Old Cairo is a relatively small area but it is rich with history. Also known as Coptic Cairo, Fustat (in reference to the first Muslim city established there), and Masr al-Qadima to the locals, it has been inhabited since the 6th century BC. It has ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 439 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jade L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing, due in large part to my fantastic guide, Ahmed. He was the epitome of professional. On-time, courteous, attentive - everything you expect when booking a private tour! He was knowledgeable, providing great details at each sight, and his English was perfect.

He was caring in a totally non-creepy way for example, holding my hand when we entered a Pyramid and climbed another one because I'm both claustrophobic and afraid of heights!. He put me at ease without crossing any boundaries. When I lamented about the overpriced water and food at my hotel, he took me to a local supermarket to stock up on essentials. He is truly a great person and asset to the tourism industry!

Our driver, Essmat, was also great. I never felt unsafe which in Cairo traffic is quite a miracle!.

I hope everyone who books this tour gets Ahmed!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

pj.balak

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The tour guide was not speaking in a culturally appropriate manner. The tour itself is overcharged compared to the service provided, even taking into account that the entrance fees and lunch was included. We also felt very rushed and didn't have time to go through the areas we wanted. The guide did not take the time to explain any of the history or culture in either Cairo or the locations we visited. I would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Cecilia T

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

It was a nice tour, we were picked up from our hotel at 9 am, we met our tour guide where our tour started, he gave an overview what we're doing that day. It's kind of odd that we have to wait for our tour guide.The tour lasted about 3 1/2 hours only and then were dropped off to our hotel by the driver. It's a lot of extra we have to pay such as if you want to use your camera to take pictures you have to pay 50 Egyptian pounds.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Carol L

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Explanation is good. Just the guide shows it on his face too apparently that he is disappointed if you dont buy souvenirs in the shops he brought you to.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Peter K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A wonderful day tour with some friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Grant D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour with excellent tour guide Ahmed. Very knowledgeable and flexible to accommodate ant requests. Amazing piece of History.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

KRIS T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Flawless! Our guide was fantastic. He was knowledgable and likable, made our visit memorable. The drive was great too. My travel buddy and I are not shoppers and we told our guide we wanted to avoid shopping stops...no problem. He also kept unwanted vendors away from us which can be a problem at these tourist sites. We enjoyed every minute of our tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Sara A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had an amazing time on this trip. The sites were amazing to see and this is the perfect time to see them when tourism in Egypt is low. Our tour guide Fouad was amazing. If you are ever in Cairo and in need of an excellent and knowledgeable tour guide for anything - Pyramids, Museum, or even down to Luxor or Aswan - contact South Sinai Travel and ask for Fouad! Nicest guy, knew so much about Egyptian history, and was very flexible on our itinerary. This tour was the highlight of our trip and we hope to come back to see more sites in the future. When we do, we will absolutely book with Fouad. Overall a once in a lifetime experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Krista M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

To begin with, let me say how very safe we felt while we were in Egypt. It is lamentable that tourism, which accounts for 30 of Egypt's industry, has taken such a beating so that sensationalist media can sell 'news'. Everyone we met was friendly, helpful and seemed genuinely happy to welcome us to their country. Of course you need to be alert in Cairo - as you would in any large city - and keep your wits about you while you are out - as anywhere - that's just common sense.
Go on an organized tour like this with a guide. They know the language and the culture and can navigate both the streets and the process far better than you could on your own. Qualified guides are exceptionally knowledgable about Egyptian history - it is an extensive training program with exams - and can open doors to a richer experience.
We had a excellent day with Ahmed our guide and Syed our driver. Ahmed's English was impeccable - I was sure he had been educated in an English speaking country, but that was not the case. He was knowledgeable, interesting to listen to - not just reciting a history book, but more like storytelling - and had good advice for interacting with locals. We never felt rushed and were given opportunities to explore where we wished and move on when we were ready.
Great day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Steve T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My wife and I were picked up at our hotel, and driven to the Cairo Museum. Sorry I don't remember our drivers name. We were dropped off and greeted at the entry by our guide for the tour, Morad.
We were given a brief history of the Museum whilst in the grounds, and given an opportunity to take some photos of the exhibits that are in the grounds.
We then entered the Museum. A word regarding photos inside the Museum. You need to pay a small fee and receive a ticket to take photos inside. This is not included in the entry fee. But we didn't see anyone asking to see the ticket?
Once inside Morad showed us around the majority of the general exhibits before heading upstairs to the King Tutankhamun exhibits. These are by far the highlight, and I recommend you spend the majority of your time here.
The room with the Death Mask, coffins, jewellery is very special. But even with your photography pass, there are no photos to be taken in here.
For an extra fee payable inside the museum you can enter the Royal Mummy room. We didn't go in, so I can't comment.
We decided not to go to the Alabaster Mosque or Bazzar due to having spent all of the previous day in Luxor and an impending Nile cruise that night. So, I cant comment on these attractions.
Overall, the Museum is great, especially the King Tut exhibits. The Death Mask was the highlight for us.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Abigail C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Viator booked us with South Sanai Travel and we had a FABULOUS day! The tour guide was amazing and was also our photographer throughout the day. He took some amazing photos of us! Giza is very busy whereas Sakkara is much more secluded. Great day overall!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Rudy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip!! Guide went out of his way to assist and was very professional. I recommend this trip to anyone and everyone!!
Excellent tour!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Christopher P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Outstanding. Absolutely outstanding. Mohamed was an above-and-beyond professional throughout the journey, keeping the pace fresh and exciting as we moved from sight to sight. I was also extremely interested in local culture and current events, and we were able to have some fantastic discussions during the drives in between sites that gave me a more robust knowledge of the area and customs. As a solo traveler, I almost opted to cobble together a self-guided version of this tour - so glad that I opted to go with Mohamed instead. Can't recommend highly enough. Book it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Xuan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was a wonderful experience. During my years of solo travelling, I had the best tour guide ever. Special thanks to Ahmet who really made my day. He is professional, knowledgeable and of great help to everything. On an academic level, Ahmet is not only good at assessing the client's knowledge base and readiness to learn but also knows when and where to provide certain important information appropriately. As a guide for the day, Ahmet is very clear of the time schedule as well as being adaptable of lunch breaks etc. The super bonus is Ahmet is a very talented photographer who knows how to operate DSLR to have taken brilliant pics for me. The tour is very organized and highly educational. I would strongly recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Stephannie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had an excellent guide for our half day tour of Coptic Cairo. We saw all of the sites listed and we were given lots of information about each from our guide. This tour shows you this part of the city in a snap shot.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

czarina c

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour is worth doing once in your life. The only thing I don't recommend is the lunch. It cost me 20 U.S. Dollars for less than mediocre. I could've had the same thing for much less and I was highly disappointed that I got ripped off. NOT WORTH IT! Get lunch as take away and save your money. Aside from that, I did enjoy myself. I couldn't have asked for a better day to be outdoors and take photos. DO be careful as the guide will take you places to get you to spend money that is not a part of the trip that you agreed to and paid for. It was a good getaway but I've seen what I needed to see and I have no intention of ever coming back to Egypt.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Nida T

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This was a good, short tour. The sights are not very huge or grand, but it gives you a good idea of the area of Coptic Cairo. I wasn't sure about all the facts and stories that our guide was telling us. He did talk a lot, and mostly we wanted to look around.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Magnus B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour with both an excellent guide and driver. I can highly recommend this tour! But remember to bring water :-

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Brendan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our family of 4 really enjoyed our day tour of the Pyramids and surrounds with Fouad. He was flexible with our itinerary on what we wanted to do or not do and had a good sense of fun, humour as well as having plenty of knowledge in the area. Was a very pleasurable day out and a great way to start our Egypt trip. Would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Gregory W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a fantastic trip. I got to do everything I wanted including a couple things that was not on the program. My guide was very good. He was upbeat and had a great knowledge of Cairo history. I must admit I really enjoyed him. Overall, I will definitely use Viator for all my travels. They provided great service.

Doing what: Private Day-Tour to Egyptian Museum, Citadel of Sala Din and Old Cairo

Brian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our tour guide and driver were over the top exceptional !!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Susan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fouad was an excellent guide who filled my day with amazing sights and stories on Cairo's history. This day was a memory I will never forget thanks to him and this amazing place.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Mindy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a good experience with Viator and our private tour guide, no suprises and no hassles. The day included a good mix of activities and history. Lunch was good too.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

robertthomas252

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Outstanding trip. My tour guide was Ahmed and I would highly recommend him as he's courteous, knowledgeable and very dependable.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message