Canberra ATTRACTIONS See all

Australian War Memorial

One of Australia's most popular museums can be found at the Australian War Memorial. A visit to the mosaic Hall of the Memory and Commemorative Courtyard with its Roll of Honor is a moving and poignant experience, enhanced by the huge ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 144 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Amanda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

An excellent day out - but a long one.
I had never been to Canberra before and I loved the War Memorial and the National Gallery and Parliament was interesting. Not long enough at any of them difficult to fit in to one day but a very good flavour. It has encouraged me to want to go back for a couple of days next time.
Great stop at the bakery at Berrima on the way down and at the pie shop in Gouldburn on the way back.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

david k

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Trip was satisfactory to good. Visited the main sites but missed Old Parliament House. Saw major attractions but the tour was rather hurried. Canberra is boring but the tour was good. Little walking around the centre of the city.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

JAMES M M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very impressive sights in Canberra, War Memorial is amazing. Relaxing easy way to see the city which is impressive.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Marvin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The day was long, but the tour was great! I do not think there is enough to see in Canberra for a dedicated visit of several days there, but it is a must see destination and the day trip I took provided a comprehensive overview of the city. If you are an art buff and want to spend hours at a time gazing at pictures you might want to book several days in the city, but the day long tour from Sydney was sufficient for me when my time in Australia was so limited.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

STALA V

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The war memorial museum was excellent and worth a visit. Our guide at parliament, was fantastic, very knowledgeable and provided insights into the story of each prime minister!

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

SIRHAN RONALD S

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The driver was very friendly

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Jacqueline V

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

It's a long journey, on a big bus. Thankfully we didn't have that many people in our group, so we all got to spread out. The drive was worth it once we got to Canberra. The War Memorial is beautiful and our guide inside was wonderful too.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

westchestermd

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The trip was long as expected. The stopover in Berrima was not anything to get excited about. Saw the beautiful Parliament Building, War Memorial and Contemporary Museum. The tour guides in these 3 places were really excellent and made the trip worthwile. Canberra does not really have anywhere where a walking tour will get you to see more of the town's heritage. The stopover for dinner was hurried and nothing soectacular too.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney Including Parliament House and the Australian War Memorial

BONG S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

The idea of touring the Australian capital is a good one, and we like the history lesson especially for the kids. However, our tour was boring and underwhelming and not worth the almost 7 hours trip to and from.

We are an extended family of 9 with kids and seniors and each of our 9 days in Sydney 10/28-11/5 was packed with tours except for a weekend set aside to meet old friends in Sydney ALL ARRANGED AND PAID VIA VIATOR.COM. All our other tours were GOOD to EXCELLENT, except for our Canberra tour.

I have to attribute it to the tour operator, Gray Line Sydney andto an even greater extentto our assigned bus driver/tour guide.

Here are our specific issues concerning our Canberra Day Trip from Sydney via Gray Line and their driver/guide:

1 Brouhaha with Hotel Pick-Up

I partly own up to this problem because it did say in the voucher that we were to call Gray Line day before our tour to confirm the pick-up time. However we were on tour and the only opportunity for me to make the call was after our tour at that day's end. When I made the call upon arrival at our hotel there was no longer anybody to take my call at Gray Line. Nevertheless, in my mind it was clear that we were to be picked up from our Hotel Holiday Inn Darling Harbour because I was asked to fill it in in the Viator.com website upon purchase and it does say in the voucher that hotel pick-up is complimentary. At the very least I was expecting an effort from Gray Line to locate us. There was none.

At 7am on our Canberra tour day our entire group was ready to go and waiting at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour. Fo all our other tours the previous days we were picked up at 7:30 so we supposed that 7:00 would already be safe. I informed the concierge that we were expecting pick-up from Gray Line and he told me that Gray Line usually picks up guests at 7:30. So we waited at the lobby. At 7:25 there was no pick-up yet and I was worried so I decided to call Gray Line hoping that there would be somebody to take my call already. There was. After informing her that we are expecting to be picked up at our hotel, she practically barked orders at me to quickly grab a taxi and proceed to YHA Central. I wanted to argue but there was simply no time so our group did as instructed. Had Gray Line exerted an effort to contact me earlier, we could have easily walked to YHA since it is a comfortable 5-10 minute walk from our hotel!

The next several issues pertain to our assigned bus driver/tour guide.

2 You are very late!

Arriving in YHA Central in 3 taxi cabs at about 7:35, the first thing the bus driver told us when we approached him was, You are very late! to which I angrily retorted, NO WE ARE NOT! WE WERE WAITING FOR YOU AT HOLIDAY INN! After a few more angry exchanges he must have realized that I wouldn't back down so he softened his voice and let us in. I reiterated that FOR THE RECORD WE WERE NOT LATE, AND THAT SOMEBODY WILL HAVE TO ANSWER FOR THE MIX UP LATER ON. At least that's something we agreed on.

3 Driver/Guide abnoxious and rude to clients

Our bus driver/tour guide has no business being in the hospitality industry. He is very abrasive and rude to his passengers and I am not even referring to our own group. For several times during our trip to Canberra he went on ranting/scolding on some passengers we assume near the front of the bus for talking while he was commentating. It is right that nobody should be talking when someone else is so we do not have an issue with tha per se. But it was his rude and abnoxious demeanor and manner of saying it that we find unacceptable. It was as if he was a bad boss talking down to and scolding his lowly minions. Excuse me but his passengers are not his lowly minions! We are his and Gray Line's CLIENTS. Technically we are his BOSSES, for God's sake! It was a long and boring trip and his commentating wasn't exactly awesome or even mildly entertaining so of course some people preferred to talk to each other. We've been to so may group tours in Australia and elsewhere but we've never before encountered such an abnoxious and rude driver as this one.

4 Tour was boring.

Our tour guide John? on the 3 sites visited in Canberra is a very nice and proper fellow and he is very knowledgeable too. But he is very old and speaks very softly, able to engage only about a quarter of our group.

6 Tour is too hurried.

For a 12-hour tour, 8 of which devoted to travel/meals, I have to say it isn't worth it. We stopped for toilet and coffee twice, made 1 very short stop 5 mins to take photos on top of a hill overlooking Canberra, had a 30-min lunch, visited 3 attractions for a guided tour, and drove by embassy lane like a breeze. That's it. The very hurried pace is understanble because of the distance. But it was made much worse by our rude and abnoxious driver taking every opportunity to threaten us that anybody who would not meet his timetable would be left behind.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Maria Maricel O

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

It was indeed fascinating!
The tour guide was so humorous that help keep us alive on our way to Canberra!
The City itself is Educational. I learned a lot in this trip!
Our group was so thankful for this service.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Jeanne M. G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

A well planned and interesting capitol region. Lovely territory to drive through. It is a long day of travel.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Michael

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

It's a very long day. Lots of riding on the bus to and from Canberra. The war
museum is Great!!! The Art museum is ok if you're into that sort of thing. The
Parliament Buildings are Impressive but you don't have enough time to see much.
Would have liked to have more time at the War Museum and the Parliament!!

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Chin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We enjoyed the trip very much. The guide was terrific.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

DM

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The driver/guide was good but the lady who took us through the War Memorial was like a school teacher with young children. The other guide who took us through the museum knew very little about art, mainly saying things like, this is a famous painting. Nevertheless I found it interesting for the value of the tour despite the poor guides driver was fine although drove pretty fast to get back to town.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Hai N Vietnam

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

C Denise G L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

If you dont wish to stay overnight in Canberra, i would recommend this tour. The parliament building was beautiful. The national art gallery was not bad. The views on top of the hill was splendid.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Olga N

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The trip consists of three guided tours: Australian War Memorial, National Gallery and Parliament. Each tour lasts appr an hour. No free time. Canberra itself looks like an artificial uninhabited city - absolutely no people on the streets!

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Elsa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour driver Darryl was very knowledgeable and shared lots of stories of Australia. It made the time fly by on our journey. Our guide Bernie was a treasure find - extremely insightful! Bernie showed us the War Memorial Museum, National Art Gallery, and Parliament. Just a great time! This is a must-see. You will value the history!

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

Mark D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour of Canberra was excellent. It was a great way to see the capital city.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Margaret P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A very good day trip very well organised trip great driver and coach would use Viator again.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Sivasis S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

loved it, every moment of it. was a fantastic experience.

however, the bus started late by almost 20 mins approx. @ 7.50 am from LHA central and was consistently late in each and every stop along the way.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

tabasco456

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Our bus driver, John, was a little negative in how he phrased things. Our docent, Bernard, was very soft spoken and difficult to hear with our large group. It wasn't our favorite day in Australia.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Christina P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

A lot of transport time and not a lot of time in each location. But great guides and the War memorial was really interesting.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message