Cairo ATTRACTIONS See all

Ramses II Statue

Ramses II was a the longest serving pharaoh in Ancient Egypt, reigning from 1279 BC to 1213 BC, a total of 66 years and 2 months. This made him a very powerful and significant man in history and it's not surprising he left behind so many huge ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 333 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We were thrilled to find out that not only were we the only 2 people on the tour but our guide Henry was an archeologist with many years experience in Egyptian culture and history. My daughter and I could not if asked for a more wonderful experience. We got to ride a camel, go inside the pyramids and were even able to visit the Egyptian museum, a must for any tourist. I would recommend this tour to anyone interested in going to Egypt to see the pyramids

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Alexandru N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide Ossama has been just fantastic - visiting one of the ancient world wonders can be impressive in itself, but Ossama really made the whole experience more enjoyable. We started the tour in Memphis and then went to Sakkara before ending in Giza whilst experiencing a beautiful sunset over the pyramids and Sphinx. The momentum throughout the day kept building up and all the time Ossama shared with us the history behind all these amazing places in an easy to understand way, making it feel as listening to an old and fascinating story about life in Ancient Egypt. Thank you Ossama for making us feel really great in Cairo!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Jose Carlos R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I had a wonderful tour to Giza pyramids, Sakkara and Memphis, amazing the three places. Ahmed Zakaria made it great, he knows very well about ancient Egypt and explains it very clear. Also he helped me with some pictures as I was traveling alone. Fully recommend the tour and an with Ahmed even more.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour from Cairo: Giza Pyramids Sphinx Memphis and Sakkara

Sandra E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic tour. We only had 3 days in Cairo and what a way to see it. We felt very safe with our personal driver and tour guide. Very much knowledge of all to see. We even seen paper of the pharaohs I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wishing to see the secrets of Egypt.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Vignes C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was without doubt the highlight of my trip to Egypt and Cairo. My guide Sahl was the best, he made sure we were completely comfortable with everything right from the point of pick up until drop off at the end of the day. The great pyramids were the highlight, so was visiting the earliest pyramids as well as the brilliant lunch. We requested for a later lunch so that we could have it while watching the sun set over the pyramids- a rare scene indeed. One of the most unforgettable days in my life. The magic of the pyramids still has an effect on me.

Doing what: Private Full-Day Tour Visiting Giza Pyramids, Transfers and Lunch Included

ryanelefante

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was just the tour I was looking for, covering most of the places I wanted to see. My private guide Ahmed Fayed was great. Being on the tour with him was more like being with a friend who just happened to be knowledgeable about Egypt and #39;s history. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Private Full-Day Tour Visiting Giza Pyramids, Transfers and Lunch Included

jrocha143 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

If you have the time, visit all three locations because it will make sense at the end. Also when you go to Memphis stop by and see Mohammed which is a great vendor within the complex and easy to get along with. If you are able get Ahmed as your tour guide and the information as well as your experience will be worth your time. Lunch is part of the tour, so stick with the menu an you will be given good food. Finally, do not be late for the Giza, this is your last stop and is breath-taking to see and touch history. Again an excellent experience all around!!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

David C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was very professionally done and quite informative. My guide, Tito, did an amazing job. He was enthusiastic, prompt, knowledgable, and extremely courteous. I've taken tours in many countries, and would rate this tour as excellent. Highly recommend the tour and the guide.

D. Capozzi

Doing what: Full-Day Tour from Cairo: Giza Pyramids Sphinx Memphis and Sakkara

Garrad W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a fantastic tour and recommended for those wanting to see the main sights around Cairo.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Scott T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My tour was great. Abraham was a perfect tour guide and made my experience awesome. He is a super good guy and was very knowledgeable. The driver was good too. I believe I was the 1st person to go inside the Great Pyramid for the day so it wasnt so hot. Thanks for a wonderful adventure.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour from Cairo: Giza Pyramids Sphinx Memphis and Sakkara

one4ssto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Nothing can compare to personally stand right next to the Great Pyramids of Giza and witness the glory of ancient Egypt in it's majestic splendor. It's just magnificent! A once in a lifetime experience to see the statue of the Great Sphinx, the step pyramid of Djoser at Saqqara, the ancient historic city of Memphis with the nearly intact granite statue of Ramses II. Our assigned private guide Ahmed was so knowledgeable, extremely personable, very engaging, funny and fluent in English made this excursion so memorable. But the Great Pyramids of Giza was the star. If there is anything in this world to see in person, the Great Pyramids of Giza is it. And then there is the iconic statue of the Great Sphinx - just incredible! A must see for sure!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Floyd P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great experience - Lilly (guide) and Kamal (driver) from Ibermundo travel were a great team. They picked me up on time from the hotel and invested almost 12hrs ensuring my trip was spectacular. Lilly was knowledgeable about not only the sites but Cairo as well. Overall highly recommended for all

Doing what: Day Trip to the Giza Pyramids - Sphinx - Memphis and Sakkara

luke.szarafinski

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

overall good tour with plenty of amazing sights to see. Private car and tour guide allow plenty of flexibility. The lunch was so so and you you're expected to pay for drinks separately and give tips.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Jade L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing, due in large part to my fantastic guide, Ahmed. He was the epitome of professional. On-time, courteous, attentive - everything you expect when booking a private tour! He was knowledgeable, providing great details at each sight, and his English was perfect.

He was caring in a totally non-creepy way for example, holding my hand when we entered a Pyramid and climbed another one because I'm both claustrophobic and afraid of heights!. He put me at ease without crossing any boundaries. When I lamented about the overpriced water and food at my hotel, he took me to a local supermarket to stock up on essentials. He is truly a great person and asset to the tourism industry!

Our driver, Essmat, was also great. I never felt unsafe which in Cairo traffic is quite a miracle!.

I hope everyone who books this tour gets Ahmed!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Leith Patrick K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A mind boggling experience in brief. We managed to see an immense number of sights in one day. Fouad's explanation of the history and the mechanics of how the temples and pyramids were constructed as well as the social structure at the time was fascinating. We had the freedom to go into various sites if we wanted. I could do this tour over and over and still be happy. Great service and great knowledge from our guide. Prompt pickup and drop off at our hotel in downtown Cairo.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Masa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide that introduced me to the Giza's treasures is Ahmed and I recommend him as a professional and an experienced guide who enjoys his job and shares selflessly anything you would want to know. Furthermore, Cairo is pretty safe place to visit now and I also recommend this period for people who prefer having their vacation without sweating and sun burning the whole day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Will and Jodi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Ok. Let's start off by talking about the tour. It was amazing. Private really does mean private. It's you and your partner, the driver and the Egyptologist. They take you to all four sites and you go at your own pace. I must've asked a billion questions and he answered basically everything. Very knowledgable and kept the people who were selling us stuff at bay. He did help when we wanted to purchase some things though as he has vendors he deals with. This lasts as long as you want and you never felt rushed. Just don't take advantage of it! Tarik was our guide. He was calm, cool and amazing! I would recommend him.
Now onto the driver. In the craziness that is Cairo he was a pool of tranquility. Very professional and a very modest man. Here's where he won me over. At the end of the trip when he dropped us off at the hotel we exchanged our goodbyes and off he and the guide went. When I got up to my room I realized to my dismay that my phone was left in his car. I panicked as everything I have personal is on that phone. We frantically called the company to try to get the phone back and when he took time out of his day to come back in the brutal traffic, the driver simply handed me over the phone, and when I tried to tip him he refused over and over. He never took any money regardless of my idiotic mistake. He simply smiled, gave me my phone, pushed any money I had away, shook my hand and drove off. What a man!! His name is Ismald. Please if any of you get him, treat that man like gold!!! They're both amazing people but they went above and beyond the call of duty. Book this trip. Tell your family. Tell your friends. Tell strangers. Just do it. This was amazing through and through!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

pj.balak

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The tour guide was not speaking in a culturally appropriate manner. The tour itself is overcharged compared to the service provided, even taking into account that the entrance fees and lunch was included. We also felt very rushed and didn't have time to go through the areas we wanted. The guide did not take the time to explain any of the history or culture in either Cairo or the locations we visited. I would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Carol L

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Explanation is good. Just the guide shows it on his face too apparently that he is disappointed if you dont buy souvenirs in the shops he brought you to.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Interesting day with opportunities to tailor it to what suited me. Osama was the guide (Ahmed drove). Both spoke very good English and answered all my questions. Learned a lot without getting overloaded. At Giza, the longer Camel ride and going inside the big pyramid were worth it.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour from Cairo: Giza Pyramids Sphinx Memphis and Sakkara

Peter K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A wonderful day tour with some friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Grant D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour with excellent tour guide Ahmed. Very knowledgeable and flexible to accommodate ant requests. Amazing piece of History.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

KRIS T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Flawless! Our guide was fantastic. He was knowledgable and likable, made our visit memorable. The drive was great too. My travel buddy and I are not shoppers and we told our guide we wanted to avoid shopping stops...no problem. He also kept unwanted vendors away from us which can be a problem at these tourist sites. We enjoyed every minute of our tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Sara A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had an amazing time on this trip. The sites were amazing to see and this is the perfect time to see them when tourism in Egypt is low. Our tour guide Fouad was amazing. If you are ever in Cairo and in need of an excellent and knowledgeable tour guide for anything - Pyramids, Museum, or even down to Luxor or Aswan - contact South Sinai Travel and ask for Fouad! Nicest guy, knew so much about Egyptian history, and was very flexible on our itinerary. This tour was the highlight of our trip and we hope to come back to see more sites in the future. When we do, we will absolutely book with Fouad. Overall a once in a lifetime experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message