Cairo ATTRACTIONS See all

Giza Pyramids

One of the most iconic and mysterious Seven Wonders of the World, the Pyramids of Giza still live up to more than 4,000 years of hype. Seeing them is a must on any trip to Cairo, and there are a number of options available to make the most of your ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 837 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sajjad S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent service and trip. We had brilliant tour guides they were friendly , knowledgeable and spoke very good English. I would love to use viator tour in future and high recommend them to other tourists. Thanks for great service once again.

Doing what: Private Tour: Cairo Day Trip from Hurghada

Christy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was one of the most amazing trips in my life. My tour guide/egyptologist Henry was amazing. I was a woman traveling alone in Egypt and Henry made me feel so safe and taken care of the entire day the driver was also great and respectful. Henry was so knowledgeable and I learned so much. He also made sure I wasn't hustled by the local camel drivers and markets. If you are wanting to see the historical sights of Egypt Henry is the only way to go. He does many other day tours as well and now has his own website now. Also I highly recommend staying at the Mena House hotel. It's right on the pyramid site and is paradise.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Brian L United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a must tour for anyone visiting Cairo. It was amazing to see the pyramids up close and to visit inside the Great Pyramid of Giza. Excellent

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Nishan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a wonderful show. We enjoyed it, it was a bit windy and cold that night. but it was good

Doing what: Pyramids Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

Marco antonio S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

It was very nice, but if you chose another language different of English the quality of sound is not good and confused because you hear both at the same time. I have selected Spanish because of my family, but we preferred stay with the show in English and we leaved the device to translation. But in general the show was very good!

Doing what: Pyramids Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

Mahesh N

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Firstly, my booking with Viator was at the last moment just 10 hours before the schedule and I really really appreciate your super fast response in arranging a guide immediately in the morning as we did not have much time in Cairo. In terms of the cost, I would say it was very expensive for the kind of tour that was planned, however the guide was excellent, the private car was in excellent condition. but was not great value for money.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

Grayzine United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

It looks like this Sinai travel Company does not pay its guides and drivers well. There is pressure on you to make up to your guide and driver with gratuities. This does not make it a pleasant experience at all.
Overall, I would not recommend this tour company. If you are assigned to Sinai travels, ask to be changed.

Please note that each individuals experience is highly dependent on who your local tour operator/guide is allocated.

Appointment time: Once Viator assigns a travel company our was assigned to Sinai travel they put considerable pressure on us to leave early like around 8AM. So, essentially the local travel company does not care if you request for a late departure. They give all possible reasons which are not true. Be firm.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Charles P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

I booked this tour because I was excited to be able to talk with the guide to have him customize our tour for us. He did quite the opposite. He told us what he wanted to do. The most enjoyable things we did on the tour were things that we had to tell him we wanted to do. We wanted to pay extra to go inside the pyramids and he just complained to us about how terrible it was. While my friend and I were getting emotional about the beautiful sight of the pyramids and trying to have a moment to enjoy it he interrupted that moment to take over touristy and corny photos that we didn't want. He did not follow the itinerary and took us to a Papyrus shop that was not on the schedule where he very obviously had connections with the owners. We had to argue with him to get to go to the Khan al Khalily market because he wanted to take us to a friend's Essence shop instead. After we convinced him to do the market we had to argue with him to stay longer than a half hour so we felt rushed. Additionally we spent only an hour at the Egyptian Museum. I feel cheated and would like my money back. I am sad that Viator would work with such terrible tour operators who didn't even seem to respect the beauty and tremendousness of the amazing cultural history that Egypt has to offer. I would rather have haggled with cab drivers and done each thing on my own then have dealt with this terrible guide. It would have been cheaper and in essence that is all I feel that I got from this tour, an overpriced transport and a terrible and disrespectful guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Joanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We were thrilled to find out that not only were we the only 2 people on the tour but our guide Henry was an archeologist with many years experience in Egyptian culture and history. My daughter and I could not if asked for a more wonderful experience. We got to ride a camel, go inside the pyramids and were even able to visit the Egyptian museum, a must for any tourist. I would recommend this tour to anyone interested in going to Egypt to see the pyramids

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Alexandru N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide Ossama has been just fantastic - visiting one of the ancient world wonders can be impressive in itself, but Ossama really made the whole experience more enjoyable. We started the tour in Memphis and then went to Sakkara before ending in Giza whilst experiencing a beautiful sunset over the pyramids and Sphinx. The momentum throughout the day kept building up and all the time Ossama shared with us the history behind all these amazing places in an easy to understand way, making it feel as listening to an old and fascinating story about life in Ancient Egypt. Thank you Ossama for making us feel really great in Cairo!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Sandra E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic tour. We only had 3 days in Cairo and what a way to see it. We felt very safe with our personal driver and tour guide. Very much knowledge of all to see. We even seen paper of the pharaohs I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wishing to see the secrets of Egypt.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

yaz1_m2001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

just perfect... made us feel safe all the time.. we requested Spanish guide... he was the best..!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Jeronymo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I couldn't be more glad! The tour guide Abdel is an Egyptologist that used to be a teacher and he provided a lot of good information. The tour was always on time and we were able to stop at the Merit Bazaar to check the papyrus and cartouches stores. I would recommend to add the camel ride. I got great pictures riding from Khufu to Menkaure. As a bonus, I lunched at a restaurant with a nice view of the Giza pyramids and I also received a wake-up call one hour prior to the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

juliolsl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Super tour well worth going to.

Doing what: Pyramids Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

John D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Excellent visit to Sakkara, enjoyed going into the pyramids and ruins and seeing the site. Great information about the markings. Memphis was not what I expected, more of an outdoor museum of a few large stone pieces, but it was a good stop with time to walk around alone. The Giza Pyramids seemed only focused on walking around the outside from different views and getting the typical tourist photo shots I was disappointed that we didn't go into the pyramids here and see more of the options at this site at the ticket counter, there were options available with the site tickets. In hind sight, I would have made it clear that I wanted to see more things at this location. I went in to see the Solar Boat Museum and definitely recommend adding that option--impressive find. I added the camel ride real time...it was OK, be careful, you only have to show a little interest and you'll be doing the ride before you know it. The Pyramids are fantastic though and so impressive to see up close. The Sphinx was OK, great to see but we only say it from a distance for the photo opportunity. Definitely recommend walking down the hill to get more perspective on it. I wish I'd taken the time to walk around up close to Sphinx it seemed discouraged for time...and if there were other options close up or inside, I would have taken those too. I enjoyed the carpet school and papyrus stops, but they were definitely focused on sales and tourist. I bought a couple items though so I'd recommend stopping. The lunch stop was excellent but a little overpriced similar meal available at my western hotel for about half the price. The transfers were excellent, safe, air-conditioned...I would definitely recommend. The guide Hanna was very informative, an excellent guide that truly wanted to make sure that you learned about the culture and enjoyed your trip. Having a personal guide was excellent. I wouldn't recommend trying to navigate yourself, and spending a little extra on a private guide was a worthwhile investment in my trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Dustin W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Did this tour in early december. The guide was very informative , and kind and it made for a wonderful day trip. He even took me to a bazar at my request to have a customized cartouche made for me because i liked his so much, he waited the entire time and then took me back to my hotel. overall a great trip, only thing i did not like was i was the only person on this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

juliolopez027

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

The Show was ok. But it can be a lot better considering all you can do with Sound and Light technology. I don't recommend it.

Doing what: Pyramids Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

Christopher Y

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

South Sinai tours were unprofessional and did not provide a service that was worthy of the cost incurred. They did NOT perform the hotel pick-up as requested were over 2 hours late. We suspect that we were only picked up because we called their head office multiple times. If we had not done this, we would like have sat in the hotel lobby and never gotten to take our tour. Once we were picked up, the tour was rushed and unimpressive.

The pyramids were great, but our tour guide was pushy and did not provide much to improve our experience. After the tour, we felt that we could have had the same experience if we had simply taken a taxi there on our own. Sakkara was closed for restoration by UNESCO and Memphis was not worth the drive.

The most valuable thing about this tour was the private van and local driver. This, however, should cost nothing close to the 80 per person we paid for approximately 4 hours. By the end, we were terribly disappointed with the vendor and not feeling great about Viatour either first experience. We'd highly recommend having a tour guide and seeing these great sights - just look elsewhere if you want to get a good value for your money.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Jora Puspa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Unforgettable experience one day trip in Cairo. Visiting Egypt for something different is really good idea.Thanks to Mr Fouad, Egyptologist, his really knowledgeable and experienced.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

jrocha143 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

If you have the time, visit all three locations because it will make sense at the end. Also when you go to Memphis stop by and see Mohammed which is a great vendor within the complex and easy to get along with. If you are able get Ahmed as your tour guide and the information as well as your experience will be worth your time. Lunch is part of the tour, so stick with the menu an you will be given good food. Finally, do not be late for the Giza, this is your last stop and is breath-taking to see and touch history. Again an excellent experience all around!!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Mark S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

Agent did not show up for hotel pickup and was not contactable via the given contact numbers.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

Garrad W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a fantastic tour and recommended for those wanting to see the main sights around Cairo.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message