Tropical Cairns puts you in the ideal position to enjoy the splendor and beauty of Australia's Great Barrier Reef. The Great Barrier Reef is the largest coral reef on the planet, covering an amazing 2,900 reefs, 900 islands and 2,600km (1,600 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 338 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Patricia A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We highly recommend these two days of activity. Beautiful scenery to be seen from the train. Very comfortable ride and wonderful staff. Waterfalls were gorgeous. Next day we snorkeled and saw so many fish it was a treat. Staff was super helpful!!! Food was ok. I and #39;d take snacks onboard though.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

mark s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

really enjoyed both days of this experience. transportation/shuttle to and from for both days was outstanding ! traveling by train to kuranda was good as the sites from the train and the history shared were wonderful. kuranda itself was an adventure of small open markets and shops along with restaurants and some tourist traps as well. the koala gardens here were fair as i felt the area could have been more spacious for the animals, as the kangaroos and wallabies were sad and somewhat physically unhealthy. however the extra cost to enter and see this was healthy pricey! would liked to have checked out the rainforest and what it entailed while we were here but was overwhelmed with the small markets gong on and the time frame we had to work with. really enjoyed the skyrail as it represented itself well. the second day to the great barrier reef was truly enjoyed by myself and my daughter as we left cairns pier on a incredible big new boat called the evolution. the crew were great and knowledgeable and the boat spacious as they're were many of us onboard. snorkeling on the first part of the trip in the gb reef was awesome and then we travelled to another part of the reef while eating from their buffet which the food served was ok. on the second part of this trip on the boat we took a briefing about scuba diving and we decided to pay the xtra money to do this as we both never experienced this and it turned out be be one of the most enjoyable things i've ever done!! as we pulled up anchor to head back to cairns, we had booked to take the 30 min helicopter flight back with pilot brad whom was really a great person and pilot and rode right on the edge of a storm so this was a great decision to take the helicopter back and stay hi and dry! overall, i would do all of this again and recommend this to all. if i would share one small concern would be that i thought the helicopter flight back to cairns was included in the price i paid for when i booked all of this together back in september, instead of being charged later as we were boarding the evolution.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

aditiluykx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour. It was very well organized and the crew were especially great. Food was great and the snorkeling locations were catered to everyones needs.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Bonnie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a terrific 2-day experience! Our Great Barrier Reef experience started off on our gorgeous boat, The Evolution. It was 6 months old, so in pristine condition. The crew - total professionals and all very helpful, fun, and engaging. All the equipment was first rate. The snorkeling was fun and educational - seeing tons of colorful fish and a spectacular reef. Our highlight was seeing an active giant 4-5 foot clam surrounded by colorful fish open and close. We visited two snorkeling sites with a tasty buffet lunch in between site locations bring your own towels and change of clothing - sitting around in wet swimsuits gets cold in an airconditioned boat. We signed up and paid extra for the exciting 30-minute helicopter ride back to Cairns that took us over large parts of the reef and several sandbar islands that we were told people boat out to or helicopter to for picnics or...wedding proposals. We met a young couple on our return to the base who had just returned from such an excursion, the young lady was wearing her new engagement ring and a huge smile. -- The Daintree Rainforest Tour was the next day. We had a two-hour train ride with spectacular scenery up to the Kuranda Village bring water and a hand-fan - the train is un-airconditioned and can be hot. Kuranda Village was very commercial, but fun AND where my daughter struck Hug a Koala off her bucket list. This was the ONE place IN Australia where you can actually pay to HOLD a koala - a very limp, catatonic animal that's the cutest thing you've ever seen/held...human babies come in a distant second. An hour-long Duck Rainforest Tour followed where we learned about the nasties that await clueless tourists wandering off rainforest trails -- wait-a-while vines and the gimpy-gimpy plant - a very poisonous neurotoxin plant. You start the tour in the morning going up the mountain in the train and return in the afternoon in a gondola for a 30-minute ride that flies over the canopy of the rainforest. That was exciting and beautiful and you keep your fingers crossed that the machinery is top-notch because there is NOTHING but rainforest gimpy-gimpy plants and wait-a-while vines for MILES around. We HIGHLY recommend this 2-day tour - both days were fantastic!

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

cweinzettl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great trip!! Very nice crew and great stops for snorkeling. My only if was the very big line for the check in on the port and for lunch on board.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic day trip. We did two scuba divers and although there was some trepidation, the friendly, enthusiastic staff on board (and there were numerous) were first class and made things easy. Special thanks to Jess who steered us through the dives. Food on offer was excellent. A day we and #39;ll not forget

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

Tatjana A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was an amazing tour. The crew was very helpful and informed and made everyone feel comfortable. Vanessa, one of the crew was amazing with the kids on board. Our nine year old daughter was afraid of snorkeling but Vanessa used all her charm and experience to make it an amazing experience for our daughter. We could not keep our daughter out of the water by the end. We saw turtles, Nemo and a tiger head shark among many other beautiful fish and corals. The food was great and it kept coming. I wish we could go on the tour again and I would HIGHLY recommend it.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

Saishav A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

One of the best tours I've taken. The staff were friendly and professional and the food onboard was good. We were lucky to see a whale and a calf on our way to the reef. We were taken to two excellent locations for diving, snorkelling and glass boat tour. The trip was worth the money, I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

Ammaron W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great crew, excellent accomodations, and I defnitely recommend the beginner dive!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Tobias G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

GREAT TOUR! We were first time divers and we kind of nervous. They do an excellent job of making you feel very comfortable.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

Bernard C. D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

As the Reef Fleet Terminal was within walking distance of our hotel, Hilton DoubleTree Cairns, we left the hotel shortly before 07:00 to arrive at the terminal by 07:15. Down Under Tours has a counter inside the Tour Building where I got our boarding passes and then proceeded to the boat which is new and very clean. As we wanted to snorkel over the reef, all equipment is provided on board. The trip out to the Great Barrier Reef included two separate stops where passengers were assisted with gear both for snorkeling and for diving. Safety is of the utmost concern by the crew as this was covered in a meeting as well as the introduction of all boat staff who were there to assist all passengers. The views over the two areas of reef were great with many fish to be seen. Lunch was included in the tour package as well as a little entertainment by Elvis. The boat returned to the terminal by about 16:00.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Daniel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Enjoyed the rain forest and the reef
I liked the local drivers, they were very well informed.
We liked the special room on the dive boat. The food was excellent and the crew very helpful, friendly and attentive.
On the helicopter ride, we expected the pilot to give us information as we were flying over the different reefs and thought the helicopter ride would last longer.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Reef Lover United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful tour operator, Downunder Cruise and Dive. All th staff are friendly and nice. I did my first ever scuba dive. Wonderful experience. The weather is not ideal but alll in all a great experience.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Carol J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was great. We snorkeled and the coral was amazing. It was fun looking down on the reef from the boat. On the boat we took the opportunity to sign up for a 1/2 hour guide while snoreling and enjoyed that. The guide would point out things we might have missed otherwise. I would do this tour again.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Noelene C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The trip up to Kuranda on the train was pleasant and we enjoyed wandering around Kuranda itself the mango wine tasting was great Cathy, a member of the Golden Drop family from Mareeba was a brilliant sommelier and made the experience fabulous. The market with the locally made/sourced products was better than I had expected - try the home made fudge at the Kuranda Fudge Bar and Tearoom. Hope was great fun and makes all of the myriad flavors herself. Also, don't miss the bat refuge Bat Reach on the short rainforest walk Jumrum Walk, I think. For a small donation you can get up close and personal to these incredible animals, and hear a wealth of interesting information from their carer.
There were plenty of places to have lunch in Kuranda it is an actual small town so you have most facilities available to you.
The cable car ride down was interesting. Don't worry when the car slows to almost a standstill - it's just part of the operation and you're not left hanging for more than a second or two. We chose to come straight down so can't comment on the stopovers.
Day two was great. The Catamaran, Evolution Down Under, was superb and the staff were magnificent - couldn't fault a single one for their personality, and attention to passenger enjoyment, comfort and safety. Although the seas were calm it was a bumpy ride to the reef and there were a few sick people so take your sea sickness tabs with you if you're susceptible. Having booked the 2 day package with helicopter ride back at the end, we were assigned a small lounge room which we shared with only a few other passengers. This was a pleasant surprise! The snorkeling was good and the staff assisted with getting you into the water with a minimum of fuss. For a 50 refundable deposit I was even able to hire prescription goggles which made snorkelling so much better. Flotation devices were available if you wanted a little extra security. We took the semi sub tour which was ok but I don't think I'd bother next time if you can snorkel instead.
Lunch was nice, with lots of fresh salads, prawns, sausages, fish and steak.
Returning to Cairns by helicopter with doors was a real highlight. The pilot took us over parts of the reef before we headed back to the airport about 30 mins in total. Even with a fear of heights I loved it!
From pickup on Day 1 to drop off on Day 2 this whole tour ran like clockwork and, despite the number of people on the boat for the reef trip, everyone was treated as a special person. Can't recommend this tour group more highly.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Joan McC B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The trip was great but the reef didn't have many fish for snorkelers perhaps because it was low tide I've seen many more fish off Malaysia etc. The crew were charming and couldn't do enough for their passengers.

Doing what: Michaelmas Cay Dive and Snorkel Cruise from Cairns

SHARON H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very windy day, snorkeling was challenging and lots of people were sick.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Christine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Both reefs, the boat and crews were fantastic. I wish people would have listened when they recommended Travelcalm. Some idiot defied all instructions and went to the back of the boat to vomit-- which flew back and hit a bunch of us. Down Under Cruise and Dive couldn't be blamed for this.

Well worth the money and an amazing day out on the reef.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

John U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Truly amazing!! 1st time to dive and snorkel.. Great food and music... Well Recommended!!
Take sea sick pills:

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

blessmyhome7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The ship and crew are top notch. They entertain and watch over the guests to make sure everyone is having fun and when they are not motion/sea sickness they are ready with the vomit bags, I'm just saying it's not a pleasant thing to have seasickness, and the crew is very helpful when it does happen.
The instructions on how to snorkel was presented in such as way that it was easy to learn. The reef is bleaching so beware that you won't see the beautiful colors it once was.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Joseph N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an amazing experience. First time I have snorkeled and I had a great experience and lots of fun. We went to Flynn Reef and stopped at 3 different locations. The amount and type of fish and coral was enormous. The coral looked healthy. Jason and Eve gave a little run down at each stop of best places to snorkel, etc. Lunch was served midday and was more than I expected. They had something for everyone. I will be back in the future, but I now want to scuba. The entire crew was absolutely wonderful. All the people on the excursion were also nice. Everyone had fun. I highly recommend going on this trip. They do have a professional underwater photographer as well.

Doing what: Outer Great Barrier Reef Dive and Snorkel Cruise from Cairns

Eduardo F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is an unforgettable experience. The Great Barrier Reef is the super highlight of this tour. You spend so much time snorkeling that I cannot recommend this tour enough. Simply amazing!
The Kuranda trip by train is very scenic. Lovely experience. The Kuranda city itself is ok.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

justsell3d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I can't brag enough about the Captain and staff of this cruise. They were knowledgeable and very experienced in the water. Our Captain made an extra effort for our family since we were there to honor a past family member. Thank you for such a heart felt Captain and staff, I would highly recommend this to anyone. The snorkeling was beautiful I enjoyed being in the water and saw my first live shark.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful. Two long periods of snorkeling on a beautiful boat with the most attentive staff! Well worth every minute

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Maureen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Brilliant day out but be warned the journey out can be rough so take a sickness tablet before you head if you suffer from sea sickness. So worth the visit. The boat we where on was fantastic and the staff excellent. When my daughter got ill they couldn't have been more helpful. The food was wonderful and we could have tea or coffee when we wanted it. We also got cheese and wine in the afternoon. Elvis one of the staff played and sang for us on the way back. Great laugh. The journey back is fine so worries about being sick. I went on the Submarine and would recommend this especially if your not mad keen on snorkelling or diving. Be aware that wet suits are extra and you will need to pay a reef tax when you pick up your boarding pass so take this into account. All in all a brilliant day

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message