Tropical Cairns puts you in the ideal position to enjoy the splendor and beauty of Australia's Great Barrier Reef. The Great Barrier Reef is the largest coral reef on the planet, covering an amazing 2,900 reefs, 900 islands and 2,600km (1,600 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 306 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Amber C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The ship was very spacious and clean with great food and plenty of staff to help. Super organized crew and great snorkel stops!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Karen E L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic snorkeling right off the beach, great glass-bottom boat tour and hiking. Fantastic lunch, too. Worth a second trip. We even saw a shark!

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Cairns

Kenneth Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful and memorable experience, the crew are excellent and take good care of the passengers. The total amount of time for diving is about 2-3 hours, we will definitely want to return for a longer diving experience. The ride in and out is a bit rough due to the sea conditions, the boat itself is quite large, but if you are prone to sea sickness, I would advise bringing medication, the waves are unavoidable, it is the ocean.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Christopher D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

On time and good dive master - pity the other certified divers were not very good. Don't forget to get the boarding pass from the pier centre before going to the boat. Plenty of good food on board.

Doing what: Outer Great Barrier Reef Dive and Snorkel Cruise from Cairns

Henrietta H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing!! Highly recommend! Great staff, the snorkelling was fantastic and the diving was brilliant! A must do!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

Rob A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Learning to Scuba dive at the great barrier reef was fantastic. Our instructor was good fun and very informative. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Learn to Scuba Dive on the Great Barrier Reef: 4-Day PADI Open Water Dive Course

Irwin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The crew was great
We did not dive but the snorkelling was great
The crew were in the water and looked after swimmers from novice to experienced with enthusiasm

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

Jessica R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great day! I loved how you had various marine biologists to snorkel with us at each location to point out various awesome things in the water. We really enjoyed the whole day and met some really great people on board. Highly recommend!!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

Kathleen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Couldn't be happier with this 3-day pass. It was our first trip to the Great Barrier Reef, and this enabled us to sample 3 different boats and itineraries. We did the big boat to the anchored barge at the outer barrier reef the first day, the smaller boat Poseidon to three other outer barrier reef locations the second day, and the catamaran sailboat to the Low Isles the last day. We spaced each trip over the week in Port Douglas. Not for people who get seasick. I personally preferred Poseidon, as it had fewer people and those aboard were more adventuresome types. This was my 10-yr olds first time snorkeling, and he loved all three trips!

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Angela M Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Although a certified diver I went with my son on an introductory dive. It was a lot of fun and the boat was roomy so even if a lot of tourists you could find a place to relax. In the afternoon I chose to stay with son and we did a helicopter ride to see the barrier reef from above or you could take a submarine offered as well at the location the boat stopped.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Carla R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is one of the most fantastic things we have ever done. The snorkeling is beyond compare. The water is crystal clear and the giant clams, tropical fish, and lovely coral are the best I have ever seen. The boat ride was fabulous and beautiful and the food was GREAT. The semi sub ride was a spectacular experience. The birds take up most of the island so do not plan on sunbathing. There is definitely a bit of an odor and many feathers on the sand. The area for the birds is roped off and there are surveillance cameras...so no sneaking over to the bird side! If you love birds like I do, you will enjoy seeing all of the baby chicks. It was a wonderful day that I will always remember!

Doing what: Michaelmas Cay Dive and Snorkel Cruise from Cairns

Sara M N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was fantastic - very charismatic and friendly crew, delicious lunch, and amazing dive sites. We got to see a reef shark and a sea turtle, and got some really cool pictures of us snorkelling. This was my second time with this company and I and #39;d definitely go a third.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Richard W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour great to dive on the reef recommend

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Cruise from Cairns

Maureen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Even though it was the most best day with the sun shining on the coral it still was so beautiful snorkelling, The commentator and the crew had amazing humour Really made my day. Really got everybody laughing and enjoying their trip. Really beautiful comfortable boat

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

rahalroxz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour is amazing ... We did both snockling and diving and absolutely worth it.
Staff if extremely friendly and professional...
Thanks

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Ekta R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing tour! Crew were fantastic from start to finish. They were informative, entertaining, and were very thorough in all their safety checks at all times to ensure that everyone was onboard after both snorkeling/diving sessions. They regularly made announcements to keep us informed of what the plan was for the day and when we needed to be back, etc. The tour was definitely good value for money with the basic snorkeling equipment and lunch with snacks/tea included. The marine biologist onboard was great especially given that I wasn't a confident swimmer, and gave me the confidence and encouragement to get into the water and gave me a short guided tour around the reef so that I could see all the reef and marine life, which was absolutely amazing, and an experience never to be forgotten! The glass bottom boat tour was also great, especially for photo opportunities. On the whole a great day out and a memorable experience! :

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Jason C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Truly an experience you'll remember for the rest of your life. Everything was smooth and on time. We only snorkeled and did a snorkeling tour that was so worth the price. The tour guide was nice and extremely knowledgable. We actually went to Hanauma Bay after the reef because a friend said it was some of the best snorkeling on Hawaii and it didn't even come close to The Great Barrier Reef. Cairns, where we launched from, is a nice little touristy town with a couple things to do to keep you busy if you still have the energy when you get back from swimming.

I read that a number of people had complaints about how crowded the boat was, but in April he boat was maybe, MAYBE, half booked. That left a lot of open water for us to explore.

If I was going to give anyone tips about preparing, the two I would give are
1. If you have ANY motion sickness issues, get something for it or buy the 3 tabs they offer as soon as you get on board. A number of people were extremely ill because the waters near the shore were so choppy. One poor guy went through 6 vomit bags on the way back in.
2. Find out what people who snorkel you can find out online probably do to keep their masks from fogging up. Having to keep stopping to defog your mask will take away from your experience.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Cruise from Cairns

Brittany D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a must do! The staff on board were great and there were so many of them that there was always somebody nearby to help. They took us to 2 reefs and both were absolutely beautiful and breathtaking. I don't think diving is necessary as you can see so much snorkeling but the divers had a great time too!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Rick F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The boat is new and very clean and the staff are fantastic. even though the seas were very rough on the day we totally enjoyed the diving experience. The spots that they go out to on the reef are beautiful and full of colourful fish.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great experience! 10 mis Heliflight 5 hours snorkeling only 250 AUD! YOU SHOULD NEVER MISS THIS.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Omotayo I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

AWESOME EXPERIENCE I did the dive and my sister did the snorkel !!! NO COMPLAINTS, other than some food ran our before everyone was fedWOULD RECOMMEND TO FAMILY AND FIRENDS!!!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

DANIEL

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour muy bien organizado. El primer día sin un guía pero con traslados, viaje en el scenic train almuerzo, recorridos y vuelta en teleférico cronometricamente indicados en el brief. El segundo día se llega a la Barrera de Coral en una embarcación lujosa y con buenos servicios buffet. Incursiones con snorkel y buceo, a elección, muy divertidas. Todo el tour muy recomendable.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Sarah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Simply amazing! First you get to ride in a brand new first class boat out to the reef. Then you get to snorkel or dive in two different locations - the best snorkeling in the world as far as I'm concerned. Even though there are lots of people this tour has everything very organized. It's easy to get away from the crowds once your in the water as well. You get plenty of time to swim with the fishes. Kuranda was also very nice. The scenic railway and riding the gondola were highlights for me!

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

VICKY A R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Crew was first class. Had everything organized between divers and snorklers. The reef was incredible and the food was very good. You could tell that customer service was a high priority for all employees.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

Barry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great snorkeling on the Great Barrier Reef. Very professional crew. Safety conscious.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message