Cairo ATTRACTIONS See all

Ramses II Statue

Ramses II was a the longest serving pharaoh in Ancient Egypt, reigning from 1279 BC to 1213 BC, a total of 66 years and 2 months. This made him a very powerful and significant man in history and it's not surprising he left behind so many huge ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 316 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jade L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing, due in large part to my fantastic guide, Ahmed. He was the epitome of professional. On-time, courteous, attentive - everything you expect when booking a private tour! He was knowledgeable, providing great details at each sight, and his English was perfect.

He was caring in a totally non-creepy way for example, holding my hand when we entered a Pyramid and climbed another one because I'm both claustrophobic and afraid of heights!. He put me at ease without crossing any boundaries. When I lamented about the overpriced water and food at my hotel, he took me to a local supermarket to stock up on essentials. He is truly a great person and asset to the tourism industry!

Our driver, Essmat, was also great. I never felt unsafe which in Cairo traffic is quite a miracle!.

I hope everyone who books this tour gets Ahmed!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

pj.balak

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The tour guide was not speaking in a culturally appropriate manner. The tour itself is overcharged compared to the service provided, even taking into account that the entrance fees and lunch was included. We also felt very rushed and didn't have time to go through the areas we wanted. The guide did not take the time to explain any of the history or culture in either Cairo or the locations we visited. I would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Carol L

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Explanation is good. Just the guide shows it on his face too apparently that he is disappointed if you dont buy souvenirs in the shops he brought you to.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Interesting day with opportunities to tailor it to what suited me. Osama was the guide (Ahmed drove). Both spoke very good English and answered all my questions. Learned a lot without getting overloaded. At Giza, the longer Camel ride and going inside the big pyramid were worth it.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour from Cairo: Giza Pyramids Sphinx Memphis and Sakkara

Peter K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A wonderful day tour with some friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Grant D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour with excellent tour guide Ahmed. Very knowledgeable and flexible to accommodate ant requests. Amazing piece of History.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

KRIS T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Flawless! Our guide was fantastic. He was knowledgable and likable, made our visit memorable. The drive was great too. My travel buddy and I are not shoppers and we told our guide we wanted to avoid shopping stops...no problem. He also kept unwanted vendors away from us which can be a problem at these tourist sites. We enjoyed every minute of our tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Sara A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had an amazing time on this trip. The sites were amazing to see and this is the perfect time to see them when tourism in Egypt is low. Our tour guide Fouad was amazing. If you are ever in Cairo and in need of an excellent and knowledgeable tour guide for anything - Pyramids, Museum, or even down to Luxor or Aswan - contact South Sinai Travel and ask for Fouad! Nicest guy, knew so much about Egyptian history, and was very flexible on our itinerary. This tour was the highlight of our trip and we hope to come back to see more sites in the future. When we do, we will absolutely book with Fouad. Overall a once in a lifetime experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Krista M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

To begin with, let me say how very safe we felt while we were in Egypt. It is lamentable that tourism, which accounts for 30 of Egypt's industry, has taken such a beating so that sensationalist media can sell 'news'. Everyone we met was friendly, helpful and seemed genuinely happy to welcome us to their country. Of course you need to be alert in Cairo - as you would in any large city - and keep your wits about you while you are out - as anywhere - that's just common sense.
Go on an organized tour like this with a guide. They know the language and the culture and can navigate both the streets and the process far better than you could on your own. Qualified guides are exceptionally knowledgable about Egyptian history - it is an extensive training program with exams - and can open doors to a richer experience.
We had a excellent day with Ahmed our guide and Syed our driver. Ahmed's English was impeccable - I was sure he had been educated in an English speaking country, but that was not the case. He was knowledgeable, interesting to listen to - not just reciting a history book, but more like storytelling - and had good advice for interacting with locals. We never felt rushed and were given opportunities to explore where we wished and move on when we were ready.
Great day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Abigail C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Viator booked us with South Sanai Travel and we had a FABULOUS day! The tour guide was amazing and was also our photographer throughout the day. He took some amazing photos of us! Giza is very busy whereas Sakkara is much more secluded. Great day overall!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Rudy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip!! Guide went out of his way to assist and was very professional. I recommend this trip to anyone and everyone!!
Excellent tour!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Alex D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Osama was an incredible guide! What a tour... I would do it all over again. Customized the tour to my interests, showed all the great spots for photos and cool hidden sights.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour from Cairo: Giza Pyramids Sphinx Memphis and Sakkara

Zipporah S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Osama was amazing. I recommend him as a tour guide for this tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour from Cairo: Giza Pyramids Sphinx Memphis and Sakkara

Christopher P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Outstanding. Absolutely outstanding. Mohamed was an above-and-beyond professional throughout the journey, keeping the pace fresh and exciting as we moved from sight to sight. I was also extremely interested in local culture and current events, and we were able to have some fantastic discussions during the drives in between sites that gave me a more robust knowledge of the area and customs. As a solo traveler, I almost opted to cobble together a self-guided version of this tour - so glad that I opted to go with Mohamed instead. Can't recommend highly enough. Book it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

leggylass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I did this tour today and I am glad I did. My tour guide Ahmed was very polite and professional. He gave me good insight about the ancient Egypt. He spoke fairly good English. The driver named Ahmed also was very polite and professional. Even as a lone woman traveler I felt safe everywhere as there are police armed with guns at every tourist place and they keep checking on you to ensure your safety and security. I highly recommend this tour to everyone who is fascinated by ancient Egypt.

Doing what: Half-Day Saqqara Pyramids and Memphis Tour from Cairo

leggylass

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Dahsur and Saqqara pyramids are worth a visit. My tourist guide and the driver were both very polite and professional. I and #39;m glad that I visited these places.

Doing what: Half-Day Tour from Cairo: Dahshur Pyramids Sakkara and Memphis City

Xuan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was a wonderful experience. During my years of solo travelling, I had the best tour guide ever. Special thanks to Ahmet who really made my day. He is professional, knowledgeable and of great help to everything. On an academic level, Ahmet is not only good at assessing the client's knowledge base and readiness to learn but also knows when and where to provide certain important information appropriately. As a guide for the day, Ahmet is very clear of the time schedule as well as being adaptable of lunch breaks etc. The super bonus is Ahmet is a very talented photographer who knows how to operate DSLR to have taken brilliant pics for me. The tour is very organized and highly educational. I would strongly recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

JOEY L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is an awesome tour. Our guide Samara Mostafa was very knowledgeable with her culture and heritage. She was very accommodating and timely with our tour. The team including the driver was very honorable. I do respect highly their professionalism and making your first Egypt trip a memorable one.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour from Cairo: Giza Pyramids Sphinx Memphis and Sakkara

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My tour guide Ahmed Zakaria is the best. He knew a lot about the sites and made me feel very safe and he was very professional and really tailored the tour to my needs as far as where I wanted to spend more time at. I travelled solo to Egypt and would highly recommend this tour and guide Ahmed he made me feel like a VIP guest and made sure I really experienced and learned about the culture of ancient Egypt.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour from Cairo: Giza Pyramids Sphinx Memphis and Sakkara

Brian K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My tour guide Shimma was great. Not only did she bring an excellent knowledge of the sites, but also a unique aspect of Egyptians. She is a proud Egyptian and knows her stuff. She will tour you though the sites, enlighten you on the historical facts, and bring a fun aspect to the trip. Definitely worth the adventure.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour from Cairo: Giza Pyramids Sphinx Memphis and Sakkara

czarina c

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour is worth doing once in your life. The only thing I don't recommend is the lunch. It cost me 20 U.S. Dollars for less than mediocre. I could've had the same thing for much less and I was highly disappointed that I got ripped off. NOT WORTH IT! Get lunch as take away and save your money. Aside from that, I did enjoy myself. I couldn't have asked for a better day to be outdoors and take photos. DO be careful as the guide will take you places to get you to spend money that is not a part of the trip that you agreed to and paid for. It was a good getaway but I've seen what I needed to see and I have no intention of ever coming back to Egypt.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Magnus B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour with both an excellent guide and driver. I can highly recommend this tour! But remember to bring water :-

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Brendan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our family of 4 really enjoyed our day tour of the Pyramids and surrounds with Fouad. He was flexible with our itinerary on what we wanted to do or not do and had a good sense of fun, humour as well as having plenty of knowledge in the area. Was a very pleasurable day out and a great way to start our Egypt trip. Would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Tina N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had booked a private tour to Sakkara and Memphis and was lucky enough to get Michael as my guide. I have truly learned so much from him. His knowledge and way of explaining things was refreshing and always had me wanting to learn more. I had such an amazing time seeing the Step Pyramid and Imotep's Museum!

Doing what: Half-Day Private Guided Tour to Saqqara and Memphis from Cairo

Gemma G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Had an amazing day, the pyramids definitely lived up to my expectations. Our driver and guide were incredibly helpful and friendly. Our guide Osama was very informative. We felt perfectly safe travelling around Egypt.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour from Cairo: Giza Pyramids Sphinx Memphis and Sakkara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message