Cairo ATTRACTIONS See all

Khan al-Khalili

Jaundiced travelers often dismiss the Khan al-Khalili as a tourist trap; there's no ignoring the fact that it's a favored stop of tour buses and has all the associated annoyances (touts and tat) that come with them. But it's worth remembering ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 129 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alex

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Punctual pick-up. Very impressive buildings. Our guide explained a lot about how to live and behave as a Muslim which was quite interesting. The bazaar these days has a lot of imported products from China but still worth spending 20minutes there. Optional visits to papyrus and perfume shop with presentations which we liked. Don't forget to bargain hard.

Doing what: Private Tour: Alabaster Mosque, Sultan Hassan, Khan el-Khalili

Alex

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Punctual pick-up. Very impressive buildings. Our guide explained a lot about how to live and behave as a muslim which was quite interesting. The bazaar has a lot of products from China these days but still worth spending 20 minutes there. Optional visits to papyrus and perfume shop with presentations which we liked. Don't forget to bargain hard!

Doing what: Private Tour: Alabaster Mosque, Sultan Hassan, Khan el-Khalili

Batcha N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

We are a family of 2 adults and 2 kids, we had on time pickup and vehicle was clean and comfortable. Our biggest disappointment was that our guide changed the order / sequence of visit of monuments and explained that is better... not really for us. We were supposed to do a break for lunch but she said it is better to go to the khan khalil soup at lunch time and we'll do lunch later... We missed the the Cairo gates etc.. Driver was polite and always there to pick us up from various points he dropped us. We were also asked to lie on our kids age to avoid paying monument visit fees... not fair to ask children to lie !! our kids themselves were uncomfortable. All this could have been much more enjoyable if we had a better guide. Please avoid guide Germaine, we had her for 2 days and it was very unfortunate.

Doing what: Private Guided Tour around Islamic Cairo Mosques Gates and Bazaar including Lunch

Alexandru N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We spent another great day with our tour guide, Ossama - we reached the Egyptian Museum in the early morning and managed to enjoy the main area 2nd floor almost by ourselves.... what a treat! Then we visited the Alabaster Mosque and Ossama took us on a ride through history. We ended up the day with a walk through the bazar. W had a fantastic time in Cairo - definitely because of the amazing experiences the city can give you and in part because of our wonderful guide. Looking forward to the next trip to Egypt!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Egyptian museum was amazing and really enjoyed and took advantage of the private time offered to walk around on my own. The Alabaster Mosque was interesting to walk through but a short visit. The market was typical, but interesting to see. The stop at the perfume shop was unnecessary and focused on a sale...but they made it somewhat interesting. The lunch was Ok/good...but overpriced. Definitely recommend using a private transfer and guide, it was a great and safe way to get around. Transfers were safe, air-conditioned and excellent. Pickup was about 30 min late due to heavy traffic getting into the city.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Travis L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic guide and driver!!! Had a great day and would recommend this to anyone!

Doing what: Day Tour Cairo Egyptian Museum Coptic Cairo and Khan El Khalili Bazaar from Giza

Hector P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Mi rating solo vale si piden a Ahmed Ali como guía. Tomamos varios tours con Viator solo para asegurar que tendríamos el mismo guía. Los lugares son todos impresionantes, pero un guía con buen español y gran conocimiento los transforma en grandes experiencias.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Cecilia T

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The tour was ok. If you're interested about visiting mosque this is the place to see. The same tour guide we had on our tour for Coptic Cairo, the hanging church, we have to wait again for him for few minutes, gave us the history of the place and then he just let us explore the place, take pictures and waited for us outside.you only need couple of hours to complete this trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Alabaster Mosque, Sultan Hassan, Khan el-Khalili

John R G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The sites visited were of historical and cultural importance, and the guide was accurate and very informative in his descriptions. Much, much better than many previous tour guides on other excursions. He also accommodated very well what I really wanted to see, and did not need to see. I cannot recommend him too highly.

Doing what: Private Tour: Alabaster Mosque, Sultan Hassan, Khan el-Khalili

Steve T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My wife and I were picked up at our hotel, and driven to the Cairo Museum. Sorry I don't remember our drivers name. We were dropped off and greeted at the entry by our guide for the tour, Morad.
We were given a brief history of the Museum whilst in the grounds, and given an opportunity to take some photos of the exhibits that are in the grounds.
We then entered the Museum. A word regarding photos inside the Museum. You need to pay a small fee and receive a ticket to take photos inside. This is not included in the entry fee. But we didn't see anyone asking to see the ticket?
Once inside Morad showed us around the majority of the general exhibits before heading upstairs to the King Tutankhamun exhibits. These are by far the highlight, and I recommend you spend the majority of your time here.
The room with the Death Mask, coffins, jewellery is very special. But even with your photography pass, there are no photos to be taken in here.
For an extra fee payable inside the museum you can enter the Royal Mummy room. We didn't go in, so I can't comment.
We decided not to go to the Alabaster Mosque or Bazzar due to having spent all of the previous day in Luxor and an impending Nile cruise that night. So, I cant comment on these attractions.
Overall, the Museum is great, especially the King Tut exhibits. The Death Mask was the highlight for us.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Allan Kenneth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The guide that we had was great. Very accommodating and full of lots of information. He suggested a couple of other places also hat were great.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

monica w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderfully patient and very knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Trudy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

REALLY enjoyed this!! I was picked up on time. My guide Hammad was FANTASTIC. He really knew Egyptian history, culture, etc. He could tell me so many interesting facts about the main pieces in the Egyptian Museum. He answered every question I had. I was very impressed with his knowledge and patience. My tour included a stop at a perfume shop and papyrus museum/shop. As the only person in the group, I had the power to say I wanted to skip the trip to the market. The whole tour was worth the price. LOVED IT. Thank you.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Sione Sonata T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Truly an incredible sight and totally amazing place to visit, and one of the best place to visit. Starting off with the Egyptian Museum which gave us an amazing opportunity to witness first hand the wonders of an ancient civilization plus the great highlights emphasized by the young Egyptologist which have amazed us more about the Egyptian Ancient Civilizations. Would highly recommend friends and colleague to take up this tour package before approaching the Pyramids.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Jimski Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Luz

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The Museum is very interested and worth the visit. The mosque is old compared to others in other countries and the bazaar is like any other souk in other Middle East countries. Could spend more time at the Museum since there is so much to see and learn.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

joectatman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour. Our tour guide was Mohamed Atef Ahmed. He did an excellent job of taking time to explain each location, its history, and asked us what more we wanted to know about each location. He knew the best locations to take pictures and which vendors were good to shop at. When it came time to drop us off at the airport, he went in and found our gate and where we could something to eat. He then even walked us back up to the airport terminal, helping us with our bags. I would highly recommend Mohamed to anyone wanting to see Cairo.

Doing what: Private Tour: Alabaster Mosque, Sultan Hassan, Khan el-Khalili

Kevin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide was amazing! He had great insight on the history and allowed me to enjoy it like a local. Visiting the mosques were beautiful and he made the experience a great one

Doing what: Private Tour: Alabaster Mosque, Sultan Hassan, Khan el-Khalili

Danielle O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome Tour! Our tour guide Ahmed was the best!

Doing what: Private Tour: Alabaster Mosque, Sultan Hassan, Khan el-Khalili

Ashley Y

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

mosque, souq, museum, perfume shop.
Car on time, clean and air conditioned.
mosque beautiful, souq full of things from China, fun to sit and have tea and smoke shisha.
museum is overwhelming, lots to see and do.
perfume shop cool thing for any girl

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Gabriel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great trip. Our guide was very good. His name was Fuhet.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message