Whales are perhaps the most fascinating creatures on earth, but unfortunately we don't have too many opportunities to get up close to these enormous aquatic animals. That is, unless you take a whale-watching cruise from Victoria, Vancouver Island!  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 356 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ryan E United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My Wife and I had the opportunity to book a scenic Whale Watching Excursion on Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours in July, 2016.

The Eagle Wing Team picked us up promptly from our Downtown Hotel and after some quick paperwork and safety briefings, we would on our way to experience some exceptional Whale Watching.

I would like to thank Val for her exceptional knowledge and for sharing some great background on the Whales. This company is highly experienced, environmentally friendly and educational to the visitor.

During our excursion, we were able to see not only a great variety of Whale Species, but a great variety of Wildlife including Sea Lions, Seals and Birds.

We were very pleased we included this adventure into our holiday plans and encourage you to give them a try. We took the Covered Boat Excursion Boat which offered a great break from the Sun and also protection from some of the Wind when traveling to and from the Whale sites.

Doing what: Victoria Whale and Wildlife Cruise

Bernd W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a wonderful experience. Standing on the boat and driving to the strait of juan de fuca is a lot of fun. We saw 3-5 humpback whales, 30ish sea lions and 10-15 orca whales. One of the orcase swam directly under our boat and it was quasi underneath us. I would do this trip again! The staff was very friendly and offered us free coffee and hot chocolate.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise with Expert Naturalists

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The whale watching tour was awesome. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. We saw humpbacks and orcas. All in all an excellent excursion that I would highly recommend!

Doing what: Victoria Whale Watch Tour

james w s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Although we didn't see any whales, the crew was amazing and very client oriented. The boat ride was very nice even though it rained. The captain and crew did their best to keep us warm and dry.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise from Vancouver to Victoria

Tulin O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was an excellent experience, but worried about the whales and their future, everything is too noisy for them and their environment is changing, and getting polluted.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

tribew Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

the trip to whale watching went very well. From hotel pick-up to drop off, it was well organized. We were treated to a great display of minke whales, and were able to view a small humpback and harbour porpoise, beside pods of seals. We also saw the spout of a blue or grey whale but were unable to move close enough to view the animal due to conservation restrictions. All and all a very worthwhile experience

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Stuart S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The whole package was fantastic. We were lucky enough to have a warm clear day. The Seaplane trip was fantastic with great views and on the Whale watch saw a Humpback as well as Killer whales, Seals and otters .... and a US Submarine!

Doing what: Seaplane Flight to Victoria and Whale-Watching Cruise

Susan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Lets start with the boat we were on, a very comfortable, clean boat! You can be inside or outside for viewing. On the inside you can open the windows as well. The captain and his helper answered questions and were both so nice. We saw two families of whales, so seals, and a couple eagles. It was amazing to see them and they gave us quite a show. The only thing I would improve on is having water for sale on board. We were out there 3 hours with out water. Or if there was water I didn't know about it.

Doing what: Steveston Whale-Watching Adventure

stuart g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The bus driver was pleasant , helpful, and informative. The zodiacs strongly urge to go on them were great searching out whales. We saw a number whales and being in a zodiac gave you the feeling of being part of the action. It also brought you close to the whales and sea lions. Great trip.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Sharon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great day the people were awesome they tried so hard to find the Orca's for us and they did, very professional the boat we went on very comfortable and good for viewing. Highly recommend this company.

Doing what: Victoria Whale Watch Tour

Susan Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great experience. Saw 2 pods of orca whales as well as 2 humpback whales.

Doing what: Ocean Magic Whale-Watching Adventure in Victoria

M W C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very accommodating where the tour was cancelled and I was transferred to another tour that weekend. The tour guide was extremely helpful and knowledgable, happy and it was a pleasure to gain so much from her forgive me I forgot the tour guides name. The added complimentary bus was very useful and informative. Got to see 4 generation of whales, so all in all an excellent tour.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Patricia L Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely gorgeous day and experience! Great Whale Watching experience

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

carolina p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was amazing. The people in the office and in the boat were really kind.
We saw killer whales and hunchback whales too.
We went last week of July and the weather was perfect.
Great memories. !!

Doing what: Victoria Whale Watch Tour

Sharon C. W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The whale watching tour was fun for me, my kids and grandkids. We were all interested in the beautiful whales and seals that we saw. It was remarkable to see the whales and realize how beautiful nature can be. I think this cruise helped show people the beauty and grace of the orcas and humpbacks that we saw on the cruise. I highly recommend the cruise. The staff was really nice and the kids loved the whales. All in all we had a great time! We hope we can come back soon! PS: This review was written by my 11-year-old granddaughter.

Doing what: Victoria Whale and Wildlife Cruise

mary carmen r

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

It was a beautiful experience, really amazing to be able to watch the whales.
The only thing is that is to long, because of the time you spend on getting to the point for watching the whales, and to come back.
I would recommend it, but I would have rather done one portion of the trip on an airplane.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Susan Q

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The whale watching was fun, but there really wasn't much time in Victoria. You end up picking one or the other Victoria vs Butchart gardens. We had lunch in Victoria and went to the gardens. That being said, it was a long day so I don't know that I would make it longer - just don't expect to see a lot of both. The whale watching would have been easier with a loud speaker system but each guide came around to give the same story to different sections of the boat. They were very nice and gave photos at the end for free which was a nice surprise.

Doing what: Best of Victoria Tour: Whale Watching, Butchart Gardens and Sunset Cruise from Vancouver

Eric S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Overall, a great trip. Lots of whale activity. Great bus driver who made the long trip quite enjoyable. Two, issues that need to be addressed. First, the communication and information about food needs for the trip needs to be much clearer. I was told there was no food included, so we went out and bought food for lunch. We we not told that the bus stops at a cheese shop in Charlevoix where you can purchase sandwiches and other food items. Not a big deal and we enjoyed the stop, but I wish we had known about the opportunity to buy food on the trip. Second, and a bigger deal is the lack of clarity about the type of boat you get to go on for the excursion. When I booked the trip for my family, I booked and was told that we would be on a Zodiac with 20-25 other people. We have been on zodiac's before and we really enjoy the fun and intimacy this type of vehicle that is afforded to the customers. When we got the the dock we were put on a boat that while technically a zodiac, had about 50 people, which is a far cry from what we booked and paid for in advance. We were not given a choice about which type of Zodiac we were allowed to take, but just told which boat to get on for the trip. Other customers who were on our bus, were able to take the trip on the smaller and more intimate zodiac. While we had a very good time and got to see lots of whales, initially the larger boat made seeing the whales less enjoyable, disappointing, and stressful. I definitely want to acknowledge the captain and our naturalist guide for making the trip highly enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this excursion, but I would also recommend that the information about food and the type of boat be more clearly communicated.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Thomas B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

finally see the killer whales after 2h or so...great experience.
Friendly and helpful boat crew.
The journey is a bit longer than advertised 4h but worth it!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Initial_C

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

As a tour, don't expect to be very close to the whales. Boats have to keep a distance and likely you'll only see spouts and the backs of whales diving. Plus, whales are animals in their natural habitat so what you see is what you get. That said, the marine park is FULL of whales. The reason why I am only giving 3 stars though is because the cruise company FORGOT to pick me up at my pick-up point. And I had to PERSONALLY enquire where the bus was. The only thing they could say was Oops. Sorry.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Andreas H

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The flight to Victoria was excellent, the return with the BC Connector Bus on the ferry was long and somewhat tedious stops literally at every hotel in Vancouver. The booking process and the information details what, when, where to check-in or get further vouchers provided were a sheer disaster for a web based travel business in the 21st century - totally disintegrated and time consuming. Recommend to combind with whale watching in Victoria.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria by Seaplane and Ferry

Polina L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

It would be helpful to know in advance that the place is very cold and warm clothes is a must, in addition to the jackets and the pants provided by the company. No cafeteria is available on the spot, so we couldn't even buy hot tea or coffee to warm us up after the cruise.
It is promised in the promotional material that Zodiac boat grants closer view at the whales, which is not true. All boats must respect 400 m. distance from the whales.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Maria G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

1St time to Vancouver. Whale watching was amazing! Would do it again if I get the chance

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Leonardo M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Honestly was a great trip. I was expecting to be a bit closer to the whales, but if you're like me, and you don't realize that even though they can control where the whale sightings are, that they can't control how close the whales will be to your boat, then you should try and come more prepared than I did when I went on the trip. If you are a photographer, then a tele converter is a must using a lens of 200mm or more as minimum range to get some usable shots. I used a 200 2.8 Nikon lense, and i barely managed to get a few usable shots, and the only reason why is because i shoot with a D810 and so the mega pixels allow for quite a crop without seriously compromising quality...... Either bring a tele converter or a 500mm lens to really get the most out of the experience..... The tour it self, was hands down spectacular, highly recommended....

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Debra J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We saw two different pods of killer whales that day. The staff is great, Joe was very knowledgeable and accommodating. If you got to cold on the trip they offer blankets, gloves and hats.This was our excursion not through the cruise line and we left at the stated time and arrived back at the dock on time.

Doing what: Ocean Magic Whale-Watching Adventure in Victoria

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message