Cairns -  think islands, beaches, wildlife, rainforests and that reef - is an essential stop on any trans-Australian itinerary. Here's how to cover the best of it in just three days. Day 1: Cuddle Koalas, Walk Through Fire Kick off ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 467 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

C C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Paul was wonderfully knowledgeable about the wildlife and culture in this area. We had children with us, and he was particularly helpful with them.

I would recommend Paul and Wait-A-While unconditionally.

CC

Doing what: Atherton Tablelands Rainforest Wildlife Tour by Night

Amanda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a truly amazing experience. Something I have never seen anywhere else and not likely to forget any time soon. The food was delishious. Not a scrap was sent back to the kitchen and all the staff were very pleasant. Highly recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Cairns Flames of the Forest Dining Experience

Ellen K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour itinerary looked great, but it was too windy to kayak to Little Fitzroy on the day we kayaked. Staff was enthusiastic, helpful, and entertaining!

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Sea Kayaking

Viv B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great transfers from Palm Cove, magical setting, excellent storytellers, enjoyed the company at our table. The wine and beer at the table was good with plenty of top ups. Beer, juice and bubbly wine only at meet and greet, which I don't drink. All the food was great although the chicken dish was too spicy for my taste. Just enough food, none left over. Rain on the tent roof while we dined made it even more atmospheric.

Doing what: Cairns Flames of the Forest Dining Experience

Carla R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Fitzroy Island is very pretty! We had a great time but were a bit disappointed that snorkeling is not really possible there because it is too murky. It is a good place for exploring rainforest areas, hiking, sunbathing on Nudey Island, and having a lovely lunch. A great day overall!

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

Carla R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

This was a bit of a strange experience. When compared to the cost, I did not feel it was worth it. The food was fantastic, albeit quite gourmet and perhaps too ritzy for some tastes, but beautifully prepared. We went on a Saturday night but we were not impressed with the guitarist. The atmosphere was nice but it was simply lights strung from the trees. I would not do this tour again in the future.

Doing what: Cairns Flames of the Forest Dining Experience

Le Phung H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Don and #39;t see fishes by glass bottom boat as it was advertised,1 man guided who is also the skipper on crowded boat handling dry fish foods and the whole 25 mins there were 3 fishes appear due to the fish foods..quite unpleasant to relax on the coral beach. Better off to Green Island . Crews r unpleasant

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

Brazzie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic! Adam our tour guide was very informative and safely drove us through some pretty winding roads. Because we were ahead of schedule, he stopped and added a rain forest walk. Because it was a rainy day, we didn't see any wildlife, but the walk was still beautiful. The visit at Wildlife Habitat was great! I got to hold a koala and also feed the wandering kangaroos - little beggars they are. Very happy campers and friendly! But the best part was the Zip Line Adventure - wow! The guys, Lee, Cam, Bill, Brent and James were so much fun! With their wit and encouragement, they got everyone to turn upside down and let go while in the tree tops! Exhilirating! We got to experience a true downpour in a rainforest. Luckily it was warm as we got soaked - but we didn't care! It was thrilling! After all the thrills, we took a nice cruise on the Daintree River - just beautiful. Because it was a cooler rainy day, we only saw one crocodile. But it was still worth it. This is a must do adventure!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest Zipline and Wildlife Habitat Day Trip

Adam S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

absolutely incredible and worth the price. food on the cruise is just for you and your group who came in on the heli. the skydive is an unforgettable experience. you best be seeing the reefs before they are gone. :

Doing what: Cairns Sky Dive, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

Vivek K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Best package and it covered the best parts of the Great Barrier Reef.

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Rebecca M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The ziplining is amazing and lunch is delicious. Wildlife habitat is wonderful and able to hold koala is great experience for my kids. We did not see many crocodiles in the cruise and a bit disappointed, but it is still a nice cruise.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest Zipline and Wildlife Habitat Day Trip

Diane P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great island, really nice people working on the island

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

Diane P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic crew on the cruise and Dundees restaurant was perfect

Doing what: Cairns Sunset Cruise and Optional Dinner

Debbie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a great way to experience the rain forest. 3 trips in one. We saw very large crocodiles and a very rare tree kangaroo. The tour guide was very friendly and informative, and the staff at each location was very friendly.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest Zipline and Wildlife Habitat Day Trip

Terry C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Perfect. Staff were great. Vessel was lovely. Food was amazing. Snorkelling and scuba diving was amazing. A very well organised event.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

kteacherabc123

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely wonderful! We had a fantastic day! Didn and #39;t realize it was such a long drive, but very worth it. Loved the wildlife habitat and getting to hold a koala. Had a blast jungle surfing. Crocodile hunting was fun too. Definitely recommend this trip!!!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest Zipline and Wildlife Habitat Day Trip

Mrs N M S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very pleasant and interesting attraction for all ages.

Doing what: Australian Butterfly Sanctuary

Sigrid S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Unfortunately whether let us down and visibility was terrible for snorkelling and glass bottom boat tour :( Rental equipment was also not the best, but the crew was awesome and island itself lovely. Recommend bringing comfy shoes for longer hiking trips if interested!

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

Melanie P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The experience was amazing, just wish it was for a little longer, could walk a bit further around and some photos whilst walking would have been good too. The operators worked like clockwork, very well organised and professional. Only down side is the price of the photos on a USB stick - ridiculously expensive!!

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns Including Seawalker Helmet Dive

David C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Even though it was overcast and a bit chilly. What an amazing Island. Highly recommended

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

scotts.66

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I would recommend this tour. The animals and scenery were great. The people at the zip line were helpful, nice, and funny.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest Zipline and Wildlife Habitat Day Trip

Kenneth K United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Enjoyed the cruise, although if you have done the harbor cruise previously then I would not recommend this as there is not a lot to see and what there is you have already seen it

Doing what: Cairns Sunset Cruise and Optional Dinner

Kenneth K United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

A nice way to pass a couple of hours, not a lot to see but it is nice a relaxing

Doing what: Cairns Harbor Cruise with Optional Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message