Canberra ATTRACTIONS See all

National Museum of Australia

The National Museum of Australia explores national identity and heritage in a hugely kid-friendly and fun way. Like a big abstract Australian storybook, the museum’s creative exhibits use controversy and humor to get you thinking about ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 138 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

westchestermd

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The trip was long as expected. The stopover in Berrima was not anything to get excited about. Saw the beautiful Parliament Building, War Memorial and Contemporary Museum. The tour guides in these 3 places were really excellent and made the trip worthwile. Canberra does not really have anywhere where a walking tour will get you to see more of the town's heritage. The stopover for dinner was hurried and nothing soectacular too.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney Including Parliament House and the Australian War Memorial

BONG S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

The idea of touring the Australian capital is a good one, and we like the history lesson especially for the kids. However, our tour was boring and underwhelming and not worth the almost 7 hours trip to and from.

We are an extended family of 9 with kids and seniors and each of our 9 days in Sydney 10/28-11/5 was packed with tours except for a weekend set aside to meet old friends in Sydney ALL ARRANGED AND PAID VIA VIATOR.COM. All our other tours were GOOD to EXCELLENT, except for our Canberra tour.

I have to attribute it to the tour operator, Gray Line Sydney andto an even greater extentto our assigned bus driver/tour guide.

Here are our specific issues concerning our Canberra Day Trip from Sydney via Gray Line and their driver/guide:

1 Brouhaha with Hotel Pick-Up

I partly own up to this problem because it did say in the voucher that we were to call Gray Line day before our tour to confirm the pick-up time. However we were on tour and the only opportunity for me to make the call was after our tour at that day's end. When I made the call upon arrival at our hotel there was no longer anybody to take my call at Gray Line. Nevertheless, in my mind it was clear that we were to be picked up from our Hotel Holiday Inn Darling Harbour because I was asked to fill it in in the Viator.com website upon purchase and it does say in the voucher that hotel pick-up is complimentary. At the very least I was expecting an effort from Gray Line to locate us. There was none.

At 7am on our Canberra tour day our entire group was ready to go and waiting at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour. Fo all our other tours the previous days we were picked up at 7:30 so we supposed that 7:00 would already be safe. I informed the concierge that we were expecting pick-up from Gray Line and he told me that Gray Line usually picks up guests at 7:30. So we waited at the lobby. At 7:25 there was no pick-up yet and I was worried so I decided to call Gray Line hoping that there would be somebody to take my call already. There was. After informing her that we are expecting to be picked up at our hotel, she practically barked orders at me to quickly grab a taxi and proceed to YHA Central. I wanted to argue but there was simply no time so our group did as instructed. Had Gray Line exerted an effort to contact me earlier, we could have easily walked to YHA since it is a comfortable 5-10 minute walk from our hotel!

The next several issues pertain to our assigned bus driver/tour guide.

2 You are very late!

Arriving in YHA Central in 3 taxi cabs at about 7:35, the first thing the bus driver told us when we approached him was, You are very late! to which I angrily retorted, NO WE ARE NOT! WE WERE WAITING FOR YOU AT HOLIDAY INN! After a few more angry exchanges he must have realized that I wouldn't back down so he softened his voice and let us in. I reiterated that FOR THE RECORD WE WERE NOT LATE, AND THAT SOMEBODY WILL HAVE TO ANSWER FOR THE MIX UP LATER ON. At least that's something we agreed on.

3 Driver/Guide abnoxious and rude to clients

Our bus driver/tour guide has no business being in the hospitality industry. He is very abrasive and rude to his passengers and I am not even referring to our own group. For several times during our trip to Canberra he went on ranting/scolding on some passengers we assume near the front of the bus for talking while he was commentating. It is right that nobody should be talking when someone else is so we do not have an issue with tha per se. But it was his rude and abnoxious demeanor and manner of saying it that we find unacceptable. It was as if he was a bad boss talking down to and scolding his lowly minions. Excuse me but his passengers are not his lowly minions! We are his and Gray Line's CLIENTS. Technically we are his BOSSES, for God's sake! It was a long and boring trip and his commentating wasn't exactly awesome or even mildly entertaining so of course some people preferred to talk to each other. We've been to so may group tours in Australia and elsewhere but we've never before encountered such an abnoxious and rude driver as this one.

4 Tour was boring.

Our tour guide John? on the 3 sites visited in Canberra is a very nice and proper fellow and he is very knowledgeable too. But he is very old and speaks very softly, able to engage only about a quarter of our group.

6 Tour is too hurried.

For a 12-hour tour, 8 of which devoted to travel/meals, I have to say it isn't worth it. We stopped for toilet and coffee twice, made 1 very short stop 5 mins to take photos on top of a hill overlooking Canberra, had a 30-min lunch, visited 3 attractions for a guided tour, and drove by embassy lane like a breeze. That's it. The very hurried pace is understanble because of the distance. But it was made much worse by our rude and abnoxious driver taking every opportunity to threaten us that anybody who would not meet his timetable would be left behind.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Maria Maricel O

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

It was indeed fascinating!
The tour guide was so humorous that help keep us alive on our way to Canberra!
The City itself is Educational. I learned a lot in this trip!
Our group was so thankful for this service.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Jeanne M. G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

A well planned and interesting capitol region. Lovely territory to drive through. It is a long day of travel.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Michael

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

It's a very long day. Lots of riding on the bus to and from Canberra. The war
museum is Great!!! The Art museum is ok if you're into that sort of thing. The
Parliament Buildings are Impressive but you don't have enough time to see much.
Would have liked to have more time at the War Museum and the Parliament!!

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Chin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We enjoyed the trip very much. The guide was terrific.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

DM

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The driver/guide was good but the lady who took us through the War Memorial was like a school teacher with young children. The other guide who took us through the museum knew very little about art, mainly saying things like, this is a famous painting. Nevertheless I found it interesting for the value of the tour despite the poor guides driver was fine although drove pretty fast to get back to town.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Hai N Vietnam

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

C Denise G L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

If you dont wish to stay overnight in Canberra, i would recommend this tour. The parliament building was beautiful. The national art gallery was not bad. The views on top of the hill was splendid.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Olga N

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The trip consists of three guided tours: Australian War Memorial, National Gallery and Parliament. Each tour lasts appr an hour. No free time. Canberra itself looks like an artificial uninhabited city - absolutely no people on the streets!

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Elsa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour driver Darryl was very knowledgeable and shared lots of stories of Australia. It made the time fly by on our journey. Our guide Bernie was a treasure find - extremely insightful! Bernie showed us the War Memorial Museum, National Art Gallery, and Parliament. Just a great time! This is a must-see. You will value the history!

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

Mark D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour of Canberra was excellent. It was a great way to see the capital city.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Margaret P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A very good day trip very well organised trip great driver and coach would use Viator again.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Sivasis S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

loved it, every moment of it. was a fantastic experience.

however, the bus started late by almost 20 mins approx. @ 7.50 am from LHA central and was consistently late in each and every stop along the way.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

tabasco456

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Our bus driver, John, was a little negative in how he phrased things. Our docent, Bernard, was very soft spoken and difficult to hear with our large group. It wasn't our favorite day in Australia.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Christina P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

A lot of transport time and not a lot of time in each location. But great guides and the War memorial was really interesting.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Maz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great long day excursion and is really a whistle-stop tour introducing the highlights. Canberra was beautiful and just as we imagined. The ANZAC war memorial was fantastic - we really needed a week to view it properly. We also enjoyed the visit to the National Art Gallery but again the visit was brief. The driver/ guide was knowledgeable and informative and organised our tour stops well. The specialist guides at the Memorial, National gallery and Parliment were equally knowledgeable which added a different dimension to their venues.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

McCord

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a great trip! Our tour guide, John, was wonderful. As a veteran, the visit to the War Museum was very moving and the tour of Parliament was educational. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Elliot R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Long bus ride there, company did a nice job when there. Its a very long day . I would recommend taking a helicopter there in the future.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Paul C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

2-day tour was a great option to move from Melbourne to Sydney. Despite the fact that bus was a little bit uncomfortable we got to drive through beautiful country side and visit great places of interests little family run zoo in Mansfield or historical town of Beechworth Stay on the farm was absolutely great. Host was lovely and accommodation very comfortable. Dinner and breakfast provided as part of our stay were tasty. Second day visit to Canberra was good however some people on the tour were not interested in the sightseeing in the capital and our time there was cut to minimum.

Doing what: 2-Day High Country Farm Stay Including Canberra Tour from Melbourne or Sydney

Philip I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Was a great day. Coach driver was very knowledgeable on the drive to Canberra and guide at the war memorial / parliament was very good.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Thomas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Enjoyed seeing Canberra and all it had to offer. Kirsten was a very knowledgeable and enjoyable guide Nice tea and supper stops. Robbie was a great guide and driver.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney Including Parliament House and the Australian War Memorial

Michelle Y Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fantastic tour! Michael was a lovely guide - funny, punctuate and a good driver! Such an educational and valuable tour it was. Would recommend to wear comfy clothes :

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message