The Great Sphinx of Giza is the greatest monumental sculpture of the ancient world and measures a massive 240 ft (73 m) long by 66 ft (20 m) high. It is generally believed to have been built around 2,550 BC but may well be even older. Legends and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 88 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sally S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide Ahmed was knowledgeable and friendly. Allowed us to go at our own pace. Highlight was camel ride to the Sphinx (which he helped negotiate at a fair price). Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

Karen Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Pyramids were awesome. The Sphinx was mind blowing. Paid extra to go inside the pyramid. Not much to see inside but glad we went. The tour guide K was the best. Extremely knowledgeable and spoke perfect English. Paid extra for camel rides. Keep in mind to have some small notes as the young boys that walk the camels insist on a tip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Mohammad B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour and found the tour guide to be informative and helpful.

Starting with the Egyptian Museum, there really is so much to see and there wouldn't be enough time in the tour to cover even half of it. I was walked through the story of Tutankhamen and saw a lot of his belongings and other antiquities found in his tomb. I'd highly recommend reading up or watching a documentary on Ancient Egypt to fully appreciate what's to see here.

The Khan el-Khalili Bazaar was somewhat underwhelming. It hasn't much to offer but it is worth a visit. Do be ready to haggle, the vendors speak perfect English and will use all kinds of Sales tactics to oversell their products.

The entry to the Funerary Complex and the Sphinx were beautiful. Though the guide would tell you much of the history of these places, it would really help to know a little prior to visiting.

The Pyramids were simply the best thing about visiting Cairo. They are every bit as grand as people say. Putting my hand on the warm yet soft stone for the first time will be something I never forget. Being with the tour guide in this area really has it's advantages and I would highly advise it.

The tour guide himself was very friendly and informative. He was happy to answer any questions and the way he told some of the stories of Ancient Egypt especially in the Solar Boat Museum was truly captivating. I very shamefully forgot to tip him before I left as there isn't much of a tip culture where I come from so please be sure to give tip the drivers and the guides as you see fit.

Overall, this tour was great for people visiting for a short time and really gives a strong feel of what Cairo has to offer.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Chastity D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting the full experience of the pyramids, sphinx, memphis, and sakkara! It was nice to have pick up/drop off service and a private driver to take me to all the sites. My tour guide/Egyptologist was so knowledgable and made the day rich with stories of ancient Egypt and the sites we visited ! Ask for Fouad, he was an attentive, funny and knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Sun-Joo L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The guide was knowledgeable and friendly, and the tour was a good overview of the highlights of the Giza pyramids / Sphinx. Recommended for those who want a quality, hassle-free tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

Julie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The best part of our tour. Drivers were very skilled at getting through the Cairo streets and outlying areas. We waited a long time to see the Sphinx and Giza Pyramids. It was awesome! Ahmad was our tour guide, spoke very good English and was very funny and knowledgeable. Thanks for a wonderful vacation. We couldn't have done it without Viator!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

antarghosha

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Tour was very good, my guide had lots of theories and knowledge of the pyramids and Sphinx. I really enjoyed that.
He took me to the camel ride but I must say it did feel like a set up because when I asked what was a good price he said as you like. It seemed like that he was getting a cut which I don't mind but it was almost as much as the tour and then the camel walker started begging me for money as soon as I was far away enough that I couldn't walk back. That was not appreciated.
However the tour itself was wonderful.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

Kathryn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Giza Pyramids and the Sphinx are one of those bucket list things that everyone talks about doing and that get a lot of hype. Let me tell you, they completely and totally live up to their reputation. I've wanted to visit them since I was six years old I was a precocious kid, and when you build something up for over a quarter century, it has to be pretty spectacular. The pyramids and the Sphinx are there's no way to describe how incredible it is to get to interact with ancient history on such an intimate level you can even climb inside the Great Pyramid, although be aware that it's pretty tight inside and a physically challenging climb. The tour takes you up close and personal and then out to a plateau with a view that makes you feel like you've stepped inside the pages of National Geographic. Our guide, Mahmoud, was incredibly friendly and knowledgable he took care of everything we needed and I would highly recommend requesting him specifically for your tour. A, can't recommend highly enough.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

ADRIAN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Pyramids and Sphinx are wonderful. Guide was brilliant. Excellent English speaking and very knowledgeable. Very good value all round.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

Ashley Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

pick up on time, car clean and air conditioned
pyramids are great, lots of people and pushy sellers but amazing to be there
sphinx is amazing to see as well, again-more pushy sales people
memphis and sakkara amazing to see as well, and you guessed it, pushy sales people.
just smile and say no thank you. they will ask you were you're from and try to engage you in convo but just keep walking. it's just like any other major tourist area.
the company and tours itself were awesome!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

ediordie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour! Our guide did a great job of showing us the sights, giving us some of the history of Egypt, and taking some great funny pics of us kissing the Sphinx. The full-day tour is definitely worth it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

FuroraCeltica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Outstanding. My guide Achmed spoke perfect English and was eager to answer any question I had. Provided lots of useful and interesting information on the pyramids and sphinx. He was happy to take pictures for me. He also kept the aggressive vendors away and navigated my way through the security checks and crowds. This trip also features a trip to a papyrus/art shop afterwards.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

Peder

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Amazing. The pyramids and sphinx are just unbelievable and no words can describe them. Our guide was so enthusiastic about the history he made it a real highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

Veronica United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is a must do on anyone's trip to Cairo! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the pyramids and the Sphinx. He also was very helpful pointing us toward the souvenir dealers and camel ride providers that wouldn't try to hassle us. He took excellent photos of us during our tour. I highly recommend having a tour guide while visiting the pyramids instead of trying to do it yourself.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

Phillip B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic tour guide! Extremely knowledgeable and gave us the ins and outs of getting around the Pyramids and the Sphinx. What an experience! Definitely will book with Viator again they contract with great representatives. He was prompt, courteous, and easy going. Gladly tipped for his expertise, and honestly regretted not tipping more. I hope we get set up with this guide again when we return to Egypt.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

KYLE S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent place to go. I loved the pyramids and Sphinx, great sites to see. I never once felt unsafe. Taxi was much cheaper than I thought. And their knowledgeable (degree mandatory) tour guides all seemed nice and knew just where to go, and how to tailor the tour to what I wanted to see, including how in-depth I cared to go. Any type, price, style of hotel reasonably priced. Cairo is amazing. A lot different than I expected.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

Michelle S

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

Pick up on time. Negotiation of traffic, efficient. Performance somewhat dated. There were elements that were romantic- light show at night, cool breezes and night vista of the pyramids and sphinx while one cozies up to one's husband. But the script and music was reminiscent of a 1950's Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studio epic drama.

Doing what: Pyramids Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

Christopher J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A good, comprehensive tour of the three main pyramids on the Giza plateau but also of the lesser known stepped pyramid at Saqqara and the ones you can see in the distance from this sight. Not a great deal to see in Memphis but the sphinx and colossal statue of Rameses II (lying on its back) is well worth a look

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Siti Maria R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our tour guide Ramon was very informative and engaging during the pyramid sphinx tour. We were always interested to know more and ask more and he was able to answer. Also he brought us to local cotton and perfume place which we thought were good exposure for local produce. Transport was excellent!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

Ahmad S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

My fiance and I had the same tour guide/driver from our other scheduled tours. Our guide was very flexible and he was great. We went to the bazaar days before this tour. We asked to skip the bazaar and have shisha and tea with the locals in Cairo after lunch. The bazaar is a nice place with tons of neat things to buy. Learn to haggle quickly! Please note that it is full of people all the time and a lot of tight spaces. I found the section nearest to the cafes and mosque to be more my taste. It was a little less hectic. And the men didn't stare at my fiance as much as the other sections. Anyways, back to the tour. We met at the lobby of our hotel at 9:00 AM and headed over to the pyramids and sphinx. Words can't describe this experience. The pyramids are worth the price of this tour alone. Afterwards our guide took us to an art store where everything is hand drawn on papyrus. They gave us beverages and showed us how the papyrus paper is made. Then we were given time to shop around (no obligations). Next we had lunch in a beautiful garden. The food was amazing. After lunch our driver found a cafe to go to for tea and shisha. They refused to serve my fiance because she was a female. We left and headed to the museum to continue our tour. We drove an hour in traffic to get there. My fiance realized she left her purse at the cafe. We turned the car around and made the trip back to retrieve her purse--and we did with everything still in it!! We were nearing the end of the tour (museum closed at 4:00 PM). We headed back to the hotel and our guide handed me a few hundred Pounds for the cost of the museum entrance since we couldn't go. I tipped 100LE (Pounds) to the guide and 50LE to the driver for each our our tours. I tipped them that plus I split whatever he handed to me between them for being so kind to us. They made us feel welcome in their country and went out of their way to make this trip worth the money we paid for it. I wish I can remember his name. Thank you.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Marilyn Anne D

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

The tour guide and driver were wonderful and very knowledgeable. The pyramids and the sphinx were amazing, too. The only big complaint is the sellers around the pyramids, hassling tourists to the point of us shouting at them to back off and leave us alone , even the tour guide had to berate them. They even followed us onto the one pyramid, pulling my husband's cap off and forxing an atab headress onto his head, and then hassling him for payment. Most annoying and unpleasant.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

Bruce H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Henry was incredible. His deep knowledge of Egyptian history, combined with his near-flawless English and witty sense of humor made our experience at the pyramids/sphinx one for the family scrapbooks. Henry went above and beyond the call of duty to make the tour as smooth as possible (especially when it came to shooing away the local vendors) and I can say with utter sincerity that my girlfriend and I left the tour more enlightened human beings; at least when it comes to Egyptian history :). Thank you Henry for being so awesome! To all would be Egyptian adventurers out there, book Henry as your tour guide when you decide to go to Egypt on your next vacation! YOU WONT REGRET IT!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

Jeremy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Both the driver and Egyptologist were highly professional and had a high amount of knowledge regarding everything on the trip. They did not pressure me for any tips or to make any unnecessary purchases. He actually recommended a way for me to get away from all the people trying to sell me stuff...politely say no and walk away. He also told me the hustles people try to do to tourists, which for me is a big thing. In the end, I loved the tour because I had a much better understanding of, not just the Pyramids and Sphinx, but the culture of Egypt. We talked about the ongoing current events and how things are improving (or not improving). That is just regular conversation, which is a good thing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Christopher F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

A very long, fulfilling day. Fuad did a good job laying out our trip and giving us ample time at each venue. Having a private tour really helped gain the most out of each place. Was very surreal to be standing at the base of the red and bent pyramids with my wife and nobody else was around. What a moment. Giza and the Sphinx of course were much more crowded but we were still able to walk, talk and learn. Fuad certainly didn't oversell the prize of the stop in Memphis - the statue of Ramses. One cannot fathom how big the statue is until you see it. Also a nice touch of the trip - a stop at a family restaurant in Sakkara where a mom and her daughter were baking bread for our lunch right in front of us. Just a very enjoyable, educational day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Dahshur

Christopher D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Transport arrived promptly and the minibus was comfortable and air-conditione. The driver was excellent and the tour guide was very interesting and informative. We really enjoyed the trip to the Pyramids and Sphinx and then enjoyed an excellent but in-expensive lunch with out guide (Ams) - Thank you for a fantastic day !! I will definitely book again for another excursion

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message