Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Questions?

Call (888) 651-9785

Whales are perhaps the most fascinating creatures on earth, but unfortunately we don't have too many opportunities to get up close to these enormous aquatic animals. That is, unless you take a whale-watching cruise from Victoria, Vancouver Island!  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 435 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Willam G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Had a great Time!!! No whales but enjoyed the cruise. Crew was friendly and boat was clean..

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

Richard H

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Good people running the show. We saw whales but at a great distance.

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

lois m

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

The Captains on the boat were very friendly and funny. We saw 1 whale breach about a mile ahead of us, saw 2 tail fins, and a couple spouts When we saw the 2 tail fins, we were told that was going to be a deep dive for the whales and it would probably be 10 minutes before they re-appeared, but that the whales could be anywhere, so the boat stopped for 10 minutes, and we saw nothing!! Our trip was scheduled to leave at 1:30 for a couple hours. We were not boarded onto the boat until 1:35, which meant we left the marina at 1:55, but by golly we were back in the marina by 3:30. Can't recommend this one at all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

JILL M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour was led by Andy and Captain James CPN James is also a native of the area, if I recall. The initial commute to the whales was well spent with several interesting native animals to see along the route. Once we did reach the whales, we spent hours alongside them. The boat is large enough to allow one several vantage points to catch a glimpse of the wildlife, but small enough to allow group conversation / questions for the guide as they reveal extensive information on species. The guides were also very knowledgeable about several organizations working to protect the animals and the history of whale treatment, current aquarium efforts, and research.

Finally, for all the Once Upon a Time fans out there, this tour kicks off in Steveston, BC aka Storybrooke.

An incredible time, for sure.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Vivian F

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The cruise out to the sea was amazing as we got a good view of Honolulu city. We did not get to see any whale so we were offered to cruise out again without extra charge, but unfortunately we still could not spot any whale the second time. We were offered the third time but we had to fly back then.

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

Christina C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

What can I say? It's a 50-50 chance if we're going to see whale or not. We saw the tip of the whale's tail from a distance and that's it for us, the animal was really shy that day. The boat ride itself was pretty cool and enjoyable, it is safe for kids.

Doing what: Ocean Magic Whale-Watching Adventure in Victoria

Mark W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We went on a whale watching tour and even though it was the beginning of watching season, we saw four whales! The crew members were very friendly and informative. The tour was wonderful and I would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

steven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Saw whales, bald eagles, and more

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

dschuetz

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Glad I took this trip. Plane ride was short and offered good views. I took the enclosed boat versus the open boat and I enjoyed it. The docents on the boat were very informative and pleasant. Saw a mother humpback and baby and some orcas. This trip won't disappoint.

Doing what: Seaplane Flight to Victoria and Whale-Watching Cruise

Michael W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Good tour - very informative and great crew. Sadly didnt see any whales - thats mother nature for you - but they've offered a lifetime guaranteed free tour when I'm next back.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Lwe1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic time well worth the money.

Doing what: Victoria Whale Watch Tour

ngarment United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour and I was relieved not to get travel sick. It does get quite cold on board but they had plenty of big coats that you could use. Saw plenty of Whales and they did their best to get you as close as possible. A couple of guides on board that gave you info on the whales and on the way home there was a talk on whales which you could listen to. Would definitely recommend

Doing what: Victoria Whale Watch Tour

Joanne F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Had a great day whale watching great guide on the bus trip there

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

anne F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Really good experience and we were lucky enough to see some whales but would have liked to have been a little closer to them. Would suggest tea, coffee and snacks be on offer for return journey.
Very informative crew on board.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

epiontnica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great naturalist guides. Saw lots of wildlife. Can't describe how great it was to have all transportation for the day taken care of.

Doing what: Best of Victoria Tour: Whale Watching, Butchart Gardens and Sunset Cruise from Vancouver

Hazel F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The trip was fantastic. We saw approx. 35 whales, a shed load of seal-lions and some harbour seals as well. Taz our guide was so informative and friendly. Everybody who was involved really put themselves out to make sure that we all had a brilliant time.
I can't recommend this trip highly enough. In a word ....
FANTASTIC!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Adventure

Tracy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The whole experience was amazing and well worth every penny. All the staff were friendly and professional. I would definitely do this excursion again.

Doing what: Seaplane Flight to Victoria and Whale-Watching Cruise

Josephine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great day - had good luck in seeing over a dozen whales - Minke, finback and beluga, with some good views right near the boat. It was hard to be seeing everywhere at once! Really enjoyed the trip. It would have been nice to have more food choices in the cafe - I would have loved a hot dog but they weren't serving those - but since they had a microwave, think it would have been pretty doable? All in all great trip, and bus driver was great about showing neat places on the drive to the whale watch site.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Sharon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A great day out in Vancouver. We were fortunate to track a family of transient killer whales Orca. Our tour guide Joan was very knowledgeable. We also were able to see large male Sea Lions, smaller harbor seals, and the gorgeous coastal landscape and sandstone of the Veldez island. On the way back we saw 2 bald eagle which are usually gone by this time of year. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

daynasbemail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a day! The girls that checked us in were very helpful and pleasant. They even reminded us to get food to take on the trip! Cody explained the safety rules and was very helpful telling us where we were along the trip and explained what wildlife we were seeing. We got to see harbor seals, sea lions, huge walrus. The we happened upon 6 Orca whales going up the coastline! The were swimming along and eventually went into the middle of the ocean and had a feeding frenzy! It was amazing! The we saw Mama Humpback whale and her baby! The sun was shining and it was a Beautiful day! I would definitely recommend The Prince of Whales! The boat had seats inside and out and you were somewhat protected from the environment.

Doing what: Half-Day Whale Watching Adventure from Vancouver

FLAVIO R S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I recommend, very corteous, very professional, and the shutler driver was a real gentleman, entertainer and educated. The whales show up, the pilot very calm and pacient.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Richard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Collected on time early in fact on comfortable coach. Others picked up on route with some nice commentary to the journey. Booked in at their office where waterproofs available. The boat was very safe and comfortable with mostly enclosed seating. Some open seating at the back and an open upper deck which was great for photos. When moving at speed it can be a bit bumpy but less so if sitting at the back. Professional and very well informed guide and lots of time to take photos and ask questions once whales spotted. Everyone got some good photographs and got a good look at orcas, seals, sea lions and bald eagles. Very enjoyable day in spite of some rain and slightly chilly conditions. Highly recommended to see these wonderful animals in their natural conditions as well as good views of the islands and locality from the water.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Alicia A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I very much enjoyed the seaplane flight to Victoria. The Whale watching was cold and wet, the rain was the only thing I would have changed and you can't change the weather. It was all so amazing! We saw 6 whales, our guide was great! The ferry was late but it was still all good. I HIGHLY recommend this adventure if you are ever out that way! Totally worth the money!

Doing what: Seaplane Flight to Victoria with Whale Watching and Return by Ferry

Sofia A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great ppl and humpback whales!

Doing what: Victoria Whale Watch Tour

Michele M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This whale watching trip was really good. The weather, unfortunately, hindered us seeing as much as we probably could've seen as we were blanketed with fog. We were in the zodiak though and thankfully, the zodiak could go places that the boat couldn't so we were able to see whales which was really cool. The bus driver was extremely informative and gave us information on the areas we were driving through almost the whole trip. A very good day!!!

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message