Cairo ATTRACTIONS See all

Alabaster Mosque (Mohammad Ali Mosque)

The citadel of Saladin - and indeed, the Cairo skyline - is dominated by the Alabaster Mosque, or Mosque of Mohammed Ali. Modelled along classic Turkish lines, it took 18 years to build (1830 - 1848) although later the domes had to be rebuilt. It ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alexandru N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We spent another great day with our tour guide, Ossama - we reached the Egyptian Museum in the early morning and managed to enjoy the main area 2nd floor almost by ourselves.... what a treat! Then we visited the Alabaster Mosque and Ossama took us on a ride through history. We ended up the day with a walk through the bazar. W had a fantastic time in Cairo - definitely because of the amazing experiences the city can give you and in part because of our wonderful guide. Looking forward to the next trip to Egypt!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Cecilia T

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The tour was ok. If you're interested about visiting mosque this is the place to see. The same tour guide we had on our tour for Coptic Cairo, the hanging church, we have to wait again for him for few minutes, gave us the history of the place and then he just let us explore the place, take pictures and waited for us outside.you only need couple of hours to complete this trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Alabaster Mosque, Sultan Hassan, Khan el-Khalili

Steve T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My wife and I were picked up at our hotel, and driven to the Cairo Museum. Sorry I don't remember our drivers name. We were dropped off and greeted at the entry by our guide for the tour, Morad.
We were given a brief history of the Museum whilst in the grounds, and given an opportunity to take some photos of the exhibits that are in the grounds.
We then entered the Museum. A word regarding photos inside the Museum. You need to pay a small fee and receive a ticket to take photos inside. This is not included in the entry fee. But we didn't see anyone asking to see the ticket?
Once inside Morad showed us around the majority of the general exhibits before heading upstairs to the King Tutankhamun exhibits. These are by far the highlight, and I recommend you spend the majority of your time here.
The room with the Death Mask, coffins, jewellery is very special. But even with your photography pass, there are no photos to be taken in here.
For an extra fee payable inside the museum you can enter the Royal Mummy room. We didn't go in, so I can't comment.
We decided not to go to the Alabaster Mosque or Bazzar due to having spent all of the previous day in Luxor and an impending Nile cruise that night. So, I cant comment on these attractions.
Overall, the Museum is great, especially the King Tut exhibits. The Death Mask was the highlight for us.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Nancy B

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

I enjoyed my day tour Discover Coptic and Islamic Cairo, although the itinerary was different from was advertised. We did not visit the Abu Serga Church as it was closed for renovation. I was very much looking forward to seeing this church and it was the primary reasons I booked this tour. I think the fact that this church was closed should have been disclosed at the time of booking as, had I known that, I would likely have selected another tour. We also did not visit the Saint George Church for no stated reason. We did visit the Ben Ezra Synagogue which has an interesting history and an additional mosque.

The guide was knowledgeable and shared the history of each place we visited. He was also willing to answer my general questions about Egypt.

The entire tour lasted approximately six hours, including lunch and travel time. Lunch was delicious koshari and a nice way to end the day.

Doing what: Private Day Tour: Discover Coptic and Islamic Cairo

Luz

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The Museum is very interested and worth the visit. The mosque is old compared to others in other countries and the bazaar is like any other souk in other Middle East countries. Could spend more time at the Museum since there is so much to see and learn.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Kevin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide was amazing! He had great insight on the history and allowed me to enjoy it like a local. Visiting the mosques were beautiful and he made the experience a great one

Doing what: Private Tour: Alabaster Mosque, Sultan Hassan, Khan el-Khalili

Ashley Y

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

mosque, souq, museum, perfume shop.
Car on time, clean and air conditioned.
mosque beautiful, souq full of things from China, fun to sit and have tea and smoke shisha.
museum is overwhelming, lots to see and do.
perfume shop cool thing for any girl

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

MUHAMMAD NAVEED K

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was over priced but worth a shot. Henry (tour guide) was co operative and knowledgable as well. For the same price, Viator should include Al Azhar mosque as part of it. The lunch was nice and cozy.
Henry took me to a nice perfume shop that was incredible.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

rosered

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Egyptian museum was excellent especially Tutankamuns gold mask- awesome, mosque was beautiful but did not like the bazaar, lots of hassle, you could not even glance at anything, I wanted out of there.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Suzy USA

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Very interesting mosque, and the Sultan Hassan was outstanding. Beautiful sites in a fabulous city.

Doing what: Private Tour: Alabaster Mosque, Sultan Hassan, Khan el-Khalili

Nida

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2012

Our tour guide barely had anything to say and was in a hurry to go through the entire tour. After the mosque, he forced us to go to the market place where we didn't care to go. There were more than enough markets around our hotel, but he insisted that we stop by for 30 minutes. Really, he just wanted to drink coffee and read a paper. It's better to go on your own than with a tour guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Jonathan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Great tour. We had Hani as our guide and Zeku as our driver. Both extremely friendly and courteous. Hani is very knowledgable and willing to go outside the tour itinerary to personalize our tour. It was sad that the museum was so desolate (given the low tourism in Egypt right now) but I have to say that it was really nice to have the place pretty much to ourselves. Breathtaking to see King Tut's posessions. Khan el-Khalili was fun but be prepared for very pushy vendors. The mosque is gorgeous.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Darrell G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2011

The mosque is impressive, but we didn't consider this tour good value. The visit was very short. If it was supposed to have been combined with something else, we didn't see it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Alabaster Mosque, Sultan Hassan, Khan el-Khalili

Eimantas B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Quite interesting tour, but following must be taken into account:
You must demand all 8 hours, as 6 will not be enough. Everything depends on Cairo traffic, which can be worse than traffic in UK.
At Egyptian Museum, the Mummies exhibition is the MUST, very interesting but requires at least one extra hour and additional ticket at extra cost.
You probably want to spend as little time as possible at the Mosque, as there isn't that much to see there.
The most interesting part of the tour was the market, so much to see... Loved the antiques shops that you will find quite a few. I would say minimum 2 hours or more needed at he Khan el-Khalili.
I wouldn't go with lunch option as this counted as part of your tour, and takes another 1.5 hours or so of your sightseeing, if possible grab yourself a sandwich there will be plenty of time to eat whilst in the car in between viewpoints.
Otherwise thumbs up for Viator, quite efficient and organized.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Wickliffe N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2010

The Alabaster Mosque and the Egyptian Museum were musts and very much worth visiting however Khan el-Khalili bazaar was essentially a collection of a hundred plus vendors selling mostly the same exact 'made in China' souvenirs. The tour stated 6-8 hours however our tour only lasted about 4 from pickup to dropoff. Our guide was very well educated and at times we were very impressed. At other times however, he seemed lazy. We had two days in a row with this guide and at the end of our first day, our driver dropped him off before we returned to our hotel. The next morning the driver picked us up while our guide met us at the museum. Later that day, the driver dropped us off at Khan el-Khalili at which point our guide said good bye and got a ride home with the driver though the driver did return an hour later to give us a ride home. This wasn't necessarily a problem as had we know we'd likely have encouraged him to do that, though it did make us feel the guide was more concerned with his agenda than ours seeing as how he made this decision on his own. Another example is when he spent 20 minutes with us in the museum and then said "ok, go visit the rest on your own and you can meet me outside in an hour". The guide was accomodating and allowed us to stop places not on the schedule which was nice but overall I'd rate him a 6 or 7 out of 10. My feedback for Viator is to update this itinerary to include more or shorten the duration to a half day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Lawrence G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

The mosque was very interesting, but more thought provoking was the explanation our tour guide, ahmed, gave us about his muslim faith. we were very intrigued and appreciated his candid manner.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Allyson W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

I have to see the King Tut gold mask if you go to Cairo. A new museum is opening in 2011. My guide, Walaa, told me. It is going to be in Gaza by the pyramids. Alabaster Mosque is beautiful. Khan el-Khalili is not the best place to shop but great place to take photos. Be ready to be harased!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Catherine S United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

On one of the hottest days of the year our guide arrived absolutely on time at 0800 hrs and whisked us away to enjoy a memorable visit to the city of Cairo. Each stop was carefully guided, questions answered and information given in a clear, informative and entertaining way. Nothing was too much trouble and our only regret was that we did not have time available to soak up even more of the culture and atmosphere - from the glories of the Alabaster Mosque to the challenges of haggling in the Bazaar we were thrilled with our guide and driver both of whom proved to be excellent. Great value for money!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Margaret J Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

We were suprised at being able to enter a Mosque and take photographs.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Audrey-Ann K South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

The mosques were a great start to our holiday in Cairo. They were a BEAUTIFUL sight and there was so much to learn and be inquisitive about. The tour guide was very knowledgeable, flexible and accommodating and we were able to swop a few things to make our days there more enjoyable. We had a lovley driver and they were both ON TIME. Great and efficient pick-up drop-off service.

Doing what: Private Tour: Alabaster Mosque, Sultan Hassan, Khan el-Khalili

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Would have liked to see other parts of the citadel in addition to the mosque. Would have liked more time at the Egyptian Museum, but that place could eat up a week easily!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Cathren A Kuwait

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Same guide as for the pyramids, so that was spectacular. We also changed part of our itinerary on the day and this was accommodated with no problems whatsoever, which was impressive. The museum was disappointing, but that is an Egypt problem not the tour as such. The Citadel and the Mosque were outstanding and we went to the hanging church and Koptic area rather than the souks. It was fascinating and the guide handled the change with no problems whatsoever. On both tours, the guide really contributed towards making the experience a memorable one.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Shane W Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2009

When our tour guide met us, we asked to not spend too much time viewing the mosques, as our main interest was the Khan el-Khalili Bazaar. Our guide spent more time than we wanted at the mosques, and a Papyrus Institute, and a perfume factory, which we did want to go to. We did all these first, and the bazaar was the last place we went, and we only got to spend about 1 hour there, at most. Also, we seemed to transverse Cairo twice to go the these places and appeared to waste some time travelling. There was no cohesion about grouping the different places together. Having said all that, our guide did go past the allotted time by at least an hour so we could go to the bazaar. He asked us what we wanted to buy and took us straight to 2 shops. The goods did not turn out to be what they appeared. We were looking for sterling silver, but after we got home, we found out it was only silver plate. We were very disappointed to say the least. We went over our allotted time, so I offered to pay our guide extra, but to his credit he refused. Overall, we had a good time, but more attention needed to be paid to our request.

Doing what: Private Tour: Alabaster Mosque, Sultan Hassan, Khan el-Khalili

Vas A Greece

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

Visiting Alabaster Mosque and Khan el-Khalili bazaar is a must in Cairo. We also loved our Viator Egyptian guide who was, simply, perfect! Absolutely loved this half-day tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Alabaster Mosque, Sultan Hassan, Khan el-Khalili

Michael P USA

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

The museum has tons of great artifacts, but half aren't labeled and the interior is a bit rundown. The mosque was a great experience, as it's within the citadel and has lots to see around it. The market - well, great to see for about 20 minutes and then get out.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message