One of the most densely populated cities in the world, Cairo is the capital city of Egypt and has a history that dates back to the 10th century. Nicknamed “The City of a Thousand Minarets”, this crossroads for commerce and culture has a bewildering ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 598 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We were thrilled to find out that not only were we the only 2 people on the tour but our guide Henry was an archeologist with many years experience in Egyptian culture and history. My daughter and I could not if asked for a more wonderful experience. We got to ride a camel, go inside the pyramids and were even able to visit the Egyptian museum, a must for any tourist. I would recommend this tour to anyone interested in going to Egypt to see the pyramids

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Alexandru N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide Ossama has been just fantastic - visiting one of the ancient world wonders can be impressive in itself, but Ossama really made the whole experience more enjoyable. We started the tour in Memphis and then went to Sakkara before ending in Giza whilst experiencing a beautiful sunset over the pyramids and Sphinx. The momentum throughout the day kept building up and all the time Ossama shared with us the history behind all these amazing places in an easy to understand way, making it feel as listening to an old and fascinating story about life in Ancient Egypt. Thank you Ossama for making us feel really great in Cairo!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Alexandru N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We spent another great day with our tour guide, Ossama - we reached the Egyptian Museum in the early morning and managed to enjoy the main area 2nd floor almost by ourselves.... what a treat! Then we visited the Alabaster Mosque and Ossama took us on a ride through history. We ended up the day with a walk through the bazar. W had a fantastic time in Cairo - definitely because of the amazing experiences the city can give you and in part because of our wonderful guide. Looking forward to the next trip to Egypt!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

jrocha143 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

If you have the time, visit all three locations because it will make sense at the end. Also when you go to Memphis stop by and see Mohammed which is a great vendor within the complex and easy to get along with. If you are able get Ahmed as your tour guide and the information as well as your experience will be worth your time. Lunch is part of the tour, so stick with the menu an you will be given good food. Finally, do not be late for the Giza, this is your last stop and is breath-taking to see and touch history. Again an excellent experience all around!!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Hector P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Mi rating solo vale si piden a Ahmed Ali como guía. Tomamos varios tours con Viator solo para asegurar que tendríamos el mismo guía. Los lugares son todos impresionantes, pero un guía con buen español y gran conocimiento los transforma en grandes experiencias.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Fe F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A must see in Cairo. The food was great , the show very entertaining and the river cruise very relaxing. A great time to spend an evening with friends.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Garrad W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a fantastic tour and recommended for those wanting to see the main sights around Cairo.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

one4ssto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Nothing can compare to personally stand right next to the Great Pyramids of Giza and witness the glory of ancient Egypt in it's majestic splendor. It's just magnificent! A once in a lifetime experience to see the statue of the Great Sphinx, the step pyramid of Djoser at Saqqara, the ancient historic city of Memphis with the nearly intact granite statue of Ramses II. Our assigned private guide Ahmed was so knowledgeable, extremely personable, very engaging, funny and fluent in English made this excursion so memorable. But the Great Pyramids of Giza was the star. If there is anything in this world to see in person, the Great Pyramids of Giza is it. And then there is the iconic statue of the Great Sphinx - just incredible! A must see for sure!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

luke.szarafinski

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

overall good tour with plenty of amazing sights to see. Private car and tour guide allow plenty of flexibility. The lunch was so so and you you're expected to pay for drinks separately and give tips.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Jade L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing, due in large part to my fantastic guide, Ahmed. He was the epitome of professional. On-time, courteous, attentive - everything you expect when booking a private tour! He was knowledgeable, providing great details at each sight, and his English was perfect.

He was caring in a totally non-creepy way for example, holding my hand when we entered a Pyramid and climbed another one because I'm both claustrophobic and afraid of heights!. He put me at ease without crossing any boundaries. When I lamented about the overpriced water and food at my hotel, he took me to a local supermarket to stock up on essentials. He is truly a great person and asset to the tourism industry!

Our driver, Essmat, was also great. I never felt unsafe which in Cairo traffic is quite a miracle!.

I hope everyone who books this tour gets Ahmed!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Leith Patrick K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A mind boggling experience in brief. We managed to see an immense number of sights in one day. Fouad's explanation of the history and the mechanics of how the temples and pyramids were constructed as well as the social structure at the time was fascinating. We had the freedom to go into various sites if we wanted. I could do this tour over and over and still be happy. Great service and great knowledge from our guide. Prompt pickup and drop off at our hotel in downtown Cairo.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Masa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide that introduced me to the Giza's treasures is Ahmed and I recommend him as a professional and an experienced guide who enjoys his job and shares selflessly anything you would want to know. Furthermore, Cairo is pretty safe place to visit now and I also recommend this period for people who prefer having their vacation without sweating and sun burning the whole day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Will and Jodi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Ok. Let's start off by talking about the tour. It was amazing. Private really does mean private. It's you and your partner, the driver and the Egyptologist. They take you to all four sites and you go at your own pace. I must've asked a billion questions and he answered basically everything. Very knowledgable and kept the people who were selling us stuff at bay. He did help when we wanted to purchase some things though as he has vendors he deals with. This lasts as long as you want and you never felt rushed. Just don't take advantage of it! Tarik was our guide. He was calm, cool and amazing! I would recommend him.
Now onto the driver. In the craziness that is Cairo he was a pool of tranquility. Very professional and a very modest man. Here's where he won me over. At the end of the trip when he dropped us off at the hotel we exchanged our goodbyes and off he and the guide went. When I got up to my room I realized to my dismay that my phone was left in his car. I panicked as everything I have personal is on that phone. We frantically called the company to try to get the phone back and when he took time out of his day to come back in the brutal traffic, the driver simply handed me over the phone, and when I tried to tip him he refused over and over. He never took any money regardless of my idiotic mistake. He simply smiled, gave me my phone, pushed any money I had away, shook my hand and drove off. What a man!! His name is Ismald. Please if any of you get him, treat that man like gold!!! They're both amazing people but they went above and beyond the call of duty. Book this trip. Tell your family. Tell your friends. Tell strangers. Just do it. This was amazing through and through!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

pj.balak

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The tour guide was not speaking in a culturally appropriate manner. The tour itself is overcharged compared to the service provided, even taking into account that the entrance fees and lunch was included. We also felt very rushed and didn't have time to go through the areas we wanted. The guide did not take the time to explain any of the history or culture in either Cairo or the locations we visited. I would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

David O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A big thank you to Mohamed Elleithy, our tour guide, for the help and assistance he provided me and my family during our stay in Egypt. Mohamed went well beyond his responsibility, and because of that we had one of the best travel experiences ever. Mohamed Elleithy was prompt, kind, knowledgeable, and present with me and my children at all times. The tour to the pyramids and museum was well organized, enjoyable, and very informative. I have traveled to all but two sovereign countries in the world, and as a result, have experienced the service of hundreds of tour guides. I am not exaggerating by stating that Mohamed Elleithy is one of my top 10 guides. Thank you so much Mohamed, and please stay in touch.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Cecilia T

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

It was a nice tour, we were picked up from our hotel at 9 am, we met our tour guide where our tour started, he gave an overview what we're doing that day. It's kind of odd that we have to wait for our tour guide.The tour lasted about 3 1/2 hours only and then were dropped off to our hotel by the driver. It's a lot of extra we have to pay such as if you want to use your camera to take pictures you have to pay 50 Egyptian pounds.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Carol L

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Explanation is good. Just the guide shows it on his face too apparently that he is disappointed if you dont buy souvenirs in the shops he brought you to.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Peter K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A wonderful day tour with some friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Grant D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour with excellent tour guide Ahmed. Very knowledgeable and flexible to accommodate ant requests. Amazing piece of History.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

KRIS T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Flawless! Our guide was fantastic. He was knowledgable and likable, made our visit memorable. The drive was great too. My travel buddy and I are not shoppers and we told our guide we wanted to avoid shopping stops...no problem. He also kept unwanted vendors away from us which can be a problem at these tourist sites. We enjoyed every minute of our tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Sara A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had an amazing time on this trip. The sites were amazing to see and this is the perfect time to see them when tourism in Egypt is low. Our tour guide Fouad was amazing. If you are ever in Cairo and in need of an excellent and knowledgeable tour guide for anything - Pyramids, Museum, or even down to Luxor or Aswan - contact South Sinai Travel and ask for Fouad! Nicest guy, knew so much about Egyptian history, and was very flexible on our itinerary. This tour was the highlight of our trip and we hope to come back to see more sites in the future. When we do, we will absolutely book with Fouad. Overall a once in a lifetime experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Krista M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

To begin with, let me say how very safe we felt while we were in Egypt. It is lamentable that tourism, which accounts for 30 of Egypt's industry, has taken such a beating so that sensationalist media can sell 'news'. Everyone we met was friendly, helpful and seemed genuinely happy to welcome us to their country. Of course you need to be alert in Cairo - as you would in any large city - and keep your wits about you while you are out - as anywhere - that's just common sense.
Go on an organized tour like this with a guide. They know the language and the culture and can navigate both the streets and the process far better than you could on your own. Qualified guides are exceptionally knowledgable about Egyptian history - it is an extensive training program with exams - and can open doors to a richer experience.
We had a excellent day with Ahmed our guide and Syed our driver. Ahmed's English was impeccable - I was sure he had been educated in an English speaking country, but that was not the case. He was knowledgeable, interesting to listen to - not just reciting a history book, but more like storytelling - and had good advice for interacting with locals. We never felt rushed and were given opportunities to explore where we wished and move on when we were ready.
Great day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Steve T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My wife and I were picked up at our hotel, and driven to the Cairo Museum. Sorry I don't remember our drivers name. We were dropped off and greeted at the entry by our guide for the tour, Morad.
We were given a brief history of the Museum whilst in the grounds, and given an opportunity to take some photos of the exhibits that are in the grounds.
We then entered the Museum. A word regarding photos inside the Museum. You need to pay a small fee and receive a ticket to take photos inside. This is not included in the entry fee. But we didn't see anyone asking to see the ticket?
Once inside Morad showed us around the majority of the general exhibits before heading upstairs to the King Tutankhamun exhibits. These are by far the highlight, and I recommend you spend the majority of your time here.
The room with the Death Mask, coffins, jewellery is very special. But even with your photography pass, there are no photos to be taken in here.
For an extra fee payable inside the museum you can enter the Royal Mummy room. We didn't go in, so I can't comment.
We decided not to go to the Alabaster Mosque or Bazzar due to having spent all of the previous day in Luxor and an impending Nile cruise that night. So, I cant comment on these attractions.
Overall, the Museum is great, especially the King Tut exhibits. The Death Mask was the highlight for us.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Abigail C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Viator booked us with South Sanai Travel and we had a FABULOUS day! The tour guide was amazing and was also our photographer throughout the day. He took some amazing photos of us! Giza is very busy whereas Sakkara is much more secluded. Great day overall!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message