Cairo ATTRACTIONS See all

Ramses II Statue

Ramses II was a the longest serving pharaoh in Ancient Egypt, reigning from 1279 BC to 1213 BC, a total of 66 years and 2 months. This made him a very powerful and significant man in history and it's not surprising he left behind so many huge ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 347 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alexis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Highly Highly Highly recommended!!!!! My guide who I nicknamed the professor really knew his stuff. He showed me everything I wanted to see. I had 100 trust in him when he was showing me around and I felt like he wasn't trying to sell me anything while on the trip. If your seeing this, book this tour! They are also very flexible!

Doing what: Private Full-Day Tour Visiting Giza Pyramids, Transfers and Lunch Included

Christy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was one of the most amazing trips in my life. My tour guide/egyptologist Henry was amazing. I was a woman traveling alone in Egypt and Henry made me feel so safe and taken care of the entire day the driver was also great and respectful. Henry was so knowledgeable and I learned so much. He also made sure I wasn't hustled by the local camel drivers and markets. If you are wanting to see the historical sights of Egypt Henry is the only way to go. He does many other day tours as well and now has his own website now. Also I highly recommend staying at the Mena House hotel. It's right on the pyramid site and is paradise.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Dan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mydo my tour guide was amazing! I had a wonderful time and he took my pictures too. A dream come true to see the Pyramids!

Doing what: Full-Day Tour from Cairo: Giza Pyramids Sphinx Memphis and Sakkara

Brian L United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a must tour for anyone visiting Cairo. It was amazing to see the pyramids up close and to visit inside the Great Pyramid of Giza. Excellent

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Yaerid J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was great and was done efficiently. It was not rushed and was extremely hospitable. Being a frequent traveler, I believe this trip was really fantastic for its price!

Doing what: Full-Day Tour from Cairo: Giza Pyramids Sphinx Memphis and Sakkara

Grayzine United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

It looks like this Sinai travel Company does not pay its guides and drivers well. There is pressure on you to make up to your guide and driver with gratuities. This does not make it a pleasant experience at all.
Overall, I would not recommend this tour company. If you are assigned to Sinai travels, ask to be changed.

Please note that each individuals experience is highly dependent on who your local tour operator/guide is allocated.

Appointment time: Once Viator assigns a travel company our was assigned to Sinai travel they put considerable pressure on us to leave early like around 8AM. So, essentially the local travel company does not care if you request for a late departure. They give all possible reasons which are not true. Be firm.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Joanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We were thrilled to find out that not only were we the only 2 people on the tour but our guide Henry was an archeologist with many years experience in Egyptian culture and history. My daughter and I could not if asked for a more wonderful experience. We got to ride a camel, go inside the pyramids and were even able to visit the Egyptian museum, a must for any tourist. I would recommend this tour to anyone interested in going to Egypt to see the pyramids

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Alexandru N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide Ossama has been just fantastic - visiting one of the ancient world wonders can be impressive in itself, but Ossama really made the whole experience more enjoyable. We started the tour in Memphis and then went to Sakkara before ending in Giza whilst experiencing a beautiful sunset over the pyramids and Sphinx. The momentum throughout the day kept building up and all the time Ossama shared with us the history behind all these amazing places in an easy to understand way, making it feel as listening to an old and fascinating story about life in Ancient Egypt. Thank you Ossama for making us feel really great in Cairo!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Jose Carlos R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I had a wonderful tour to Giza pyramids, Sakkara and Memphis, amazing the three places. Ahmed Zakaria made it great, he knows very well about ancient Egypt and explains it very clear. Also he helped me with some pictures as I was traveling alone. Fully recommend the tour and an with Ahmed even more.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour from Cairo: Giza Pyramids Sphinx Memphis and Sakkara

Sandra E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic tour. We only had 3 days in Cairo and what a way to see it. We felt very safe with our personal driver and tour guide. Very much knowledge of all to see. We even seen paper of the pharaohs I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wishing to see the secrets of Egypt.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Vignes C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was without doubt the highlight of my trip to Egypt and Cairo. My guide Sahl was the best, he made sure we were completely comfortable with everything right from the point of pick up until drop off at the end of the day. The great pyramids were the highlight, so was visiting the earliest pyramids as well as the brilliant lunch. We requested for a later lunch so that we could have it while watching the sun set over the pyramids- a rare scene indeed. One of the most unforgettable days in my life. The magic of the pyramids still has an effect on me.

Doing what: Private Full-Day Tour Visiting Giza Pyramids, Transfers and Lunch Included

yaz1_m2001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

just perfect... made us feel safe all the time.. we requested Spanish guide... he was the best..!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Naomi W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic! Guide Hanan was excellent. She is very intelligent and knows every corner of the sites. She really loves her job and the sites which shows in her work.

Doing what: Private Tour: Pyramids of Giza Memphis and Sakkara with Lunch

Jared C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A must see trip to see the Saqqara pyramid complex to see the best well preserved ancient carvings, drawings, and Egyptian hieroglyphics. Not many people traveled here, but highly recommended. Memphis has a smaller museum with some well preserved large statues.

Doing what: Half-Day Private Guided Tour to Saqqara and Memphis from Cairo

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was definitely the highlight of my whirlwind stay in Cairo. The tour delivered everything as promised, and more. I was picked up by a very knowledgeable guide at my hotel. From there, we made the stops at the sites of the Great Pyramid, the Sphinx, Memphis and Sakkara. It was excellent having a local guide who knew all of the important information about each of the sites, as well as pointing out other items of interest along the way. For example, I hadn't noticed the common use of putting telecom equipment on the very high palm trees! The tour will easily take a full day--and there is plenty of opportunity to take a donkey/camel ride through the desert to get different views of the pyramid. I didn't take this option because of my allergies, but it seemed like it would be fun. I particularly enjoyed the demonstration of making the paper from papyrus. The lunch that was included in the package was also quite good. It included some traditional Egyptian fair, and was not at all fussy. All in all, it was a great way to see the must-sees in and around Cairo rather efficiently.

I had packed extra water with me, which was a good idea. Also, it will be very helpful to have coins or small-denomination notes on you to pay tips bribes? as they come up--especially if you have any interest in going down inside the pyramids. One tip--skip leg day if you climb down inside the pyramids. I definitely felt it the day after. The strain comes from being hunched over and walking--small children should be fine. Apart from that, the sites are not super strenuous and generally suitable for all ages. But, do wear sturdy shoes!

Doing what: Full-Day Tour from Cairo: Giza Pyramids Sphinx Memphis and Sakkara

John D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Excellent visit to Sakkara, enjoyed going into the pyramids and ruins and seeing the site. Great information about the markings. Memphis was not what I expected, more of an outdoor museum of a few large stone pieces, but it was a good stop with time to walk around alone. The Giza Pyramids seemed only focused on walking around the outside from different views and getting the typical tourist photo shots I was disappointed that we didn't go into the pyramids here and see more of the options at this site at the ticket counter, there were options available with the site tickets. In hind sight, I would have made it clear that I wanted to see more things at this location. I went in to see the Solar Boat Museum and definitely recommend adding that option--impressive find. I added the camel ride real time...it was OK, be careful, you only have to show a little interest and you'll be doing the ride before you know it. The Pyramids are fantastic though and so impressive to see up close. The Sphinx was OK, great to see but we only say it from a distance for the photo opportunity. Definitely recommend walking down the hill to get more perspective on it. I wish I'd taken the time to walk around up close to Sphinx it seemed discouraged for time...and if there were other options close up or inside, I would have taken those too. I enjoyed the carpet school and papyrus stops, but they were definitely focused on sales and tourist. I bought a couple items though so I'd recommend stopping. The lunch stop was excellent but a little overpriced similar meal available at my western hotel for about half the price. The transfers were excellent, safe, air-conditioned...I would definitely recommend. The guide Hanna was very informative, an excellent guide that truly wanted to make sure that you learned about the culture and enjoyed your trip. Having a personal guide was excellent. I wouldn't recommend trying to navigate yourself, and spending a little extra on a private guide was a worthwhile investment in my trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Dustin W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Did this tour in early december. The guide was very informative , and kind and it made for a wonderful day trip. He even took me to a bazar at my request to have a customized cartouche made for me because i liked his so much, he waited the entire time and then took me back to my hotel. overall a great trip, only thing i did not like was i was the only person on this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Christopher Y

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

South Sinai tours were unprofessional and did not provide a service that was worthy of the cost incurred. They did NOT perform the hotel pick-up as requested were over 2 hours late. We suspect that we were only picked up because we called their head office multiple times. If we had not done this, we would like have sat in the hotel lobby and never gotten to take our tour. Once we were picked up, the tour was rushed and unimpressive.

The pyramids were great, but our tour guide was pushy and did not provide much to improve our experience. After the tour, we felt that we could have had the same experience if we had simply taken a taxi there on our own. Sakkara was closed for restoration by UNESCO and Memphis was not worth the drive.

The most valuable thing about this tour was the private van and local driver. This, however, should cost nothing close to the 80 per person we paid for approximately 4 hours. By the end, we were terribly disappointed with the vendor and not feeling great about Viatour either first experience. We'd highly recommend having a tour guide and seeing these great sights - just look elsewhere if you want to get a good value for your money.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

ryanelefante

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was just the tour I was looking for, covering most of the places I wanted to see. My private guide Ahmed Fayed was great. Being on the tour with him was more like being with a friend who just happened to be knowledgeable about Egypt and #39;s history. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Private Full-Day Tour Visiting Giza Pyramids, Transfers and Lunch Included

jrocha143 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

If you have the time, visit all three locations because it will make sense at the end. Also when you go to Memphis stop by and see Mohammed which is a great vendor within the complex and easy to get along with. If you are able get Ahmed as your tour guide and the information as well as your experience will be worth your time. Lunch is part of the tour, so stick with the menu an you will be given good food. Finally, do not be late for the Giza, this is your last stop and is breath-taking to see and touch history. Again an excellent experience all around!!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

David C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was very professionally done and quite informative. My guide, Tito, did an amazing job. He was enthusiastic, prompt, knowledgable, and extremely courteous. I've taken tours in many countries, and would rate this tour as excellent. Highly recommend the tour and the guide.

D. Capozzi

Doing what: Full-Day Tour from Cairo: Giza Pyramids Sphinx Memphis and Sakkara

Garrad W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a fantastic tour and recommended for those wanting to see the main sights around Cairo.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Scott T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My tour was great. Abraham was a perfect tour guide and made my experience awesome. He is a super good guy and was very knowledgeable. The driver was good too. I believe I was the 1st person to go inside the Great Pyramid for the day so it wasnt so hot. Thanks for a wonderful adventure.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour from Cairo: Giza Pyramids Sphinx Memphis and Sakkara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message