Cairo ATTRACTIONS See all

El Mu'ayyad Mosque

The red-and-white-striped Mosque of al-Mu'ayyad (the Red Mosque), built on the site where its patron Mamluk Sultan al-Mu'ayyad had earlier been imprisoned, displays a particularly grand entrance portal, dripping with stalactite vaulting; the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 163 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Antony R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

excellent in every way ! - Great driver - Great guide Mahmood we had lunch at a great buffet restaurant and mint tea an a shisha at a little Egyptian cafe. A real must for any traveller to Cairo- A

Doing what: Egyptian Museum and Islamic Cairo, Coptic Cairo And Khan El-Khalily Bazar with Private Tour Guide

sister_salt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic experience! What a great opportunity to tour the historic sites...and with a private guide! Will enjoy the memories for a lifetime!

Doing what: 2-Day Private Guided Tour to Giza, Saqqara, Dahshur and Cairo including Camel Ride, Felucca Sailing, Dinner Cruise and Sound and Light Show

Chikeva B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a GREAT experience with our tour guide Ahmad! He was very knowledgeable and passionate about Egyptian history. If I ever return to Cairo again I would definitely love to do another adventure with Ahmad. He was AWESOME!

Doing what: 8-Hour Private Tour of the Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum and Bazaar including Camel Ride and Lunch from Cairo

Sunil K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Really amazing. Tour guide Zenab is doing a wonderful job and even the driver is very polite. Zenab has got a brilliant knowledge and she makes you spend your day in a best possible manner. This tour covers alot and worth each and every penny you pay.

Doing what: 8-Hour Private Tour of the Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum and Bazaar including Camel Ride and Lunch from Cairo

Tangenik W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour and tour guide was great! I was able to see all the highlights of Cairo with a super knowledgeable guide. I learned so much about the sights, the people and the culture. it was well worth the money.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Guided Tour to Giza, Saqqara, Dahshur and Cairo including Camel Ride, Felucca Sailing, Dinner Cruise and Sound and Light Show

Nicholas M Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was our first time in Egypt, and no words can be used to described how wonderful this trip was. We were in Egypt for 3 days so this 2 day tour was the perfect way to see all of the highlights in Cairo. My fiancee Jen and I really enjoyed how this private tour was conducted, with a driver, a air-conditioned car, and a personal tour guide that accompanied us everywhere. Like every other tour, a tour is only as good as how the tour-guide is, and Smiley, our tour guide was awesome. Both Smiley, and Moustafa, our driver, picked us up both morning at our hotel and took us to see the different sites. Smiley was not only informative as he taught us the history of the different attractions, but was also outgoing, and extremely funny which made our first visit to Egypt more relaxing and fun. Seeing the different pyramids on the first day was awesome, with the Giza pyramids and Sphinx being the obvious highlights. The Alabaster mosque and seeing the mummies and king tuts golden mask were our favorite sites on the 2nd day, but the highlight was when Smiley took us to relax in a local coffee and hookah cafe right in the middle of the bazaar. It was just a thrilling experience to sit and observe and experience the local culture and atmosphere of Cairo's marketplace. We highly recommend this tour for those who are in Cairo for a short time and hopefully you will be lucky enough to get Smiley as your tourguide! Delicious!

Doing what: 2-Day Private Guided Tour to Giza, Saqqara, Dahshur and Cairo including Camel Ride, Felucca Sailing, Dinner Cruise and Sound and Light Show

Anita T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Booked this tour before another tour started and my group thoroughly enjoyed this tour with Michael. He was prompt in picking us up from our hotel, started right into the tour, and gave us history and culture throughout the tour. He was willing to answer our questions and was even kind enough to let us obtain picture of the Nile with the city in the background. This tour is perfect with the inclusions, the amount of time, the sites, etc. I'd recommend this trip for sure. My group and I want to thank you Michael for being our great tour guide!

Doing what: Half-Day Private Tour of Coptic Cairo Including Saint Simon Church in Moqqatam

Leith Patrick K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

For some reason Viator booked this tour with another agent in Cairo besides the one we had for all our other tours. When we discovered this we phoned Viator long distance from Cairo. They said there was nothing that could be done and we would forfeit our fee if we cancelled then. We decided to go ahead.
They arrived at our hotel on time and in a clean vehicle. I hate to speak ill of a tour operator but I feel others should know what they are getting into. The company was Pyramid Tours if I recall correctly. The guide spoke limited English and was very young. It appeared that his pitch was rehearsed and not easy to understand. When we asked questions which I admit we do a lot he wasn't able to respond cogently. It became tedious enough that we cut the tour short before lunch after seeing only two venues. We went back to our hotel, had a nice lunch and set out on our own walking tour of Zamalek.
I relaize the guide certainly did his best and tried very hard. He was a nice guy but the tour operator should have known his limitations. It was not an inexpensive tour by any means.
I suggest you investigate who the local operator is when you first book as Viator uses multiple agents in each market.
Over all disappointing but if you are going to have a problem in traveling, it was a pretty minor problem in an overall great trip.

Doing what: Private Full Day Sightseeing Tour of Cairo

Brad N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Let me start off by saying that this tour is 100 worth every cent you pay for.

On Day 1, Ashraf and Amrit showed up early to pick me up to start things off at the Pyramids of Giza. I was blown away by how incredible they were and was speechless most of the time. The camel ride was great and I got some amazing photos.

The best part of this tour is that they will personalize it to your needs. Instead of wanting to do the dinner cruise, I really wanted to see Memphis. Ashraf had no problem with this and made it happen, no questions asked. The entire time I also had wifi in the van to be able to upload photos and check emails while in route to the next spot.

Dashur is extremely underrated and was enjoyable, Memphis was great and Saqqara is just massive. You could easily spend a day there alone. Ashraf gave me time to explore the Imhotep Museum as well, which is a great 20 minutes well spent before exploring Saqqara.

The Sound and Light show was a very nice way to end the first day of this tour.

Day 2 started off all over Coptic Cairo, Citadel, Mohamed Ali Mosque, and the Synagogue. I was a bit tired after day 1 but was super excited to get to the Egyptian Museum. We headed over to the museum after a relaxing Felucca ride. The way Ashraf toured the museum was perfect, doing it in the proper timeline of Egyptian history. There is just SO much information that will be thrown at you, but take in as much as you can. The Royal Mummy room was worth the extra 100 LE and Tutankahum's treasure room was a very memorable experience.

We then went to the Khan Al Kalili Bazaar and Ashraf took me to a place where all the prices were extremely cheap and there was no hassle. I got all my souvenirs with ease and it was exactly what I was looking for.

Overall, book this tour with confidence. There was also plenty of bottled water provided both day. Ask for Ashraf and you'll be put in great hands and have an extremely memorable 2 day experience!

Doing what: 2-Day Private Guided Tour to Giza, Saqqara, Dahshur and Cairo including Camel Ride, Felucca Sailing, Dinner Cruise and Sound and Light Show

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife and I had only a few days in Cairo so we decided to take this tour to see the highlights. Normally we like to see things on our own, but we couldn't have been happier with our guide. His name is Bassam but he also goes by the name Smiley. He was a perfect guide for us. His English is wonderful, and he is extremely knowledgeable in Egyptian history he studied it for years in college. He continuously was happy to answer our questions and to take several pictures of us. I would strongly recommend him as a guide for this or any tour in Cairo/Egypt. The pace of the tour was perfect. We started at the pyramids and Bassam gave us ample time to look around, climb a bit on them and get pictures. He had cold bottles of water ready for us several times it was almost 110 degrees Fahrenheit that day! and the driver had the car always ready and nice and cool. We enjoyed the lunch and the Egyptian Museum, again Bassam was an amazing guide there. At the Bazaar, he let us go on our own and offered us to take as much time as we wanted. We were dropped back off at our hotel, amazed at how wonderful the day had been.

Doing what: 8-Hour Private Tour of the Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum and Bazaar including Camel Ride and Lunch from Cairo

Rajesh P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Excellent guide Mr Osama and the Driver too. Both of them on time to pick up.Mr Osama was wonderful joking during the travel and informative at site.Thanks a lot Viator and team

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

Lily P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

I did a full day tour instead of the Giza pyramids and Coptic Cairo. The experience was wonderful, and the price was very reasonable for the average tourist. Highly recommended going with Viator tour! Tour guide was knowledgeable and accommodating. Camel ride was included along with lunch.

Doing what: Half-Day Private Guided Tour of Coptic Cairo with Lunch

Andrew P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour was fantastic, Sherif made the tour memorable and was very knowledgable. It felt more like having a friend show you around the city. Please go and enjoy Egypt.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Guided Tour to Giza, Saqqara, Dahshur and Cairo including Camel Ride, Felucca Sailing, Dinner Cruise and Sound and Light Show

Cecilia T

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This is the tour that you don't want to missed. It is worth of your money. Our tour guide is Smiley, his knowledgeable about the place, very accommodating and friendly. The best part on this tour is the camel ride, it was scary from the start but it's fun.My suggestion is for the museum , they should include the fee for taking photos in the entrance fee.

Doing what: 8-Hour Private Tour of the Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum and Bazaar including Camel Ride and Lunch from Cairo

Cecilia T

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

It was a nice tour, we were picked up from our hotel at 9 am, we met our tour guide where our tour started, he gave an overview what we're doing that day. It's kind of odd that we have to wait for our tour guide.The tour lasted about 3 1/2 hours only and then were dropped off to our hotel by the driver. It's a lot of extra we have to pay such as if you want to use your camera to take pictures you have to pay 50 Egyptian pounds.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Abigail C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Viator booked us with Blue Sky Tours. Tour guide was great and was very opened minded about different religions. Enjoyable day.

Doing what: Discover Cairo: Coptic Islamic Tour, Christian Churches and Babylon Fortress

Faryal K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Again we had Mohammed As our tour guide was again on time. Really enjoyed our time with him really friendly and felt comfortable. Had our welcome drinks Sugarcane juice which was so refreshing. Loved the Khan El Khalili Bazaar which we visited when it was not busy so had a good walk around. Visited the mosques which were breath-taking and with so much history.

Doing what: Private Guided Walking Tour of the Islamic Quarter of Cairo

aks1997

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide, Ashraf, was great. He was very informative and gave us all the information we could have asked for. He also was thoughtful about keeping us away from the local street peddlers and the like. He offered to take photos for us and told us what not to miss at the various sites.

Doing what: 8-Hour Private Tour of the Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum and Bazaar including Camel Ride and Lunch from Cairo

ssm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome tour. Our tour guide, Ashraf Ash Fares, was knowledgeable, friendly, offered valuable advice and accommodated many of our requests patiently. He was just amazing and made our tour very enjoyable. Thank you Ash!

Doing what: 2-Day Private Guided Tour to Giza, Saqqara, Dahshur and Cairo including Camel Ride, Felucca Sailing, Dinner Cruise and Sound and Light Show

Adam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We did not know what to expect in Egypt so we only planned for a 2 day tour and 3 nights. What a mistake. The local travel company and guide were A amazing. The guide Smiley got to know our personality right away and tailored our tour to what we liked. We ate an amazing retaurant where locals go. We had amazing service and felt like we had VIP service. Even in the places which were touristy, we felt important and didnt mind sitting with our guide like he was a friend and having a coffee or Hookah. He was VERY informative and prompt.
My only complaint was the Dinner cruise. This was very hokey and 'touristy'. We anticpated a nice scenic river cruise but it was with bad food, bad entertainment and the boat did a big circle with the windows closed so nothing to see.
The museum is great. The pyramids and even the night show are such an amazing thing to see. I want to do this all over again!
I WILL be back.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Guided Tour to Giza, Saqqara, Dahshur and Cairo including Camel Ride, Felucca Sailing, Dinner Cruise and Sound and Light Show

Karen Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Good for a half day tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

Jackie E

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The sites were amazing! I didn and #39;t get to do one of the planned activities because there was no wind. My tour guide made things awkward on more than one occasion. I felt pressured and uncomfortable in a couple of the museum stops. The reason I gave three stars is because of the sites themselves.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Guided Tour to Giza, Saqqara, Dahshur and Cairo including Camel Ride, Felucca Sailing, Dinner Cruise and Sound and Light Show

Milaka S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

SMILEY WAS A GREAT TOUR GUIDE, HE WAS VERY KID FRIENDLY! NICE INFORMATIVE TOUR WITH MUCH MORE TO BE SEEN. TWO THUMBS UP WILL USE THIS SERVICE AGAIN

Doing what: 2-Day Private Guided Tour to Giza, Saqqara, Dahshur and Cairo including Camel Ride, Felucca Sailing, Dinner Cruise and Sound and Light Show

Stephannie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had an excellent guide for our half day tour of Coptic Cairo. We saw all of the sites listed and we were given lots of information about each from our guide. This tour shows you this part of the city in a snap shot.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message