Cairo ATTRACTIONS See all

El Mu'ayyad Mosque

The red-and-white-striped Mosque of al-Mu'ayyad (the Red Mosque), built on the site where its patron Mamluk Sultan al-Mu'ayyad had earlier been imprisoned, displays a particularly grand entrance portal, dripping with stalactite vaulting; the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 155 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Brad N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Let me start off by saying that this tour is 100 worth every cent you pay for.

On Day 1, Ashraf and Amrit showed up early to pick me up to start things off at the Pyramids of Giza. I was blown away by how incredible they were and was speechless most of the time. The camel ride was great and I got some amazing photos.

The best part of this tour is that they will personalize it to your needs. Instead of wanting to do the dinner cruise, I really wanted to see Memphis. Ashraf had no problem with this and made it happen, no questions asked. The entire time I also had wifi in the van to be able to upload photos and check emails while in route to the next spot.

Dashur is extremely underrated and was enjoyable, Memphis was great and Saqqara is just massive. You could easily spend a day there alone. Ashraf gave me time to explore the Imhotep Museum as well, which is a great 20 minutes well spent before exploring Saqqara.

The Sound and Light show was a very nice way to end the first day of this tour.

Day 2 started off all over Coptic Cairo, Citadel, Mohamed Ali Mosque, and the Synagogue. I was a bit tired after day 1 but was super excited to get to the Egyptian Museum. We headed over to the museum after a relaxing Felucca ride. The way Ashraf toured the museum was perfect, doing it in the proper timeline of Egyptian history. There is just SO much information that will be thrown at you, but take in as much as you can. The Royal Mummy room was worth the extra 100 LE and Tutankahum's treasure room was a very memorable experience.

We then went to the Khan Al Kalili Bazaar and Ashraf took me to a place where all the prices were extremely cheap and there was no hassle. I got all my souvenirs with ease and it was exactly what I was looking for.

Overall, book this tour with confidence. There was also plenty of bottled water provided both day. Ask for Ashraf and you'll be put in great hands and have an extremely memorable 2 day experience!

Doing what: 2-Day Private Guided Tour to Giza, Saqqara, Dahshur and Cairo including Camel Ride, Felucca Sailing, Dinner Cruise and Sound and Light Show

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife and I had only a few days in Cairo so we decided to take this tour to see the highlights. Normally we like to see things on our own, but we couldn't have been happier with our guide. His name is Bassam but he also goes by the name Smiley. He was a perfect guide for us. His English is wonderful, and he is extremely knowledgeable in Egyptian history he studied it for years in college. He continuously was happy to answer our questions and to take several pictures of us. I would strongly recommend him as a guide for this or any tour in Cairo/Egypt. The pace of the tour was perfect. We started at the pyramids and Bassam gave us ample time to look around, climb a bit on them and get pictures. He had cold bottles of water ready for us several times it was almost 110 degrees Fahrenheit that day! and the driver had the car always ready and nice and cool. We enjoyed the lunch and the Egyptian Museum, again Bassam was an amazing guide there. At the Bazaar, he let us go on our own and offered us to take as much time as we wanted. We were dropped back off at our hotel, amazed at how wonderful the day had been.

Doing what: 8-Hour Private Tour of the Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum and Bazaar including Camel Ride and Lunch from Cairo

Rajesh P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Excellent guide Mr Osama and the Driver too. Both of them on time to pick up.Mr Osama was wonderful joking during the travel and informative at site.Thanks a lot Viator and team

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

Lily P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

I did a full day tour instead of the Giza pyramids and Coptic Cairo. The experience was wonderful, and the price was very reasonable for the average tourist. Highly recommended going with Viator tour! Tour guide was knowledgeable and accommodating. Camel ride was included along with lunch.

Doing what: Half-Day Private Guided Tour of Coptic Cairo with Lunch

Andrew P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour was fantastic, Sherif made the tour memorable and was very knowledgable. It felt more like having a friend show you around the city. Please go and enjoy Egypt.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Guided Tour to Giza, Saqqara, Dahshur and Cairo including Camel Ride, Felucca Sailing, Dinner Cruise and Sound and Light Show

Cecilia T

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This is the tour that you don't want to missed. It is worth of your money. Our tour guide is Smiley, his knowledgeable about the place, very accommodating and friendly. The best part on this tour is the camel ride, it was scary from the start but it's fun.My suggestion is for the museum , they should include the fee for taking photos in the entrance fee.

Doing what: 8-Hour Private Tour of the Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum and Bazaar including Camel Ride and Lunch from Cairo

Cecilia T

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

It was a nice tour, we were picked up from our hotel at 9 am, we met our tour guide where our tour started, he gave an overview what we're doing that day. It's kind of odd that we have to wait for our tour guide.The tour lasted about 3 1/2 hours only and then were dropped off to our hotel by the driver. It's a lot of extra we have to pay such as if you want to use your camera to take pictures you have to pay 50 Egyptian pounds.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Abigail C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Viator booked us with Blue Sky Tours. Tour guide was great and was very opened minded about different religions. Enjoyable day.

Doing what: Discover Cairo: Coptic Islamic Tour, Christian Churches and Babylon Fortress

Faryal K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Again we had Mohammed As our tour guide was again on time. Really enjoyed our time with him really friendly and felt comfortable. Had our welcome drinks Sugarcane juice which was so refreshing. Loved the Khan El Khalili Bazaar which we visited when it was not busy so had a good walk around. Visited the mosques which were breath-taking and with so much history.

Doing what: Private Guided Walking Tour of the Islamic Quarter of Cairo

aks1997

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide, Ashraf, was great. He was very informative and gave us all the information we could have asked for. He also was thoughtful about keeping us away from the local street peddlers and the like. He offered to take photos for us and told us what not to miss at the various sites.

Doing what: 8-Hour Private Tour of the Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum and Bazaar including Camel Ride and Lunch from Cairo

ssm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome tour. Our tour guide, Ashraf Ash Fares, was knowledgeable, friendly, offered valuable advice and accommodated many of our requests patiently. He was just amazing and made our tour very enjoyable. Thank you Ash!

Doing what: 2-Day Private Guided Tour to Giza, Saqqara, Dahshur and Cairo including Camel Ride, Felucca Sailing, Dinner Cruise and Sound and Light Show

Adam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We did not know what to expect in Egypt so we only planned for a 2 day tour and 3 nights. What a mistake. The local travel company and guide were A amazing. The guide Smiley got to know our personality right away and tailored our tour to what we liked. We ate an amazing retaurant where locals go. We had amazing service and felt like we had VIP service. Even in the places which were touristy, we felt important and didnt mind sitting with our guide like he was a friend and having a coffee or Hookah. He was VERY informative and prompt.
My only complaint was the Dinner cruise. This was very hokey and 'touristy'. We anticpated a nice scenic river cruise but it was with bad food, bad entertainment and the boat did a big circle with the windows closed so nothing to see.
The museum is great. The pyramids and even the night show are such an amazing thing to see. I want to do this all over again!
I WILL be back.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Guided Tour to Giza, Saqqara, Dahshur and Cairo including Camel Ride, Felucca Sailing, Dinner Cruise and Sound and Light Show

Karen Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Good for a half day tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

Jackie E

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The sites were amazing! I didn and #39;t get to do one of the planned activities because there was no wind. My tour guide made things awkward on more than one occasion. I felt pressured and uncomfortable in a couple of the museum stops. The reason I gave three stars is because of the sites themselves.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Guided Tour to Giza, Saqqara, Dahshur and Cairo including Camel Ride, Felucca Sailing, Dinner Cruise and Sound and Light Show

Milaka S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

SMILEY WAS A GREAT TOUR GUIDE, HE WAS VERY KID FRIENDLY! NICE INFORMATIVE TOUR WITH MUCH MORE TO BE SEEN. TWO THUMBS UP WILL USE THIS SERVICE AGAIN

Doing what: 2-Day Private Guided Tour to Giza, Saqqara, Dahshur and Cairo including Camel Ride, Felucca Sailing, Dinner Cruise and Sound and Light Show

Stephannie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had an excellent guide for our half day tour of Coptic Cairo. We saw all of the sites listed and we were given lots of information about each from our guide. This tour shows you this part of the city in a snap shot.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Nida T

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This was a good, short tour. The sights are not very huge or grand, but it gives you a good idea of the area of Coptic Cairo. I wasn't sure about all the facts and stories that our guide was telling us. He did talk a lot, and mostly we wanted to look around.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Angus B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Awesome - Mahmoud was an excellent guide - one of the best we had in Egypt. All guides and cars are subcontracted on as as-needed basis, so booking this could be a variable experience. It seems the guides are not even aware of what has been booked, and so you can be flexible when you meet. Forget needing the printout for barcode scanning - tourguide technology is not there yet in Egypt! We had 2 cars during the day - for the first a/c did not work so if that is a deal breaker it would be in high summer call the local contact the day before.

Doing what: Egyptian Museum and Islamic Cairo, Coptic Cairo And Khan El-Khalily Bazar with Private Tour Guide

Paul D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This has been an extraordinary experience for my wife and I. Our guide Mohamad did everything to make our private trip most enjoyable and unforgettable. We saw everything that was on the schedule in 2 days as promised. Many thanks to our guide for his kind attention, always seeking to please us.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Guided Tour to Giza, Saqqara, Dahshur and Cairo including Camel Ride, Felucca Sailing, Dinner Cruise and Sound and Light Show

Jeffrey W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Muhammad Swefy is a guide who has a lot passion for his job. He really wanted to show me
the highlights, and the places that he knows as 'hidden secrets,' but actually available to anyone.
However, he knows them in depth, and is happy to share his knowledge. My tour lasted three hours,
yet if I could have stayed longer, he was willing to carry on because we had only seen a fraction of the
main sites on his list. I learned a lot and truly enjoyed the tour with Muhammad. Best with a few people.

Doing what: Islamic Cairo History Tour

Elizabeth T

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The guide spoke excellent English, was very knowledgable, and tried to tailor the tour to my specific interests.

Doing what: Full Day Tour Visiting Coptic and Islamic Cairo

Hatti A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Really great tour! The guide was great, he had great knowledge of the places he was showing us and the sights were absolutely incredible

Doing what: 8-Hour Private Tour of the Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum and Bazaar including Camel Ride and Lunch from Cairo

Ashleyida6

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The Sakkara step pyramid was incredible! It's really close to Giza. Memphis didn't have as much, but it was still great to see. Our tour guide Tito was so informative! I highly recommend asking for him!

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

Julie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Two unknown gems that people should really see on their trip to Cairo. Travel was easy and Ahmad was the best guide and very knowledgeable. Thank you Ahmad for taking such good care of us!

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message