Cairns -  think islands, beaches, wildlife, rainforests and that reef - is an essential stop on any trans-Australian itinerary. Here's how to cover the best of it in just three days. Day 1: Cuddle Koalas, Walk Through Fire Kick off ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 492 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sheila K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Dinner was fantastic, served family style. I was able to try dishes that I wouldn't order off a menu for example, kangaroo. The aboriginal music and story telling was an added bonus. The atmosphere was romantic.

Doing what: Cairns Flames of the Forest Dining Experience

Eric G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I was so happy that i found this option on the Internet, and had my tours booked before arriving to Australia. We enjoyed the boat and the staff on the boat best on the trip we took out of Port Douglas . We went to the outer barrier reef each day, and we saw different parts of the reef....amazing!

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Karen E L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic glass bottom boat tour - we saw tortoises. A wrap, foccacia sandwich, apple, snack bar, water and juice for lunch. Great rainforest walks and several beaches available. Knowledgeable, friendly staff who love their jobs. 200 people on board but spread out over the island, so you were not over crowded. Skip Green Island Fitzroy is better.

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

Irwin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour operator, Paul, was outstanding.
We have never experienced anything like a walk through a rainforest in the dark
We saw tree kangaroos, bandicoots, bats, possums, platypus platypi? and more.
Paul was entertaining, informative and personable.
The experience was more than worth the price

Doing what: Atherton Tablelands Rainforest Wildlife Tour by Night

gary h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly highly recommend this trip barrier reef diving class, train ride and cable car thought this cannot be beat third day rain forest saw loads of wildlife and a river sail to see crocs live brilliant thank you.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

ringfort

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a very nice tour! The glass-bottom boat was wonderful! The island is beautiful! The staff members were friendly. I recommend this tour!

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

Jean G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I chose this tour because I have an interest in nature and wildlife and I thought the nocturnal aspect sounded more interesting than just another scenic railway. I was not disappointed. I, my husband, and our 2 teen sons had a great time. We saw wallabies, megabats, microbats, tree kangaroos, platypus, many birds, 2 kinds of possums, bandicoots, giant huntsman spiders, a leaf-tailed gecko, green ants, and more. We also learned a lot about various plants and the landscape and history of the area, and got to swing on jungle vines. The twisty mountain roads didn't cause problems for anyone in our group and the scenery was lovely. Paul, the guide, was funny and knowledgeable, and dinner was not bad. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Atherton Tablelands Rainforest Wildlife Tour by Night

Navanga W Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Pleasant and relaxing tour on the cairns harbour with interesting commentary from the boat's crew on the surroundings. Even spotted some crocodiles! Other than the tea/coffee there were some snacks available as well, which was a pleasant surprise. The Lamingtons especially were really good.

Doing what: Cairns Harbor Cruise with Optional Lunch

Navanga W Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Green island is a small but beautiful island, you can snorkel off the beach on your own. I chose the glass bottom boat option which was a bit disappointing as it lasted only about 20 minutes. However, the seawalker - where you can walk on the ocean floor was just amazing.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns Including Seawalker Helmet Dive

Bernie M

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Breezy so bumpy ride, pleasant bush walking but coral looking a bit sad

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

Geoffrey S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

We were not permitted to do the Seawalker Helmet Dive as my wife is asthmatic although this is under control and she has been snorkelling and scuba diving with no problems. If we had not been honest on the medical form they would have had no reason to suspect she has asthma!

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns Including Seawalker Helmet Dive

panbab

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Dont waste your money complete rip off! This was the only part of a 2 week trip that was a total rip off. The pick-up/transfer was ok but thats where it ended.

We arrived at the BBQ by turning into someones backyard, we felt like this was a scam. No big Aussie BBQ, there was a picnic table set in a carport tent w/sausage, salad, and hamburger buns. Our lighting was the van headlights. Each person got two small sausages to taste, salad no dressing and a bun w/o butter, flimsy paper plates, and you had to eat on a small bench around a campfire for 15 mins before the Hummer ride. The driver/guide had no communication skills and told us he wasnt hired for his cooking. He asked us to sign the liability forms to which he joked wed be signing all of our property over to him. The bathroom was a port-o-potty filled with fire ants.

We were told several times to leave anything valuable in the van before the Hummer ride, just felt weird. The ride was approx 10 minutes, consisted of the driver getting in/out several times to close cattle gates so animals would not get out. This was not a Rainforest Night Adventure. The Hummer was not in good shape my husbands seatbelt didnt work. The driver kept telling us how important it was to wear our seat belts since itd be bumpy and you might hit the roof however, it was ironic that he the driver never put on his belt.

The bus driver was the tour guide for the rest of the night. We were having Billy Tea which was just black tea. You were given a mini cup of tea and a small metal skewer to toast a marshmallow, so cheesy.

Then it was time to get back into the van to drive another 30 mins to feed wild wallabies at a campground that felt like we were trespassing. Then it was a long trip back to town. All in all you were in the van for approximately 3.5 hours of the 4.5 trip.

I wouldnt waste a penny on this excursion. The way it was described is absolutely false advertising.

Doing what: Kuranda Rainforest Night Adventure Tour by Hummer

C C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Paul was wonderfully knowledgeable about the wildlife and culture in this area. We had children with us, and he was particularly helpful with them.

I would recommend Paul and Wait-A-While unconditionally.

CC

Doing what: Atherton Tablelands Rainforest Wildlife Tour by Night

Amanda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a truly amazing experience. Something I have never seen anywhere else and not likely to forget any time soon. The food was delishious. Not a scrap was sent back to the kitchen and all the staff were very pleasant. Highly recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Cairns Flames of the Forest Dining Experience

Monica S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour
Friendly tour people, excellent food
The jungle surfing is so much fun
The river cruise was very informative
Definitely worth the money

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest Zipline and Wildlife Habitat Day Trip

Tom C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic trip to Cairns! Fantastic Experiences! Fantastic Value!
We started our package with the reef trip. We travelled in style in an almost-new ship to the Great Barrier Reef with friendly staff and good food. Our two dives had us seeing an abundance of reef fish plus sharks and rays! Our ride back was entertaining and, again, we were well-fed.
Our second day was the scenic railway trip to Kuranda. We were whisked up into the mountains on a beautiful old train with beautiful scenery to the quaint town of Kuranda. We decided to spend the extra money to go into the Koala gardens and it was worth every penny to have the experience to hold and cuddle our little koala, Hazel! She was very cute! We returned from Kuranda on the Sky Rail and, even for this height averse person, the views were breathtaking. Take the time to get off on the two trnasfers and walk around. The views of the falls are worth the extra time!
The last day was packed with fun and excitement! There is a LOT to see on this day so do not expect to dawdle! Our guide, Russell was very good about keeping us on schedule without being intrusive and I never felt rushed. We knew from previous reviews to expect to be through the Port Douglas Wildlife Habitat by 9:15am. While it sounds early we had plenty of time to experience some amazing animals. We got to pet wallabies and kangaroos while giant storks and emus waddled past. We got to see the oddly entrancing cassowary and, I have to say, you will never see anything quite like it and I still have a hard time believing it actually exists. We then toured Mossman's Gorge before having lunch in the Daintree Rainforest. The food was surprisingly well prepared I had a perfectly grilled steak. After lunch we strolled on Capr Tribulation beach for a short time before heading back to a crocodile river cruise where we saw several crocodiles and all the beauty of Daintree!
It was a magical day that capped off an amazing experience for our family!

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Todd K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Brilliant. Everything ran smoothly and on time. Tours were super organised, fun and interesting. A truly wonderful experience, could not have asked for better!

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Kathleen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Such a fun adventure!! So much was packed into one day! Highly recommended. We had 3 kids aged 9-10 in the group, and they loved every bit of it, no boredom on this trip!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest Zipline and Wildlife Habitat Day Trip

Kathleen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Couldn't be happier with this 3-day pass. It was our first trip to the Great Barrier Reef, and this enabled us to sample 3 different boats and itineraries. We did the big boat to the anchored barge at the outer barrier reef the first day, the smaller boat Poseidon to three other outer barrier reef locations the second day, and the catamaran sailboat to the Low Isles the last day. We spaced each trip over the week in Port Douglas. Not for people who get seasick. I personally preferred Poseidon, as it had fewer people and those aboard were more adventuresome types. This was my 10-yr olds first time snorkeling, and he loved all three trips!

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Patricia A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Super experience and wonderful food!

Doing what: Cairns Flames of the Forest Dining Experience

Raymond United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip was incredible. The savings booking the three events together was very significient. The entire experience from the beginning to the end was professional, enjoyable, and certainly woth the money.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Ellen K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour itinerary looked great, but it was too windy to kayak to Little Fitzroy on the day we kayaked. Staff was enthusiastic, helpful, and entertaining!

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Sea Kayaking

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message