Cairo - the very name conjures up visions of ancient monuments, exotic souks and eons of history. Almost as a backdrop to the Great Pyramids of Giza, the city rises from the surrounding sandy plains like some kind of desert mirage, albeit cloaked ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 805 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gaurang P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide Tariq was full of knowledge, patient and an excellent guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

Jocelyn M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

It was ok But only got to see the pyramids for about an hour. Wasted too much time at the paper making market. i was rushed at the pyramids. And when I was dropped off at the hotel my guide counted the tip in front of me and made a point to look disappointed. He was very knowledgable at least.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Christy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was one of the most amazing trips in my life. My tour guide/egyptologist Henry was amazing. I was a woman traveling alone in Egypt and Henry made me feel so safe and taken care of the entire day the driver was also great and respectful. Henry was so knowledgeable and I learned so much. He also made sure I wasn't hustled by the local camel drivers and markets. If you are wanting to see the historical sights of Egypt Henry is the only way to go. He does many other day tours as well and now has his own website now. Also I highly recommend staying at the Mena House hotel. It's right on the pyramid site and is paradise.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Brian L United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a must tour for anyone visiting Cairo. It was amazing to see the pyramids up close and to visit inside the Great Pyramid of Giza. Excellent

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Nishan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a wonderful show. We enjoyed it, it was a bit windy and cold that night. but it was good

Doing what: Pyramids Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

Megan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A great tour. I learned a lot and they took us to the airport because traffic was bad the day of our tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

cccarol626

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a walking tour around downtown Cairo and around revolution square. I loved this tour so much!! My guide, Dalia Mansour, was very knowledgeable about Cairo and it's fascinating history. She was so much fun to be with. We walked through several streets and viewed powerful street art on the walls depicting important events in Cairo's recent revolutionary history. We walked through the downtown area where the locals shop. We stopped at a wonderful local eatery know for a popular local Egyptian food called Koshary. I loved the dish and the whole surrounding experience of it. Afterwards, we walked to a local bakery and ice cream shop for ice cream. It was the best evening in Cairo! So worth it!!! Must-do!!

Doing what: Downtown Cairo Half-Day Tour with Egyptian Dinner

vincent p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing , the guide was very knowledgeable and professional. my friend booked this same trip months before me and was blow away, so was I.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Marco antonio S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

It was very nice, but if you chose another language different of English the quality of sound is not good and confused because you hear both at the same time. I have selected Spanish because of my family, but we preferred stay with the show in English and we leaved the device to translation. But in general the show was very good!

Doing what: Pyramids Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

Alex

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Punctual pick-up. Knowledgeable guide. Felt a bit too rushed through the museum which is understandable as limited time for too many great exhibits. Yet we learned later that we missed a few important ones. Very few people in the Tutenchamun exhibit room which was great.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

Yaerid J

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The experience on the Nile was great, the entertainment was fun. The food was ok, but we knew we were going more for the experience than that. Great evening, our guide picked us up on time and was very hospitable.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Grayzine United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

It looks like this Sinai travel Company does not pay its guides and drivers well. There is pressure on you to make up to your guide and driver with gratuities. This does not make it a pleasant experience at all.
Overall, I would not recommend this tour company. If you are assigned to Sinai travels, ask to be changed.

Please note that each individuals experience is highly dependent on who your local tour operator/guide is allocated.

Appointment time: Once Viator assigns a travel company our was assigned to Sinai travel they put considerable pressure on us to leave early like around 8AM. So, essentially the local travel company does not care if you request for a late departure. They give all possible reasons which are not true. Be firm.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

aarinj

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Wasn't worth the money. Music was weird 1980 american music, belly dancer was cheap looking with hair extensions and spent more time shaking her breasts then her belly. Other entertainers were boring and cheap looking as well. The whole thing didn't have an authentic feel. Dinner was good but I would rather have ate somewhere else for the money we spent. The cruise doesn't even go past the pyramids. Don't pay the money for this. It's really corny.....

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Joanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We were thrilled to find out that not only were we the only 2 people on the tour but our guide Henry was an archeologist with many years experience in Egyptian culture and history. My daughter and I could not if asked for a more wonderful experience. We got to ride a camel, go inside the pyramids and were even able to visit the Egyptian museum, a must for any tourist. I would recommend this tour to anyone interested in going to Egypt to see the pyramids

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Alexandru N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide Ossama has been just fantastic - visiting one of the ancient world wonders can be impressive in itself, but Ossama really made the whole experience more enjoyable. We started the tour in Memphis and then went to Sakkara before ending in Giza whilst experiencing a beautiful sunset over the pyramids and Sphinx. The momentum throughout the day kept building up and all the time Ossama shared with us the history behind all these amazing places in an easy to understand way, making it feel as listening to an old and fascinating story about life in Ancient Egypt. Thank you Ossama for making us feel really great in Cairo!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Sandra E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic tour. We only had 3 days in Cairo and what a way to see it. We felt very safe with our personal driver and tour guide. Very much knowledge of all to see. We even seen paper of the pharaohs I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wishing to see the secrets of Egypt.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

yaz1_m2001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

just perfect... made us feel safe all the time.. we requested Spanish guide... he was the best..!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

juliolsl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Super tour well worth going to.

Doing what: Pyramids Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

juliolsl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The food and show was great.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Amanda O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very detailed! Loves everything!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

Amanda O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very detailed!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

John D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Excellent visit to Sakkara, enjoyed going into the pyramids and ruins and seeing the site. Great information about the markings. Memphis was not what I expected, more of an outdoor museum of a few large stone pieces, but it was a good stop with time to walk around alone. The Giza Pyramids seemed only focused on walking around the outside from different views and getting the typical tourist photo shots I was disappointed that we didn't go into the pyramids here and see more of the options at this site at the ticket counter, there were options available with the site tickets. In hind sight, I would have made it clear that I wanted to see more things at this location. I went in to see the Solar Boat Museum and definitely recommend adding that option--impressive find. I added the camel ride real time...it was OK, be careful, you only have to show a little interest and you'll be doing the ride before you know it. The Pyramids are fantastic though and so impressive to see up close. The Sphinx was OK, great to see but we only say it from a distance for the photo opportunity. Definitely recommend walking down the hill to get more perspective on it. I wish I'd taken the time to walk around up close to Sphinx it seemed discouraged for time...and if there were other options close up or inside, I would have taken those too. I enjoyed the carpet school and papyrus stops, but they were definitely focused on sales and tourist. I bought a couple items though so I'd recommend stopping. The lunch stop was excellent but a little overpriced similar meal available at my western hotel for about half the price. The transfers were excellent, safe, air-conditioned...I would definitely recommend. The guide Hanna was very informative, an excellent guide that truly wanted to make sure that you learned about the culture and enjoyed your trip. Having a personal guide was excellent. I wouldn't recommend trying to navigate yourself, and spending a little extra on a private guide was a worthwhile investment in my trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Michael T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

This is a great way to end the day. After lots of activity, there is something very relaxing about dressing up for a nice dinner, enjoying the sights of the city from the Nile River and watching excellent performers do what they do well. For the meal, the best part was the salad bar buffet. It featured a variety of things. Unfortunately, my bread didn't come early enough to properly enjoy the hummus and baba ganoush. The rest of the meal was well done, but nothing special. The performances had a nice flow from one act to the next, and all performers did a very good job. The 2.5 hours goes by very quickly. I had been a bit worried about being on a boat. But, the ride was VERY smooth--unless you watch the banks of the river, you wouldn't notice that the boat was moving at all.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message