Cairns -  think islands, beaches, wildlife, rainforests and that reef - is an essential stop on any trans-Australian itinerary. Here's how to cover the best of it in just three days. Day 1: Cuddle Koalas, Walk Through Fire Kick off ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 502 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Clalrbc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My partner and I had a great day on Fitzroy ! It is a nice little island with one resort, crystal clear water and reef beaches. Ferry trip is not too long and very nice when sunny, we have been lucky enough to see a whale ! I strongly recommend booking the activity pass as we noticed that people who paid for the ferry trip only ended up hiring equipment on the island where it seems more expensive. We have been able to use all the snorkeling equipment we needed and took the paddleboards out to go around the island you can use kayaks if preferred. We had a glass bottom boat tour which enabled us to see a turtle, the reef and a lot of fishes. A lunch box was included in the pass, it was really good and fresh! Anyways if you don't want to pay for the pass I am 100 sure you can have a lovely day and you can still relax, do the lighthouse walk or go to different beaches, walks are from 45 minutes to 3 hours return. We also thought the team on the boat was really nice and fun so thanks guys for a good day !

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

Tanja M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great choice of tours and good value for money - if you travel all the way to Port Douglas you might as well go out to the reef 3 times. We went 3 days in a row and it was excellent even though the weather wasn't great. Fantastic crew and awesome experience. Low Isles is perfect for younger kids.

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Sarah O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful island, lots of things to do, equipment in good shape, helpful staff, good lunch snacks

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

raymond_lam98

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a fantastic and amazing tour. The knowledgeable tour guide was friendly and awesome. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Elizabeth C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was an awesome experience. There were many spins on the jet boat but I would have preferred more!! Still, the atmosphere on board was exciting.

Doing what: Cairns Jet Boat Ride

Sheila K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Dinner was fantastic, served family style. I was able to try dishes that I wouldn't order off a menu for example, kangaroo. The aboriginal music and story telling was an added bonus. The atmosphere was romantic.

Doing what: Cairns Flames of the Forest Dining Experience

Eric G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I was so happy that i found this option on the Internet, and had my tours booked before arriving to Australia. We enjoyed the boat and the staff on the boat best on the trip we took out of Port Douglas . We went to the outer barrier reef each day, and we saw different parts of the reef....amazing!

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Karen E L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic glass bottom boat tour - we saw tortoises. A wrap, foccacia sandwich, apple, snack bar, water and juice for lunch. Great rainforest walks and several beaches available. Knowledgeable, friendly staff who love their jobs. 200 people on board but spread out over the island, so you were not over crowded. Skip Green Island Fitzroy is better.

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

Irwin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour operator, Paul, was outstanding.
We have never experienced anything like a walk through a rainforest in the dark
We saw tree kangaroos, bandicoots, bats, possums, platypus platypi? and more.
Paul was entertaining, informative and personable.
The experience was more than worth the price

Doing what: Atherton Tablelands Rainforest Wildlife Tour by Night

gary h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly highly recommend this trip barrier reef diving class, train ride and cable car thought this cannot be beat third day rain forest saw loads of wildlife and a river sail to see crocs live brilliant thank you.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

ringfort

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a very nice tour! The glass-bottom boat was wonderful! The island is beautiful! The staff members were friendly. I recommend this tour!

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

Jean G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I chose this tour because I have an interest in nature and wildlife and I thought the nocturnal aspect sounded more interesting than just another scenic railway. I was not disappointed. I, my husband, and our 2 teen sons had a great time. We saw wallabies, megabats, microbats, tree kangaroos, platypus, many birds, 2 kinds of possums, bandicoots, giant huntsman spiders, a leaf-tailed gecko, green ants, and more. We also learned a lot about various plants and the landscape and history of the area, and got to swing on jungle vines. The twisty mountain roads didn't cause problems for anyone in our group and the scenery was lovely. Paul, the guide, was funny and knowledgeable, and dinner was not bad. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Atherton Tablelands Rainforest Wildlife Tour by Night

Mary Ann X

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Worth every dollar. What stood out the most was the story telling by the guides from Down Under that made for rich sightseeing. Met a lot of new people from different countries and enjoyed exchanging stories. The tour was well organized. No delays. Have already recommended to a couple of colleagues.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Prabhat P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Paul was an amazing guide and introduced us to tree ants, wallabies, tree kangaroos, bandicoots, possums, platypus, strangler fig trees and kauri trees 1000 years old!, a beautiful southern sky milky way and all constellations visible...awesome dinner and lovely picnic tea. Memorable day, thank you Paul. My 8 year old sends special thanks for the tarzan style vines and natural swing vine!

Doing what: Atherton Tablelands Rainforest Wildlife Tour by Night

Prabhat P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The reef gets 7 stars out of 5! lovely cruise, good lunch although veggie options could be more accessible, friendly crew, spectacular snorkelling...the kuranda day was slightly do-it-yourself kind but we enjoyed the aboriginal centre in Kuranda and the cable ride Kuranda is a commercial venture though and day 3 was again 7 stars out of 5 daintree, mossman gorge. The number of crocs we saw and the boat trip to see them will be lasting memories. Also loved the conservation attitude of the boat guide. Our guide for the day Daniel was super cool. Friendly and informative. Thank you all.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Walter A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We skipped the first part as the weather was a bit touchy and we were tired after the flight from Sydney. Kuranda trip was all day and very enjoyable. It's worth the time. A stop at Rainforest Station was great and was reasonable. Sky Rail ride was very nice. Cape Tribulation makes for a very long day and our driver/guide was first rate. The stop near Port Douglas at the bird station was very good. Again, it's a long day but enjoyable.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Navanga W Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Pleasant and relaxing tour on the cairns harbour with interesting commentary from the boat's crew on the surroundings. Even spotted some crocodiles! Other than the tea/coffee there were some snacks available as well, which was a pleasant surprise. The Lamingtons especially were really good.

Doing what: Cairns Harbor Cruise with Optional Lunch

Navanga W Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Green island is a small but beautiful island, you can snorkel off the beach on your own. I chose the glass bottom boat option which was a bit disappointing as it lasted only about 20 minutes. However, the seawalker - where you can walk on the ocean floor was just amazing.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns Including Seawalker Helmet Dive

Bernie M

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Breezy so bumpy ride, pleasant bush walking but coral looking a bit sad

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

Geoffrey S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

We were not permitted to do the Seawalker Helmet Dive as my wife is asthmatic although this is under control and she has been snorkelling and scuba diving with no problems. If we had not been honest on the medical form they would have had no reason to suspect she has asthma!

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns Including Seawalker Helmet Dive

panbab

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Dont waste your money complete rip off! This was the only part of a 2 week trip that was a total rip off. The pick-up/transfer was ok but thats where it ended.

We arrived at the BBQ by turning into someones backyard, we felt like this was a scam. No big Aussie BBQ, there was a picnic table set in a carport tent w/sausage, salad, and hamburger buns. Our lighting was the van headlights. Each person got two small sausages to taste, salad no dressing and a bun w/o butter, flimsy paper plates, and you had to eat on a small bench around a campfire for 15 mins before the Hummer ride. The driver/guide had no communication skills and told us he wasnt hired for his cooking. He asked us to sign the liability forms to which he joked wed be signing all of our property over to him. The bathroom was a port-o-potty filled with fire ants.

We were told several times to leave anything valuable in the van before the Hummer ride, just felt weird. The ride was approx 10 minutes, consisted of the driver getting in/out several times to close cattle gates so animals would not get out. This was not a Rainforest Night Adventure. The Hummer was not in good shape my husbands seatbelt didnt work. The driver kept telling us how important it was to wear our seat belts since itd be bumpy and you might hit the roof however, it was ironic that he the driver never put on his belt.

The bus driver was the tour guide for the rest of the night. We were having Billy Tea which was just black tea. You were given a mini cup of tea and a small metal skewer to toast a marshmallow, so cheesy.

Then it was time to get back into the van to drive another 30 mins to feed wild wallabies at a campground that felt like we were trespassing. Then it was a long trip back to town. All in all you were in the van for approximately 3.5 hours of the 4.5 trip.

I wouldnt waste a penny on this excursion. The way it was described is absolutely false advertising.

Doing what: Kuranda Rainforest Night Adventure Tour by Hummer

C C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Paul was wonderfully knowledgeable about the wildlife and culture in this area. We had children with us, and he was particularly helpful with them.

I would recommend Paul and Wait-A-While unconditionally.

CC

Doing what: Atherton Tablelands Rainforest Wildlife Tour by Night

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message