there was not enough time to explore because we had to get the train back fairly early - a shame.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Eben F USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Very well organized, great explanation of Tjapukai culture, good show (3 parts to it) and very nice buffet dinner with many options to select from.

Doing what: Aboriginal Cultural Tjapukai by Night Tour including Buffet Dinner

C T United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

We had an absolutely excellent day out and were very looked after. The rail journey was amazing, especially when the train stopped so we could see both ends of the train at the same time on the curved track. The rain forestation was brilliant, good food at lunch time and interesting time spent with an aboriginal group. Cable car ride was very impressive and a touch scary!! Very recommendable indeed. Thank you! Christine

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Anne-Marie S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

An excellent trip. The combination of mountain railway, cable sky rail above the tropical rainforest and then the Aboriginal Centre is probably unique in the world.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

David W United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Well organised very enjoyable day. The visit to the Aboriginal Cultural Centre was a highlight.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Berkley L Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This was a great trip! We loved the cable car through the rainforest and especially enjoyed our time at the aboriginal village. We were thrilled to be able to throw a boomerang, and learned how to throw a spear. The guide we had was first rate.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Patrick P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

A great rail trip! We got a closer look at the forest through the sky rail. We loved the duck tour and the aboriginal dancing! What a great day! I can't believe we packed in so much. I highly recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Wayne M United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

An excellent introduction to the rainforest. The cable car and scenic railway were both wonderful. Kuranda village is your typical tourist town with multiple eating establishments, shops and attractions like the butterfly garden. The aboriginal village visit had its pluses and minuses. Some of the presentations were difficult to hear/understand, though all were very informative and provided insight into various aspects of aboriginal history and culture. The highlight of the aboriginal village visit was the dance performance.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

mike United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

A very pleasant evening with welcome drinks and kangaroo canapés! The main hall has lots of history about the Aboriginal people and some of their more famous members. The dance and shows were quite good although obviously geared for the tourist. The buffet was excellent with a good selection of food and drinks. Certainly worth a visit if you want to see something slightly different.

Doing what: Aboriginal Cultural Tjapukai by Night Tour including Buffet Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message