Tropical North Queensland proves itself as a thrill-seeker’s hotspot with this list of adrenaline-pumping activities. The adventure activities near Cairns include skydiving and jungle surfing among many others, and the best part is that these are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 75 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

DEREK S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Absolutely awesome! I've always wanted to go in a hot air ballon, and this flight was everything I'd hoped for. The sensation of floating over the beautiful landscape in silence was fantastic, it has to be experienced to appreciate it!
When I was dragging myself out of bed at 3.30am I wondered why the hell I'd booked this, but it is 100 worth it - all the ground crew were so friendly and helpful, and our pilot Bob was fantastic.
If you are in Cairns, I'd thoroughly recommend this, you won't regret it.

Doing what: Hot Air Ballooning Tour from Cairns

mark s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

really enjoyed both days of this experience. transportation/shuttle to and from for both days was outstanding ! traveling by train to kuranda was good as the sites from the train and the history shared were wonderful. kuranda itself was an adventure of small open markets and shops along with restaurants and some tourist traps as well. the koala gardens here were fair as i felt the area could have been more spacious for the animals, as the kangaroos and wallabies were sad and somewhat physically unhealthy. however the extra cost to enter and see this was healthy pricey! would liked to have checked out the rainforest and what it entailed while we were here but was overwhelmed with the small markets gong on and the time frame we had to work with. really enjoyed the skyrail as it represented itself well. the second day to the great barrier reef was truly enjoyed by myself and my daughter as we left cairns pier on a incredible big new boat called the evolution. the crew were great and knowledgeable and the boat spacious as they're were many of us onboard. snorkeling on the first part of the trip in the gb reef was awesome and then we travelled to another part of the reef while eating from their buffet which the food served was ok. on the second part of this trip on the boat we took a briefing about scuba diving and we decided to pay the xtra money to do this as we both never experienced this and it turned out be be one of the most enjoyable things i've ever done!! as we pulled up anchor to head back to cairns, we had booked to take the 30 min helicopter flight back with pilot brad whom was really a great person and pilot and rode right on the edge of a storm so this was a great decision to take the helicopter back and stay hi and dry! overall, i would do all of this again and recommend this to all. if i would share one small concern would be that i thought the helicopter flight back to cairns was included in the price i paid for when i booked all of this together back in september, instead of being charged later as we were boarding the evolution.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Bonnie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a terrific 2-day experience! Our Great Barrier Reef experience started off on our gorgeous boat, The Evolution. It was 6 months old, so in pristine condition. The crew - total professionals and all very helpful, fun, and engaging. All the equipment was first rate. The snorkeling was fun and educational - seeing tons of colorful fish and a spectacular reef. Our highlight was seeing an active giant 4-5 foot clam surrounded by colorful fish open and close. We visited two snorkeling sites with a tasty buffet lunch in between site locations bring your own towels and change of clothing - sitting around in wet swimsuits gets cold in an airconditioned boat. We signed up and paid extra for the exciting 30-minute helicopter ride back to Cairns that took us over large parts of the reef and several sandbar islands that we were told people boat out to or helicopter to for picnics or...wedding proposals. We met a young couple on our return to the base who had just returned from such an excursion, the young lady was wearing her new engagement ring and a huge smile. -- The Daintree Rainforest Tour was the next day. We had a two-hour train ride with spectacular scenery up to the Kuranda Village bring water and a hand-fan - the train is un-airconditioned and can be hot. Kuranda Village was very commercial, but fun AND where my daughter struck Hug a Koala off her bucket list. This was the ONE place IN Australia where you can actually pay to HOLD a koala - a very limp, catatonic animal that's the cutest thing you've ever seen/held...human babies come in a distant second. An hour-long Duck Rainforest Tour followed where we learned about the nasties that await clueless tourists wandering off rainforest trails -- wait-a-while vines and the gimpy-gimpy plant - a very poisonous neurotoxin plant. You start the tour in the morning going up the mountain in the train and return in the afternoon in a gondola for a 30-minute ride that flies over the canopy of the rainforest. That was exciting and beautiful and you keep your fingers crossed that the machinery is top-notch because there is NOTHING but rainforest gimpy-gimpy plants and wait-a-while vines for MILES around. We HIGHLY recommend this 2-day tour - both days were fantastic!

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Noelene C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The trip up to Kuranda on the train was pleasant and we enjoyed wandering around Kuranda itself the mango wine tasting was great Cathy, a member of the Golden Drop family from Mareeba was a brilliant sommelier and made the experience fabulous. The market with the locally made/sourced products was better than I had expected - try the home made fudge at the Kuranda Fudge Bar and Tearoom. Hope was great fun and makes all of the myriad flavors herself. Also, don't miss the bat refuge Bat Reach on the short rainforest walk Jumrum Walk, I think. For a small donation you can get up close and personal to these incredible animals, and hear a wealth of interesting information from their carer.
There were plenty of places to have lunch in Kuranda it is an actual small town so you have most facilities available to you.
The cable car ride down was interesting. Don't worry when the car slows to almost a standstill - it's just part of the operation and you're not left hanging for more than a second or two. We chose to come straight down so can't comment on the stopovers.
Day two was great. The Catamaran, Evolution Down Under, was superb and the staff were magnificent - couldn't fault a single one for their personality, and attention to passenger enjoyment, comfort and safety. Although the seas were calm it was a bumpy ride to the reef and there were a few sick people so take your sea sickness tabs with you if you're susceptible. Having booked the 2 day package with helicopter ride back at the end, we were assigned a small lounge room which we shared with only a few other passengers. This was a pleasant surprise! The snorkeling was good and the staff assisted with getting you into the water with a minimum of fuss. For a 50 refundable deposit I was even able to hire prescription goggles which made snorkelling so much better. Flotation devices were available if you wanted a little extra security. We took the semi sub tour which was ok but I don't think I'd bother next time if you can snorkel instead.
Lunch was nice, with lots of fresh salads, prawns, sausages, fish and steak.
Returning to Cairns by helicopter with doors was a real highlight. The pilot took us over parts of the reef before we headed back to the airport about 30 mins in total. Even with a fear of heights I loved it!
From pickup on Day 1 to drop off on Day 2 this whole tour ran like clockwork and, despite the number of people on the boat for the reef trip, everyone was treated as a special person. Can't recommend this tour group more highly.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Rob A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip was absolutely made by our tour guide who had a wealth of information and was very engaging. The trip and the caves were interesting and it was good to see another side of Oz on our short trip to Cairns

Doing what: Chillagoe Caves and Outback Day Trip from Cairns

Jennifer H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The trip was very well organised, we saw a lot in one day without feeling too rushed. The food included was very good. We were picked up in Port Douglas but most of the coach occupants had been picked up at least an hour earlier in Cairns, a very long day for them but just right for us.

Doing what: Daintree and Cape Tribulation Tour from Cairns

Carol W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour to Cooktown via the Daintree National Park was the spectacular highlight of our visit to the Cairns region. Our driver Greg was very knowledgeable about the environment and history of the region. He was also very helpful throughout the day, friendly and interesting, all while driving safely on some quite difficult roads. Morning tea in the forest was really good with fresh scones. Lunch was a choice from a fairly limited menu but the food was well-prepared and tasty. The only low spot was the stop for dinner - the timing was too early due to the constraints of the schedule and the food was pretty ordinary. I realize it's probably the only place to stop and some might want to eat before getting back to Cairns.

Overall it was a great tour, with a lot to see packed into a single day. I learned a lot about the history, culture and natural environment of the area.

Doing what: Cooktown 4WD Adventure Tour from Cairns or Port Douglas

gezkeller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

MY daughter's favorite of ALL the things she did in Sydney and Cairns!
She climbed the Sydney Harbor Bridge, toured the Opera House, did a private tour
of Sydney Taronga Zoo, joined the Blue Mountains and Featherdale Wildlife Park/Zoo,
BUNGY JUMPED and did the MINGY SWING at Cairns, snorkeled the Great BArrier
Reef and guess what, The TULLY RIVER WHITE WATER RAFTING WAS HER
MOST FAVORITE!!! She didn't want it to end!!! FUN FUN FUN!!! A MUST DO!!!

Doing what: Tully River Full-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns including BBQ Lunch

Gjermund Å

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great trip out to the Great Barrier Reef.
Personally I liked the last reef best. Clearer water and more to see.
Fun to dive. However, as a certified diver, I would rather spend several days here. Next time I'm in Cairns maybe.
Personally I thought the snorkeling was nicer than diving. Mostly because this reef was much nicer to look at.
But advise everyone to try diving in any case. It's fun, and opens a whole new world.
Very good lunch.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

Melissa N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

What a great day. Had a fab trip with a great host Angelo who kept us amused and informed about the beautiful area we were rafting through. I bought pictures that their photographer took. A great reminder of our fun day. I would do again if I am in the area a must do while in cairns

Doing what: Tully River Full-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns including BBQ Lunch

Heather M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Worth it! We loved the package - we were well taken care of and exceeded our expectations. The heli ride back from the GBR was the highlight - definitely don't skip that.
If anything, I could have skipped the Rain Forestation - was very crowded and felt rushed and herded through a tourist trap. I read about more adventures through the tableland, and think we might have enjoyed that more.
Overall, I was pleased with the 2-day package and thought it was an excellent value for the cost looking at individual prices. It was nice to not have to spend time while in Cairns sitting at travel agents office and compare prices while there. Having it set up and taken care of ahead of time was the way to go!

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Bruce

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Best day of our lives! The most beautiful place with a wonderful and supportive crew on the boat. Even had prescription goggles for those with strong glasses. Plenty of food and drinks. Worth the price and would do again in a heartbeat. A definite must do in Cairns!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

nayan m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Balloon ride kept going on and on as they couldn't find safe place to land. I was about to miss my flight but the team ensured I am at airport at earliest. Cheers to great effort from them ..

Must do if you are in Cairns

Doing what: Hot Air Ballooning Tour from Cairns

Milts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Diving in the reef was a great experience and seeing the aerial view of the reef thru the helicopter back to Cairns was really just jaw-dropping! Will definitely come back and dive in the Great Barrier Reef!

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Adam C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Unbelievable! I've wanted to skydive for years and never quite got around it to it. I'm so glad my first jump was in Cairns with it's stunning scenery, and amazing weather. The team were an awesome bunch, too. Would do this again in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Reef and Rainforest Tandem Sky Dive in Cairns

Lucy United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide Daniel was lovely. Picked us up from our Port Douglas hotel and drove us to the animal sanctuary. A nice touch when he gave us all a pack of biscuits to enjoy as we visited the sanctuary.
Mossman Gorge its beautiful and many of the tourist were swimming in the Gorge. Daniel gave us a guided tour of the area. He was very knowledgeable.
We then travelled to Cape Tribulation beach. The roads on this section of the journey are very uneven. Take travel sickness medication!
Cape Tribulation was a beautiful clean beach and the hotel where we had dinner was very casual. We both opted for the steak option and were very glad. It was delicious. All of the other food also looked lovely.
We then travelled to the Daintree River where we boarded a crocodile spotting boat,after getting some sweets from Daniel. Again the tour guide on this boat the driver was very knowledgeable and took us to see baby crocodiles and a very large male crocodile. We also saw many other creatures including beautiful blue Kingfisher birds and crabs.
Daniel and the bus were waiting for us at the other side of the river and we then travelled back to Port Douglas. He was also taking groups back to Cairns.
I would recommend taking this tour from Port Douglas if you are staying there as it is quite a long journey from Cairns.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

LEE H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent day out, great places to visit , good time levels out of the bus. Very good driver cum guide and really comfortable mini coach. Highly recommend this a tour to do if in cairns area.

Doing what: Daintree and Cape Tribulation Tour from Cairns

Art D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was the highlight of our time in Cairns. Paul was an excellent guide who is a fount of knowledge and very good at finding animals, both during the day and at night. It was fun to see animals in the wild and not just in the preserves. He showed us an amazing variety of plants and animals. This is an all day adventure that is well worth the time.

Doing what: Atherton Tablelands Rainforest Wildlife Tour by Night

Margaret C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This place was the cheapest place we went to in cairns and it was the best. Excellent value for money.the staff were careing and helpful.

Doing what: Kuranda Rainforestation Nature Park

michele g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was one of the most amazing tours i have had the pleasure to do. I learnt so much at the wildlife habitat and croc cruise. The young zip line instructors were extremely kind and informative. If any tourists are, at any time, in cairns, do it, I'm 60 and it was easy.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest Zipline and Wildlife Habitat Day Trip

Josephine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a smaller ship and at first a little crowded, but very nice. The lunch was excellent and the crew was great! I would definitely go with Cairns Premier Reef and Island Tours on the Ocean Freedom again! It was a better experience than on the larger ships.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

JIAJUN GU G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was actually very fun!! Highly Recommended. You don't want to miss this when you are in Cairns.

Doing what: ATV Quad Bike Tour from Cairns

William O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great, well worth the money. Best tour of the Cairns inlet you'll ever do.

Doing what: Cairns Jet Boat Ride

Margaret R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent tour of the area north of Cairns! The driver was very knowledgable and entertaining. The lunch was great and the scenery was beautiful. This is a good trip.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

idemento28

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Jason was a PHENOMENAL Tour Guide. He really cared about what he was showing us. It was very enjoyable, entertaining, and educational. I highly recommend this tour for anyone staying in Cairns.

Doing what: Daintree and Cape Tribulation Tour from Cairns

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message