Canada ATTRACTIONS See all

Butchart Gardens

Travelers to the Butchart Gardens are treated to an enchanting floral show that changes with the seasons. Covering 55 acres (22 hectares) on Vancouver Island, the landscaped gardens are so intricately laid out that each of the themed ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 375 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marsha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a long day, but well worth every minute. Our tour guide, Rob, was very knowledgeable about the area and made this a very pleasurable experience. The tour was well organized and I would definitely recommend it. Butchart Gardens is spectacular.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Sandra W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well spent day traveling by bus on the ferry to Vancouver Island. We toured Victoria and had free time there before moving on to Butchart Gardens. I like that we had ample time to explore. We also had a knowledgable guide who provided a history of what we were seeing.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Frances W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Spectacular! The Butchart Gardens had been on my travel list for over 15 years. It was a pleasure to see it. Even in August the colors were wonderful. It is truly a garden to be enjoyed over and over again. And the time spent in Victoria was wonderful. It is a delightful city with local color. Another plus for the trip. Our driver/tour guide was Amid - he was fun and enthusiastic and made the trip better!

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Marjorie Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We selected the Brentwood Bay Kayaking Tour because we wanted to experience the natural beauty of Canada and enjoy the adventure of kayaking. I was worried at first about how we would reach the
Paddle Sports Pacifica launch site since it is 25 minutes from the pier. No worries! We were gifted with Chris who not only came to get us at the cruise pier but made sure that we were safe and happy throughout the tour, took us to the Butchart Gardens and then back to our ship. The entire team of guides and owners were phenomenal. Special shout out to Sam our head guide and Damon the assistant guide who as a member of a local First Nation tribe was able to tell us stories of the history of his people and speak to us in his tribe's language. Butchart Gardens was amazing and way to big for us to cover in one afternoon. We were delighted with our stroll through the many lovely displays and our lunch in the coffee shop. The tour was somewhat strenuous me late sixties and needed some help when strong winds made progress slow but so worth the price. We will never forget the incredible kindness of the staff and crew and the experience was all that we had hoped and more!

Doing what: Brentwood Bay Kayaking and Butchart Gardens Tour

Patricia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Butchart Gardens were amazing.......there was not one thing I could say against it. We also enjoyed our walking tour of Victoria before we went to Butchart. The trip on the ferry was good too.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Butchart was magnificent! The getting there was a bit tedious, but understandable. Not for the jetlagged! as we were, but the gardens were so uplifiting and the driver was knowledgeable and courteous.. would do it all over again! really appreciated the pick up and drop off at the hotel!

Doing what: Victoria and Butchart Gardens Day Trip from Vancouver

Leila K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It is a long trip from Vancouver to Victoria, but worth the time. We enjoyed getting to see the city of Victoria and having a little time on our own to have lunch, take photos, and look in some shops. We opted for more time at Butchart Gardens because we love to look at the flowers and displays.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Shobhanav

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Butchart Gardens is out of this world. Our tour guide Meghan was very knowledgeable about the area and fun,made this a very pleasurable experience. The tour was very well organized and I would definitely recommend it. Enjoyed every minute of it!!!

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Jeannette S W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a wonderful tour and our guide, Omed was so informative and entertaining. Loved the Butchart Gardens and the tour was a super way to kick off our Alaskan cruise.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Butchart Gardens are amazing!

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Peter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This excursion to Victoria and the Butchart Gardens was fabulous. Our driver Gordon, was very thoughtfully and caring about his passengers. The ferry to Victoria was very pleasant. Gordon apon arrival in Victoria, gave his passengers free time to explore Victoria and the Butchart Gardens on their own. To anyone thinking about excursions to Victoria, I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Kerstin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I enjoyed this trip very much. We had a small bus and were driven to and from the ferry portals and to Victoria and Butchart Gardens. Both Victoria and the Butchart Gardens are very beautiful locations. Our guide Laureen was very friendly and informative and I enjoyed a lot travelling with her. :

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Houston H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great trip but very long, in total about 13 hours. Most of the trip is taken up with travelling by bus and ferry there and back, although the scenery is great along the way. I would recommend flying out to Victoria via float plane, and then maybe taking the ferry back. That would give you an extra 3 hours in Victoria to relax and explore. Butchart Gardens was really awesome!

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

John S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Didn't get picked up at our hotel. When I called to confirm the operator said to meet the driver in FRONT of the hotel. Turns out it was to be at the back entrance. We had to walk to the Empress.
The bus ride and tour to the gardens was excellent, Butchart is must for anyone visiting BC

Doing what: Butchart Gardens Tour from Victoria

Beverley C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We had a fantastic time on this trip. The commentary was really good. We love the gardens and are so glad we took the opportunity to go earlier to Butchart Gardens. Victoria was a lovely city and we perhaps would have liked to spend more time there but are happy with our choice.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Diane H

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

We were very disappointed in our driver and tour guide. His comments were not politically correct and prejudice. he fairy was delayed when brining us back and when it did dock he started shouting for us to get onto the bus. He could have been more observant and rounded us up at an earlier time. When he dropped us off at the Hotel Van. he carelessly pulled away and smashed the traffic light, but never stopped. We took photos of the incident. Since I was organizing the outing for my friends I felt responsible and embarrassed by his poor deportment. The Butchart Gardens and free time in Victoria made the day special.

Doing what: Victoria and Butchart Gardens Day Trip from Vancouver

David L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Butchart Gardens Tour was amazing! It was really fun - and the ride to Butchart on the bus was very nice!!

Doing what: Butchart Gardens Tour from Victoria

Debbie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to discover Victoria and Butchart Gardens. Beautiful city and amazing gardens. Great way to see both!

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Marguerite H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We loved every minute of this day tour to Vancouver Island, including the town of Victoria and the beautiful Butchart Gardens. The trip was very well organised from start to finish. Once we were on the bus, we were able to cross to Vancouver Island on the bus, which simply drives onto the ferry. This saved us so much time and trouble in that we did not have to buy ferry tickets or stand in queues. Once on the ferry, we were able to get off the bus and walk around the ferry which has a cafetaria, washrooms and boutiques.
Our first stop was Butchart Gardens, which were absolutely spectacular. It was a real treat from start to finish. The exquisite gardens, each with a different theme, Japanese, Italian, Rose Garden etc were unbelievable. One can find almost every Rose in existence in the world in their Rose garden, and everything is beautifully labelled and signposted . We had about one and a half hours to explore the gardens, which was more than enough time, and we had time to explore the beautiful boutique with souvenirs and the visitor centre. There was also time to buy a quick coffee or something to eat.

The next stop was Victoria, a lovely town on Vancouver Island with interesting art galleries, shops, restaurants and a very vibey waterfront area. We feel that we had enough time to explore, and enjoyed our visit. Had one wanted to explore the museum, one would have needed more time. But it gave one a taste, and one could easily go back there by ferry oneself and spend more time there.

Our tour guide was excellent and very helpful. He gave us an interesting commentary throughout our tour on the sights that we were seeing en route, and on the sights we were about to visit. I highly recommend this tour - it is one of the best we have done anywhere in the world!

Doing what: Victoria and Butchart Gardens Day Trip from Vancouver

Ryan E United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our Journey to the Butchart Gardens begins at the Victoria Harbour Seaplane Terminal in Downtown Victoria, BC Canada.

We had the pleasure of meeting Graham who would be piloting our Seaplane to the Butchart Gardens. Graham was nice enough to let me ride upfront in the co-pilot seat and after a few minutes of final preparations, we were flying over the Downtown area and on our way to the Gardens.

Graham was extremely professional, explained the areas we were flying over and provided exceptional service.

After we landed, we had a great view of the Harbour as we approached the Butchart Gardens Private Dock.

I highly recommend Harbour Air Seaplanes for your next flight and especially if you are headed into the Butchart Gardens. The Seaplane experience is top notch, their staff are friendly, professional and well trained and the Gardens entry was quick and painless.

The Dinner was absolutely five star, the Gardens were exceptional and evening Fireworks are not to be missed.

There is an option for a few extra dollars to have a Private Limo take you back to the Hotel. If you are staying on Saturday Evening for the Fireworks Display, I highly recommend this option to allow you time to enjoy the presentation.

Thank You again to Graham for your exceptional service and to Harbour Air Seaplanes for one of the highlights from our recent holiday to Canada.

Doing what: Butchart Gardens Luxury Evening Experience: Seaplane Flight and 3-Course Dinner

Glenn C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

the tour was great! We loved the experience of riding on the ferry, spending time in Victoria, and getting to see Butchart Gardens was an incredible experience.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

sandys0702

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a very nice day for our tour. Our LandSea tour driver, Brent, was wonderful. He was pleasant, funny and gave us a lot of local info which was very nice. The tour was great, Victoria is a beautiful city and we loved spending time there. What can you say about Butchart Gardens, absolutely gorgeous....it was a great way to spend time in a beautiful city.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Michael E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our bus to Victoria via ferry, and travel to Butchart Gardens was amazing. We did this trip 24 years ago! You do spend a lot of time on the bus, but hey, you have to cross the water. Victoria was not a quaint as it was 20 yrs ago, but still nice. The gardens are beautiful! The vibrant colors of the flowers is amazing to me! Great tour!

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Dale F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was truly outstanding. The pickup and dropoff times were absolutely on time. The drive to and from Butchart Gardens was pleasant and informative. And of course walking the garden grounds was beautiful beyond expectation.

Doing what: Butchart Gardens Tour from Victoria

Jenny H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Much is written about Butchart Gardens and it certainly lives up to the hype but the real gem of this trip was the kayak guided tour for the two hours prior. Kayak tour was breathtaking and so informative as to area sealife. Paddled near the boat launch of the gardens too! Want to go back asap!

Doing what: Brentwood Bay Kayaking and Butchart Gardens Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message