Cairo ATTRACTIONS See all

Saqqara (Sakkara)

Set about 18 miles (30 km) south of Cairo, Saqqara (Sakkara) was the burial site for the ancient Egyptian capital of Memphis, now in ruins. The site features a small sphinx, smaller than that at the Pyramids of Giza, and several pyramids, the most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 352 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was one of the most amazing trips in my life. My tour guide/egyptologist Henry was amazing. I was a woman traveling alone in Egypt and Henry made me feel so safe and taken care of the entire day the driver was also great and respectful. Henry was so knowledgeable and I learned so much. He also made sure I wasn't hustled by the local camel drivers and markets. If you are wanting to see the historical sights of Egypt Henry is the only way to go. He does many other day tours as well and now has his own website now. Also I highly recommend staying at the Mena House hotel. It's right on the pyramid site and is paradise.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Brian L United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a must tour for anyone visiting Cairo. It was amazing to see the pyramids up close and to visit inside the Great Pyramid of Giza. Excellent

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Grayzine United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

It looks like this Sinai travel Company does not pay its guides and drivers well. There is pressure on you to make up to your guide and driver with gratuities. This does not make it a pleasant experience at all.
Overall, I would not recommend this tour company. If you are assigned to Sinai travels, ask to be changed.

Please note that each individuals experience is highly dependent on who your local tour operator/guide is allocated.

Appointment time: Once Viator assigns a travel company our was assigned to Sinai travel they put considerable pressure on us to leave early like around 8AM. So, essentially the local travel company does not care if you request for a late departure. They give all possible reasons which are not true. Be firm.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Joanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We were thrilled to find out that not only were we the only 2 people on the tour but our guide Henry was an archeologist with many years experience in Egyptian culture and history. My daughter and I could not if asked for a more wonderful experience. We got to ride a camel, go inside the pyramids and were even able to visit the Egyptian museum, a must for any tourist. I would recommend this tour to anyone interested in going to Egypt to see the pyramids

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Alexandru N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide Ossama has been just fantastic - visiting one of the ancient world wonders can be impressive in itself, but Ossama really made the whole experience more enjoyable. We started the tour in Memphis and then went to Sakkara before ending in Giza whilst experiencing a beautiful sunset over the pyramids and Sphinx. The momentum throughout the day kept building up and all the time Ossama shared with us the history behind all these amazing places in an easy to understand way, making it feel as listening to an old and fascinating story about life in Ancient Egypt. Thank you Ossama for making us feel really great in Cairo!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Sandra E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic tour. We only had 3 days in Cairo and what a way to see it. We felt very safe with our personal driver and tour guide. Very much knowledge of all to see. We even seen paper of the pharaohs I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wishing to see the secrets of Egypt.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

yaz1_m2001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

just perfect... made us feel safe all the time.. we requested Spanish guide... he was the best..!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

John D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Excellent visit to Sakkara, enjoyed going into the pyramids and ruins and seeing the site. Great information about the markings. Memphis was not what I expected, more of an outdoor museum of a few large stone pieces, but it was a good stop with time to walk around alone. The Giza Pyramids seemed only focused on walking around the outside from different views and getting the typical tourist photo shots I was disappointed that we didn't go into the pyramids here and see more of the options at this site at the ticket counter, there were options available with the site tickets. In hind sight, I would have made it clear that I wanted to see more things at this location. I went in to see the Solar Boat Museum and definitely recommend adding that option--impressive find. I added the camel ride real time...it was OK, be careful, you only have to show a little interest and you'll be doing the ride before you know it. The Pyramids are fantastic though and so impressive to see up close. The Sphinx was OK, great to see but we only say it from a distance for the photo opportunity. Definitely recommend walking down the hill to get more perspective on it. I wish I'd taken the time to walk around up close to Sphinx it seemed discouraged for time...and if there were other options close up or inside, I would have taken those too. I enjoyed the carpet school and papyrus stops, but they were definitely focused on sales and tourist. I bought a couple items though so I'd recommend stopping. The lunch stop was excellent but a little overpriced similar meal available at my western hotel for about half the price. The transfers were excellent, safe, air-conditioned...I would definitely recommend. The guide Hanna was very informative, an excellent guide that truly wanted to make sure that you learned about the culture and enjoyed your trip. Having a personal guide was excellent. I wouldn't recommend trying to navigate yourself, and spending a little extra on a private guide was a worthwhile investment in my trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Dustin W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Did this tour in early december. The guide was very informative , and kind and it made for a wonderful day trip. He even took me to a bazar at my request to have a customized cartouche made for me because i liked his so much, he waited the entire time and then took me back to my hotel. overall a great trip, only thing i did not like was i was the only person on this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Christopher Y

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

South Sinai tours were unprofessional and did not provide a service that was worthy of the cost incurred. They did NOT perform the hotel pick-up as requested were over 2 hours late. We suspect that we were only picked up because we called their head office multiple times. If we had not done this, we would like have sat in the hotel lobby and never gotten to take our tour. Once we were picked up, the tour was rushed and unimpressive.

The pyramids were great, but our tour guide was pushy and did not provide much to improve our experience. After the tour, we felt that we could have had the same experience if we had simply taken a taxi there on our own. Sakkara was closed for restoration by UNESCO and Memphis was not worth the drive.

The most valuable thing about this tour was the private van and local driver. This, however, should cost nothing close to the 80 per person we paid for approximately 4 hours. By the end, we were terribly disappointed with the vendor and not feeling great about Viatour either first experience. We'd highly recommend having a tour guide and seeing these great sights - just look elsewhere if you want to get a good value for your money.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

jrocha143 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

If you have the time, visit all three locations because it will make sense at the end. Also when you go to Memphis stop by and see Mohammed which is a great vendor within the complex and easy to get along with. If you are able get Ahmed as your tour guide and the information as well as your experience will be worth your time. Lunch is part of the tour, so stick with the menu an you will be given good food. Finally, do not be late for the Giza, this is your last stop and is breath-taking to see and touch history. Again an excellent experience all around!!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Garrad W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a fantastic tour and recommended for those wanting to see the main sights around Cairo.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

one4ssto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Nothing can compare to personally stand right next to the Great Pyramids of Giza and witness the glory of ancient Egypt in it's majestic splendor. It's just magnificent! A once in a lifetime experience to see the statue of the Great Sphinx, the step pyramid of Djoser at Saqqara, the ancient historic city of Memphis with the nearly intact granite statue of Ramses II. Our assigned private guide Ahmed was so knowledgeable, extremely personable, very engaging, funny and fluent in English made this excursion so memorable. But the Great Pyramids of Giza was the star. If there is anything in this world to see in person, the Great Pyramids of Giza is it. And then there is the iconic statue of the Great Sphinx - just incredible! A must see for sure!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

luke.szarafinski

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

overall good tour with plenty of amazing sights to see. Private car and tour guide allow plenty of flexibility. The lunch was so so and you you're expected to pay for drinks separately and give tips.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Jade L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing, due in large part to my fantastic guide, Ahmed. He was the epitome of professional. On-time, courteous, attentive - everything you expect when booking a private tour! He was knowledgeable, providing great details at each sight, and his English was perfect.

He was caring in a totally non-creepy way for example, holding my hand when we entered a Pyramid and climbed another one because I'm both claustrophobic and afraid of heights!. He put me at ease without crossing any boundaries. When I lamented about the overpriced water and food at my hotel, he took me to a local supermarket to stock up on essentials. He is truly a great person and asset to the tourism industry!

Our driver, Essmat, was also great. I never felt unsafe which in Cairo traffic is quite a miracle!.

I hope everyone who books this tour gets Ahmed!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Leith Patrick K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A mind boggling experience in brief. We managed to see an immense number of sights in one day. Fouad's explanation of the history and the mechanics of how the temples and pyramids were constructed as well as the social structure at the time was fascinating. We had the freedom to go into various sites if we wanted. I could do this tour over and over and still be happy. Great service and great knowledge from our guide. Prompt pickup and drop off at our hotel in downtown Cairo.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Masa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide that introduced me to the Giza's treasures is Ahmed and I recommend him as a professional and an experienced guide who enjoys his job and shares selflessly anything you would want to know. Furthermore, Cairo is pretty safe place to visit now and I also recommend this period for people who prefer having their vacation without sweating and sun burning the whole day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Will and Jodi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Ok. Let's start off by talking about the tour. It was amazing. Private really does mean private. It's you and your partner, the driver and the Egyptologist. They take you to all four sites and you go at your own pace. I must've asked a billion questions and he answered basically everything. Very knowledgable and kept the people who were selling us stuff at bay. He did help when we wanted to purchase some things though as he has vendors he deals with. This lasts as long as you want and you never felt rushed. Just don't take advantage of it! Tarik was our guide. He was calm, cool and amazing! I would recommend him.
Now onto the driver. In the craziness that is Cairo he was a pool of tranquility. Very professional and a very modest man. Here's where he won me over. At the end of the trip when he dropped us off at the hotel we exchanged our goodbyes and off he and the guide went. When I got up to my room I realized to my dismay that my phone was left in his car. I panicked as everything I have personal is on that phone. We frantically called the company to try to get the phone back and when he took time out of his day to come back in the brutal traffic, the driver simply handed me over the phone, and when I tried to tip him he refused over and over. He never took any money regardless of my idiotic mistake. He simply smiled, gave me my phone, pushed any money I had away, shook my hand and drove off. What a man!! His name is Ismald. Please if any of you get him, treat that man like gold!!! They're both amazing people but they went above and beyond the call of duty. Book this trip. Tell your family. Tell your friends. Tell strangers. Just do it. This was amazing through and through!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Rajesh P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Excellent guide Mr Osama and the Driver too. Both of them on time to pick up.Mr Osama was wonderful joking during the travel and informative at site.Thanks a lot Viator and team

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

pj.balak

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The tour guide was not speaking in a culturally appropriate manner. The tour itself is overcharged compared to the service provided, even taking into account that the entrance fees and lunch was included. We also felt very rushed and didn't have time to go through the areas we wanted. The guide did not take the time to explain any of the history or culture in either Cairo or the locations we visited. I would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Carol L

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Explanation is good. Just the guide shows it on his face too apparently that he is disappointed if you dont buy souvenirs in the shops he brought you to.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Peter K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A wonderful day tour with some friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Grant D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour with excellent tour guide Ahmed. Very knowledgeable and flexible to accommodate ant requests. Amazing piece of History.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message