Whales are perhaps the most fascinating creatures on earth, but unfortunately we don't have too many opportunities to get up close to these enormous aquatic animals. That is, unless you take a whale-watching cruise from Victoria, Vancouver Island!  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 378 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Clare O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very efficient friendly company. We were looked after on the boat. Saw some whales. Student Biologists? On boat were very helpful and attentive. Boat not over crowded so all felt they had personal attention. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Victoria Whale Watch Tour

John O R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic as we were very fortunate to see a wonderful pod of killer whales and the lady who accompanied us was very forthcoming with terrific information.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Donna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very nice trip, saw lots of whales, sea lions and the boat was very nice. Weather ended up being perfect! The staff was very friendly and helpful in finding the whales. Would go with company again.

Doing what: Victoria Whale Watch Tour

Stephanie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Incredible. Marcel, the driver who picked me up at my hotel, Yves, the bus driver/tour guide, and Naturalist and Captain on the Zodiac boat we some of the most enthusiastic/friendly people one could encounter. The whales were very cooperative and visible, sometimes we would see 2 or 3 different whales at one time. It was awe inspiring!

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Tara R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was amazing, everything I could have hoped for. The bus trip was long, but it flew by thanks to the funny commentary from the driver and the stop at the cheese shop. The whales were out in force, we saw more than 14 whales of 3 different species. I would recommend this trip to any of my friends, but I was soooooo tired afterwards.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Janice S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Andrea was fantastic! We saw lots of whales she had excellent information, not only about the whales, but how to best manage a boat trip, as I tend to have motion sickness. The gardens were beautiful and the bus service excellent. There was an issue with the boat we were to be on and the company contacted us ahead of time. We ended up with a higher priced trip for the same price we had originally paid. Excellent customer service!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise from Victoria and Butchart Gardens Admission

GoldenLover United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a fabulous time! The weather was perfect. The various seals and sea lions laid out to enjoy the sun provided endless photo ops. We were delighted to see a humpback whale and several orcas on our cruise. Perfect photos of these amazing creatures, however, were more elusive. Eagle Wing Tours runs a seamless operation. Despite the lovely weather, we were glad we chose the covered boat so that we did not need to be out in the sun, wind, and occasional spray the entire time. The boat was well-appointed, in great condition, and immaculate. The staff on land and at sea were friendly, professional, and knowledgeable. We were picked up promptly at our hotel. For the return trip, we had the option to get driven back or receive tokens to take the water taxi back or anywhere they stop. The water taxi experience was wonderful! I would not hesitate to cruise with Eagle Wing Tours again.

Doing what: Victoria Whale and Wildlife Cruise

Herman B T

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A great experience to see the whales close-up. We saw a humpback whale. We also saw and followed a pod 10-13 of killer whales for about 30 minutes. The crews were knowledgable with the area. We were glad to choose Steveston Whale-Watching Adventure: smaller group, enclosed and heated sitting area with outdoor balcony.

Doing what: Steveston Whale-Watching Adventure

Jacqueline R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour whales close so did not have to spend a lot of time looking..... agent in am and spent pm in Stevenson came back on later coach had a great time just relaxing visited the canning museum and had a lunch in the Brittania - flight of craft beers and a superb ploughman's lunch.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Andreu B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Seeing the whales, even though for short time, makes the whole day excursion tour-de-force worthy.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Janice S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We had a great time. We only seen 1 whale, but that's not their fault.

Doing what: Victoria Whale Watch Tour

Adeline d

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We love our bus driver. He is the best, funny and thoughtful. We love the fact he spoke so fluently both in French and English so everyone could understand him. He kept us well entertained in the bus. We were a little disappointed that our boat captain did not speak much English so few of us felt lost. So we just followed with the flow. On the bright side, we saw at least 9 whales and seals at different spot. Water proof jacket and pants were provided. Still be ready to be wet, so bring a change of clothes. I brought mine, but not too badly drenched so i was ok not changing. I wished they provide life jacket just as a precautionary. Enjoyed the Zodiac, definitely an amazing experience. I wished the whale were more playful that day but happy enough to see few of them. I took non drowsy Dramamine as well to prevent sea sick and made sure i didn't eat too full.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Vasileios T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Expected more whale sightings

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Roy T United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Didn't see any whales and while crew were fantastic couldn't help be disappointed - didn't have the option of a repeat visit

Doing what: Half-Day Whale Watching Adventure from Vancouver

Ryan E United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My Wife and I had the opportunity to book a scenic Whale Watching Excursion on Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours in July, 2016.

The Eagle Wing Team picked us up promptly from our Downtown Hotel and after some quick paperwork and safety briefings, we would on our way to experience some exceptional Whale Watching.

I would like to thank Val for her exceptional knowledge and for sharing some great background on the Whales. This company is highly experienced, environmentally friendly and educational to the visitor.

During our excursion, we were able to see not only a great variety of Whale Species, but a great variety of Wildlife including Sea Lions, Seals and Birds.

We were very pleased we included this adventure into our holiday plans and encourage you to give them a try. We took the Covered Boat Excursion Boat which offered a great break from the Sun and also protection from some of the Wind when traveling to and from the Whale sites.

Doing what: Victoria Whale and Wildlife Cruise

Bernd W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a wonderful experience. Standing on the boat and driving to the strait of juan de fuca is a lot of fun. We saw 3-5 humpback whales, 30ish sea lions and 10-15 orca whales. One of the orcase swam directly under our boat and it was quasi underneath us. I would do this trip again! The staff was very friendly and offered us free coffee and hot chocolate.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise with Expert Naturalists

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The whale watching tour was awesome. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. We saw humpbacks and orcas. All in all an excellent excursion that I would highly recommend!

Doing what: Victoria Whale Watch Tour

james w s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Although we didn't see any whales, the crew was amazing and very client oriented. The boat ride was very nice even though it rained. The captain and crew did their best to keep us warm and dry.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise from Vancouver to Victoria

Tulin O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was an excellent experience, but worried about the whales and their future, everything is too noisy for them and their environment is changing, and getting polluted.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

tribew Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

the trip to whale watching went very well. From hotel pick-up to drop off, it was well organized. We were treated to a great display of minke whales, and were able to view a small humpback and harbour porpoise, beside pods of seals. We also saw the spout of a blue or grey whale but were unable to move close enough to view the animal due to conservation restrictions. All and all a very worthwhile experience

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Stuart S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The whole package was fantastic. We were lucky enough to have a warm clear day. The Seaplane trip was fantastic with great views and on the Whale watch saw a Humpback as well as Killer whales, Seals and otters .... and a US Submarine!

Doing what: Seaplane Flight to Victoria and Whale-Watching Cruise

Susan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Lets start with the boat we were on, a very comfortable, clean boat! You can be inside or outside for viewing. On the inside you can open the windows as well. The captain and his helper answered questions and were both so nice. We saw two families of whales, so seals, and a couple eagles. It was amazing to see them and they gave us quite a show. The only thing I would improve on is having water for sale on board. We were out there 3 hours with out water. Or if there was water I didn't know about it.

Doing what: Steveston Whale-Watching Adventure

stuart g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The bus driver was pleasant , helpful, and informative. The zodiacs strongly urge to go on them were great searching out whales. We saw a number whales and being in a zodiac gave you the feeling of being part of the action. It also brought you close to the whales and sea lions. Great trip.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Sharon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great day the people were awesome they tried so hard to find the Orca's for us and they did, very professional the boat we went on very comfortable and good for viewing. Highly recommend this company.

Doing what: Victoria Whale Watch Tour

Susan Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great experience. Saw 2 pods of orca whales as well as 2 humpback whales.

Doing what: Ocean Magic Whale-Watching Adventure in Victoria

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message