Cairo ATTRACTIONS See all

Egyptian Museum

From the Royal Mummy Room to a number of glittering galleries showcasing finery extracted from various ancient tombs, there's a ton to see at the Egyptian Museum, also known as the Museum of Egyptian Antiquities. Getting around to all 107 halls in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 345 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

William J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide, Med, is amazing. He was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Gaurang P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide Tariq was full of knowledge, patient and an excellent guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

vincent c

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Great guide on a fascinating day out.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Alex

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Punctual pick-up. Knowledgeable guide. Felt a bit too rushed through the museum which is understandable as limited time for too many great exhibits. Yet we learned later that we missed a few important ones. Very few people in the Tutenchamun exhibit room which was great.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

Charles P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

I booked this tour because I was excited to be able to talk with the guide to have him customize our tour for us. He did quite the opposite. He told us what he wanted to do. The most enjoyable things we did on the tour were things that we had to tell him we wanted to do. We wanted to pay extra to go inside the pyramids and he just complained to us about how terrible it was. While my friend and I were getting emotional about the beautiful sight of the pyramids and trying to have a moment to enjoy it he interrupted that moment to take over touristy and corny photos that we didn't want. He did not follow the itinerary and took us to a Papyrus shop that was not on the schedule where he very obviously had connections with the owners. We had to argue with him to get to go to the Khan al Khalily market because he wanted to take us to a friend's Essence shop instead. After we convinced him to do the market we had to argue with him to stay longer than a half hour so we felt rushed. Additionally we spent only an hour at the Egyptian Museum. I feel cheated and would like my money back. I am sad that Viator would work with such terrible tour operators who didn't even seem to respect the beauty and tremendousness of the amazing cultural history that Egypt has to offer. I would rather have haggled with cab drivers and done each thing on my own then have dealt with this terrible guide. It would have been cheaper and in essence that is all I feel that I got from this tour, an overpriced transport and a terrible and disrespectful guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Alexandru N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We spent another great day with our tour guide, Ossama - we reached the Egyptian Museum in the early morning and managed to enjoy the main area 2nd floor almost by ourselves.... what a treat! Then we visited the Alabaster Mosque and Ossama took us on a ride through history. We ended up the day with a walk through the bazar. W had a fantastic time in Cairo - definitely because of the amazing experiences the city can give you and in part because of our wonderful guide. Looking forward to the next trip to Egypt!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Jeronymo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I couldn't be more glad! The tour guide Abdel is an Egyptologist that used to be a teacher and he provided a lot of good information. The tour was always on time and we were able to stop at the Merit Bazaar to check the papyrus and cartouches stores. I would recommend to add the camel ride. I got great pictures riding from Khufu to Menkaure. As a bonus, I lunched at a restaurant with a nice view of the Giza pyramids and I also received a wake-up call one hour prior to the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Amanda O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very detailed! Loves everything!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

Amanda O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very detailed!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Egyptian museum was amazing and really enjoyed and took advantage of the private time offered to walk around on my own. The Alabaster Mosque was interesting to walk through but a short visit. The market was typical, but interesting to see. The stop at the perfume shop was unnecessary and focused on a sale...but they made it somewhat interesting. The lunch was Ok/good...but overpriced. Definitely recommend using a private transfer and guide, it was a great and safe way to get around. Transfers were safe, air-conditioned and excellent. Pickup was about 30 min late due to heavy traffic getting into the city.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Antony R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

excellent in every way ! - Great driver - Great guide Mahmood we had lunch at a great buffet restaurant and mint tea an a shisha at a little Egyptian cafe. A real must for any traveller to Cairo- A

Doing what: Egyptian Museum and Islamic Cairo, Coptic Cairo And Khan El-Khalily Bazar with Private Tour Guide

Jora Puspa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Unforgettable experience one day trip in Cairo. Visiting Egypt for something different is really good idea.Thanks to Mr Fouad, Egyptologist, his really knowledgeable and experienced.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

jrocha143 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour is amazing for those looking to see the past and what Egypt has to offer. The tour guide for this experience was Ahmed and I can only express gratitude for enlightenment onto the Egyptian History. An Amazing experience that can only be attained when the person giving you the tour is dedicated and committed to his work, An excellent experience overall!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

Hector P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Mi rating solo vale si piden a Ahmed Ali como guía. Tomamos varios tours con Viator solo para asegurar que tendríamos el mismo guía. Los lugares son todos impresionantes, pero un guía con buen español y gran conocimiento los transforma en grandes experiencias.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Carole J

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Very interesting tour with a very informative guide Kaled.
Delay with guide getting to the museum but Cairo traffic can be a nightmare. I would give 5 stars but for the expected tipping

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

Amin United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. Advised on how to avoid tourist traps.
We were ahead of schedule so we were able to stop in the papyrus store which was a bonus.
Lunch was in a lovely small restaurant, clean washrooms.
Transport was modern and on time.
Overall a long day, 8am to 4pm, but worth it.
Would recommend this package to anybody wanting to gain an overview of the ancient Egyptian era.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Emily H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great experience! If you can, ask for Tarek as a tour guide. He was outstanding!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Leith Patrick K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful. Parts of the museum do not allow guides but we were briefed before we went into those areas and managed to cover the museum in about a half day. Our guide knows his stuff and explained it in a way that was enjoyable and not overwhelming. Having a guide that is fluent in English was a huge advantage. Highly recommend Fouad and South Sanai Tours, a local agent for Viator.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

Timothy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide, Mohamed Basheer, was excellent. He provided a perfect balance of information, education, and free time to explore on our own and set the right pace. We thoroughly enjoyed this adventure.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

fbxfireweed

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fast but immensely interesting day. Well worth the time. Our guide Mohammad was very knowlegable. The only comment to make is if one likes history and museums, the Egyptian Museum a.k.a. Cairo Museum, really deserves much more time. I hope to go back some time to see more.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Kevin R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great and the guide was very knowledgeable. My only complaint is the scam with the Egyptian Papyrus shop. It was not listed but appeared all tours were doing this. You are pressured into buying something. For that reason I will not do another tour with this site

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Steve T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My wife and I were picked up at our hotel, and driven to the Cairo Museum. Sorry I don't remember our drivers name. We were dropped off and greeted at the entry by our guide for the tour, Morad.
We were given a brief history of the Museum whilst in the grounds, and given an opportunity to take some photos of the exhibits that are in the grounds.
We then entered the Museum. A word regarding photos inside the Museum. You need to pay a small fee and receive a ticket to take photos inside. This is not included in the entry fee. But we didn't see anyone asking to see the ticket?
Once inside Morad showed us around the majority of the general exhibits before heading upstairs to the King Tutankhamun exhibits. These are by far the highlight, and I recommend you spend the majority of your time here.
The room with the Death Mask, coffins, jewellery is very special. But even with your photography pass, there are no photos to be taken in here.
For an extra fee payable inside the museum you can enter the Royal Mummy room. We didn't go in, so I can't comment.
We decided not to go to the Alabaster Mosque or Bazzar due to having spent all of the previous day in Luxor and an impending Nile cruise that night. So, I cant comment on these attractions.
Overall, the Museum is great, especially the King Tut exhibits. The Death Mask was the highlight for us.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Karen Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Pyramids were awesome. The Sphinx was mind blowing. Paid extra to go inside the pyramid. Not much to see inside but glad we went. The tour guide K was the best. Extremely knowledgeable and spoke perfect English. Paid extra for camel rides. Keep in mind to have some small notes as the young boys that walk the camels insist on a tip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Mohammad B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour and found the tour guide to be informative and helpful.

Starting with the Egyptian Museum, there really is so much to see and there wouldn't be enough time in the tour to cover even half of it. I was walked through the story of Tutankhamen and saw a lot of his belongings and other antiquities found in his tomb. I'd highly recommend reading up or watching a documentary on Ancient Egypt to fully appreciate what's to see here.

The Khan el-Khalili Bazaar was somewhat underwhelming. It hasn't much to offer but it is worth a visit. Do be ready to haggle, the vendors speak perfect English and will use all kinds of Sales tactics to oversell their products.

The entry to the Funerary Complex and the Sphinx were beautiful. Though the guide would tell you much of the history of these places, it would really help to know a little prior to visiting.

The Pyramids were simply the best thing about visiting Cairo. They are every bit as grand as people say. Putting my hand on the warm yet soft stone for the first time will be something I never forget. Being with the tour guide in this area really has it's advantages and I would highly advise it.

The tour guide himself was very friendly and informative. He was happy to answer any questions and the way he told some of the stories of Ancient Egypt especially in the Solar Boat Museum was truly captivating. I very shamefully forgot to tip him before I left as there isn't much of a tip culture where I come from so please be sure to give tip the drivers and the guides as you see fit.

Overall, this tour was great for people visiting for a short time and really gives a strong feel of what Cairo has to offer.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message