Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Whales are perhaps the most fascinating creatures on earth, but unfortunately we don't have too many opportunities to get up close to these enormous aquatic animals. That is, unless you take a whale-watching cruise from Victoria, Vancouver Island!  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 426 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

dschuetz

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Glad I took this trip. Plane ride was short and offered good views. I took the enclosed boat versus the open boat and I enjoyed it. The docents on the boat were very informative and pleasant. Saw a mother humpback and baby and some orcas. This trip won't disappoint.

Doing what: Seaplane Flight to Victoria and Whale-Watching Cruise

Lwe1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic time well worth the money.

Doing what: Victoria Whale Watch Tour

ngarment United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour and I was relieved not to get travel sick. It does get quite cold on board but they had plenty of big coats that you could use. Saw plenty of Whales and they did their best to get you as close as possible. A couple of guides on board that gave you info on the whales and on the way home there was a talk on whales which you could listen to. Would definitely recommend

Doing what: Victoria Whale Watch Tour

Joanne F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Had a great day whale watching great guide on the bus trip there

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

anne F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Really good experience and we were lucky enough to see some whales but would have liked to have been a little closer to them. Would suggest tea, coffee and snacks be on offer for return journey.
Very informative crew on board.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

epiontnica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great naturalist guides. Saw lots of wildlife. Can't describe how great it was to have all transportation for the day taken care of.

Doing what: Best of Victoria Tour: Whale Watching, Butchart Gardens and Sunset Cruise from Vancouver

Hazel F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The trip was fantastic. We saw approx. 35 whales, a shed load of seal-lions and some harbour seals as well. Taz our guide was so informative and friendly. Everybody who was involved really put themselves out to make sure that we all had a brilliant time.
I can't recommend this trip highly enough. In a word ....
FANTASTIC!

Doing what: Steveston Whale-Watching Adventure

Tracy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The whole experience was amazing and well worth every penny. All the staff were friendly and professional. I would definitely do this excursion again.

Doing what: Seaplane Flight to Victoria and Whale-Watching Cruise

Josephine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great day - had good luck in seeing over a dozen whales - Minke, finback and beluga, with some good views right near the boat. It was hard to be seeing everywhere at once! Really enjoyed the trip. It would have been nice to have more food choices in the cafe - I would have loved a hot dog but they weren't serving those - but since they had a microwave, think it would have been pretty doable? All in all great trip, and bus driver was great about showing neat places on the drive to the whale watch site.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Sharon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A great day out in Vancouver. We were fortunate to track a family of transient killer whales Orca. Our tour guide Joan was very knowledgeable. We also were able to see large male Sea Lions, smaller harbor seals, and the gorgeous coastal landscape and sandstone of the Veldez island. On the way back we saw 2 bald eagle which are usually gone by this time of year. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

daynasbemail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a day! The girls that checked us in were very helpful and pleasant. They even reminded us to get food to take on the trip! Cody explained the safety rules and was very helpful telling us where we were along the trip and explained what wildlife we were seeing. We got to see harbor seals, sea lions, huge walrus. The we happened upon 6 Orca whales going up the coastline! The were swimming along and eventually went into the middle of the ocean and had a feeding frenzy! It was amazing! The we saw Mama Humpback whale and her baby! The sun was shining and it was a Beautiful day! I would definitely recommend The Prince of Whales! The boat had seats inside and out and you were somewhat protected from the environment.

Doing what: Half-Day Whale Watching Adventure from Vancouver

FLAVIO R S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I recommend, very corteous, very professional, and the shutler driver was a real gentleman, entertainer and educated. The whales show up, the pilot very calm and pacient.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Richard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Collected on time early in fact on comfortable coach. Others picked up on route with some nice commentary to the journey. Booked in at their office where waterproofs available. The boat was very safe and comfortable with mostly enclosed seating. Some open seating at the back and an open upper deck which was great for photos. When moving at speed it can be a bit bumpy but less so if sitting at the back. Professional and very well informed guide and lots of time to take photos and ask questions once whales spotted. Everyone got some good photographs and got a good look at orcas, seals, sea lions and bald eagles. Very enjoyable day in spite of some rain and slightly chilly conditions. Highly recommended to see these wonderful animals in their natural conditions as well as good views of the islands and locality from the water.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Alicia A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I very much enjoyed the seaplane flight to Victoria. The Whale watching was cold and wet, the rain was the only thing I would have changed and you can't change the weather. It was all so amazing! We saw 6 whales, our guide was great! The ferry was late but it was still all good. I HIGHLY recommend this adventure if you are ever out that way! Totally worth the money!

Doing what: Seaplane Flight to Victoria with Whale Watching and Return by Ferry

Sofia A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great ppl and humpback whales!

Doing what: Victoria Whale Watch Tour

Michele M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This whale watching trip was really good. The weather, unfortunately, hindered us seeing as much as we probably could've seen as we were blanketed with fog. We were in the zodiak though and thankfully, the zodiak could go places that the boat couldn't so we were able to see whales which was really cool. The bus driver was extremely informative and gave us information on the areas we were driving through almost the whole trip. A very good day!!!

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Sergio L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

good boat and plenty of time to watch whales. It went cold onboard but we were given good equipment.

highly recommended

Doing what: Victoria Whale and Wildlife Cruise

ROB United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Great experience seeing the 3 killer whales plus the seals thrown in

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Laura P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

I don't think I can give an accurate review of the Trolley Tour as we only used it for a few hours on one day. We didn't realize it was useful for 2 days. I would recommend this for definite sight seeing of Vancouver as it takes you to a lot of tourist stops, but sometimes you might be waiting for 20-30 minutes for your trolley, depending on when the last one departed. The drivers were really fun and gave some great facts about the history of the city. The Aquarium was great! It wasn't as busy when we went on a week day in December, and the weather was great too. The otters, penguins, and whales are a must see. If you buy this combo, make sure you call a day ahead to see where the first stops are located and what time the first pick up is. We made the mistake thinking they all picked up starting at 9am. But the China Town stop Trolley first pick up of the day was 10:30. Anyway, great deal, and be sure to use this for 2 days!

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Lookout Observation Deck and Vancouver Aquarium Combo

Philip H

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

The trip was fine and we saw some wildlife, but no whales, which was a huge disappointment. Offered another free trip, but we were leaving Canada before we could take it up.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Ronald T

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

No whales but not really their fault - that's the way it goes with wild animals. Nice tour of the islands and very friendly staff, They offered for us to come back free of charge anytime - nice offer but hard to achieve when coming from OS. Maybe a token gesture for that situation would be good the offer of 50 off any merchandise did not really appeal to anyone.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

John E

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

The trip to the boat was very nice. Our driver was certainly doing his. On the boat it was said that we cant go near the whales up to 400 metres and the white whales up to 200 metres. You cant see anything in the water and there are many people standing outsite looking for samething to see. It was a bit disapointing for us.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

jmd

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

Nothing went wrong with the tour, as we didn't take it. Viator sent me a voucher and a confirmation number, but when we arrived, Viator did not book us with Spring Tide Whale Watching Tours as our voucher said. Thank goodness the company booked us on another tour, at the same time and cost, but we had to change locations, etc. Very unprofessional of Viator and embarrassing for us.

Doing what: Victoria Whale Watch Tour

Clare O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very efficient friendly company. We were looked after on the boat. Saw some whales. Student Biologists? On boat were very helpful and attentive. Boat not over crowded so all felt they had personal attention. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Victoria Whale Watch Tour

John O R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic as we were very fortunate to see a wonderful pod of killer whales and the lady who accompanied us was very forthcoming with terrific information.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message