Cairo ATTRACTIONS See all

El Mu'ayyad Mosque

The red-and-white-striped Mosque of al-Mu'ayyad (the Red Mosque), built on the site where its patron Mamluk Sultan al-Mu'ayyad had earlier been imprisoned, displays a particularly grand entrance portal, dripping with stalactite vaulting; the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 148 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Abigail C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Viator booked us with Blue Sky Tours. Tour guide was great and was very opened minded about different religions. Enjoyable day.

Doing what: Discover Cairo: Coptic Islamic Tour, Christian Churches and Babylon Fortress

Faryal K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Again we had Mohammed As our tour guide was again on time. Really enjoyed our time with him really friendly and felt comfortable. Had our welcome drinks Sugarcane juice which was so refreshing. Loved the Khan El Khalili Bazaar which we visited when it was not busy so had a good walk around. Visited the mosques which were breath-taking and with so much history.

Doing what: Private Guided Walking Tour of the Islamic Quarter of Cairo

aks1997

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide, Ashraf, was great. He was very informative and gave us all the information we could have asked for. He also was thoughtful about keeping us away from the local street peddlers and the like. He offered to take photos for us and told us what not to miss at the various sites.

Doing what: 8-Hour Private Tour of the Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum and Bazaar including Camel Ride and Lunch from Cairo

ssm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome tour. Our tour guide, Ashraf Ash Fares, was knowledgeable, friendly, offered valuable advice and accommodated many of our requests patiently. He was just amazing and made our tour very enjoyable. Thank you Ash!

Doing what: 2-Day Private Guided Tour to Giza, Saqqara, Dahshur and Cairo including Camel Ride, Felucca Sailing, Dinner Cruise and Sound and Light Show

Adam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We did not know what to expect in Egypt so we only planned for a 2 day tour and 3 nights. What a mistake. The local travel company and guide were A amazing. The guide Smiley got to know our personality right away and tailored our tour to what we liked. We ate an amazing retaurant where locals go. We had amazing service and felt like we had VIP service. Even in the places which were touristy, we felt important and didnt mind sitting with our guide like he was a friend and having a coffee or Hookah. He was VERY informative and prompt.
My only complaint was the Dinner cruise. This was very hokey and 'touristy'. We anticpated a nice scenic river cruise but it was with bad food, bad entertainment and the boat did a big circle with the windows closed so nothing to see.
The museum is great. The pyramids and even the night show are such an amazing thing to see. I want to do this all over again!
I WILL be back.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Guided Tour to Giza, Saqqara, Dahshur and Cairo including Camel Ride, Felucca Sailing, Dinner Cruise and Sound and Light Show

Karen Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Good for a half day tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

Jackie E

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The sites were amazing! I didn and #39;t get to do one of the planned activities because there was no wind. My tour guide made things awkward on more than one occasion. I felt pressured and uncomfortable in a couple of the museum stops. The reason I gave three stars is because of the sites themselves.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Guided Tour to Giza, Saqqara, Dahshur and Cairo including Camel Ride, Felucca Sailing, Dinner Cruise and Sound and Light Show

Milaka S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

SMILEY WAS A GREAT TOUR GUIDE, HE WAS VERY KID FRIENDLY! NICE INFORMATIVE TOUR WITH MUCH MORE TO BE SEEN. TWO THUMBS UP WILL USE THIS SERVICE AGAIN

Doing what: 2-Day Private Guided Tour to Giza, Saqqara, Dahshur and Cairo including Camel Ride, Felucca Sailing, Dinner Cruise and Sound and Light Show

Stephannie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had an excellent guide for our half day tour of Coptic Cairo. We saw all of the sites listed and we were given lots of information about each from our guide. This tour shows you this part of the city in a snap shot.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Nida T

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This was a good, short tour. The sights are not very huge or grand, but it gives you a good idea of the area of Coptic Cairo. I wasn't sure about all the facts and stories that our guide was telling us. He did talk a lot, and mostly we wanted to look around.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Angus B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Awesome - Mahmoud was an excellent guide - one of the best we had in Egypt. All guides and cars are subcontracted on as as-needed basis, so booking this could be a variable experience. It seems the guides are not even aware of what has been booked, and so you can be flexible when you meet. Forget needing the printout for barcode scanning - tourguide technology is not there yet in Egypt! We had 2 cars during the day - for the first a/c did not work so if that is a deal breaker it would be in high summer call the local contact the day before.

Doing what: Egyptian Museum and Islamic Cairo, Coptic Cairo And Khan El-Khalily Bazar with Private Tour Guide

Paul D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This has been an extraordinary experience for my wife and I. Our guide Mohamad did everything to make our private trip most enjoyable and unforgettable. We saw everything that was on the schedule in 2 days as promised. Many thanks to our guide for his kind attention, always seeking to please us.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Guided Tour to Giza, Saqqara, Dahshur and Cairo including Camel Ride, Felucca Sailing, Dinner Cruise and Sound and Light Show

Jeffrey W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Muhammad Swefy is a guide who has a lot passion for his job. He really wanted to show me
the highlights, and the places that he knows as 'hidden secrets,' but actually available to anyone.
However, he knows them in depth, and is happy to share his knowledge. My tour lasted three hours,
yet if I could have stayed longer, he was willing to carry on because we had only seen a fraction of the
main sites on his list. I learned a lot and truly enjoyed the tour with Muhammad. Best with a few people.

Doing what: Islamic Cairo History Tour

Elizabeth T

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The guide spoke excellent English, was very knowledgable, and tried to tailor the tour to my specific interests.

Doing what: Full Day Tour Visiting Coptic and Islamic Cairo

Hatti A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Really great tour! The guide was great, he had great knowledge of the places he was showing us and the sights were absolutely incredible

Doing what: 8-Hour Private Tour of the Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum and Bazaar including Camel Ride and Lunch from Cairo

Ashleyida6

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The Sakkara step pyramid was incredible! It's really close to Giza. Memphis didn't have as much, but it was still great to see. Our tour guide Tito was so informative! I highly recommend asking for him!

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

Julie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Two unknown gems that people should really see on their trip to Cairo. Travel was easy and Ahmad was the best guide and very knowledgeable. Thank you Ahmad for taking such good care of us!

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

Sione Sonata T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Step back in time and walk through one of the ancient capitals of Egypt. Truly an amazing opportunity plus a great young Egyptologist who have gave us great insight into the history of this wonderful place. I would highly recommend friends and colleagues to visit this place along with this tour company that have taken us on this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

Lorna R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Great tour with a wonderful guide and exactly what we needed upon arrival in Cairo. We had the bonus of driving through some local areas on the way to get a little local flavor!

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Kathryn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A fascinating look at the early pyramids and some of the finest art from ancient Egypt and the reign of King Ramses. Highly recommended. Request Mahmoud as your guide he's very personable, knowledgable, and takes wonderful photographs if you're in a group!

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

Paul R M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Surprisingly I found this the most interesting of trips whie visiting Cairo. Thoroughly recommend this tour. Guide was very open minded on religion and its continued influence in modern Eygpt.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Catisha H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing! Our tour guide was informative, energetic and catering!

Doing what: Private Tour: Pharaonic Village

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message