Cairo ATTRACTIONS See all

Coptic Museum

Founded in 1908, this museum houses Coptic art from Greco-Roman times to the Islamic era drawn from Cairo, the desert monasteries and Nubia. If you are interested in Egyptian history and art post-pharaohs, this is the place for you. In recent ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 73 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Antony R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

excellent in every way ! - Great driver - Great guide Mahmood we had lunch at a great buffet restaurant and mint tea an a shisha at a little Egyptian cafe. A real must for any traveller to Cairo- A

Doing what: Egyptian Museum and Islamic Cairo, Coptic Cairo And Khan El-Khalily Bazar with Private Tour Guide

Anita T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Booked this tour before another tour started and my group thoroughly enjoyed this tour with Michael. He was prompt in picking us up from our hotel, started right into the tour, and gave us history and culture throughout the tour. He was willing to answer our questions and was even kind enough to let us obtain picture of the Nile with the city in the background. This tour is perfect with the inclusions, the amount of time, the sites, etc. I'd recommend this trip for sure. My group and I want to thank you Michael for being our great tour guide!

Doing what: Half-Day Private Tour of Coptic Cairo Including Saint Simon Church in Moqqatam

Cecilia T

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

It was a nice tour, we were picked up from our hotel at 9 am, we met our tour guide where our tour started, he gave an overview what we're doing that day. It's kind of odd that we have to wait for our tour guide.The tour lasted about 3 1/2 hours only and then were dropped off to our hotel by the driver. It's a lot of extra we have to pay such as if you want to use your camera to take pictures you have to pay 50 Egyptian pounds.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Abigail C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Viator booked us with Blue Sky Tours. Tour guide was great and was very opened minded about different religions. Enjoyable day.

Doing what: Discover Cairo: Coptic Islamic Tour, Christian Churches and Babylon Fortress

Stephannie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had an excellent guide for our half day tour of Coptic Cairo. We saw all of the sites listed and we were given lots of information about each from our guide. This tour shows you this part of the city in a snap shot.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Nida T

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This was a good, short tour. The sights are not very huge or grand, but it gives you a good idea of the area of Coptic Cairo. I wasn't sure about all the facts and stories that our guide was telling us. He did talk a lot, and mostly we wanted to look around.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Angus B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Awesome - Mahmoud was an excellent guide - one of the best we had in Egypt. All guides and cars are subcontracted on as as-needed basis, so booking this could be a variable experience. It seems the guides are not even aware of what has been booked, and so you can be flexible when you meet. Forget needing the printout for barcode scanning - tourguide technology is not there yet in Egypt! We had 2 cars during the day - for the first a/c did not work so if that is a deal breaker it would be in high summer call the local contact the day before.

Doing what: Egyptian Museum and Islamic Cairo, Coptic Cairo And Khan El-Khalily Bazar with Private Tour Guide

Lorna R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Great tour with a wonderful guide and exactly what we needed upon arrival in Cairo. We had the bonus of driving through some local areas on the way to get a little local flavor!

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Paul R M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Surprisingly I found this the most interesting of trips whie visiting Cairo. Thoroughly recommend this tour. Guide was very open minded on religion and its continued influence in modern Eygpt.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Jocelin E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a fantastic tour of Coptic Cairo with our excellent guide, Amgad. He was very well informed, and able to answer all of our questions. Amgad's english was perfect, and he was very passionate about his work. It was an amazing experience - one that we won't forget.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Michael

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour! Tarek was knowledgable, patient and still as enchanted by the rich history as I was seeing it for the first time.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Carol Z

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Tour guide was very knowledgable and went at a good pace.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Elaine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The experience was wonderful and the guide made the tour. Not enough finger time to describe. All of Egypt was magnificent and the people!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Jeanette S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing Tour! We had a great guide Fouad Salah. Very knowledgeable. I was overwhelmed standing at the entrance to the cave where The Holy Family lived for 3 months. Love it all Coptic Caire, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra. Owsome.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

RE H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent tour with knowledgeable guide. Pickup and drop-off were punctual and the tour stops covered very well. The sights were far less crowded than many other Cairo tours. Thoroughly enjoyed by all of us.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Jeannie C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

The guide was very pleasant and knowledgeable. I enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Chris

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

Interesting tour. Punctual guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Carolyn F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2012

A bit disappointing! The tour guide spent more time bragging about his knowledge and talking politics with friends along the way than telling me info. about the sites. He also took me to a lot of places to buy stuff ( no obligation to buy of course but....!)He seemed to discourage any activities that required being out in the sun any longer than the minimum. I would advise checking out the guides you arrange a bit more thoroughly!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Kay P T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This tour was wondeful. The guide was very friendly, helpful and extremely well informed about the history of the times, area, activites, and the items in the museum. Would recommend this tour and guide to everyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Luiz R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

The guide was kind and helpful. The best of the tour was the visit to the Coptic Museum.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

PETER B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Henry our guide is a Coptic Christian and so he brought an extra dimension to our tour. The tour was excellent, uncrowded and easily walked. The churches steeped in early christian history. Bravo Viator

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Gregory B

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

An extremely interesting and valuable tour to gain an insight into the history of this part of Cairo. Excellent guide and service, would highly recommend this to all.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Stephen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Tour guide Ans was very knowledgable, good tour, very happy .

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Athelstan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Many thanks to our guide Shereif for making this segment of the trip both educational and enjoyable.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message