Cairo ATTRACTIONS See all

El Mu'ayyad Mosque

The red-and-white-striped Mosque of al-Mu'ayyad (the Red Mosque), built on the site where its patron Mamluk Sultan al-Mu'ayyad had earlier been imprisoned, displays a particularly grand entrance portal, dripping with stalactite vaulting; the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 177 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Peter K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

AWESOME We had been waiting since 2013 to discover Egypt and we were not disappointed. Out tour began by visiting Dahshur we you get the opportunity to enter the pyramid, an experience I thought not possible. For Dahshur youre off the Saqqara for your first glimpse of Hieroglyphics, and the step pyramid. An amazing lunch overlooking the pyramids of Giza before taking in the main event the Great Pyramid, no matter how you have built this moment up in your mind it will not disappoint, the sheer size and monumental effort in creating these structures in mind blowing.
Day two starts in the Cairo Museum and as soon as you enter the gates you are greeted with artifacts in the courtyard then you realize if these are amazing what is inside and again you are not disappointed, sculptures, monuments, art and of course Mummies what more can I say. The rest of the day is spent experiencing the trades of Egypt, oils, paper making, Hanging Church, the Alabaster Mosque and a sail on the Nile to relax, Capped of with dinner cruise. A fantastic two days.
Smiley and Sam, our guide and driver. In an area of the world not known for its promptness we were off to a great start, they arrived at the motel early and we were greeted with the most friendly welcome and explanation of what to expect immediately we knew we were in for a great time. Smiley who spoke excellent English was full of fantastic knowledge and provided us every opportunity to discover what we had come for. His local knowledge and relationships with the locals allowed ease of accesses and preferential at every stop. Without Smiley we would not have experienced a fraction of what we did. Sam, our drive, we have traveled to many countries and Egypt is the first I would not like to drive myself. In saying this I felt safe the entire time as he has the most relaxed and professional approach to his duties and with madness around him this must be difficult.
We traveled with two your children and I would highly recommend this tour to anyone the professionalism shown by both Smiley and Sam in providing for our family was second to none and our journey would not have been the same without them.

Egypt we will be Back!

Doing what: 2-Day Private Guided Tour to Giza, Saqqara, Dahshur and Cairo including Camel Ride, Felucca Sailing, Dinner Cruise and Sound and Light Show

Carol P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

It was an amazing experience...my guide Ashref was brilliant his knowledge of Egyptian history was fantastic. His English also was good so when I asked questions he understood and was able to answer them. He was very relaxed to be with ...he allowed me look at things that I found interesting...it was well worth doing the tour. The car picked me up at the arranged time and brought me back to the hotel. I was altogether happy with the tour

Doing what: 8-Hour Azhar Masjid Islamic Sites Tour

Simone H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a great way to see a lot of Cairo/Giza in one day. It is a LONG day though! Zenab was a good guide, prompt, and knew a lot about Egyptian history. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: 8-Hour Private Tour of the Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum and Bazaar including Camel Ride and Lunch from Cairo

Nishan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Camel ride in the desert was fun . I loved the Pyramids . It is mind blowing. Never seen anything like this. . Museum was amazing which holds hundreds of items endless pieces of furnitre, jewelley, ,Mummies and artifacts. My boys loved it .

Doing what: 8-Hour Private Tour of the Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum and Bazaar including Camel Ride and Lunch from Cairo

Megan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A great tour. I learned a lot and they took us to the airport because traffic was bad the day of our tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Mamdouh K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Middle edges Cairo, loved this tour amazing mosques churches and synagogue some of te oldest in the world, the guide did a very good job and was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Private Day Tour to Coptic Cairo from Cairo Hotels

Mamdouh K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Brilliant tour the guide was very informative, loved this tour my self, recommend it to every one visiting Cairo, specially those who are interested in Islamic architecture and Islamic history, its full off history brilliant tour

Doing what: 8-Hour Azhar Masjid Islamic Sites Tour

Mark S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

very good trip, packed in loads including extra boat trip up nile, covered all key things in museum, and was very interesting.
our guide was called Will and we would recommend him to anyone, great English and fun sense of humour.
slighty too much selling at papyrus making shop and the oils. but a fab day and would recommend viator to our friends

Doing what: Private Tour: Cairo Full Day Tour from Cairo Airport

Wai M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The Coptic churches were smaller than we thought.

Doing what: Discover Cairo: Coptic Islamic Tour, Christian Churches and Babylon Fortress

Batcha N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

We are a family of 2 adults and 2 kids, we had on time pickup and vehicle was clean and comfortable. Our biggest disappointment was that our guide changed the order / sequence of visit of monuments and explained that is better... not really for us. We were supposed to do a break for lunch but she said it is better to go to the khan khalil soup at lunch time and we'll do lunch later... We missed the the Cairo gates etc.. Driver was polite and always there to pick us up from various points he dropped us. We were also asked to lie on our kids age to avoid paying monument visit fees... not fair to ask children to lie !! our kids themselves were uncomfortable. All this could have been much more enjoyable if we had a better guide. Please avoid guide Germaine, we had her for 2 days and it was very unfortunate.

Doing what: Private Guided Tour around Islamic Cairo Mosques Gates and Bazaar including Lunch

Eric F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable. They promptly pick you up from the hotel and provide safe transport to the key areas. We were able to experience the real Cairo. You will not be disappointed with this tour.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour to Khan el-Khalili and Madrassa of Sultan Hassan

Spagna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The guide was patient, knowledgeable and kind. The contracted local agency was EMO, and I encourage VIATOR to keep hiring them. Excellent! The El Moez Street is amazingly filled with history and beautiful architecture, but I suggest this visit for the afternoon, and keep the park for the morning.

Doing what: El Moez Street and Al Azhar Park Day Tour in Cairo

Jared C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was the highlight of our time in Egypt! It included a little of everything and we LOVED it all! Our tour guide Mady Osama was excellent and gave us great history background and information. He offered to take great photos of us at all the best places. We really enjoyed the camel ride and loved that it came included and didn't have to haggle over a price. The pyramids are so majestic, but not much inside these ones. The ones at Saqqara are much better to go inside. Appreciated the Egyptian museum tour and glad to pay a little extra for a photo ticket and entrance to mummies room also extra. Enjoyed the delicious lunch across from the Sphinx and Pyramids. What a sight. Stopped by a perfume/oils place, but ended up not buying. The papyrus place was also interesting and we did get something. Finally to the Khan El Khalili bazaar for great selections of all things Egyptian. Appreciated our guide and his bargaining tips.

Doing what: 8-Hour Private Tour of the Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum and Bazaar including Camel Ride and Lunch from Cairo

Antony R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

excellent in every way ! - Great driver - Great guide Mahmood we had lunch at a great buffet restaurant and mint tea an a shisha at a little Egyptian cafe. A real must for any traveller to Cairo- A

Doing what: Egyptian Museum and Islamic Cairo, Coptic Cairo And Khan El-Khalily Bazar with Private Tour Guide

sister_salt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic experience! What a great opportunity to tour the historic sites...and with a private guide! Will enjoy the memories for a lifetime!

Doing what: 2-Day Private Guided Tour to Giza, Saqqara, Dahshur and Cairo including Camel Ride, Felucca Sailing, Dinner Cruise and Sound and Light Show

Chikeva B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a GREAT experience with our tour guide Ahmad! He was very knowledgeable and passionate about Egyptian history. If I ever return to Cairo again I would definitely love to do another adventure with Ahmad. He was AWESOME!

Doing what: 8-Hour Private Tour of the Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum and Bazaar including Camel Ride and Lunch from Cairo

Sunil K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Really amazing. Tour guide Zenab is doing a wonderful job and even the driver is very polite. Zenab has got a brilliant knowledge and she makes you spend your day in a best possible manner. This tour covers alot and worth each and every penny you pay.

Doing what: 8-Hour Private Tour of the Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum and Bazaar including Camel Ride and Lunch from Cairo

Tangenik W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour and tour guide was great! I was able to see all the highlights of Cairo with a super knowledgeable guide. I learned so much about the sights, the people and the culture. it was well worth the money.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Guided Tour to Giza, Saqqara, Dahshur and Cairo including Camel Ride, Felucca Sailing, Dinner Cruise and Sound and Light Show

Nicholas M Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was our first time in Egypt, and no words can be used to described how wonderful this trip was. We were in Egypt for 3 days so this 2 day tour was the perfect way to see all of the highlights in Cairo. My fiancee Jen and I really enjoyed how this private tour was conducted, with a driver, a air-conditioned car, and a personal tour guide that accompanied us everywhere. Like every other tour, a tour is only as good as how the tour-guide is, and Smiley, our tour guide was awesome. Both Smiley, and Moustafa, our driver, picked us up both morning at our hotel and took us to see the different sites. Smiley was not only informative as he taught us the history of the different attractions, but was also outgoing, and extremely funny which made our first visit to Egypt more relaxing and fun. Seeing the different pyramids on the first day was awesome, with the Giza pyramids and Sphinx being the obvious highlights. The Alabaster mosque and seeing the mummies and king tuts golden mask were our favorite sites on the 2nd day, but the highlight was when Smiley took us to relax in a local coffee and hookah cafe right in the middle of the bazaar. It was just a thrilling experience to sit and observe and experience the local culture and atmosphere of Cairo's marketplace. We highly recommend this tour for those who are in Cairo for a short time and hopefully you will be lucky enough to get Smiley as your tourguide! Delicious!

Doing what: 2-Day Private Guided Tour to Giza, Saqqara, Dahshur and Cairo including Camel Ride, Felucca Sailing, Dinner Cruise and Sound and Light Show

Anita T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Booked this tour before another tour started and my group thoroughly enjoyed this tour with Michael. He was prompt in picking us up from our hotel, started right into the tour, and gave us history and culture throughout the tour. He was willing to answer our questions and was even kind enough to let us obtain picture of the Nile with the city in the background. This tour is perfect with the inclusions, the amount of time, the sites, etc. I'd recommend this trip for sure. My group and I want to thank you Michael for being our great tour guide!

Doing what: Half-Day Private Tour of Coptic Cairo Including Saint Simon Church in Moqqatam

Leith Patrick K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

For some reason Viator booked this tour with another agent in Cairo besides the one we had for all our other tours. When we discovered this we phoned Viator long distance from Cairo. They said there was nothing that could be done and we would forfeit our fee if we cancelled then. We decided to go ahead.
They arrived at our hotel on time and in a clean vehicle. I hate to speak ill of a tour operator but I feel others should know what they are getting into. The company was Pyramid Tours if I recall correctly. The guide spoke limited English and was very young. It appeared that his pitch was rehearsed and not easy to understand. When we asked questions which I admit we do a lot he wasn't able to respond cogently. It became tedious enough that we cut the tour short before lunch after seeing only two venues. We went back to our hotel, had a nice lunch and set out on our own walking tour of Zamalek.
I relaize the guide certainly did his best and tried very hard. He was a nice guy but the tour operator should have known his limitations. It was not an inexpensive tour by any means.
I suggest you investigate who the local operator is when you first book as Viator uses multiple agents in each market.
Over all disappointing but if you are going to have a problem in traveling, it was a pretty minor problem in an overall great trip.

Doing what: Private Full Day Sightseeing Tour of Cairo

Brad N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Let me start off by saying that this tour is 100 worth every cent you pay for.

On Day 1, Ashraf and Amrit showed up early to pick me up to start things off at the Pyramids of Giza. I was blown away by how incredible they were and was speechless most of the time. The camel ride was great and I got some amazing photos.

The best part of this tour is that they will personalize it to your needs. Instead of wanting to do the dinner cruise, I really wanted to see Memphis. Ashraf had no problem with this and made it happen, no questions asked. The entire time I also had wifi in the van to be able to upload photos and check emails while in route to the next spot.

Dashur is extremely underrated and was enjoyable, Memphis was great and Saqqara is just massive. You could easily spend a day there alone. Ashraf gave me time to explore the Imhotep Museum as well, which is a great 20 minutes well spent before exploring Saqqara.

The Sound and Light show was a very nice way to end the first day of this tour.

Day 2 started off all over Coptic Cairo, Citadel, Mohamed Ali Mosque, and the Synagogue. I was a bit tired after day 1 but was super excited to get to the Egyptian Museum. We headed over to the museum after a relaxing Felucca ride. The way Ashraf toured the museum was perfect, doing it in the proper timeline of Egyptian history. There is just SO much information that will be thrown at you, but take in as much as you can. The Royal Mummy room was worth the extra 100 LE and Tutankahum's treasure room was a very memorable experience.

We then went to the Khan Al Kalili Bazaar and Ashraf took me to a place where all the prices were extremely cheap and there was no hassle. I got all my souvenirs with ease and it was exactly what I was looking for.

Overall, book this tour with confidence. There was also plenty of bottled water provided both day. Ask for Ashraf and you'll be put in great hands and have an extremely memorable 2 day experience!

Doing what: 2-Day Private Guided Tour to Giza, Saqqara, Dahshur and Cairo including Camel Ride, Felucca Sailing, Dinner Cruise and Sound and Light Show

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife and I had only a few days in Cairo so we decided to take this tour to see the highlights. Normally we like to see things on our own, but we couldn't have been happier with our guide. His name is Bassam but he also goes by the name Smiley. He was a perfect guide for us. His English is wonderful, and he is extremely knowledgeable in Egyptian history he studied it for years in college. He continuously was happy to answer our questions and to take several pictures of us. I would strongly recommend him as a guide for this or any tour in Cairo/Egypt. The pace of the tour was perfect. We started at the pyramids and Bassam gave us ample time to look around, climb a bit on them and get pictures. He had cold bottles of water ready for us several times it was almost 110 degrees Fahrenheit that day! and the driver had the car always ready and nice and cool. We enjoyed the lunch and the Egyptian Museum, again Bassam was an amazing guide there. At the Bazaar, he let us go on our own and offered us to take as much time as we wanted. We were dropped back off at our hotel, amazed at how wonderful the day had been.

Doing what: 8-Hour Private Tour of the Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum and Bazaar including Camel Ride and Lunch from Cairo

Rajesh P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Excellent guide Mr Osama and the Driver too. Both of them on time to pick up.Mr Osama was wonderful joking during the travel and informative at site.Thanks a lot Viator and team

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message