Whales are perhaps the most fascinating creatures on earth, but unfortunately we don't have too many opportunities to get up close to these enormous aquatic animals. That is, unless you take a whale-watching cruise from Victoria, Vancouver Island!  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 328 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Maria G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

1St time to Vancouver. Whale watching was amazing! Would do it again if I get the chance

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Leonardo M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Honestly was a great trip. I was expecting to be a bit closer to the whales, but if you're like me, and you don't realize that even though they can control where the whale sightings are, that they can't control how close the whales will be to your boat, then you should try and come more prepared than I did when I went on the trip. If you are a photographer, then a tele converter is a must using a lens of 200mm or more as minimum range to get some usable shots. I used a 200 2.8 Nikon lense, and i barely managed to get a few usable shots, and the only reason why is because i shoot with a D810 and so the mega pixels allow for quite a crop without seriously compromising quality...... Either bring a tele converter or a 500mm lens to really get the most out of the experience..... The tour it self, was hands down spectacular, highly recommended....

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Debra J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We saw two different pods of killer whales that day. The staff is great, Joe was very knowledgeable and accommodating. If you got to cold on the trip they offer blankets, gloves and hats.This was our excursion not through the cruise line and we left at the stated time and arrived back at the dock on time.

Doing what: Ocean Magic Whale-Watching Adventure in Victoria

Angelina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Had a great time! Saw 9 whales and captain Bobby was fantastic! Beautiful area! Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Steveston Whale-Watching Adventure

Caitlin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip was awesome! Had a great guide that found an amazing killer whale spot!

Doing what: Zodiac Whale-Watching Adventure in Victoria

Laura G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The bus ride was long, but the driver Yves kept us entertained with history, facts, and discussion about whales. We happened to take the tour on a rainy day. We were scheduled for the Zodiac tour. They gave us the option of switching to the larger boat, but we decided to stay with the Zodiac. We definitely got wet with rain and waves splashing onto the boat, even with the waterproof coat and pants. I recommend bringing a change of clothes with you if you do the Zodiac. That 3 hour bus ride back was a bit uncomfortable in wet clothes.

Though both types of boats have to abide by the same rules of staying away from the whales a certain distance, I feel like the whales we saw were so much closer than the larger boat. Perhaps it was just that we were on the same level. We saw Fin whales and seals.

We heard the larger boat saw some Beluga whales at one location that we weren't able to see. A view from higher in the air has its benefits too. Either way, it was a great experience!

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

That Guy 15

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic. Great, funny guide, and an amazing day. We seemed to have an exceptional day and had at least half, if not two-thirds of the whale watching portion of the zodiac trip, spent watching Fin, Minke, and Beluga whales or the dozens of seals. Food at our stop in Charlevoix was great if you love dairy, as we stopped at a cheese factory. We bought curd, a fantastic house made potato salad, and had sandwiches with a quarter inch thick of fresh cheese along with baguettes, so good. The beer made from a craft brewer in town was good too, I would grab another Mad Cow brand beer anywhere I saw it and I like beer. Excellent trip, even though with the zodiacs we did not have enough time for lunch once we got to the destination, so I would stock up with snacks and water bottles as we did for the trip if you can't last between eating from about 10:30 am to 4 or 5 pm

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Elizabeth P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour with enthusiastic, friendly guides. We saw humped back and killer whales and beautiful islands. The tour takes nearly five hours and it was cold and windy in July so wrap up very warm.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

ijanayajacob22

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I had an amazing time at the whale watching tour. We saw a family of Orcas and a humpback whale that breached twice in front of us. It was an amazing experience. I had 5 tours this summer and this one was definitely the highlight of my summer. I highly recommend it!!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Ronald T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guides went out of their way to make sure that we saw whales in this case, orca whales.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Gilbert C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were in a covered boat. The experience was outstanding. The trip was over three hours. It was comfortable and productive. We saw about ten whales and much more in terms of wildlife---sea otters, seals, elephant seal and various birds. This was a worthwhile venture, as was our entire trip to Victoria

Doing what: Victoria Whale and Wildlife Cruise

Laureen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A very pleasant ferry ride back to Seattle, made even better by whale sightings en-route. The captain kindly cut the engines for a few minutes so passengers could watch these magnificent creatures. This ferry service is well-run, efficient, on-time and has great customer service.

Doing what: High-Speed Passenger Ferry From Victoria, British Columbia to Seattle, Washington

Chris Cox United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

After being fully kitted out with waterproofs, also hats and gloves if required, we embarked on the largest of the vessels for what turned out to be a 5 hour approx 90 mile round trip. We saw Bald Eagles, several porpoise, a seal, cormorants and to cap it all Killer whales. Our guide was very attentive and ensured that everyone was ok, and kept us informed of progress in locating the whales and provided information sheets as well as interesting facts and figures. The whale watching community seem to help each other which is why the success rate for spotting whales is so good. Seeing the whales in the wild is such a thrill. Altogether a fantastic trip, highly recommended. .

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Troy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had an excellent time. The guide was very informative and fun. We saw two different types of whales and we saw an orca breech, which is not common.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Cedris A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Absolutely brilliant. Captain Gordon went all out to make sure we saw whales and we did. Saw a fin, a minke, humpbacks and orcas. Amazing trip.

Doing what: Summer Whale Watching on Vancouver Island

Dilip D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Totally satisfied. The tour provided everything we hoped for. Will recommend it to others. We couldn't have covered as much in and around Victoria without this combined trip.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise from Victoria and Butchart Gardens Admission

David T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Everything about this tour was fantastic. Even the guide and captain were amazed at the activity of the whales. We were too. I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Steveston Whale-Watching Adventure

adrianbennett2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Absolutely amazing... The seaplane to Victoria was fantastic, amazing views of Vancouver!
The whale watching trip was truly a trip of a lifetime. We saw a pod of orcas and a hump back whale! The guide was professional and very knowledgable.
Victoria itself is beautiful. Loads to see and lots of fine places to eat. Just wished we could have stayed longer! Would recommend this trip to anyone who is short of time, you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Seaplane Flight to Victoria and Whale-Watching Cruise

Sandra G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The bus tour through the Quebec countryside was probably the more enjoyable portion of the trip as it was, sadly, very cold and rainy the day of our tour July 7. It was 52F in Baie-Sainte-Catherine that day and about ten degrees cooler on the water. The temperature drop is typical, so dress accordingly. I bought a thin waterproof poncho at the ferry departure gift shop that had a hood and it kept me dry when I ventured out onto the deck during the cruise. Most people stayed inside the glassed in area and we'd all run outside when a whale sighting was announced, usually to have missed it by the time we got out there, but not always. The windows inside were so fogged up, we couldn't see anything. The grey seals, were fun to watch and and it wasn't until we were practically back at shore did we see two brief sightings of a humpback whale. It wasn't until that very moment that I felt our money had been well spent. If we hadn't seen the humpback, I would have felt the day was a bust, tbh. The weather was the issue, no question, but that has NOTHING to do with the tour company. The tour was very well organized and on a nice day, the cruise would have been beautiful. Pick up at Place d'Armes was right on time, however, we had trouble identifying the bus as it was plain white and difficult to tell if it was ours there were other buses pulling up in the same area - it would have been helpful to have some signage on the side of the bus to identify it. Problem only because we were sheltering from the wind and pouring rain by the Chateau Frontenac - hated to keep going out to see if 'that' one was our bus....

Our driver, Yves, gave a lively talk throughout the drive, which was enjoyable. We stopped at a halfway point a cheese shop/cafe to buy their amazing sandwiches because the food available on the ferry wasn't going to be particularly healthy. Note, if you'll be on the Zodiac, you need to eat on the bus beforehand - you can eat on the ferry though.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Jimmy J

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Saw lots of whales, great crew/ knowledgable about area, and animals

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise from Victoria and Butchart Gardens Admission

Gaylene O

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

I enjoyed the whale watching trip but my companion did not. It was a very long bus trip but the weather was beautiful.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Linda P

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Amazing experience . Wish we could have been closer to the whales to get a better view , but very professional , friendly staff . The crew on the vessel were very professional and knowledgeable .

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

LISA F

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

I did enjoy seeing whales, when we finally saw them. It felt more like whale waiting or whale chasing. We were out for 6 hours and ended up only seeing whales by Victoria. Save yourself some time and go on a trip from Victoria rather than Vancouver.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Yu-Hua C

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The ferry is good, weather isn't sunny, and only two whales found that is a little disappointed.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message