Cairns, with its islands, beaches, wildlife, rain forests, and that reef, is an essential stop on any Australian itinerary. Here's how to cover the best of it in just three days. Day 1: Explore the Town and Walk Through Fire Spend an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 522 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kristina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had an awesome time on Fitzroy Island. We just rode the ferry over for the day and that was more than enough time for us to explore and enjoy the island. We started with the hike to the Summit, which took us just under 2 hours to complete roundtrip with several stops to catch our breath and take in the views. The 90 degree weather and insane humidity definitely tested us but the hike was worth it for the vistas that you were rewarded with at the top. We spent the rest of our day enjoying the extras that were included with our passes -- glass-bottom boat tour, paddle boards, and snorkel gear -- and just relaxing on the beach. Great little day trip and the ferry crossing is beautiful!

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

Ed

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Overall it was a great experience. We have been zip lining four time in various locations and this was our favorite. The staff was funny and informative.
The wild life habitat was great but a bit rushed since we only had an hour.
The river cruise was beautiful.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest Zipline and Wildlife Habitat Day Trip

Rodie Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a fabulous tour package. Down Under Dive was outstanding in their professionalism, friendliness, organization and their diligence to our safety. The Great Barrier Reef was the highlight of our trip to Australia. The trip to Kuranda was excellent and loved the train but loved the Sky train even more. Excellent day. The rain forest and Cape Tribulation was equally pleasing. Great package. Love it.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Janette H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We found this trip great. It was so good being able to see so many endangered animals. Paul was so good at spotting them. Thank you

Doing what: Atherton Tablelands Rainforest Wildlife Tour by Night

Melissa N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Friendly staff and amazing experience

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

R C K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour with very knowledgeable guide. We saw a lot of animals and enjoyed the experience.

Doing what: Atherton Tablelands Rainforest Wildlife Tour by Night

Patricia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

AMAZING NIGHT GREAT FOOD AND ENTERAINMENT GREAT SERVICE A MUST DO

Doing what: Cairns Flames of the Forest Dining Experience

Eduardo F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is wow experience when it comes to visit the Daintree Rainforest. Best way to explore it combining amazing views with great fun. I and #39;d remove the stop at the zoo. The zoo is very basic and nothing out of the ordinary. The crocodile watching boat offers great view and pretty cool experience!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest Zipline and Wildlife Habitat Day Trip

Nigel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience. Very professional but friendly staff, from meeting us off the cruise ship right through to our pilot. The views above the rainforest were good but amazing of the Great Barrier Reef - so glad we did this ride.

Doing what: Cairns Shore Excursion: Great Barrier Reef and Rainforest Helicopter Tours

David L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an amazing experience for us. The food was delicious, the staff very attentive and the Aboriginal story mesmerising. Highly recommend this adventure into Aboriginal culture.

Doing what: Cairns Flames of the Forest Dining Experience

victoria r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

an absolute MUST for any traveller.... the food was amazing and the whole experience enchanting.

Doing what: Cairns Flames of the Forest Dining Experience

Mitche227

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing adventure, Great dinner, lovely setting and wonderful story telling. A must do event

Doing what: Cairns Flames of the Forest Dining Experience

Geof W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this adventure. Being mature in years and not being able to swim raised many areas of concern but those concerns were addressed. A couple of fellow travellers suggested the option of using the lifebuoy which one of the crew towed with 2 or 4 being able to hold onto while snorkelling. The day we went the water was quite calm and the weather fantastic making the day and viewing very enjoyable. Unfortunately while stationary a number of fellow travellers got seasick which we had taken tablets an hour before and again 5 hours later. those tablets are also able to be purchased on board but are best taken an hour before the trip and repeated later. Salad options without eating too much made for a very good day out.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Masaya

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This is a tour to watch Australian creatures in their natural living situation.
We were able to watch many including platypus, tree kangaroo, fruit bat, possum, snake surprisingly without trouble owing to our wonderful guide.
The tour includes dinner at a local cozy restaurant that was fine too.
The tour started with picking up of us at our hotel, and ended with dropping us just in front of our hotel.

Doing what: Atherton Tablelands Rainforest Wildlife Tour by Night

Valerie J

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

The Quicksilver and SilverSonic tours were the best. The Low Isles Tour was unfortunately hardly worth raving about - murky waters and very little fish to see. The Quicksilver catamaran to the Pontoon was fantastic - lots to do and see. The SilverSonic tour went to 3 snorkel/dive sites to be honest, only the last site Boomaderry had a ton of fish and was a really memorable experience, the other 2 sites had plenty of coral but very little fish that I spotted.

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Ian P

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Good to purchase before travelling but no information when booking that the pass only accesses one group of providers. Fortunately, one of the trips I was interested in was available. However, it appears that trips should have been booked before we arrived in Cairns. This was not made clear at time of purchase

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

mariaskjerdingstad

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

The boat trip was okay, but people have ruined the reef at the spots they went to, so if its the snorkelling or diving you are after, go with a smaller boat. And another disappointment, the dive is not included, even though it is on the list of included stuff. Kuranda was the worst tourist trap I have ever seen, we walked in and out in an hour. The guide were rushing all the day when we went to Cape Tribulation, which ruined the experience a bit. Rent a car instead, and see Cape Tribulation and Daintree for yourself. And go with a smaller boat to see the reef.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Clalrbc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My partner and I had a great day on Fitzroy ! It is a nice little island with one resort, crystal clear water and reef beaches. Ferry trip is not too long and very nice when sunny, we have been lucky enough to see a whale ! I strongly recommend booking the activity pass as we noticed that people who paid for the ferry trip only ended up hiring equipment on the island where it seems more expensive. We have been able to use all the snorkeling equipment we needed and took the paddleboards out to go around the island you can use kayaks if preferred. We had a glass bottom boat tour which enabled us to see a turtle, the reef and a lot of fishes. A lunch box was included in the pass, it was really good and fresh! Anyways if you don't want to pay for the pass I am 100 sure you can have a lovely day and you can still relax, do the lighthouse walk or go to different beaches, walks are from 45 minutes to 3 hours return. We also thought the team on the boat was really nice and fun so thanks guys for a good day !

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

Tanja M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great choice of tours and good value for money - if you travel all the way to Port Douglas you might as well go out to the reef 3 times. We went 3 days in a row and it was excellent even though the weather wasn't great. Fantastic crew and awesome experience. Low Isles is perfect for younger kids.

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Sarah O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful island, lots of things to do, equipment in good shape, helpful staff, good lunch snacks

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

raymond_lam98

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a fantastic and amazing tour. The knowledgeable tour guide was friendly and awesome. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message