With more than 175 vineyards to its name, Monterey County is one of California’s top wine producing areas. The county’s 90-mile-long valley that stretches from the cool north to warm south is comprised of a collection of seven unique appellations ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gayle P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. Stacey the guide was friendly and funny. Lots of food and local wines. Recommend doing this tour as soon as you arrive in Carmel as it provides great ideas for eating out.

Doing what: Carmel Small-Group Food and Wine Walking Tour

Elizabeth P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Although you could not see the sunset weather due to season we had an amazing time! Easily one of our favorite activities from our 5 day trip in Monterey, Big Sur, and San Francisco. Liz the captain was so cool and so knowledgeable. The cheese plate, hummus, and wine were perfect appetizers. Would absolutely do this again upon our return to Monterey!

Doing what: Monterey Bay Sunset Appetizer Cruise

Rita v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a wonderful way to spend three hours in beautiful Carmel. Mig was a jewel, so knowledgeable about the area and the other folks on our tour were delightful. Delicious food and wine with a pleasant walk.
Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Carmel Small-Group Food and Wine Walking Tour

Julie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a wonderful way to spend our afternoon on a Mother/Daughter weekend. The tour was full of fabulous food and wine. It was just the right amount of walking and the right amount of humor. Thank you to our fabulous tour guide, Stacy, for a memorable time.

Doing what: Carmel Small-Group Food and Wine Walking Tour

Constance P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great three hour tour! Meg was very personable, knowledgable, and guided us to great food and wine! Even had a wonderful olive oil tasting! We went on this tour our last day in Carmel. I would recommend you plan this your first few days there so you get a better lay of the land and get to try several restaurants BEFORE you go for a full meal!

Doing what: Carmel Small-Group Food and Wine Walking Tour

Marie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I booked the Small-Group Food and Wine Walking Tour in Carmel just as an "extra" on our coastline drive from San Diego to San Francisco. Am I glad I did! Our tour guide was excellent, she really new the town well and the establishments she includes on the tour were all places I would return too. Good choice.

Doing what: Carmel Small-Group Food and Wine Walking Tour

Kay Lynn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This is one tour that everyone should do. The places visited, the foods eaten and the wines tasted were A-1. Tracy was very knowledgeable interesting and lots of fun as a tour guide. Every aspect of this tour was top rate and like the 'cherry on top of the sundae' for our vacation. Thanks so much! Kay Lynn and Gary, FL

Doing what: Carmel Small-Group Food and Wine Walking Tour

STEVEN M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

There is only one crew member on this tour. This was supposed to be a four course dinner an unlimited wine cruise. My wife and I were the only passengers. We boarded on schedule, as the pilot exited for twenty minutes to go to Trader Joe's to purchase our four course dinner. Meanwhile, the dock hand told us that they only had white wine, and he handed us each a plastic cup with about four ounces of wine in it. We drink red wine. The pilot returned, and we launched, a half hour later than scheduled, at 6:30 PM. The marine layer fog was already rolling into Monterey Bay.
As we exited the harbor, the pilot regaled us with tales of his personal life, his career, and most importantly, his major health problems and his efforts to control their symptoms. He did not show us where the life preservers, if any, were stowed. He did not review any safety information, such as the location of flares or transponder, or communications devices, if any existed. This was a very small sailing vessel, 32 ft and had something gone wrong with either the boat or its skipper, neither my wife or I have any experience in piloting a sail boat. We sailed into the fog under the guidance of a compass-driven tiller, while the pilot went below to prepare our food. We noticed that he did not wash his hands. Shortly thereafter, we were presented with a tray of cheese, fruit and crackers. We then each received a salad he had made. Then the pilot joined us on deck, opened a package of salmon from the bag of groceries, lit a gas-fired grill which was affixed to the port side of the boat, and cooked the fish on that. We were not offered anything to drink with the dinner.
All told, I would not consider this a value, the experience was unremarkable, and I would not recommend it to friends. These are very nice folks, but the product they provide does not live up to the description on your web site. The greatest concern is the lack of safety and emergency information.

Doing what: Monterey Bay Dinner Sailing Cruise

Scott J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

I couldn't believe it. I don't usually take the time to write a review but I feel we got ripped off. First, we didn't leave on time. We were asked to move out of the way for the captain and deck hand to adjust the rigging. I asked the captain how far he has been from shore and he said far with the attitude of blowing off the question. They had run out of one type of wine so there was only one type.It was advertised as a four course meal. We had Cheese, Crackers , Sliced pear and grapes on one paper plate. Next we had under cooked, cold Salmon and raw spinach on another with a plastic fork. One other couple were eating with us and they each got a plate and then my wife and I were told we needed to share a single PLATE! OMG! Then the deck hand ask for constructive criticism! I held back trying to make the best out of a bad situation. I don't think that could be considered a four courase meal. To bad. Happy birthday to my wife......

Doing what: Monterey Bay Dinner Sailing Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message