The River Nile, the world's longest, has long been the lifeblood of a desert country. One of the highlights of a trip to Egypt is to take a cruise along this most famous of rivers for several days, sailing past monuments thousands of years old, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 272 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

kelliblackburn

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

4 day / 3 night cruise could easily have been a 2 day / 1 night. Way too much downtime stuck on the boat! The boat is older and in need of major upgrades. There is little to nothing to do on the boat. Pool is a tiny dipping pool. Bars/lounges were not stocked or staffed so just getting a drink was nearly impossible. There is one billiards table which you have to pay extra to use. The only activities on the boat are meal times which the staff takes crazy serious. They will call your cabin if you don't show up within the first five minutes of the scheduled meal time. If you don't want to eat they will basically force you. All meals are buffet style. Edible but not great. My husband got sick on the boat and while we can't say for certain I believe it was likely from something he ate. We paid extra for a private tour guide who was less than enthusiastic. It was clear that he wanted to go through his standard speech and move on as quickly as possible. In hindsight would have preferred to just go with the group.
Day 1: Picked up at 9am. Straight to tour of High Dam, Philae Temple, and unfinished obelisk. The dam and obelisk are basically a drive by, only real site in Aswan is the Philae temple. Boarded boat by noon. Boat doesn't set sail until approx. 4am which will wake you up as the boat is terribly loud while moving. You can disembark in Aswan which you will want to since there is nothing to do on the boat.
Day 2: The only day of sailing. Nice views while traveling down the Nile, otherwise not much to entertain yourself. Bring a good book. Afternoon tours of Kom Obo and Edfu. Boat is moored outside of Luxor for the night and you cannot disembark. Again, nothing to do all evening.
Day 3: Depart to Luxor at approx. 3am. Again, good luck sleeping. Bring earplugs. Early morning tours of Valley of the Kings and Temple of Hatshepsut. We had to cut the tours short because husband was so sick see above but likely would have been back to boat by 10am anyway. That is essentially the end of the cruise but you are stuck on the boat for the remainder of the day and night! Boat was a complete ghost town, other guest had arranged to leave after the morning tours not sure how they were able to do so. There were only 5 guests including my husband and I left on the boat! Boat is moored in remote area of Luxor so you cannot disembark/are not near town. Counting the hours until you can leave.
Day 4: Leave at 9am. Finally!

Overall, this cruise is basically a transportation option between Aswan and Luxor but billed as much more. We would have preferred to arrange other transport car or flight and then tour sites individually out of Aswan and Luxor.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Fe F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A must see in Cairo. The food was great , the show very entertaining and the river cruise very relaxing. A great time to spend an evening with friends.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Elyse R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Staff was super friendly and helpful. The meals were INSANE!! So so good. Always a beef, chicken, and fish option with salads, pastas, rices, veggies, and delicious desserts. Our tours were all awesome and the tour guide became a friend. Super knowledgable. Take into consideration that you need to purchase all the water you will consume because running water isn't super safe. The cruise was super clean and the upper deck has a pool. Would recommend to all!

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Leith Patrick K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Where to begin? The Ship was perfect. Small enough to be intimate and large enough to sport good service. The food was very good and the service was exceptional. Our guide Fouad made himself available to describe what we were passing and of course escorted us to all the temples along the way. We got off the ship in Luxor thoroughly rested and in awe of most everything we had seen.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

David O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A big thank you to Mohamed Elleithy, our tour guide, for the help and assistance he provided me and my family during our stay in Egypt. Mohamed went well beyond his responsibility, and because of that we had one of the best travel experiences ever. Mohamed Elleithy was prompt, kind, knowledgeable, and present with me and my children at all times. The tour to the pyramids and museum was well organized, enjoyable, and very informative. I have traveled to all but two sovereign countries in the world, and as a result, have experienced the service of hundreds of tour guides. I am not exaggerating by stating that Mohamed Elleithy is one of my top 10 guides. Thank you so much Mohamed, and please stay in touch.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Amy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sailed on the Amarco I which was great. The room was big and clean. Food was nice and drink prices were good. Be cautious with your guide. Private guide was sneaky in taking extra tips through lies. Caught him and company apologized and refunded the tip. Even if guide insists, only give tip at end!

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

nadira s

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The best part of this trip was our guide Mohammed. He is by far, the best tour guide we ever had.
He is extremely knowledgeable on all things Egypt, and made each stop memorable. Mohammed is extremely friendly and helpful.
Even when I was ill, he did his best to accommodate me.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Steve T Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

My wife and I were picked up from our hotel and driven to the boat, ushered onto it and seated for the dinner show cruise. A couple of tips would be to ask for a seat at a table as close as possible to the dance floor, as it will give you the best view of the show you can always walk out to the balcony to get a better view of the city, and the other tip would be to give yourself plenty of time to get there as the traffic in the evening is at it's very worst.
The meals was pretty good, with a large selection of sides, and the wine selection too.
The show started with some Arabic music by the house band, then the amazing belly dancer came on and performed a great show. This was followed by the guy performing the Whirling Dervish dance. He was outstanding. Have you cameras charged and ready.
Overall, it was a great night of food, wine and dancing. Recommended

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Karen Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

For the price paid, it was a pretty good night. However, we were stuck up the back behind 2 bus loads of Asian tourists which took over and stood up throughout the entertainment making visibility of the show basically impossible. The food was okay. Would have preferred more time to take in the Nile.

Doing what: Cairo at Night River Nile Dinner Cruise

Ian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic Value, great people, great service, guide Absoutely fantastic.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

CYNTHIA L. C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fabulous tour! The entertainment was unbelievable! Especially enjoyed the Whirling Dervish

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Kevin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The dinner cruise was exactly as described. I highly recommend.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Nida T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a fun experience! The entertainment was great! The food was okay. I didn't feel the need to have a guide on-board with us though. A simple pick up from the hotel and drop off outside the boarding area would have been sufficient. Overall, great experience!

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Kareem S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

The tour was good, the ship lacked entertainment but the food and staff were excellent.

I found that the team running the show didn and #39;t follow the schedule as they had provided. Therefore, I had to reschedule flights and lost time in my next destination :(

Without this it would have been 4 stars.

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Kelly R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great service and great guides. Ahmed was the best!

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Gerd B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

This was a great ship. It was clean, the staff was amazing, everything was well organized, the food was good. I have no complaints. If you are fortunate enough to be able to do a Nile cruise, pick this company. Top notch.

Doing what: 5-Day Nile River Cruise from Luxor to Aswan with Optional Private Guide

Ian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Without Doubt worth Every Euro! Absolutely Fantastic, Many Thanks to All

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Kelly R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Fantastic service, great guides. Atef made the coolest creations with towels during room service and Ahmed was an awesome guide who went above and beyond expectations!

Doing what: 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide

Ashleyida6

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Dinner was okay. The food wasn't anything special. I was expecting some things to be pointed out on the cruise, which didn't happen. The entertainment was good. People smoking inside the boat was not enjoyable.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Sarah T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was our first tour booked with Viator and we were pleasantly surprised. Very organised which gave piece of mind to mum, super friendly guide and #39;Haythem and #39; who looked after every detail for us, and the cruise had large clean rooms, smooth sailing, the food varied a mixture of western and egyptian.

Doing what: 8-Day Nile River Cruise from Luxor Including Aswan and Optional Private Guide

Danielle S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Everything about this cruise was great! The acts and food are definitely recommended.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

ARASAKONE A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Good service, food is your choice but people they do smoke in the cruise that's is the minus point

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Todd M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The is the second time we have taken this cruise in 12 months. The staff was great and we can't say enough about how wonderful everyone treated us. Our guide was excellent and will remain friends with us for years to come.

Doing what: 8-Day Nile River Cruise from Luxor Including Aswan and Optional Private Guide

Valeria Romina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had the time of our lives. From the pickup at Luxor airport till they said goodbye in Aswan's, all of the experience was simply surreal. We were treated as royalty but with such closeness and so much sincere kindness and humanity from all the crew, that we were moved to tears when we had to part. Our guide Rabeh was there for us and so correct, educated, knowledgeable, companion, it was so enriching to be around him. We learned a lot about the past and present of Egypt. We feel very happy and grateful we could enjoy that much. The temples and tombs, the bazars and bars, the view of the Nile from the cruise and faluca were unforgettable. The onboard service was amazing, food was goumet, generous and yummy. Don't think twice! South Sinaí Travel is first quality. Viator was very solicitous too. You'll never ever regret it.

Doing what: 5-Day Nile River Cruise from Luxor to Aswan with Optional Private Guide

monica w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Well worth the money. Great guide

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message