Cairo - the very name conjures up visions of ancient monuments, exotic souks and eons of history. Almost as a backdrop to the Great Pyramids of Giza, the city rises from the surrounding sandy plains like some kind of desert mirage, albeit cloaked ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 798 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was one of the most amazing trips in my life. My tour guide/egyptologist Henry was amazing. I was a woman traveling alone in Egypt and Henry made me feel so safe and taken care of the entire day the driver was also great and respectful. Henry was so knowledgeable and I learned so much. He also made sure I wasn't hustled by the local camel drivers and markets. If you are wanting to see the historical sights of Egypt Henry is the only way to go. He does many other day tours as well and now has his own website now. Also I highly recommend staying at the Mena House hotel. It's right on the pyramid site and is paradise.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Brian L United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a must tour for anyone visiting Cairo. It was amazing to see the pyramids up close and to visit inside the Great Pyramid of Giza. Excellent

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Nishan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a wonderful show. We enjoyed it, it was a bit windy and cold that night. but it was good

Doing what: Pyramids Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

Marco antonio S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

It was very nice, but if you chose another language different of English the quality of sound is not good and confused because you hear both at the same time. I have selected Spanish because of my family, but we preferred stay with the show in English and we leaved the device to translation. But in general the show was very good!

Doing what: Pyramids Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

Alex

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Punctual pick-up. Knowledgeable guide. Felt a bit too rushed through the museum which is understandable as limited time for too many great exhibits. Yet we learned later that we missed a few important ones. Very few people in the Tutenchamun exhibit room which was great.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

Yaerid J

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The experience on the Nile was great, the entertainment was fun. The food was ok, but we knew we were going more for the experience than that. Great evening, our guide picked us up on time and was very hospitable.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Grayzine United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

It looks like this Sinai travel Company does not pay its guides and drivers well. There is pressure on you to make up to your guide and driver with gratuities. This does not make it a pleasant experience at all.
Overall, I would not recommend this tour company. If you are assigned to Sinai travels, ask to be changed.

Please note that each individuals experience is highly dependent on who your local tour operator/guide is allocated.

Appointment time: Once Viator assigns a travel company our was assigned to Sinai travel they put considerable pressure on us to leave early like around 8AM. So, essentially the local travel company does not care if you request for a late departure. They give all possible reasons which are not true. Be firm.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Joanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We were thrilled to find out that not only were we the only 2 people on the tour but our guide Henry was an archeologist with many years experience in Egyptian culture and history. My daughter and I could not if asked for a more wonderful experience. We got to ride a camel, go inside the pyramids and were even able to visit the Egyptian museum, a must for any tourist. I would recommend this tour to anyone interested in going to Egypt to see the pyramids

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Alexandru N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide Ossama has been just fantastic - visiting one of the ancient world wonders can be impressive in itself, but Ossama really made the whole experience more enjoyable. We started the tour in Memphis and then went to Sakkara before ending in Giza whilst experiencing a beautiful sunset over the pyramids and Sphinx. The momentum throughout the day kept building up and all the time Ossama shared with us the history behind all these amazing places in an easy to understand way, making it feel as listening to an old and fascinating story about life in Ancient Egypt. Thank you Ossama for making us feel really great in Cairo!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Sandra E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic tour. We only had 3 days in Cairo and what a way to see it. We felt very safe with our personal driver and tour guide. Very much knowledge of all to see. We even seen paper of the pharaohs I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wishing to see the secrets of Egypt.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

yaz1_m2001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

just perfect... made us feel safe all the time.. we requested Spanish guide... he was the best..!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

juliolsl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Super tour well worth going to.

Doing what: Pyramids Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

juliolsl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The food and show was great.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Amanda O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very detailed! Loves everything!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

Amanda O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very detailed!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

John D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Excellent visit to Sakkara, enjoyed going into the pyramids and ruins and seeing the site. Great information about the markings. Memphis was not what I expected, more of an outdoor museum of a few large stone pieces, but it was a good stop with time to walk around alone. The Giza Pyramids seemed only focused on walking around the outside from different views and getting the typical tourist photo shots I was disappointed that we didn't go into the pyramids here and see more of the options at this site at the ticket counter, there were options available with the site tickets. In hind sight, I would have made it clear that I wanted to see more things at this location. I went in to see the Solar Boat Museum and definitely recommend adding that option--impressive find. I added the camel ride real time...it was OK, be careful, you only have to show a little interest and you'll be doing the ride before you know it. The Pyramids are fantastic though and so impressive to see up close. The Sphinx was OK, great to see but we only say it from a distance for the photo opportunity. Definitely recommend walking down the hill to get more perspective on it. I wish I'd taken the time to walk around up close to Sphinx it seemed discouraged for time...and if there were other options close up or inside, I would have taken those too. I enjoyed the carpet school and papyrus stops, but they were definitely focused on sales and tourist. I bought a couple items though so I'd recommend stopping. The lunch stop was excellent but a little overpriced similar meal available at my western hotel for about half the price. The transfers were excellent, safe, air-conditioned...I would definitely recommend. The guide Hanna was very informative, an excellent guide that truly wanted to make sure that you learned about the culture and enjoyed your trip. Having a personal guide was excellent. I wouldn't recommend trying to navigate yourself, and spending a little extra on a private guide was a worthwhile investment in my trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Michael T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

This is a great way to end the day. After lots of activity, there is something very relaxing about dressing up for a nice dinner, enjoying the sights of the city from the Nile River and watching excellent performers do what they do well. For the meal, the best part was the salad bar buffet. It featured a variety of things. Unfortunately, my bread didn't come early enough to properly enjoy the hummus and baba ganoush. The rest of the meal was well done, but nothing special. The performances had a nice flow from one act to the next, and all performers did a very good job. The 2.5 hours goes by very quickly. I had been a bit worried about being on a boat. But, the ride was VERY smooth--unless you watch the banks of the river, you wouldn't notice that the boat was moving at all.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Dustin W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Did this tour in early december. The guide was very informative , and kind and it made for a wonderful day trip. He even took me to a bazar at my request to have a customized cartouche made for me because i liked his so much, he waited the entire time and then took me back to my hotel. overall a great trip, only thing i did not like was i was the only person on this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

juliolopez027

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

The Show was ok. But it can be a lot better considering all you can do with Sound and Light technology. I don't recommend it.

Doing what: Pyramids Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

Christopher Y

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

South Sinai tours were unprofessional and did not provide a service that was worthy of the cost incurred. They did NOT perform the hotel pick-up as requested were over 2 hours late. We suspect that we were only picked up because we called their head office multiple times. If we had not done this, we would like have sat in the hotel lobby and never gotten to take our tour. Once we were picked up, the tour was rushed and unimpressive.

The pyramids were great, but our tour guide was pushy and did not provide much to improve our experience. After the tour, we felt that we could have had the same experience if we had simply taken a taxi there on our own. Sakkara was closed for restoration by UNESCO and Memphis was not worth the drive.

The most valuable thing about this tour was the private van and local driver. This, however, should cost nothing close to the 80 per person we paid for approximately 4 hours. By the end, we were terribly disappointed with the vendor and not feeling great about Viatour either first experience. We'd highly recommend having a tour guide and seeing these great sights - just look elsewhere if you want to get a good value for your money.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

jrocha143 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour is amazing for those looking to see the past and what Egypt has to offer. The tour guide for this experience was Ahmed and I can only express gratitude for enlightenment onto the Egyptian History. An Amazing experience that can only be attained when the person giving you the tour is dedicated and committed to his work, An excellent experience overall!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

jrocha143 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

If you have the time, visit all three locations because it will make sense at the end. Also when you go to Memphis stop by and see Mohammed which is a great vendor within the complex and easy to get along with. If you are able get Ahmed as your tour guide and the information as well as your experience will be worth your time. Lunch is part of the tour, so stick with the menu an you will be given good food. Finally, do not be late for the Giza, this is your last stop and is breath-taking to see and touch history. Again an excellent experience all around!!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message