Cairo ATTRACTIONS See all

Egyptian Antiquities Museum

With so much to see in the Egyptian Museum, trying to get around everything in one go is liable to induce chronic 'Pharaonic fatigue'. The best strategy is to make at least two visits, maybe tackling one floor at a time. Unfortunately, there's no ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 325 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

fbxfireweed

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fast but immensely interesting day. Well worth the time. Our guide Mohammad was very knowlegable. The only comment to make is if one likes history and museums, the Egyptian Museum a.k.a. Cairo Museum, really deserves much more time. I hope to go back some time to see more.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Kevin R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great and the guide was very knowledgeable. My only complaint is the scam with the Egyptian Papyrus shop. It was not listed but appeared all tours were doing this. You are pressured into buying something. For that reason I will not do another tour with this site

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Steve T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My wife and I were picked up at our hotel, and driven to the Cairo Museum. Sorry I don't remember our drivers name. We were dropped off and greeted at the entry by our guide for the tour, Morad.
We were given a brief history of the Museum whilst in the grounds, and given an opportunity to take some photos of the exhibits that are in the grounds.
We then entered the Museum. A word regarding photos inside the Museum. You need to pay a small fee and receive a ticket to take photos inside. This is not included in the entry fee. But we didn't see anyone asking to see the ticket?
Once inside Morad showed us around the majority of the general exhibits before heading upstairs to the King Tutankhamun exhibits. These are by far the highlight, and I recommend you spend the majority of your time here.
The room with the Death Mask, coffins, jewellery is very special. But even with your photography pass, there are no photos to be taken in here.
For an extra fee payable inside the museum you can enter the Royal Mummy room. We didn't go in, so I can't comment.
We decided not to go to the Alabaster Mosque or Bazzar due to having spent all of the previous day in Luxor and an impending Nile cruise that night. So, I cant comment on these attractions.
Overall, the Museum is great, especially the King Tut exhibits. The Death Mask was the highlight for us.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Karen Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Pyramids were awesome. The Sphinx was mind blowing. Paid extra to go inside the pyramid. Not much to see inside but glad we went. The tour guide K was the best. Extremely knowledgeable and spoke perfect English. Paid extra for camel rides. Keep in mind to have some small notes as the young boys that walk the camels insist on a tip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Mohammad B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour and found the tour guide to be informative and helpful.

Starting with the Egyptian Museum, there really is so much to see and there wouldn't be enough time in the tour to cover even half of it. I was walked through the story of Tutankhamen and saw a lot of his belongings and other antiquities found in his tomb. I'd highly recommend reading up or watching a documentary on Ancient Egypt to fully appreciate what's to see here.

The Khan el-Khalili Bazaar was somewhat underwhelming. It hasn't much to offer but it is worth a visit. Do be ready to haggle, the vendors speak perfect English and will use all kinds of Sales tactics to oversell their products.

The entry to the Funerary Complex and the Sphinx were beautiful. Though the guide would tell you much of the history of these places, it would really help to know a little prior to visiting.

The Pyramids were simply the best thing about visiting Cairo. They are every bit as grand as people say. Putting my hand on the warm yet soft stone for the first time will be something I never forget. Being with the tour guide in this area really has it's advantages and I would highly advise it.

The tour guide himself was very friendly and informative. He was happy to answer any questions and the way he told some of the stories of Ancient Egypt especially in the Solar Boat Museum was truly captivating. I very shamefully forgot to tip him before I left as there isn't much of a tip culture where I come from so please be sure to give tip the drivers and the guides as you see fit.

Overall, this tour was great for people visiting for a short time and really gives a strong feel of what Cairo has to offer.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Jeffrey E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an awesome guide and driver. The tour was really good and I greatly appreciated all the guide's help. Really a good experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

gregabutler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Invaluable Top notch service. Flexible schedule to meet our preferences. Private means private. Using this tour provided us the opportunity to see so much in one day. Couldn and #39;t have done it othersiwe. Egyptologist was great. Separate car with driver allowed us to be dropped off at the front door

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Felipe B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Incredibly honored to have stepped in this 5000 years old site. The pyramids are just as mythical as they are great. We went inside up to the tomb and it's just an unique feeling to be there. The Khan el-Khalili Bazaar is a true culture immersion and full of beautiful Egyptian tokens/gifts. Our guide Ossama Sharaf was very knowledgeable and guided us through every step. We ended with a traditional mint tea in a cafe by Khan el-Khalili after going over the sites of the tour plus a few n surprises on the way I would definitely do this again and if you can, ask for this guide, he was awesome.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

CYNTHIA L. C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Think we were given the very best guide in Egypt for this trip! His English was excellent, his knowledge was extensive and he was so personable He will not be forgotten!! My husband now has a heart that is lighter than a feather,K, and I thank you for that!! Wherever people choose to visit in this beautiful world, choose Viator as your trip advisor!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

sasha p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our trip was amazing. From the moment we were collected from our hotel our very professional guide Muhammad and the driver were amazing. We were treated so well and our guide was friendly and extremely knowledgeable with fantastic stories that were captivating and sparked our imagination.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Angus B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Awesome - Mahmoud was an excellent guide - one of the best we had in Egypt. All guides and cars are subcontracted on as as-needed basis, so booking this could be a variable experience. It seems the guides are not even aware of what has been booked, and so you can be flexible when you meet. Forget needing the printout for barcode scanning - tourguide technology is not there yet in Egypt! We had 2 cars during the day - for the first a/c did not work so if that is a deal breaker it would be in high summer call the local contact the day before.

Doing what: Egyptian Museum and Islamic Cairo, Coptic Cairo And Khan El-Khalily Bazar with Private Tour Guide

Heath P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

My experience with this tour was excellent. I was picked up at my hotel on time and taken to the Cairo Museum. My guide was knowledgable and professional and allowed time to look through the museum at my own pace. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

Melanie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide and driver were both fantastic, took us everywhere we wanted to go, spending basically as much time as we wanted at each incredible attraction and adjusting the itinerary as needed! Hit the pyramids first in the morning, especially if you want to go inside cost about 20-40 depending on which pyramid is open as there are fewer people - only a few dozen at 9am when we visited in November!
With only my friend and I on the tour, it was a very personal and enlightening experience - be prepared to haggle politely in the Bazaar, be approached to buy every trinket at every stop, asked to ride camels, horses and pose for photos for free nothing is free! and remember - لا شكرا la shukraan for no thanks with a smile, still wins a lot of friends! I would totally recommend this tour for anyone, big thumbs up to South Sinai Tours and their amazing staff! :

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

sharonmdaly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a full day tour with Ahmed guide and Zaki driver. Both were extremely professional and courteous. Ahmed was a very knowledgeable and personable guide. He made good recommendations and gave advice re: tourism in Cairo, without being forceful or persistent. We really enjoyed his company for the day, and were delighted with our Cairo tour experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Asanga T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It and #39;s worth it. Highly Recommend it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

rocapamo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was really enjoyable. Our guide Rafat was very friendly and helpful. He not only limited to show us the monuments/places but also the culture and life style in Cairo. 100 Recomended.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Allan Kenneth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The guide that we had was great. Very accommodating and full of lots of information. He suggested a couple of other places also hat were great.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Ashleyida6

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour is a must do! It was incredible. We went into one of the pyramids which wasn't much more . We got great pictures in front of the pyramids. We also paid extra for the camel ride. Our tour guide Tito was awesome! He's very knowledgeable. We didn't end up doing the Bazaar and chose to spend more time at the pyramids.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Sarah T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A great way to see most the sights all in one day! Our guide spoke very good english and took us to a great place for lunch outside the cairo museum. Flexible with time we wanted more time at Pyramids than bazaar which he catered for.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

monica w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderfully patient and very knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Khalid Y

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We had a great tour of the Pyramids and Egyptian Museum and we thoroughly enjoyed both. Our guide was professional. Disappointingly, we were dropped off in the Khan El Khalili bazaar without the guide and picked up an hour later with driver pushing us to return sooner as he had another appointment,

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Trudy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

REALLY enjoyed this!! I was picked up on time. My guide Hammad was FANTASTIC. He really knew Egyptian history, culture, etc. He could tell me so many interesting facts about the main pieces in the Egyptian Museum. He answered every question I had. I was very impressed with his knowledge and patience. My tour included a stop at a perfume shop and papyrus museum/shop. As the only person in the group, I had the power to say I wanted to skip the trip to the market. The whole tour was worth the price. LOVED IT. Thank you.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message