Cairo ATTRACTIONS See all

Giza Pyramids

The sole survivor of the Seven Wonders of the World, the Pyramids of Giza still live up to more than 4,000 years of hype. Their extraordinary shape, geometry and age render them somehow alien constructions; they seem to rise out of the desert and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 807 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Amin United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. Advised on how to avoid tourist traps.
We were ahead of schedule so we were able to stop in the papyrus store which was a bonus.
Lunch was in a lovely small restaurant, clean washrooms.
Transport was modern and on time.
Overall a long day, 8am to 4pm, but worth it.
Would recommend this package to anybody wanting to gain an overview of the ancient Egyptian era.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Jade L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing, due in large part to my fantastic guide, Ahmed. He was the epitome of professional. On-time, courteous, attentive - everything you expect when booking a private tour! He was knowledgeable, providing great details at each sight, and his English was perfect.

He was caring in a totally non-creepy way for example, holding my hand when we entered a Pyramid and climbed another one because I'm both claustrophobic and afraid of heights!. He put me at ease without crossing any boundaries. When I lamented about the overpriced water and food at my hotel, he took me to a local supermarket to stock up on essentials. He is truly a great person and asset to the tourism industry!

Our driver, Essmat, was also great. I never felt unsafe which in Cairo traffic is quite a miracle!.

I hope everyone who books this tour gets Ahmed!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Emily H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great experience! If you can, ask for Tarek as a tour guide. He was outstanding!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

pj.balak

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The tour guide was not speaking in a culturally appropriate manner. The tour itself is overcharged compared to the service provided, even taking into account that the entrance fees and lunch was included. We also felt very rushed and didn't have time to go through the areas we wanted. The guide did not take the time to explain any of the history or culture in either Cairo or the locations we visited. I would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Timothy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide, Mohamed Basheer, was excellent. He provided a perfect balance of information, education, and free time to explore on our own and set the right pace. We thoroughly enjoyed this adventure.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Carol L

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Explanation is good. Just the guide shows it on his face too apparently that he is disappointed if you dont buy souvenirs in the shops he brought you to.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Peter K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A wonderful day tour with some friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Grant D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour with excellent tour guide Ahmed. Very knowledgeable and flexible to accommodate ant requests. Amazing piece of History.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

KRIS T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Flawless! Our guide was fantastic. He was knowledgable and likable, made our visit memorable. The drive was great too. My travel buddy and I are not shoppers and we told our guide we wanted to avoid shopping stops...no problem. He also kept unwanted vendors away from us which can be a problem at these tourist sites. We enjoyed every minute of our tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Sally S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide Ahmed was knowledgeable and friendly. Allowed us to go at our own pace. Highlight was camel ride to the Sphinx (which he helped negotiate at a fair price). Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

fbxfireweed

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fast but immensely interesting day. Well worth the time. Our guide Mohammad was very knowlegable. The only comment to make is if one likes history and museums, the Egyptian Museum a.k.a. Cairo Museum, really deserves much more time. I hope to go back some time to see more.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Sara A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had an amazing time on this trip. The sites were amazing to see and this is the perfect time to see them when tourism in Egypt is low. Our tour guide Fouad was amazing. If you are ever in Cairo and in need of an excellent and knowledgeable tour guide for anything - Pyramids, Museum, or even down to Luxor or Aswan - contact South Sinai Travel and ask for Fouad! Nicest guy, knew so much about Egyptian history, and was very flexible on our itinerary. This tour was the highlight of our trip and we hope to come back to see more sites in the future. When we do, we will absolutely book with Fouad. Overall a once in a lifetime experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Bassim M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Knowledgeable and available guide spoke perfect spannish. Air conditioned van, took us directly to the most important spots, punctual pickup and later drop at the hotel.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

Kevin R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great and the guide was very knowledgeable. My only complaint is the scam with the Egyptian Papyrus shop. It was not listed but appeared all tours were doing this. You are pressured into buying something. For that reason I will not do another tour with this site

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Claire D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Could have done without being taken to a shop afterwards

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

Krista M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

To begin with, let me say how very safe we felt while we were in Egypt. It is lamentable that tourism, which accounts for 30 of Egypt's industry, has taken such a beating so that sensationalist media can sell 'news'. Everyone we met was friendly, helpful and seemed genuinely happy to welcome us to their country. Of course you need to be alert in Cairo - as you would in any large city - and keep your wits about you while you are out - as anywhere - that's just common sense.
Go on an organized tour like this with a guide. They know the language and the culture and can navigate both the streets and the process far better than you could on your own. Qualified guides are exceptionally knowledgable about Egyptian history - it is an extensive training program with exams - and can open doors to a richer experience.
We had a excellent day with Ahmed our guide and Syed our driver. Ahmed's English was impeccable - I was sure he had been educated in an English speaking country, but that was not the case. He was knowledgeable, interesting to listen to - not just reciting a history book, but more like storytelling - and had good advice for interacting with locals. We never felt rushed and were given opportunities to explore where we wished and move on when we were ready.
Great day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Abigail C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Viator booked us with South Sanai Travel and we had a FABULOUS day! The tour guide was amazing and was also our photographer throughout the day. He took some amazing photos of us! Giza is very busy whereas Sakkara is much more secluded. Great day overall!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Karen Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The show lasted an hour and the history of ancient Egypt was told throughout. This wasn't just lighted pyramids but with images displayed on the pyramids whilst the story unfolded. Excellent night. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Pyramids Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

Karen Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Pyramids were awesome. The Sphinx was mind blowing. Paid extra to go inside the pyramid. Not much to see inside but glad we went. The tour guide K was the best. Extremely knowledgeable and spoke perfect English. Paid extra for camel rides. Keep in mind to have some small notes as the young boys that walk the camels insist on a tip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Rudy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip!! Guide went out of his way to assist and was very professional. I recommend this trip to anyone and everyone!!
Excellent tour!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Mohammad B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour and found the tour guide to be informative and helpful.

Starting with the Egyptian Museum, there really is so much to see and there wouldn't be enough time in the tour to cover even half of it. I was walked through the story of Tutankhamen and saw a lot of his belongings and other antiquities found in his tomb. I'd highly recommend reading up or watching a documentary on Ancient Egypt to fully appreciate what's to see here.

The Khan el-Khalili Bazaar was somewhat underwhelming. It hasn't much to offer but it is worth a visit. Do be ready to haggle, the vendors speak perfect English and will use all kinds of Sales tactics to oversell their products.

The entry to the Funerary Complex and the Sphinx were beautiful. Though the guide would tell you much of the history of these places, it would really help to know a little prior to visiting.

The Pyramids were simply the best thing about visiting Cairo. They are every bit as grand as people say. Putting my hand on the warm yet soft stone for the first time will be something I never forget. Being with the tour guide in this area really has it's advantages and I would highly advise it.

The tour guide himself was very friendly and informative. He was happy to answer any questions and the way he told some of the stories of Ancient Egypt especially in the Solar Boat Museum was truly captivating. I very shamefully forgot to tip him before I left as there isn't much of a tip culture where I come from so please be sure to give tip the drivers and the guides as you see fit.

Overall, this tour was great for people visiting for a short time and really gives a strong feel of what Cairo has to offer.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

gregabutler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Invaluable Top notch service. Flexible schedule to meet our preferences. Private means private. Using this tour provided us the opportunity to see so much in one day. Couldn and #39;t have done it othersiwe. Egyptologist was great. Separate car with driver allowed us to be dropped off at the front door

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Christopher P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Outstanding. Absolutely outstanding. Mohamed was an above-and-beyond professional throughout the journey, keeping the pace fresh and exciting as we moved from sight to sight. I was also extremely interested in local culture and current events, and we were able to have some fantastic discussions during the drives in between sites that gave me a more robust knowledge of the area and customs. As a solo traveler, I almost opted to cobble together a self-guided version of this tour - so glad that I opted to go with Mohamed instead. Can't recommend highly enough. Book it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Xuan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was a wonderful experience. During my years of solo travelling, I had the best tour guide ever. Special thanks to Ahmet who really made my day. He is professional, knowledgeable and of great help to everything. On an academic level, Ahmet is not only good at assessing the client's knowledge base and readiness to learn but also knows when and where to provide certain important information appropriately. As a guide for the day, Ahmet is very clear of the time schedule as well as being adaptable of lunch breaks etc. The super bonus is Ahmet is a very talented photographer who knows how to operate DSLR to have taken brilliant pics for me. The tour is very organized and highly educational. I would strongly recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Felipe B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Incredibly honored to have stepped in this 5000 years old site. The pyramids are just as mythical as they are great. We went inside up to the tomb and it's just an unique feeling to be there. The Khan el-Khalili Bazaar is a true culture immersion and full of beautiful Egyptian tokens/gifts. Our guide Ossama Sharaf was very knowledgeable and guided us through every step. We ended with a traditional mint tea in a cafe by Khan el-Khalili after going over the sites of the tour plus a few n surprises on the way I would definitely do this again and if you can, ask for this guide, he was awesome.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message