Tropical Cairns puts you in the ideal position to enjoy the splendor and beauty of Australia's Great Barrier Reef. The Great Barrier Reef is the largest coral reef on the planet, covering an amazing 2,900 reefs, 900 islands and 2,600km (1,600 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 326 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tobias G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

GREAT TOUR! We were first time divers and we kind of nervous. They do an excellent job of making you feel very comfortable.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

Bernard C. D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

As the Reef Fleet Terminal was within walking distance of our hotel, Hilton DoubleTree Cairns, we left the hotel shortly before 07:00 to arrive at the terminal by 07:15. Down Under Tours has a counter inside the Tour Building where I got our boarding passes and then proceeded to the boat which is new and very clean. As we wanted to snorkel over the reef, all equipment is provided on board. The trip out to the Great Barrier Reef included two separate stops where passengers were assisted with gear both for snorkeling and for diving. Safety is of the utmost concern by the crew as this was covered in a meeting as well as the introduction of all boat staff who were there to assist all passengers. The views over the two areas of reef were great with many fish to be seen. Lunch was included in the tour package as well as a little entertainment by Elvis. The boat returned to the terminal by about 16:00.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Daniel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Enjoyed the rain forest and the reef
I liked the local drivers, they were very well informed.
We liked the special room on the dive boat. The food was excellent and the crew very helpful, friendly and attentive.
On the helicopter ride, we expected the pilot to give us information as we were flying over the different reefs and thought the helicopter ride would last longer.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Reef Lover United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful tour operator, Downunder Cruise and Dive. All th staff are friendly and nice. I did my first ever scuba dive. Wonderful experience. The weather is not ideal but alll in all a great experience.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Carol J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was great. We snorkeled and the coral was amazing. It was fun looking down on the reef from the boat. On the boat we took the opportunity to sign up for a 1/2 hour guide while snoreling and enjoyed that. The guide would point out things we might have missed otherwise. I would do this tour again.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Noelene C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The trip up to Kuranda on the train was pleasant and we enjoyed wandering around Kuranda itself the mango wine tasting was great Cathy, a member of the Golden Drop family from Mareeba was a brilliant sommelier and made the experience fabulous. The market with the locally made/sourced products was better than I had expected - try the home made fudge at the Kuranda Fudge Bar and Tearoom. Hope was great fun and makes all of the myriad flavors herself. Also, don't miss the bat refuge Bat Reach on the short rainforest walk Jumrum Walk, I think. For a small donation you can get up close and personal to these incredible animals, and hear a wealth of interesting information from their carer.
There were plenty of places to have lunch in Kuranda it is an actual small town so you have most facilities available to you.
The cable car ride down was interesting. Don't worry when the car slows to almost a standstill - it's just part of the operation and you're not left hanging for more than a second or two. We chose to come straight down so can't comment on the stopovers.
Day two was great. The Catamaran, Evolution Down Under, was superb and the staff were magnificent - couldn't fault a single one for their personality, and attention to passenger enjoyment, comfort and safety. Although the seas were calm it was a bumpy ride to the reef and there were a few sick people so take your sea sickness tabs with you if you're susceptible. Having booked the 2 day package with helicopter ride back at the end, we were assigned a small lounge room which we shared with only a few other passengers. This was a pleasant surprise! The snorkeling was good and the staff assisted with getting you into the water with a minimum of fuss. For a 50 refundable deposit I was even able to hire prescription goggles which made snorkelling so much better. Flotation devices were available if you wanted a little extra security. We took the semi sub tour which was ok but I don't think I'd bother next time if you can snorkel instead.
Lunch was nice, with lots of fresh salads, prawns, sausages, fish and steak.
Returning to Cairns by helicopter with doors was a real highlight. The pilot took us over parts of the reef before we headed back to the airport about 30 mins in total. Even with a fear of heights I loved it!
From pickup on Day 1 to drop off on Day 2 this whole tour ran like clockwork and, despite the number of people on the boat for the reef trip, everyone was treated as a special person. Can't recommend this tour group more highly.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Joan McC B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The trip was great but the reef didn't have many fish for snorkelers perhaps because it was low tide I've seen many more fish off Malaysia etc. The crew were charming and couldn't do enough for their passengers.

Doing what: Michaelmas Cay Dive and Snorkel Cruise from Cairns

SHARON H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very windy day, snorkeling was challenging and lots of people were sick.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Christine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Both reefs, the boat and crews were fantastic. I wish people would have listened when they recommended Travelcalm. Some idiot defied all instructions and went to the back of the boat to vomit-- which flew back and hit a bunch of us. Down Under Cruise and Dive couldn't be blamed for this.

Well worth the money and an amazing day out on the reef.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

John U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Truly amazing!! 1st time to dive and snorkel.. Great food and music... Well Recommended!!
Take sea sick pills:

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

blessmyhome7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The ship and crew are top notch. They entertain and watch over the guests to make sure everyone is having fun and when they are not motion/sea sickness they are ready with the vomit bags, I'm just saying it's not a pleasant thing to have seasickness, and the crew is very helpful when it does happen.
The instructions on how to snorkel was presented in such as way that it was easy to learn. The reef is bleaching so beware that you won't see the beautiful colors it once was.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Joseph N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an amazing experience. First time I have snorkeled and I had a great experience and lots of fun. We went to Flynn Reef and stopped at 3 different locations. The amount and type of fish and coral was enormous. The coral looked healthy. Jason and Eve gave a little run down at each stop of best places to snorkel, etc. Lunch was served midday and was more than I expected. They had something for everyone. I will be back in the future, but I now want to scuba. The entire crew was absolutely wonderful. All the people on the excursion were also nice. Everyone had fun. I highly recommend going on this trip. They do have a professional underwater photographer as well.

Doing what: Outer Great Barrier Reef Dive and Snorkel Cruise from Cairns

Eduardo F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is an unforgettable experience. The Great Barrier Reef is the super highlight of this tour. You spend so much time snorkeling that I cannot recommend this tour enough. Simply amazing!
The Kuranda trip by train is very scenic. Lovely experience. The Kuranda city itself is ok.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

justsell3d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I can't brag enough about the Captain and staff of this cruise. They were knowledgeable and very experienced in the water. Our Captain made an extra effort for our family since we were there to honor a past family member. Thank you for such a heart felt Captain and staff, I would highly recommend this to anyone. The snorkeling was beautiful I enjoyed being in the water and saw my first live shark.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful. Two long periods of snorkeling on a beautiful boat with the most attentive staff! Well worth every minute

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Maureen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Brilliant day out but be warned the journey out can be rough so take a sickness tablet before you head if you suffer from sea sickness. So worth the visit. The boat we where on was fantastic and the staff excellent. When my daughter got ill they couldn't have been more helpful. The food was wonderful and we could have tea or coffee when we wanted it. We also got cheese and wine in the afternoon. Elvis one of the staff played and sang for us on the way back. Great laugh. The journey back is fine so worries about being sick. I went on the Submarine and would recommend this especially if your not mad keen on snorkelling or diving. Be aware that wet suits are extra and you will need to pay a reef tax when you pick up your boarding pass so take this into account. All in all a brilliant day

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Amber C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The ship was very spacious and clean with great food and plenty of staff to help. Super organized crew and great snorkel stops!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Karen E L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic snorkeling right off the beach, great glass-bottom boat tour and hiking. Fantastic lunch, too. Worth a second trip. We even saw a shark!

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Cairns

Kenneth Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful and memorable experience, the crew are excellent and take good care of the passengers. The total amount of time for diving is about 2-3 hours, we will definitely want to return for a longer diving experience. The ride in and out is a bit rough due to the sea conditions, the boat itself is quite large, but if you are prone to sea sickness, I would advise bringing medication, the waves are unavoidable, it is the ocean.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Christopher D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

On time and good dive master - pity the other certified divers were not very good. Don't forget to get the boarding pass from the pier centre before going to the boat. Plenty of good food on board.

Doing what: Outer Great Barrier Reef Dive and Snorkel Cruise from Cairns

Henrietta H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing!! Highly recommend! Great staff, the snorkelling was fantastic and the diving was brilliant! A must do!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

Rob A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Learning to Scuba dive at the great barrier reef was fantastic. Our instructor was good fun and very informative. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Learn to Scuba Dive on the Great Barrier Reef: 4-Day PADI Open Water Dive Course

Irwin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The crew was great
We did not dive but the snorkelling was great
The crew were in the water and looked after swimmers from novice to experienced with enthusiasm

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

Jessica R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great day! I loved how you had various marine biologists to snorkel with us at each location to point out various awesome things in the water. We really enjoyed the whole day and met some really great people on board. Highly recommend!!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

Kathleen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Couldn't be happier with this 3-day pass. It was our first trip to the Great Barrier Reef, and this enabled us to sample 3 different boats and itineraries. We did the big boat to the anchored barge at the outer barrier reef the first day, the smaller boat Poseidon to three other outer barrier reef locations the second day, and the catamaran sailboat to the Low Isles the last day. We spaced each trip over the week in Port Douglas. Not for people who get seasick. I personally preferred Poseidon, as it had fewer people and those aboard were more adventuresome types. This was my 10-yr olds first time snorkeling, and he loved all three trips!

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message